Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The aftermath of the 'bloodbath'

The aftermath of the 'bloodbath' PDF Print
Monday, 10 March 2008 15:18

So remember who put you where you are today. Remember who gave you your job. The rakyat can hire and the rakyat can fire. We, the rakyat, made you and we, the rakyat, can break you. Just remember that and with God as our witness we shall not fail to do that if you fail to do what you promised to do.

Since yesterday I have been receiving a lot of phone calls from people who keep asking me what position I am going to hold in the government. I also have tons of e-mails in my in-box which I have either not read yet or have not replied to thus far. Firstly, can you please stop phoning so that I can get down to writing my article (anyway, I have switched off my phone so that I can complete this article). We can 'chat' about what the opposition needs to do later plus I will reply to all your e-mails once the dust settles.

Now, with regards to my 'position' in the government. No, no and no! I do not wish to hold any position in the government. I know some of you have threatened to 'protest' in front of the party headquarters if I am not offered at least a Senator's post. Hey, I do not want to be a Senator or Wakil Rakyat or anything at all for that matter. I just want to continue being plain Raja Petra Kamarudin, Editor and Webmaster of Malaysia Today -- so please drop all this talk of me 'holding a position in the government'.

Secondly, Malaysia Today is going to continue playing the role of watchdog and the conscience of the nation. We must continue to be the eyes, ears and voice of the rakyat and this must be done with me outside the government. Malaysia Today, which is already a nightmare for the ruling party, is going to now also be the nightmare of the five opposition-led state governments. And we are going to monitor these five states even closer than we watch the federal government.

Now, with regards to the talk floating around that Tok Guru Haji Abdul Hadi Awang has announced that Kedah is going to introduce Hudud laws; this is not true. Tok Guru confirmed he never made such an announcement. The trouble is, many of you wear these 'boycott the mainstream media' T-shirts yet you still read and believe what the mainstream media spins. Would you become terrible offended if I shout 'Bodoh punya orang!'? I really don't know what else to shout under these circumstances.

Let me repeat what I have said many, many times in the past. PAS does not have 150 seats in Parliament. In fact, PAS, DAP and PKR combined do not have 150 seats in Parliament. Read my lips. “PAS NEEDS 150 SEATS IN PARLIAMENT TO CHANGE THE LAWS OF THIS COUNTRY OR OF THE STATES!”

Anyway, 150 seats or no 150 seats, PAS does not intend to introduce Islamic laws, PERIOD.

Okay, can we now get down to some serious work? Our first task in hand is to set up an Ombudsman committee that will monitor all the five state governments of Kelantan, Kedah, Penang, Perak and Selangor. A man such as Tun Salleh Abas or anyone of his calibre must head the Ombudsman committee which will comprise of men and women of standing and with squeaky-clean reputations. They must be people like Gandhi and Mother Theresa both rolled into one. Yes, Malaysia does have plenty of such people.

The Ombudsman must be above the Chief Minister and Menteri Besar. It must have the power and authority to summon even the highest man in the state to come before the committee for questioning on anything at all that may be perceived as wrongdoing, transgressions, deviations, etc. And the Ombudsman must have the power and authority to recommend the removal of any public servant or politician who may have committed a breach of discipline, even if he is the Chief Minister/Menteri Besar.

This Ombudsman shall be responsible to the rakyat. The meetings and official inquiries it conducts must not be behind closed doors but shall be open inquiries where members of the public who may be interested in the goings-on can attend and witness the proceedings. Everything must be transparent and open to public scrutiny. There shall be no secrets. Public servants and elected officials work for the rakyat. The rakyat are the boss. So the 'boss' must be allowed to witness any public inquiry and proceedings convened to look into the conduct of their 'employees'. There must be no compromise on this issue.

The government must not be race-based, and certainly not religion-based. People chosen to head the agencies in any of the five states must be based on capabilities and not because that person is Malay, Chinese or Indian. Granted, the Federal Constitution of Malaysia may state who can be Menteri Besar while the election promise was, if the opposition wins Penang, then a Chinese shall be the Chief Minister. But that must be as far as race considerations prevail. For thereon no positions should be filled because we want more Malays or more Chinese or more Indians in the government.

If qualifications and capabilities become the criteria, then Malays, Chinese and Indians would automatically be represented at all levels of government. Just give him or her the job because he or her is the best person for the job and the racial balance would automatically happen. You do not even need to try too hard.

All ongoing projects must be reviewed. Those that have not taken off yet and which are clearly white elephants, projek mewah, above the recommended cost, etc., should be aborted. Of course, those that have contractual obligations will have to go on lest the state becomes embroiled in legal tangles. But they must be aborted not for the sake of aborting them or because they have been awarded to cronies of 'the other side'. This would smack of political persecution and witch-hunting, something the opposition has accused the government of perpetuating and something we should not do as well.

Take note that the federal government will certainly squeeze the states of funds so money will be very tight. The states will have to engage a high-powered team of financial consultants to advice them on how to run a state government and still develop the state with no money. Kelantan has done it for 18 years. They inherited a colossal amount of debt when they took over Kelantan in 1990 and yet still managed to pay off all the debts plus carry the cost of running the state in spite of no money.

