Malaysian PM won't resign despite poll debacle PDF Print
Sunday, 09 March 2008 20:40

By Clarence Fernandez

KUALA LUMPUR - REUTERS: Malaysia's premier has no plan to step down after leading his ruling coalition to its worst election result in decades in which the opposition Islamists and reformists won control of five of the nation's 13 states.

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's multi-racial National Front (Barisan Nasional) coalition won just a simple majority in parliament, and his future as leader is in doubt after he watched a record majority collapse to the weakest level ever.

Barisan has effectively ruled since independence from Britain in 1957.

Abdullah had no plan to quit, his spokesman said on Sunday, despite urging by predecessor Mahathir Mohamad that the prime minister must take responsibility for the election defeat.

"There are no plans to resign," Abdullah's spokesman, Kamal Khalid said. "He still has plans to proceed to the palace tomorrow morning to take the oath of office."

Mahathir advised Abdullah to quit. "He should accept responsibility," said Mahathir, who now says he made a mistake in picking Abdullah as his successor and that the current deputy premier, Najib Razak, should have taken over.

Malaysia's share market is expected to slide on Monday, as political uncertainty takes hold after the massive protest vote.

"The political stability has finally been challenged," said Pankaj Kumar, chief investment officer at Kurnia Insurance, who helps manage 1.6 billion ringgit (251 million pounds) in assets. "The question is, how does Malaysia move forward from here in restoring confidence?"

A sales broker said he expected the benchmark Kuala Lumpur Composite Index to fall 50 to 100 points, or around 8 percent, on Monday as investors try to answer that query.

The streets were unusually quiet, with many older Malaysians fearful of trouble. The last time the coalition suffered a heavy setback, in 1969, race riots erupted.

"I don't like Barisan Nasional," said Latipah, a 28-year manicurist in Kuala Lumpur. "I think the prime minister is indecisive, slow and confused. But I'm afraid there will be trouble now that they've lost badly."

Abdullah, who just four years ago led the coalition to a record election victory on a wave of hope for change, faced a bleak political future on Sunday, his aides stunned but unwilling to concede that he must step down.

Several party leaders were to meet the prime minister on Sunday to pledge him their support, a source close to the party leadership said.

Abdullah's humbling performance nationally -- the coalition ended up with 62 percent of federal seats, down from 90 percent previously -- was compounded by the fact that his own home state, the industrial heartland of Penang, fell to the opposition.

ISLAMISTS ON THE RISE

The leftist Chinese-backed Democratic Action Party (DAP) won Penang, the hub of Malaysia's electronics industry, which accounts for about half of exports.

Lim Guan Eng, Penang's chief minister-designate, assured domestic and foreign investors that the opposition recognised the importance of their major contributions to the state's economy.

The opposition Islamist party, PAS, scored shock victories in the northern heartland states of Kedah and Perak and easily retained power in its stronghold in northeastern Kelantan state.

PAS sought to play down fears it would try to ban gambling and alcohol in opposition-controlled states, with party president Abdul Hadi Awang saying Muslims would not be allowed to do anything banned by Islam, although non-Muslims would be free to do whatever their religion permitted.

DAP and PAS also joined the People's Justice Party, or Parti Keadilan, to wrest control of the industrial state of Selangor and almost all the seats in capital Kuala Lumpur.

Political experts and economists wondered aloud whether the Barisan government could now pursue its agenda, including plans for $325 billion (161 billion pounds) in development zones across the country.

Without a two-thirds parliamentary majority, Barisan can no longer change the constitution or make some key appointments.

"This is probably not good news for the equity market or the ringgit," said Tim Condon, Singapore-based head of Asia research for investment bank ING.

Malaysia is largely a mix of ethnic Malays, who make up about 55 percent of the population, and ethnic Chinese and Indians, who account for about a third.

