Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow All’s not Ok in developed state

All’s not Ok in developed state PDF Print
Sunday, 09 March 2008 20:57
Terence Fernandez

ZERO OPPOSITION? What a nightmare it has been for out-going Selangor Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo as the developed State falls into the hands of the DAP, PKR and PAS.

Not only has Mohamad Khir’s efforts to wipe out the Opposition in Selangor has fallen far from target, the opposition has all but cleaned up Barisan Nasional (BN) in the state that last fell into opposition hands in 1969.

In spite of winning his own state seat Sungai Panjang, everything is not okay for Mohamad Khir as the swing in the popular votes was felt from the shores of Tanjung Karang to the office towers of Petaling Jaya as the Opposition took 35 of the 56 state seats and (at press time) 13 of the 22 parliamentary seats.

The winds of change blew loud and clear, sending the message that the people have had enough of the reports of abuse of power at the local council level, land-grabs by the well-connected, lack of transparency in spending taxpayers’ monies and arbitrary and ill-researched reasons for raising assessment.

With the DAP, PKR and PAS in power, it is hoped that the winners will now keep true to their promise of a more transparent and accountable state government and local authority by introducing local council elections.

There is already talk of initiating and resurrecting corruption investigations into a number of questionable deals involving now former executive and local councillors.

The opposition campaign which played on these issues had struck a chord with the electorate exposed to news reports of abuses of power by assemblymen such as Port Klang representative Datuk Zakaria Md Deros, whose daughter-in-law Roselinda Abd Jamil, who replaced him, lost the seat to PKR’s Badrul Hisham Abdullah.

Major casualties at Parliament level include MIC No. 2 Datuk G. Palanivel, who lost to former deputy mentri besar, PKR’s Dr Zainal Abidin Ahmad in Hulu Selangor; MCA Selangor chief Datuk Ch’ng Toh Eng to DAP’s Charles Santiago in Klang; Wanita MCA deputy chief Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun to DAP’s Tony Pua in PJ Utara; MCA vice-president Datuk Donald Lim Siang Chai to PKR’s Hee Loy Sian in PJ Selatan; MIC Youth chief S.A Vigneswaran to PAS’s Dr Siti Mariah Mahmud in Kota Raja and MIC Wanita chief Datin Paduka P. Komala Devi to PKR’s S. Manikavasagam in Kapar.

BN’s state defeats include Ijok – Datuk Sayuti Mohamed Sayuti Said to Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, who is tipped to become mentri besar; MCA incumbent Datuk Teh Kim Poo to DAP’s Ronnie Liu in Pandamaran, and Seri Andalas where three-term incumbent Kamala Ganapathy lost to Dr Xavier Jayakumar of the PKR.

The biggest coup was probably Kota Alam Shah where a candidate won in absentia – M. Manoharan of the DAP who is under ISA detention defeated Gerakan’s Ching Su Chen.

The few BN incumbents still carrying the torch for the opposition is MCA vice-president Datuk Ong Tee Keat  in Pandan, albeit by a reduced majority.

The demolishing of MIC candidates is seen as a retort from the Indian community over its lack of focus on Indian issues compounded by a string of temple demolitions by the state authorities, which the party was seen as condoning.

Needless to say, preliminary results show that almost 95% of the Indian votes went to the Opposition.

BN also lost many Malay votes, with many middle-class voters miffed with the high cost of living and the more affluent Chinese community displeased over issues that touched on civil liberties – depicted by the almost wipe-out of MCA and Gerakan in favour of civil rights campaigners such as Santiago in Klang and Edward Lee in Bukit Gasing.

It must not be forgotten that the rise on water tariffs as dictated by Syabas through the privatisation of water was also an election manifesto by the Opposition, especially Santiago, who heads a water rights movement.

As such, many incumbents who lost such as Teh Kim Poo attribute their defeat to national issues, as their track recorded was impeccable.

There is nothing for me to feel sad about as the national issues had a big role in the outcome of this elections,” he said.

While the BN blames the Opposition, it must realise by now that the bigger enemy is from within, as over the last 13 days tales of bickering and sabotage began to merge. One example is in Pandan where Umno, Gerakan and MCA divisions were not supportive.