The local councils are more corrupted than the infamous Royal Malaysian Police. This needs to be immediately addressed and many heads should be on the chopping block. The state governments must be ruthless with no quarters asked nor any given. Let there be a 'bloodbath' if necessary. And send the files of all these crooks to the Anti-Corruption Agency and demand that they be hung from the highest tree. The rakyat will gladly pay for the cost of the tree.

The Malays should stop talking about 'percentage of Malay representation', as should the Chinese and Indians as well. We certainly want a meritocracy rather than a race-quota-based system. Nevertheless, no race or community must be left out of the government. So a delicate balancing act between meritocracy, yet taking into consideration racial representation, has to be the game plan here.

Remember, the opposition won these five states plus denied Barisan Nasional its two-thirds majority in Parliament through promises and rhetoric. The consideration of the voters the next election will no longer be based on promises and rhetoric but on performance and delivery. Many promises were made this election. Now is the time to deliver them. Then, come the next election, the voters will either continue electing this same government into office or opt to change back to Barisan Nasional depending on how well or how bad the five state governments have performed.

If you think that winning these five states and denying Barisan Nasional its two-thirds majority in Parliament was difficult, then you do not know what difficult is. Winning five states and denying Barisan Nasional its two-thirds majority in Parliament was the easy part. The difficult part is going to be in maintaining the confidence and support of the voters. Abdullah Ahmad Badawi won 92% of the seats in 2004 based on promises and four years later got massacred when he did not deliver. The same thing can and will happen to the opposition as well come the 13th General Election if it does not perform and/or deliver its election promise.

Malaysia Today is watching. And we shall whack the daylights out of anyone and everyone who misbehaves or forgets his or her promise. The opposition won the five states and 82 seats in Parliament with the support of Malays, Chinese and Indians. It needed all the races to cross the finishing line. Just two races would not have achieved that. One race would have been even more impossible.

So remember who put you where you are today. Remember who gave you your job. The rakyat can hire and the rakyat can fire. We, the rakyat, made you and we, the rakyat, can break you. Just remember that and with God as our witness we shall not fail to do that if you fail to do what you promised to do.

P.S. Sorry that since 11.00pm Saturday night Malaysia Today has been very sluggish. Even I can't get in to update the site. Our traffic is three times the normal traffic and we have added extra servers, doubled the bandwidth, and even shut off the comments section to reduce the load on the servers. Yet, the site is still sluggish. It would help if you log off after reading the news and log back on later when you want to read it again. I am pouring as much as I can into improving our service but there is just so much I can afford, so please bear with us.

Comments (60)Add Comment
written by East Highlander, March 10, 2008 15:33:03
BN dapat gred C kali ini. C for yourselves
C for Corruption
C for Conceited, cocky BN
C for Crime makin tinggi
C for Cost of living makin naik
C for Cosmonaut yg menelan blanje 100m
C for C4
C for Crushed temples & confistication of holy books
C for Castle of Md Deros
and last and by no means least
C for Correct, correct, correct
agree 147
written by Legion, March 10, 2008 15:42:26
Here comes the reminder to the newly elected officials to perform and deliver its promises. However, personally, an open ombudsman committee will not do much as they are not elected by the people thus elected people will have the upper hand to undermine them regardless to open proceedings accessible by the public.
written by picadilly, March 10, 2008 15:43:22
Bravo RPK. You are continuing your service to Malaysians as a warrior.
We, the Rakyat will be with you.

The 5 state goevrning parties have accepted the Barisan Rakyat Declaration. They must hope to uphold this and get into our hearts and we will vote them next.

Each vote counts. Thats what every goverment should know.

My friends and families from Negeri Sembilan are sad and in utter despair because their state could not be within the Barisan Rakyat Corridor which streches from Selangor to Kedah. Negeri Sembilan BR needed only 4 more seats to take over the goverment. We wish that Keadilan and PAS could have won 2 more extra seats each.
DAP has routed Seremban & the seats that they stood.

But nevermind, There will be an election in 2013. All depending on the way the 5 states perform, our dear Brothers & Sisters from Negeri Sembilan & Terengganu May Join The Corridor of Barisan Rakyat & form The next Goverment.

BN beware in these 2 states as the people are ready to topple you!
written by Bill Gates, March 10, 2008 15:44:00
Conrats to all elected rep. That comes with a heavy responsibilty to serve the rakyats. The rakyats are the boss. The time has started tickling and you are being watched.

Don't get carried away lest you will lose the rakyats support. Fulfill al your promises made during the general election or else we will witness even a bigger tsunami of multitude scale.
written by Thinker, March 10, 2008 15:45:20
Mind if we copy and send your articles through email? With all the right attributes, of course.
written by tom73my, March 11, 2008 00:10:47
Going forward, I propose all elected representatives in Selangor, Perak, Penang, Keda and Kelantan to use the official title "Yang Berkhidmat", to really differentiate themselves from BN's "Yang Berhormat". This will increase their sense of accountability and remember their responsilities to the Rakyat. Remember that the Rakyat is ultimately the Boss. We can put you there, we can also take you down. Whatever happens, remember Malaysians come first.
written by castrol, March 11, 2008 00:26:18
The people have spoken, thru the ballot. Malaysians have very clearly expressed their dissatisfaction with BN. To BN, say what they may, but the fact remains that this is the beginning of a new chapter. A chapter where BN cannot dictate whether you go left or right. A chapter where the people’s representation cannot

Despite this loss, Badawi have said that this is the democratic process. Well, I say to hell with what you say! People are fed up with you, and they have showed this through the ballot boxes.