A protest vote from Chinese and Indians, upset over what they saw as racial inequality in terms of business, job and education opportunities, had been expected. The Indians were merciless, voting out the leader of the coalition's Indian component party and handing a seat to an Indian activist now in detention.

But Malays, who are all Muslims and traditionally support Barisan, completed a perfect storm for the government, giving the opposition Islamists a record vote to protest rising prices.

"Tomorrow we will start building a brighter future," said opposition figure Anwar Ibrahim, de facto leader of Keadilan, which emerged as the biggest opposition party in federal parliament with 31 seats. "This is a new dawn for Malaysia."

Results from the election commission as of 7:20 a.m. British time showed the National Front with 138 seats in the 222-seat parliament versus 82 for the opposition, with 2 seats still being tallied. - THE MIRROR

(Writing and additional reporting by Mark Bendeich; Editing by David Fogarty)

written by indianputra, March 09, 2008 20:42:25
This morning, I went to visit an MIC ADUN who lost. Over thosai and coffee, I asked him, what happened..? I know him, very hard working, be there for his constituency whenever they required him, had an office where he went at least 3 times a week, had an assistant who took care when he was not around etc.

He was very bitter and he said the following:

* It is all because of Samy
* Samy did not see the pulse of the rakyat
* Samy is egoistic, had an attitude and was very proud
* Samy should have supported HINDRAF and had a dialogue with them
* Samy should not have stood for election again
* Samy should have fought with Pak Lah not to use force against HINDRAF

etc. etc. etc.

I totally agreed with him, but asked him WHY DIDN'T PAK LAH AS THE NATIONAL LEADER AND THE LEADER OF BN STOPPED SAMY? He had no answer..

Friends.. It is Pak Lah, who screwed up BN and UMNO during this GE. The following is expected:

1) He resigns voluntarily
2) The lost UMNO, MCA and MIC candidates will force him to resign
3) The UMNO supreme council will ask him to resign
4) A vote of no confidence in his PM ship will be made by the opposition parties
5) He will be challenged for UMNO presidency by Najib in the next UMNO General Assembly
6) He will run away to Perth

WHATEVER, PAK LAH IS A NON ENTITY, NON RELEVANT AND WILL DISAPPEAR SOON.

HE HAS TO GO AWAY and you bloggers continue your protest please.
written by educationist, March 09, 2008 20:49:23
He won't resign but he will be retired from the post by his own UMNO colleagues, gracefully and respectfully as is the norm with Malay culture. He has not shown the type of leadership that will enable him to weather this political crisis.
written by supplier, March 09, 2008 21:32:28
He just can not get the facts into the thick skull of his that the people do not want him to lead the country. Without the wins in Sabah and Sarawak. BN would have lost in the elections. RESIGN OR QUIT rather than been thrown out by the people power
written by MMhunter, March 09, 2008 21:53:03
Now we have a two party system in place.This augers well for the rakyat and the country.We must always remember the elected politicians are our servants and not our masters.They are placed there to serve our best interest.When they fail we just remove them.We must not show blind loyalty to these servants of ours.We must make them work for our interest.A two party system is heaven for rakyat as they have an option to choose the best.our loyalty must be to the king and constitution never to our servants.We must never ever make the mistake and put our future in jeopady again.We must keep an open mind to get the best out of this new two party system.
written by The dragonheart, March 09, 2008 21:55:05
Dear Barisan Nasional,

I would like to give you some tips on how to solve your immediate internal problems in order to survive for the next 4-5 years...

1. Pak Lah Must resign as a the Malaysian Prime Minister.

2. Najib must resign as the Deputy Prime Minister.

3. Since Sarawak BN won the most MP seats (29 seats), Let the Sarawak BN Leader Be the Next PM this term.

4, Since Johore won the second most MP seats (25 seats), Let the Johore BN chose to be the DPM.