So while the BN reels from this shock defeat, it will be good for their leaders, forced out of their ivory ­towers, to take stock of the results and finally start listening to the people and as we have seen, from within the party, if there is any hope of regaining ruling Selangor again. - THE SUN

written by Uncorruptible, March 09, 2008 21:11:06
The parasitic plunderers of bn will never chage their stinking spots.
They will just go back into their cave and plot the next moves to get themselves back into power by fair means or foul and continue to plunder the country.
Watch out for them!!1
written by krising1, March 09, 2008 21:13:18
grey has become white, black has become grey. all ok. Except that all ended with blue black.
written by periasa, March 09, 2008 21:13:37
Dear Kasee,
You have done a great job in highlighting and providing avenues to discuss social ills and mismanagement of the country. The opposition onslaught is due to your very efforts in getting Malaysia Today going. Dato' Seri Anwar has all my respects and I had always believed in him to deliver the results...and he had done it. DSA is very relevant in today's context of Malaysia politics. He had also been the driving force to champion and go against the mismanagement of the country.
Now that we had shown the people's power, "Makkal Sakthi"...I hope the Opposition Coalition (OC) will not forget the contributions made by the Indian community that had been one of the reasons to turn the tide against the BN Government. I also hope that the OC will transcend all racial boundary and appoint (depending on the Constitution) at least, Indians as Deputy Chief Ministers or Mentri Besars in states like Perak and Selangor or even Penang. I am sure there are plenty of very capable Indian administrators within the OC. This will then prove to the world and the vast majority of Malaysians that OC has indeed being not racial in its decisions. This could lead to far greater majority in the next elections. It is the trust and honor of the words and pledges by OC that matters henceforth.
DSA must play the pivotal rule as the 'de facto' Prime Minister for all states won by the opposition. In this manner he can skew the thoughts and administration of these states since he had managed the country before being put into jail or pulled out of the main political stream by TDM.
It is also by earnest desire to see that YM RPK be given some kind of role and the states controlled by the Opposition should create a print media with YM RPK as its chief. In this manner, vital information can be passed on to the vast majority of population who do not have access to internet and blogs.
I hope some one or DSA (DAP, PKR and PAS) would pick up these suggestions and implement wherever it is practical.
All the very best to Opposition Coalition (OC) or Front and sincerely hope it conducts the administration without any bickering or to show any kind of divisions amongst the OC.
Best regards.
written by cklife, March 09, 2008 21:20:08
Wow, THE SUN finally dares to write a true report. Giving a more neutral opinion than one sided attack. Wow, I'm amazed Terence wrote this piece. Dare to take a plunge on Khir Toyo.

It's the citizen's vote. Badawi need to address his weakness. I purely agree than he should resign to honour his shameful defeat.

Khairy should also go down.
written by educationist, March 09, 2008 21:22:46
I beg to differ. All's well in that enough Malaysians of all races have voted to show BN the door. Now Keadilan, DAP & Pas must live up to their promise of a different administration style, one where fairnes, justice and integrity takes centerstage.
written by Jbao, March 09, 2008 21:25:55
For the first time in my life there’s a real hope for change
Let the wave of prosperity, integrity & harmony ride on this political will to change

The years of despair, frustration and anger have suddenly disappear
Seize this opportunity to build a proud Malaysia we all hold so dear.

Thank you Malaysians of People’s Power wherever you may be
Let’s show the world how dynamic and progressive Malaysia can be
Winning this election is just the beginning as you will see
March together and overcome whatever challenges there may be
History belongs to those who persist no matter how difficult the journey can be

With renewed hopes, dynamic clean leaders and sheer determination
We will prevail over racial policies, cronyism and political corruption
Let’s build a strong nation that can stand up to world competition
To all who worked so hard, I offer my heartfelt congratulations.
To Raja Petra, Anwar Ibrahim, DAP, PAS, PKR and all those working in cooperation,
You are all heroes in the eyes of this great nation.
written by Christ, March 09, 2008 21:39:58
To the honorable YM RPK,

You called, we answered out LOUD and CLEAR.

Just heard that you may need a GIANT BROOM and happy to inform you that we still have a little remaining fund.
written by yipck, March 09, 2008 22:32:08
Recommend the new Selangor Government to do the following:
The first thing to check for Selangor is
1. Cybercafe License Corruption where the owner are forced to pay RM30k to get new/renew license.