Khairy says that in this election, they have suffered a lot. What bull? Malaysians as a whole have suffered even more for the past 4 years. Ong Ka Ting says that they were shocked, and they will conduct a detailed study over the defeat. Is there anything to study? Don’t Mr. Ong knows that people are sick and tired of the rampant corruptions, cronyism, un-accountability, the divide and rule policy, scandals over scandals etc etc?

On a whole I would like to tribute the resounding success of DAP, PKR and PAS to the few that I feel have made the biggest difference namely Raja Petra, Jeff Ooi and Anwar Ibrahim. Without Malaysia Today or Screenshot, I don’t think we will be where we are today, and whoever who says that Anwar is irrelevant, well, just look at the results. Aliran, Harakah and Malaysiakini have always been helpful in this just cause.

Tsu Koon and Gerakan is history. So are his cronies such as Hock Nam and company. Now, when you talk big to the people of Penang, and cannot deliver or even name the next CM, this is what you get! Penangites will boot you out, as what has happen to Tsu Koon.

Now that DAP will form the next state government in Penang with Lim Guan Eng as our CM, may I remind them of the election pledges they made. More importantly, Lim Guan Eng must ensure the transparency he has advocated and to work hand in hand with PKR or PAS, for they also have a hand in this resounding victory in Penang.

DAP have resolved to teach UMNO and BN a lesson for their failures during many of their ceramahs. I think the people of Penang have done that, and there is no need to harp on these issues anymore. We have taught them a lesson, so what now? What is important now is to solve the many problems in Penang. All those issues that DAP have mentioned in their ceramah must be given strict attention.

I was at Red Rock Hotel in Penang earlier and the controlled euphoria at the DAP’s pressroom says it all. No cocky talk, no chanting, just a gleeful smile on the faces there. I was smiling too, to the fact that not only in Penang, but others states like Kedah, Perak and Selangor might fall to DAP, PKR and PAS. And felled it did!

It is apparent that the free flow of uncensored information in the Internet played a significant role in this 12th GE. So, to those who have labeled us as monkeys, to those who have said bloggers is a threat to the nation’s stability, to those who have threatened legal action against us, to those who have said we are an uneducated lot and to the UMNO cyber troopers, I say to you this, UP YOURS!!!!!
written by hiro, March 11, 2008 00:50:21
Great points, RPK. However, I am not so certain if Ombudsman is necessary at state level when BN is still opposition and they are government at state level - meaning they would only be too happy to raid the offices of the Menteri Besars/Chief Ministers - not that I am giving them any ideas smilies/cheesy.gif

I wrote a lot yesterday. Happy reading smilies/wink.gif

http://hiroblog2007.********.com/
written by patlu, March 11, 2008 01:26:46
Hi Pete

Re. your P.S., "I am pouring as much as I can into improving our service but there is just so much I can afford, so please bear with us."

I'd like to make a contribution. Please provide bank account details and please place bank account details on your website too so all can do their bit to support your selfless effort to safeguard the future of our children and grandchildren in this land Malaysia we call HOME.

Thanks Pete, for being our Guardian Angel (sounds better than "watchdog") smilies/tongue.gif

Much love and may God bless you, family and our beloved country always and all ways.
written by RasuahMinister, March 11, 2008 01:59:22
Hi Pete,

Is there a way the rakyat play the Ombudsman? Just an idea from me lah, maybe provide a website www.Rakyat.com.my together with a Rakyat Daily so that the rakyat can voice out on the newspaper and also the rakyat can directly rate all the wakil rakyat's performance anytime in the website?

For instant:

Rating system (where 5 is best, 1 is lousy)

** Are you satisfy with the environment you live? if yes, rate 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

** Are you satisfy with the the way cars parked around your area? if yes, rate 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

** Are you satisfy with your wakil rakyat's behavior? if yes, rate 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

** others (more)
written by RasuahMinister, March 11, 2008 02:01:32
Aiyah you know lah, www.thestar.com.my mana boleh pakai?
written by Cash Money, March 11, 2008 02:37:52
Raja

Absolutely the best is yet to come and the relentless perseverance to edit and maintain the webmaster so as to reach the rakyat must continue.

We cannot deviate from the relentless march towards good governance.
Attack ,Attack ,Attack until the disease of corruption is wiped out.

Humanity will prevail.

written by AsamLaksa, March 11, 2008 02:38:11
Agree with all the points of this article.

I rejected the idea of an ombudsman under BN rule because BN has shown that they can manipulate any suppossedly independent body to their own benefit. An ombudsman do not owe any allegience to the political parties. See here for a description of an ombudsman: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ombudsman
What it allows is further check and balance. It is not perfect but it's there for use.

I strongly agree with legislation for transparency but I worry about the scope and possible implications.

I strongly agree with no more race as a qualification for appointments. Choose the best based on their skills and track records. I do not care if the MB or CM is Malay, Chinese or Indian as long as they are good. I would like to see this extended to educational bodies where the less skilled get retrained and the better skilled get more responsibilities and posts.

As for approved or ongoing projects, they all have to be reviewed individually. If there is any contractual obligations that is against the public interest then they should be abandoned based on the balance of the cost to pay damages and the benefit from the termination of the contract.