5. Pak Lah and Najib should stop being a minister but go back to clean all the corrupt UMNO leaders, and to clean themselves if necessary. You have 4-5 years to clean your own back yard. If you think your too old to do that , then resign from UMNO... and we can always have a by-elections in Kepala Batas and Pekan.

6. As for the other BN component parties in BN, try to learn to be like PKR, as ethic/racial based party is not relevant anymore in Malaysia.

7. Being a simple majority in power of the Federal Government, try to learn to be a trustworthy manager for the whole Rakyat, and don't be bias. Distribute the wealth equally among the states government immaterial who the govt is.

8. You must propose a bill to amend the constitution to give an autonomy rights the the KSN, Chief of the Armed Forces, Inspector General of Police, The judiciary, and the BPR and the SPR to be independently responsible directly to the Agong but under certain terms specifically for each bodies, as long as the parliament is not dissolved, responsible on behalf of His Majesty Yang DiPertuan Agong, to the federal ministers, and to some extend require 2/3 votes of parliament before certain act can be executed. These bodies shall be the care taker of the government under the command of Yang Dipertuan Agong if the parliament is to be dissolved for what so ever reason by the PM, or at any time if the Agong wish to declare a state of emergency under article 150 of the constitution for the safety of the land and people of Malaysia.

9. A bill must be made find suitable powers to be given to the Malay Rulers in giving and protecting the human rights of the rakyat if they were being deprived by the political powers beyond the law of the courts.

10. Propose a bill on freedom of fair speech, fair media and fair broadcasting as long as the contents are not defamatory in any sense.

Thank You...
written by kksam, March 09, 2008 22:14:34
now let us see whether Bodowi will sleep during meeting again or not, and expect to see more BN MPs fill in the parliament as well as debating more serious issues and not BocorX3.
written by Kal El, March 09, 2008 23:06:22
written by MMhunter, March 09, 2008 | 21:53:03

Now we have a two party system in place.This augers well for the rakyat and the country.We must always remember the elected politicians are our servants and not our masters.They are placed there to serve our best interest.When they fail we just remove them.We must not show blind loyalty to these servants of ours.We must make them work for our interest.A two party system is heaven for rakyat as they have an option to choose the best.our loyalty must be to the king and constitution never to our servants.We must never ever make the mistake and put our future in jeopady again.We must keep an open mind to get the best out of this new two party system.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I couldn't agree with you more than that.
We must make sure that they remember it is US who put them there & we can take back whenever they are slacking.
They must remember not to act soo arragently like the UMNO mother ****ers!
If not,they will also see heads chopped off...theirs that is.
written by BennyG, March 09, 2008 23:10:34
Pls let BODOWI stay as PM as there are quite a number of BN MPs that were not voted out. Only with BODOWI in charge will there be so many strong and proven issues for the oppositions to strengthen their call for justice.

BODOWI, pls ignore those UMNOPUTRAs who want your head. Stay for another term and help the opposition.

written by bexe, March 09, 2008 23:18:12
No need to resign?
Now all opposition in Parliament must move a motion of no confidence to get rid of this Nincompoop and his entire Government. Get another election going and you will hands down with this groundswell of support!
written by Rohani Hitam, March 09, 2008 23:41:05
Yeah it's unfair to force AAB to resign as he was the one responsible for the resounding victory by the oppositions. We should let him stay and let him rot further the coalitions in BN and by then it is easier for the oppostion as BN would die of natural death.
What BA has to do is to proof to the citizens that they have made the right decision by voting in the BA and eventully all BN supporters will learn than being blind followers has its setback.
written by toolan, March 10, 2008 00:20:39
It no longer matter who will be the Prime Minister. Most important fact now is whichever the Prime Minister will no longer be able to abuse power like before.

Any misdeed will be closely monitored and gauged by the rakyat.

This election delivered the message loud and clear - The Rakyat have the ultimate say.