2. The Police and MPSJ Jabatan Perlesenan in the MPSJ area (corruptions) where the gambling Lord can open so many cybercafe with partial gambling machine in the outlets.

Sure will dig out so many corrupt cases to throw them into Jail.
written by varvoom, March 09, 2008 22:45:17
Malaysia would have a New Federal Government and many more states seats if not because of gerrymandering, phantom voters, multiple voters, indelible ink denial, lopsided constituency; we were denied again to form a new government due to this totally corrupted and bias election commissioner call Rashid, he tried to fill up the holes as gush of oppositions voters appeared in every constituency all over the country, even with all the tools available to him (over ½ millions phantom votes) he could not stop the tsunami of change, the popular votes are still not available as I write but I have a strong believe that this illegitimate government receive a lot less then 50% of the total electorate vote. Barisan Rakyat should now go for that Rashid head, haul him before the court and lock him up.
written by The dragonheart, March 09, 2008 23:11:37
i hope the new state government review and take over the water treatment plants back from puncak niaga and let JAS run it back... they are too much...
written by ez24get, March 10, 2008 00:02:16
***There is already talk of initiating and resurrecting corruption investigations into a number of questionable deals involving now former executive and local councilors.***

It is imperative that this new team cuts off and reclaims all corrupted monies from the UMNO/BN goons.

If not, these monies will be used to finance covert activities to bring down the new administration. It can be used to bribe judges for decisions to their favour, play down the stock markets and put the blame on the new administration, employ gangsters to cause trouble and unrest in the constituencies, bribe the police to plant evidences, etc, etc.

Just remember, UMNO/BN now is like a wounded tiger - it can be very dangerous; more so if it still has the funds and resources. Cutting off these funds will dry up their resources and support and render them less dangerous!
written by Hairy Potter, March 10, 2008 00:08:35
Toyol can no longer steal money.

Lebar Daun has to lick a new boss' ass to stay as a crony lest face inquiries into
the scandals which are sooooo...many

Zack once said his palace will be opened to the rakyat for ugama classes or was that just a bed time story to get away from the judiciary which is now under scrutiny?

Pak Lah can now continue sleeping and dreaming as we have gotten back this beloved country.

Thank you Dr. M for your stupid mistake of electing a sleeping beauty.

Congratulations Najib, as the UMNO president's post is now no longer renewable automatically as nobody wants a stateless president who is forever sleepy.

On MIC and Samy, I dedicated their lost to my new friends Sam and the gang whom I met at Pandhi.

Salam..
written by Alarka, March 10, 2008 00:11:39
written by zul4kulim, March 10, 2008 00:18:03
Ahli Parlimen BN akan melompat?

http://1426.********.com/2008/...risan.html
written by ahmadbadrul40, March 10, 2008 00:18:31
To all new Selangor goverment people,

Please start making all the Majlis Bandaraya, Majlis Perbandaran transparent. We want to know what is their expenses, and where is it spend. Why are they always saying that they have not enough money. Make sure all Selangor goverment projects are open for public tender. Meritocracy should start now.

Please start to prosecute all previous Selangor councilors that are corrupt and abuse their power. Start from Khir Toyol and all the way down to Zakaria. We want to see the State goverment to start firing some of the Local Councilors that have not done their job. We also want the Selangor state goverment to initiate local councilors election.

Please do not dissapoint the people.
written by fireduck, March 10, 2008 00:26:37
As rakyat, we are probably caught as unprepared as our politicians that the BR will form the next state govt of Selangor. Who is going to be the next MB is not important. What is important is that the person must be someone who enjoys support from across the whole spectrum of the citizenry, and must be able to 'close rank' with BN supporters too. After all, we are anak Selangor and we wish the best for our home state, just as I'm sure the anak-anak Penang, Perak, Kedah will hope for the same for their home state. And hopefully with this sea change, we can see better policies, better governance, better public service/practices, more accountability and greater acceptance of input from the rakyat.

With high expectations, we the rakyat, would be paying attention to your past rhetorics and promises. We hope you are able to lead us with more care, concern and compassion too. And we hope you will deliver on those pledges.