I am strongly against RPK taking up office or running for any post in any political party. This will compromise Malaysia Today's integrity. If RPK wants to take up official posts, then RPK would have to leave Malaysia Today. Fighting for social cause does not require the person taking up posts (this also applies to politicians that did not win or did not contest). Also please do not see appointment to posts as reward for the hard work put in by RPK as that would demean his stature and open himself to accusations of being bought just like some ex-PKR leader.

In fact I would go as far as saying do not hero-worship RPK, in fact be critical of him. Show him you can think critically is the best reward you can give him as after all he is fighting for a progressive Malaysia. I recognise RPK's contributions in this election result is immeasureable and kudos for that. RPK have battled the concerns against a united PAS, PKR and DAP and tells the voters to look at the issues beyond the rhetorics. However the true warriors for change are the voters who would listen to reason. No matter how much good you can talk of but if the people do not want to listen then nothing will come out of it. The time is right for Malaysia to move ahead and abandon old fears and anxieties.

So for the first time I will use this rally cry as how it's meant to be used: Malaysia Boleh!
written by The One, March 11, 2008 02:56:53
Dear Raja Petra,
how about you become the head of the Ombudsman or atleast somebody important in it.

i know u dont want to hold any position in the gov, but this would help a lot..
written by varvoom, March 11, 2008 02:59:12
OK, Raja Petra Kamarudin, you don't want to be in gomen, What about you taking up the post as director general of RTM? Malaysia Today will have all the resources to be the watchdog and the conscience of the nation, all this lack of servers, bandwidth will be consign to history, the Raykat will be more then thankful to fund the resources needed to run your pet project.
written by RasuahMinister, March 11, 2008 03:04:44
We can even start a MT-Daily selling RM1.00, to be printed in English, Malay, Chinese & Tamil, and we reveal eveything with filter.
written by RasuahMinister, March 11, 2008 03:05:18
SORRY:
reveal eveything without filter.
written by doggone, March 11, 2008 06:08:20
I have to agree with RasuahMinister about having a new daily.
It should be a 'tell it as it is' kinda media.
It will knock the daylight out of The Star and really make them see those rotating dazzlingly stellars with a chirping bird to boot.
written by bumi non malay, March 11, 2008 06:51:26
Ombudsman Only??

.....Also OMBUDSWOMEN..lah.

I nominate Marina Yussof, Irene Fernandez!!

Yes ALL 5 states should set up an ICAC....Independent Commission Against Corruption who can pass judgement at State Level.

Next is the Election Commission clean up....after Judiciary & Police!!

This is for a better Malaysia.....Its Looking Brighter Every New Day after Mar 8.

Merdeka II!!....feel like it even though only small victory at state level.

Another Day of Down 10% for KLSE as Cronies bail out....???....You have been warned. Its gets WORST before it gets better.!!

Lastly Lets hope none of the Coalition in PERAK accept the $5 million bribe each (3 max needed) being offered to jump ship....Mat Kilau send STERN WARNING, to those EVEN Contemplating the Bribe....You, your Family & children will suffer for the rest of your natural life....!!

Make Sure Pass Law to make Jumping ship in future means trigger By-Election....time for BR to put things in place as Risk Management!!

la la la la la...Oh its a beautiful day!!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Panca Indera, March 11, 2008 06:52:22
Dear RPK and All whose votes made the difference.
It is truly a memorial and historical result and I am ecstatic and grateful to Allah and the whole Malaysian people who made it happened

I had known people who flown from overseas to be home to vote and to them, It was worth every ringgit spent on the air ticket.

To all Malaysian, Yes! this is just the beginning of a new era. Until the 7th March, like many Malaysian, I was still thinking, we were like other third world country mentality. Now Thank God we are not.

To BN and supporters, This is a wake up call. Serve the people or you will be into the dustbin of history.

To Mahathir Muhammad, a BiG THANK YOU for picking Abdullah Badawi. It was not a mistake on your part. Your mistake was for discarding Annuar Ibrahim. Alhamdullilah, now Annuar has become a better and more experienced person and knows how to deal with them.

To Abdullah Badawi and Umnomore. Don't wash money on postmortem. Free advice: SERVE THE PEOPLE, STOP COrruption, and get rid of the Cronies and leaches that suck the raayats wealth dry. Remember you are elected to serve us, not we serve you. No more bullying the raayat please.
note: in the small part of my heart, I still see Badawi as a nice person.(according to his body language)Good luck, and Thank you Dear PM for making it happened.

Stop saying " Now lets see if the BA can deliver their promises". The people can and will know If BA delivers.But even if they don't,as long as they try their very best and knowing you People(BN/UMNO)will try your best to prevent them from delivering, we will continue to vote for BA and give them even a bigger mandate. We are already working on the next election.No postmortem required.

For our East Malaysians raayats who are mostly rural, We will help you to unchained from the BN clutches, Inshallah.

Last but not least. Yes, RPK should not be in goverment. He should and must remain as He is where he is most effective. Syabas RPK.