So DAP,PAS & PKR please do not squander this invaluable opportunity that was bestowed on this nation through petty squabbles and self benefits.

written by ez24get, March 10, 2008 00:57:52
I pity Badawi - he is a nice guy surrounded by sharks and wolves in UMNO. I
dare say even Najib were to be the PM on March 8, the outcome of the polls would
still be the same. This is because it is UMNO who the Rakyat is angry with. It's UMNO and it's cronies who have been stealing from the people. It's UMNO who is arrogant - people like close-one-eye MP, ZAM, Taxi Nazri, gangster deputy security
minister, King Zakaria and other similiar type of personalities in UMNO who the
rakyat is angry and not with Badawi directly. The trouble is that he is surrounded by people who provided him with false adulation, information and wrong reading on the ground; From people such as:-

1. Zam the information minister who instructed the media not to report the real
truth; he was the one who told Badawi not to listen to non-BN criticism when
Badawi asked everybody to give comments. Thank God, he has been booted out!

2. Nazri who told Badawi the silent majority do not condone rallies, freedom of
expression and the silent majority are with the BN. Remember, he once said when the MP are elected, they can do what they like because they are elected by the people.

3. the 4th floor guys who do the wheeling and dealing without the knowledge of
Badawi.

4. UMNO goons who flaunt their ill-gotten wealth; the filthy AP recipients who travel to work in helicopters; the Zakarias who build palatial mansions among the modest homes of the rakyat; the east coast ministers who lost millions in a single
casino session; etc

5. It was Najib's close relative, Krisammudin, who waved the kris while Badawi asked members to tone down the UMNO AGM. Krisamuddin was merely following Najib's good example when he did the same thing years ago.

6. Do not forget it was Mahathir who was the father of the UMNO goons and it is he who have set up the infrastructure and provided the tools to these goons to earn their corrupted living.

Of course Badawi, being the head honcho, has to take the blame on the misdoings of
his UMNO members. Even if Badawi resigns, UMNO is still the same. All the fat,
corrupted culprits are still in UMNO; all the arrogant bastards are still in
UMNO! All the racists are still in UMNO!

It's UMNO who the rakyat is not happy with; Badawi is just the scapegoat! Najib with all his baggage is worst than Badawi. Najib has all the above qualities of a UMNO goon which the Rakyat dislike. If he becomes the PM, there will be a bigger tsunami in the 13th GE which will wipe UMNO off from the face of the earth!
written by ahmadbadrul40, March 10, 2008 01:01:52
Badawi shouldn't resign. I hate Mahathir and Mahathir's people. Mahathir is the main cause of UMNO down fall. He was the one that destroy the civil institution of Malaysia. He was the one that manipulate the judiciaries. He was the main motivator behind it. He has sow the seeds of discontent among the Malaysians. He is the guilty one that incacerate Anwar, Lim Kit Siang, Lim Guan Eng, Karpal Singh and many other activist without due process.

I think Badawi should retrial Eric Chia case which will lead to Mahathir. There are many cases in Malaysia that would lead to Mahathir. Mahathir is more guilty than Badawi in turning the country upside down. He has given the country all the materialistic gain but ignore the value of equality, human dignity and justice. He has manage to build a relative huge middle class Malays and for that we credit him.

But here is a dillema. He is also the one that brought a lot of sufferings to other group of people due to huge corruption and nepotism practice in the past. FOr that the gain was fast and huge for the Malays but the fall is equally fast as well. Many Malays don't feel that they are competitive compare to the world. And many Malays are still afraid of globalization because they believe they are not well equip mentally to compete in world stage.

But UMNO did nothing to help the self asteem of the Malays. And therefore, UMNO shall suffer the consequences.

I think Badawi should just let the Lingam case proceed without any interference from the goverment.
written by krepot, March 10, 2008 01:24:24
I was told, ABB had visitors from UMNO tonight, demanding for his resignation. Lets see if he makes it to the morning to be sworn in as the new PM.

If he do, then he had cut out a deal to be there for 6 months before stepping down and handing it over to No.2, another moron.

