MIC in disarray after Samy Vellu's defeat PDF Print
Monday, 10 March 2008 09:23

(THE STRAITS TIMES) - THERE were cakes, a massive pull-out in the local Tamil daily and garlands waiting to celebrate Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC) president S. Samy Vellu's 72nd birthday on Saturday and his expected win in Sungai Siput, Perak.

But the man who has been the country's No. 1 Indian leader for decades lost the parliamentary seat after being a Member of Parliament for 34 years. With his party's top leaders also defeated at the polls, the power equation of the MIC has been thrown into disarray.

At the heart of the dilemma is who will lead the party.

Though Datuk Seri Samy Vellu has indicated that he will not step down, it is unlikely he can continue as party president in the face of such a poor performance.

Deputy president G. Palanivel and the three vice-presidents, Datuk S. Sothinathan, Datuk S. Veerasingam and Tan Sri Dr S. Nijhar, had all lost the parliamen- tary seats they contested.

Only three MIC candidates won parliamentary seats - one of whom is the former party No.2, Datuk S. Subramaniam. His rise would be another slap in the face for Datuk Seri Samy Vellu as the two have a history of bad blood.

After he was ousted as the MIC deputy president three years ago by the Datuk Seri Samy Vellu-endorsed Datuk G. Palanivel, Datuk Subramaniam launched stinging criticisms at the party leadership.

Bridges were burnt and will need to be mended quickly if the party leadership is to maintain any credibility.

Political observers said MIC's dismal performance at the polls was to be expected as the tell-tale signs were there.

Indeed, except for in his home constituency of Sungai Siput, Datuk Seri Samy Vellu had been receiving hostile receptions around the country for weeks.

Jeering crowds would hurl abuse at him and block his car from leaving functions.

But he always maintained that those attacks were the work of a few 'emotional' people who were misled by the Hindu Rights Action Force. He stressed it would have no impact on the polls. The results clearly showed otherwise.

Sungai Siput, which had become synonymous with Datuk Seri Samy Vellu since he was picked to contest in the ward in 1974, was his stronghold. It was believed he could never be defeated there. But the impossible did happen when Dr Michael Jeyakumar, who contested under the PKR ticket, unseated him.

Speaking to reporters the day after the polls, Datuk Seri Samy Vellu said: 'We accept the people's verdict because they are the ones who matter. I am not feeling unhappy. In any case, I will restructure and rebuild the MIC to continue serving the people.'

written by krising1, March 10, 2008 09:39:26
The Indians do n0t need the MIC. WE should try seriusly thinking of throwing our lot with the PKR or the DAP. We will definitely have a bigger voice. The Chinese should also do the same.

Let UMNO be the only race based party since their dream is to rule this country without the Chinese and Indians.
written by krepot, March 10, 2008 09:48:26
Dissolve MIC!

It is irrelevant.

No more RACE BASED PARTY for Malaysians of Indian decent. Let the Indians make the first move. PKR and DAP has clearly supported the Indians in GE2008. Let them be the voice for the ALL Malaysians!

Let us move with the wave of change.
written by mypanida, March 10, 2008 09:48:37
does a fish needs a bicycle ?

hypothetically speaking, NO.

let those racial politics die their natural deaths, i'd say.
written by Task Force 101, March 10, 2008 09:49:54
I agree with Sami with restructuring MIC. Lets start with you stepping down or stating clearly that you want to hand over. The least u can do is to allow the party to heal itself without. There are too many Indians who dislike you within MIC and outside.

If MIC is to remain relevant, u need to allow the young generation who know and are aware that they have a role to play in this country and not just the 3rd race in the list of races in Msia. Forget the analysts who continue to lick your balls and tell u that there is no other capable leader. U will be suprised.

Samy, its either you leave MIC or MIC will leave Msia. Your choice

written by Bandit, March 10, 2008 09:51:58
MCA and MIC should consider joining ranks with the opposition after being faithful dogs to UMNO for the last 50 years. The Malaysian has proven that race based politics is a No! No!. If the MCA and MIC still insist on remaining with UMNO, come the next election, MCA and MIC will be buried in the history books. They should accept the winds of change. Arrogange has no place in Malaysia.

Bravo Malaysians!!!!
written by billykbk, March 10, 2008 10:04:55
What? No one to lead MIC?

The party MIC is going to be history. With this change in political landscape in M'sia, youths will rush to join progressive parties like DAP, PKR & PAS. MIC,MCA, Gerakan & UMNO will be OBLITERATED soon!!!
written by CitizenBodohland, March 10, 2008 10:10:33
While we are enjoying the UMNO post erection in-fighting please note that the show coming up next will be the Barisan Najis component dogs throwing shit at each other. BARISAN NAJIS, a PROVEN FAILED FORMULA.
written by treeman1957, March 10, 2008 10:21:40
Hasn't the aftermath of GE2008 sunk into Samy's thick skull yet? Why bother restructuring and rebuilding MIC...for whom? The Indians don't want your party anymore, more so if you still insist on hanging around as president. JUST GO..maybe the 'survivors' can do the restructuring and rebuilding. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH...Indians want to forgot your 'legacy'..for them it's a nightmare. They gave you a chance to do something for them for more than 20 years...a long time by anyone's standards, and yet you failed them, not just failed, but failed miserably. 20 years as an UMNO running dog; 20 years as an arrogant leader; 20 years as a dictator in MIC...even Tun M has said so. So pack your bags and just go..you're not wanted anymore.

If Pak Lah is so foolish and stupid (actually we can't know) as to offer this buffoon a Senatorship and a Cabinet position, he will be doing it to his (AAB) own detriment...the rakyat don't want losers to get in by the back door.

The rakyat has spoken...the message is clear for all to see. SO JUST BLOODY GO!!!!
written by Incantations, March 10, 2008 10:22:45
Real crappy piece of reporting!!!

Firstly, Tan Sri Nihjar did not stand for elections and neither did the former MIC No 2 Datuk Subra.

Typical singaporean!!!!
written by Jay Krish, March 10, 2008 11:10:47
There are more Indian reps in parliament than ever was under MIC... let Samy stay to 'restructure' and in the process burn the whole party down.

The Indians got PKR, DAP and even PAS to consider their plights... fat cats be gone!