Thank you All smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by educationist, March 11, 2008 07:05:03
Let's see if Keadilan , DAP and PAS take up your suggestion of setting the OMbudsman. It'll be the litmus test on their committment towards state administrations that are transparent and accountable. Yes, please continue your good and noble work of being the soul and conscience of ordinary Malaysians.
written by teo siew chin, March 11, 2008 07:51:29
my my, YM RPK is back at work so fast already ah? smilies/grin.gif

Sir, time you run a proper newspaper. Do an old-style tabloid size MT lah - that way the reading is done first thing in the morning in the thinking room cos let's face it, who brings a PC in whatever form into the loo! Time you charge us too but kindly keep it affordable smilies/cheesy.gif

All YB's must now maintain a state blog and keep the rakyat informed.
Blogging is now a way of running for government and the government?
written by temenggong, March 11, 2008 07:56:05
MT has to continue to stay neutral and whack the new opposition state govts so as to keep them in line.

Selamat pagi Panglima RPK!
written by Atheist, March 11, 2008 07:56:46
An Ombudsman approach is difficult in Malaysia simply because ... Malaysians are materialistic and people like you (RPK) and me are considered a 'dying' breed. A 'Datuk' here and a 'Tan Sri' there and semuanya OK. The best would be open the judicial system / Rotal commission and drag even the MBs to 'court' for their 'sins'. Simply because ... justice and the laws have always been the 'passive tool' of the people, like in the Lingam case.

It also could be the easier way to imbue the Chinese with some noble Malay values .... like in Kelantan!!!!
written by ahmadbadrul40, March 11, 2008 08:14:32
I disagree with Ombudsman idea. We have elected representative to the goverment. If they don't perform, the opposition party and the people and the media will pull them down. That is democracy.

By appointing ombudsman, you are basically giving dictactorship power to the ombudsman who are not accountable to anybody.

Ombudsman is a bloody stupid idea.
written by malaysianohope, March 11, 2008 08:21:59
Gooooood Day Bruder Pete!

So you finally surfaced after some harrowing few days of agony and exubberance, so a belated THANK YOU from us all bloggers.

Yes the winning part is easy... comes the hard part in ensuring the TRUE BELIEVERS representatives do their part in ruling their constituencies without fear and fair to all Malaysians alike, both victors and barisan backers. Yes show them the way and you shall have our undivided supports but as Raja Petra said we shall be watching you to make sure your promises are adhered to.

Again, CONGRATULATION True Believers!
written by KM Wong, March 11, 2008 08:48:17
Dear RPK
I think we should call you Malaysia's Zorro who defends the down and out, the disadvantaged, the weak, the meek, etc.. and brings to light the abuses, the crimes, the misdeeds, etc.. of those in power.
We will do our part to disseminate the real information you provide to reach as many as possible, to counter the propaganda from the mainstream papers, TV and radio of the ruling party.
Information is the ultimate power.
written by Ken Liew, March 11, 2008 08:54:03
As a true HERO, you wont need any post OR power to move the nation, HE(RPK) will only need Malaysia Today. smilies/grin.gif

I would say, you'll have my 100% respect. Cos you are the TRUE HERO!!!
written by Williams C, March 11, 2008 08:55:20

I can’t see how the proposed Ombudsman concept works in accordance to the existing constitution, especially giving the group such power. Who then monitor the group isn’t abusing its power? They are not elected officials representing legislative branch and are not officials from judicial branch. What articles in the Constitution grant such rights to them?

Sadly, Malaysia does not have respected and balanced branches in the country. All branches seem to fold into ONE branch – Executive Branch. I hope newly elected BA officials should begin to work on restoring these branches to their true intent and purpose.

For now, I see citizen watchdog group can play an important role monitoring them. Yours truly and many other activists have proven effectiveness beyond doubt.

KEEP ALL EYES at all elected officials. Lets voters decide their fate.
written by jack little, March 11, 2008 09:04:49
Roger that sir!!!

Lets prove to those politician, its the Rakyat who's in real power... If 'they' fail to serve us, 'We' will throw 'them' out!
written by grant, March 11, 2008 09:10:27
RAJA PETRA, CONGRATS 1st of all... Dont ask me why I congratulate u. U know anyway... Heard ur talk, went to ur talk in Raja Uda that nite... It was fun... Being a Penangite, this is something we hv longed for..

2nd thing, if anyone calls u to ask what post u will be holding, I guess u shud answer them SMM - Senior Mentor Minister.. Since SG has MM - Minister Mentor, Malaysia shud not lose behind any further... We need to be more kiasu now.. SMM shud just fit right!

Cheers. God Bless Malaysia and all of us!
written by animal, March 11, 2008 09:13:43
i am minority in northen perak,
happy that finally we have a change of the state goverment,
but wish that they will not repeat the BN mistakes,
hope that we the Siamese will not be left out,
our old folks might voted BN but not us the youngster,
we don't ask for what we wanted but what we needed,
anyway congratultion to OP and keep on good job,
written by grant, March 11, 2008 09:15:15
RPK, I have an idea. For the Opposition to work rigorously in the next 4 yrs or so, it will be tough. Seriously, I live in a real world. To show results in 4 yrs looking at the dynamism or each state, take Sgor for an example needs a lot of resources. Fed Govt will not shed a single tear on the Opposition when we shout for more funding.

My proposal is let the Rakyat donate freely to the opposition state governments in order for them to run the state without any financial headaches. If there is not enough funding, 4 yrs later the Rakyat will deem the Opposition as failure.