The rakyat has now broken free from the shackles of tidakapathy, and we will do what is necessary every elections from now on, for the good of our nation. Our voice will be heard again and again. So, dear new govt of Selangor, we hope you will also get real and get rid of the tidakapathy in our civil service. Show the nation how it can be done.

So,..................................

Selangor has been developing rapidly, very rapidly []. So, as a concerned anak Selangor, may I make a request that (strange as it may be) the new state govt SLOWS down the process of development of our beloved state. Develop we must, but NOT at all costs .

The development must be balanced, paced and strategic, not haphazard, random, and wanton. Please ensure the development do not have negative impact on our quality and standard of living. All development must be subject to the EIAs (Environmental Impact Assessment) standards and recommendations. Feedback from the impacted communities MUST be received and given due consideration before the approvals are issued.

This is one of my expectations. I am sure the readers here have a lot more concerns. Perhaps MT can have a section here where we get to list down our concerns. Or perhaps the new state govt can make use of the Internet and link with us rakyat so that feedback etc., and be expeditiously look into.
written by uneminent, March 10, 2008 00:30:49
no more Pirated DVD's? lor...
written by merchant222, March 10, 2008 01:07:19
Quote, "their track record was impeccable".

To keep the writer informed; contrary to the above quote, their track record can be listed in
The Guinness Book of World Records for the fastest discreet land grab and the most corrupted government that rings true to their "Malaysia Boleh" slogan.

They grab land using nominees like their sister's best friend, brother's girlfriend, mother-in-law, father-in-law, girlfriends, cousins, uncles, aunties, second wife, etc,etc,etc. Very fast and very discreet.
written by Chuang Tze, March 10, 2008 01:26:27
To the individual MPs from the BN who have done their bit and worked hard for their constituents, let me tell you that the loss you have suffered is not personal. It does not reflect on the job you did or your personality. It does reflect on the fact that you joined the wrong parties and subscribed to the wrong political ideals.

We the Electorate are fed up with the unmitigated abuses of a far too powerful Govt. and want in place a check & balance, reformasi of the Judiciary, and more say in Parliament so that no one can abuse their powers by just changing the Constitution at their whims and fancy. Fed up with the whole thing and race politics as well. I would rather support a good Malay or Indian than a bad Chinese.

The Govt. played race politics so they can divide and rule, but the RAKYAT are smarter these days and can see through their devious scheme. Thats why Khir Toy aKhir-nya jadi Toyol !!

We the Electorate are fed up of begging for crumbs (if you don't vote for MCA MIC, you may lose your voice in the BN). We demand our fair share of the economy. Why should we have to grovel for crumbs ??!!

Come join the Opposition. I am sure if you have done your work with your constituents, the Opposition will welcome you with open arms !!

written by Beezee_Beezee, March 10, 2008 05:17:08
Congratulation to all the Selangor people. You deserved a more respectable gormen. With this new gormen we must also ensure those in UMNO/BN with millions must be investigated for their part on Taxes. They deserved to be put to task if they have not declared their incomes/monies from all avenues.
The gormen of selangor must also establish RCI towards those UMNO/BN minister that has abused their power, have not paid their taxes, assessment of their properties etc and etc. All these finding must be shared with the people publicly as we BA promised.
Once again congratulation to the BA particularly DSAI/YM RPK for their efforts to the success of the BA in this PRU 12......

written by Counterpointer, March 10, 2008 08:21:19
Here Queer Toyol,

For BN's poor performance, let's us present you this:

Please sweep up your office after you've finished packing and on your way out !

written by Mr Smith, March 10, 2008 08:30:57
It cannot be denied that the Indian community played a huge role demolishing the arrogant BN and it is only proper for the winners to reward them, first with a high post in the government - either in Penang, Perak or Selangor - and uplift their lot.
Since MIC is no more, it s for BR to care for them.
There must be at least one Deputy Chief Minister/Menteri Besar from this community!!!!!
written by Task Force 101, March 10, 2008 09:53:55

Time for Selangor to shine. I like the broom comment and the demolishing of Zak's mansion.

Selangor has much much potential and promise. But there is much hard work as well. I know that PKR with Anwar guidance will make it happen

GO PKR!!!
written by AngryTaxpayer, March 10, 2008 10:15:20
Go Barisan Rakyat!!! Clean up the mess created by Toyol and his goons!!! Put the nation back on track!!