My thot, u will be the Opposition State Government Treasurer - something like Finance Minister la... Only thing u manage our funds/donations to the Opposition at 100% transparency and therefore Opposition will not run out of $$$...

What do u think?
written by housedad, March 11, 2008 09:24:05
Congratulations to all Malaysians for voting. I agree that you shouldn't take any governmental post. I believe what you're doing is far greater than any of those posts. Now let's see if DAP, Pas and Keadilan can deliver. Let's see if they can fight the temptation of being corrupt with power and money. Let's see if they can fight the temptation of being biased towards their supporters instead of being the caretaker of all the rakyat. Let's see if they can come up with the programs and plans that can support the Vision 2020 for all Malaysians, all races, all religions, all socio-economics background.
To DAP, Pas and PKR, congratulations......
Now, get to work!!!
written by grant, March 11, 2008 09:28:01
Holy cow... Ombudsman really do exist.. I thot it was self created word... Damn! It has a meaning...

For the pleasure of all reading, Ombudsman is

"an official, usually (but not always) appointed by the government or by parliament, who is charged with representing the interests of the public by investigating and addressing complaints reported by individual citizens. In some jurisdictions, the Ombudsman is referred to, at least officially, as the 'Parliamentary Commissioner' (e.g., the West Australian state Ombudsman). The word ombudsman and its specific meaning, Swedish or Norwegian in origin, have since been adopted in to English as well as other languages, and ombudsmen have been instituted by other governments and organizations such as the European Union.

An ombudsman need not be appointed by government; they may work for a corporation, a newspaper, an NGO, or even for the general public. In some countries, an Inspector General may be the same as or have overlapping duties with a government-appointed ombudsman"
written by Birdbrain, March 11, 2008 09:46:19
Barisan Rakyat's new Selangor State Govt. vs Organized Crime Syndicate!!!

I really want to see how they can eliminate this O.C.S. Will O.C.S. make it's way to the Selangor State Secretariat Building in Shah Alam?!

Let the show begin! Let's see how they manage the Organized Crime Syndicates!!!

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by smalluncle, March 11, 2008 12:26:12
smilies/smiley.gifWe did it. Now the nightmare begins. We could become and idiot or the clever boys it all DEPENDS on how the BR do their jod.

As it is , hindraf already start demanding. Need to address this quickly before it turns to another street protest. BN is ever willing to give permits if it happen.

Can Pete or BR work out a page where we can contribute ideas, suggestions to help BR runs a more efficient gomen. Sort of like Quality Circle. Then BR could brainstorm on the selceted isuues, idea, suggestions. We have many talents out there.

Read in the news Kah Chuan bombarded DAP for working with PAS. It shows and proved why MCA lost in the PRU. STILL HARPING ON RACIAL / RELIGIOUS LINES. Come on, wake up MCA or like KohSK, balik kampung tanam keledek lah

written by legallybotak, March 11, 2008 12:53:42
“We must continue to be the eyes, ears and voice of the rakyat and this must be done with me outside the government. Malaysia Today, which is already a nightmare for the ruling party, is going to now also be the nightmare of the five opposition-led state governments. And we are going to monitor these five states even closer than we watch the federal government.”(RPK).

You have risen above the euphoria, exhilaration and “confusion” of the past few days, to see clearly that you are worth a lot more as an independent watchdog and the conscience of the nation than an appointed senator. Your statement speaks volume about your character which is lacking in most of our leaders today (including some of those in BR). It is easy to give in to your ego but you remain true to yourself and your mission.

I salute you. From today onward, I will call you uncle, Uncle Pete.
written by JohnQ, March 11, 2008 18:43:29
We don’t need liberation army to make us feel liberated, we only need pencil and paper.

We don’t need earth core movement to form a tsunami, we only need ripples of blubber from waterbed.

Abdullah's cliff hanging! But the RAMBO is not seen nearby to come for rescue. Of course not from the front two Michelins, rosmah n jeanne and the back two Flintstone tyres, KJ and Najis !

BUT, the RAKYAT will come for the rescue as backers IF the following is carried out daily in the the next 10 days:

1. Abolish ISA, release all detainees
2. Bring all lingam case pariahs to court, dig out former closed cases of power, criminal and money corruption..
3. Abolish Toll nationwide
4. Implement IPCMC and punish SPR and ACA officials
5.Reduce fuel increment to 1.3p/l, increase subsidy for essential goods for another 5 years
6. Free education for all, open tender to build 100 Chinese and Tamil primary schools
7. Charge former MB/minister/MP/DUN etc, etc to return corrupted monies to national coffer or else jail/Hang
8. Abolish NEP and corridors that only benefit the elite cronies
9. Reduce half of the minister post and abolish deputy minister posts. All Sec General of ministries/Agency/ACA... are to report to new minister of Public Governance and Accountability, Tsu Koon
10 Appoint Raja Petra kamaluddin RPK as Gov. Liberation adviser.

Those are things to do BEFORE the GE12 election, but NOW it is still not too late TOO !
written by JohnQ, March 11, 2008 18:45:30
Syabas, then all RAKYAT will stand behind you until 2013. Let them judge your BN profile again then, OK TAK ?

written by nowinnofee, March 11, 2008 19:51:15
My question to RPK is can Malaysia Today be legalised in the states which are now in the hands of PKR-DAP-PAS, we need to get the paper in print so that it can create greater awareness for the people of Malaysia. There are many who may not neccesarilly have access to the internet especially in the rural areas. Can we do something about this? This way, hopefully when we are travelling we can take it to East Malaysia and leave it in the coffee shops...to educate the East Malaysians...no offence intended, which I am sure they are very clever lot but perhaps they should become more intelligent as we have become eh! smilies/wink.gif
RPK...you should not get involved in politics by taking any positions, the best way to keep them in line is by your whip ( Malaysia Today).
written by harrbm, March 11, 2008 19:54:55
I hope the new government of Penang, Kedah, Perak, Selangor to "keep it simple" in ALL matters.

Simplify everything. All civil servants must continue as civil SERVANTS. all Pengarah must be severely dealt even if one rakyat complaints.

Make it an offense under the law for any racist propaganda.

keep smiling.

written by Angela Ooi, March 11, 2008 23:16:24
It is not fair that our RPK has to finance this blog to a tune of hundreds of thousands. We readers appreciate all that you do.. your time, effort, sacrifices and most of all, the huge amount of money to get this blog running. I suggest every reader send something into an account this blog. Please let us contribute so you can continue to help Msia. I need resounding support from M2day readers on this!!!
written by AsamLaksa, March 12, 2008 00:43:12
William C, you obviously do not know what an ombudsman is. Go look it up.

An ombudsman do not have free reign nor supreme power. They are bound by the provisions set up for the post. They also do not have the power to sack people or override laws or make regulations. What they do is allow an avenue for independent review of complaints usually concerning public authorities as they are suppossed to act above any political interest. You also do not need a wronged party to start the review. If you find something you think is unfair then the ombudsman can begin investigation. After they investigate they show their findings and it's up to the state to act on it or not.
written by fearless, March 12, 2008 02:07:53
My advice to Junior Lim, new Penang Chief Minsiter,

Do not need to hurry in annoucing many popular policies to make you like a hero for poor people.

Sit down with your team and invite some experts in social, economic, crime, etc to a conference to gather best ideas on how to run Penang.

From the momemt DAP won the Penang seats last Saturday, I already feel Lim Guan Eng is better be learning fast as a true leader.

I already feel very dissapointed with junior lim for the first day he becoming as Penang CM.

1. Announced to abolish deputy CM post immediately after GE result was known.

2. Waiving summonses and compounds shall not happen in any civil society. His message to us is don’t pay compounds, you are above the law and law can be twisted according to political agenda.

My question to Junior Lim is did his has the power to waive summonses and compounds?

Rule of law and not rule by law as Senior Lim alway criticised BN. Unfortunately Junior Lim seems does not understand his dad’s struggle to build a civil society.
written by Milo, March 12, 2008 12:09:25
Fearless, on the waiving of summonses, the issue is are these summonses given to poor hawkers in a fair manner in the first place? Looking at the corruption level in the country, I seriously doubt the fairness of it all. In this respect at least, Lim is taking a right step to waive the summons. There is no breach of rule of law, as this exercise of discretionary power is done to ensure fairness and for the poorer section of the community.
written by Fart Fart Wah, March 12, 2008 12:11:26
The results show that we need a definte change.
And this must be proven to the people that they were worth the votes.
Otherwise the next time around they will not be around.
Malaysians now have woken up from the MAMAKUTTY CHARM AND THE UMNO SIAMESE CHARM
iT IS GOOD TO SEE MALAYSIANS MATURING AS RATIONAL VOTERS.
written by IpohBarat, March 12, 2008 12:16:50
I agree with "fearless".

The new CMs of Kedah, PG, Perak and Selangor should take sometime and consult the experts before implementing changes.

Make sure that every step is taken with utmost precaution so that it doesn't boomerang.
written by fearless, March 12, 2008 13:25:36
written by Milo, March 12, 2008 | 12:09:25

Fearless, on the waiving of summonses, the issue is are these summonses given to poor hawkers in a fair manner in the first place?

================================

I am not poor to be waived for summonses issued by MPPP, my case already proved that Lim Guan Eng is wrong in his first announcement as CM.

Whether you are beggar or hawker, breaking a law must be punished according. This is called the rule of law.

There are better ways to help hawkers such as reduced licensed fees to RM1, streamline license application to eradicate corruption, etc.

Also please do not assume all hawkers are poor, many of them earn more than you and me, but they have never pay income tax as required by law.

Also under what provision of state constitution says CM can waive summonses and compounds from MPPP and MPSP?

See, Junior Lim already changed his mind to appoint two deputy CM posts. Remember that DAP is the one condemned Gerakan to appoint a Deputy CM for UMNO.
written by castrol, March 12, 2008 15:14:47
The opposition of yesteryears does not exist anymore. We now have DAP taking over the state in Penang, and this will relegate BN to that of the opposition. Gerakan, which lost all seats, could seriously be irrelevant, as they have no representation at all. The oppositions of yesteryears have also taken over Kedah, Perak and Selangor while PAS has maintained control in Kelantan.

At federal level however, DAP, PKR and PAS remains as opposition. This will present a unique experience to these parties, especially DAP and PKR as they will be the ruling state government and oppositions in parliament simultaneously. PAS already is in this situation when they ruled Kelantan. So now, DAP and PKR will know how it is to sit on the other side of the fence.

My point to DAP and PKR is that do not take it lightly when the opposition raises issues as long as these issues are constructive and for the betterment of the people, just as when you raised all kinds of issues in parliament. Listen to the voice of the people and listen well for they are the ones that put you there in the first place. Most importantly, please reflect back to the numerous pledges you have make during campaigning.

The Star on March 10, Monday, has reported the following:
1. I’m not quitting, says Pak Lah.
2. “Why should I step down? Our party has won. I do not fear anyone except Allah,” he said.

Now I don’t really know what he meant when he said that, but my bet is that he is still sleeping. When a leader fares so badly, such as Mr. Badawi, don’t anyone in the right frame of mind should think of an exit? Clearly Mr. Badawi has to take the responsibility of this defeat by the BN to the majority people of Malaysia.

To further compound to this, as reported in Malaysiakini by Fauwaz Abdul Aziz titled: Pak Lah: We've learned our lesson on Mar 10, 08, I quote the following:

1. The BN coalition’s vote share in Peninsular Malaysia also suffered a blow when it won only 48.7 percent of the popular vote. In 2004, BN rode the wave with a 64 percent popular vote nationwide.
2. Badawi also said, “We have a fairly strong majority that is just short by eight (parliamentary) seats to secure the two-thirds majority. (But) it’s not something we are worried about.”
3. It is expected those who have lost will be appointed as senators, which will allow them to be appointed to the cabinet.

I have no confirmed numbers on the popular votes, but if it is true that BN only secured 48.7 percent of the popular votes, then they are cannot be the legitimate government of Malaysia, if we follow the rule of a democratic process. So, what gives? I think only in Malaysia, as long as you controlled the parliament, regardless of the popular votes, then it is a stolen right to govern. So, something must not be right here!

And what crap is Badawi talking about when he says that they have a fairly strong majority? If he is talking about parliament seats, then fine but isn’t parliamentary seats in an election in Malaysia are catered to favor BN? If it is so, then the popular votes that really indicate of the wishes of the majority of Malaysian will count for nothing. And hence, Badawi is again ignoring the wishes of the majority of Malaysians.

I do not know much about senators, but in my opinion, a person who has lost in an election should not be appointed as senators. This seems to be a license to Mr. Badawi to appoint his cronies to the cabinet. The people have voted, so those who have lost shall not hold any government post! The majority of the people did not vote those who have lost for a reason! The majority of the people do not want to see their faces anymore and hence they have lost. Period!

However and whatever maybe at this point, we the rakyat just wish to see a peaceful transformation in the few states that DAP, PKR and PAS have won. And that, they have actually started to work towards their pre-election pledges and to further fight for our basic rights in parliament. We, the rakyat, have only simple wishes. That you DAP, PKR and PAS work together hand in hand to a better future for all Malaysian, for justice peace and equality.

Thank you and congratulations.
written by Sudahlah tu, March 12, 2008 15:24:14
Kita semua kini di titik permulaan untuk membangunkan negara Malaysia yang tercinta ke arah perpaduan bangsa dan kesejahteraan rakyat.
Bukannya senang untuk kita mengubah sikap sendiri yang terlalu suka mengkritik , mengkritik , mengkritik sahaja ....
JOM UBAH , mari kita semua mula memberi pendapat serta cadangan masing2 terhadap isu2 rakyat mahupun negara secara umum kepada pemimpin2 kita agar mereka dapat menglihat dan mengambil sebarang keputusan secara sistematik dan transparent.
MAri kita cuba ...
written by lokenpal, March 13, 2008 09:36:59
>>Malaysia Today is going to continue playing the role of watchdog and the conscience of the nation

This is what I think most of us who have been following MT for some years now, wanted to hear. We were afraid you may become part of the system!!

Thanks You RPK and GBU.
written by abuya, March 13, 2008 12:15:23
aisey man....... uncle Lim....
jangan ikut itu Cemerlang, Gemilang,,, Terlentang wooo...
written by Motherchell, March 14, 2008 21:12:45
My earnest request to the the 5 Opposition states , get professionalS, consultants AND NGO'S help , fast ---- to WORK ON CIRCULATING AND PROPER GATING THE POLICIES AND WORK DONE, TO THE MASSES all over ,, especially the ones in the outskirts..

COMMUNICATION IS WHAT THEIR LACKED , ESPECIALLY BEING STIFLED BY THE MSM---,
work with Microsoft , Intel to place a pc or notebook in to every home . Work on these -- with knowledge and the truth they pick -- youll see Malaysia grow to its strengths day by day . These program es are a success by the same comp[anies in countries in Africa , India , and other countries with large masses in the rurals .

PLEASE GIVE THESE PROGRAMS PRIORITY! ONCE THE RAKYAT ARE EMPOWERED WITH KNOWLEDGE -- NO GOVT OF THE DAY CAN CHEAT THEIR FUTURE!!!!!!! Im sure MT and other free press would lend a hand in handling news flow.
written by angfaulith, March 16, 2008 15:51:25
thank you to all non muslims for supporting us in pas. in an islamic state we will be fair to all races and creeds. please do not be afraid....
written by cancan, May 23, 2008 10:57:08
Lets take a rest from politics and look at the evolution of mankind for some fun.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.********.com/