Either case, BOTH have to go! Both are liabilities to BN, if they expect to improve.

Also to watch out for - the new cabinet.

The biggest insult will be to retain any of the following ex-ministers:

1. Rafidah AP
2. Nazri Witness Protection
3. Hishamuddin Keris
4. Jamaluddin Karaoke
5. Azlina Lesbian
6. Tg Adnan Scandal

Even worst, will be to try to bring back:

1. Samy Aiyooyoo MIC
2. Sharizat lanyak kat Pantai
3. Zainuddin the bumbling baboon

Lets also see, how many portfolios Sleepy Head is going to undertake this time. He should attempt 5 ministries this time? Lets hold our breath and await the moment!

Expect more humor!
written by Chuang Tze, March 10, 2008 01:47:23
We need Bodohwi there so that the Barisan Rakyat can win the next election !! Najib may have violent tendencies to the Barisan Rakyat or Barisan Alternatif !! We have to outlaw C4 before he takes over if he does ...

We need to put The Mad Hatter (TDM) in his place. He is the bastard who started all the rot and subverted UMNO and the BN. We must make sure he does not start a Mad Hatter dynasty !!

Maybe Ku Li can take over ...
written by Layman, March 10, 2008 03:09:46

Bravo!

Your prediction of BN losing "five states plus 90 seats in Parliament" really came true...

Now, you can really open your "Feng Shui" corner and occupy the Office Building of Meterological Department (Their weather forecast Sucks)... Your Tsunami prediction came true!!!

Cheers! Well done Rakyat Malaysia!!

A reporter asked BODOWI about the outcome after he announce BN won the simple majority...

This Bloke actually says that..."Sudah Kalah, Kalah lahh..." and walk away... of course this section is conveniently deleted fvrom all major news stream...

I was aghast at the nonchalant response and luckily he did not say "I DON'T KNOW" which is a bigger blow to his already fledgeling reputation...

Looks like his response indicated that he still need to Sleep it off... "Sudah Kalah... Kalah Lahh... Biar Saya Tidur Kejap...."....Don't disturb...
written by Mat Keris, March 10, 2008 03:29:36
Pak Lah,
If you realized your mistakes and are sincere about changing to the will of the Boss, stay still, we'd give a chance to repent.
But if you think snoozing and auto-piloting are the way to go, worse, if you don't even think you have the will and gut to root out the rots ... then it's in your best interest to F-off now (before we come to sodomize you collectively!).
written by HJ Angus, March 10, 2008 07:05:37
Guys - OK lah so the people won.
No need to insult our PM like some of you are doing.
He is still the PM and we should continue to offer constructive advice like ahmadbadrul40's

"I think Badawi should just let the Lingam case proceed without any interference from the goverment."

There should also be more focus on solving the "A" murder case where a few government departments are implicated.
written by gundohing, March 10, 2008 07:30:26
PM wont resign! This is good news indeed.. This will definitely pave way for a downfall for BN under the stewardship of the incompetent. We can now expect a landslide majority to BA in the next election.
written by fearless, March 10, 2008 08:15:13
RPK is only one predicted that BN lost 2/3 and 5 seats.

Other media either local or foreign countries especially kiasuland are so confident to predict BN will win handsomely with 2/3 majority.

A professor from NTU Kiasukand even came out this prediction, 50/50% chance BN wins 2/3. I think your cat can come out a similar 50/50 prediction model to hit the correct answer all the time.
written by atsanee, March 10, 2008 08:40:53
AAB,please dont step down.

Please continue in your job but start PERFORMING.

Last time, your UMNO goons/strategists tried to keep PAS down by outdoing them in Islamic mannerisms.

Now with DAP and PKR also posing real threats to your very survival, you better outdo them in the things they stand for.

ie,human rights,fair and free elections,an independent judiciary and police.a free press and media, get rid of ISA, use Petro profits to benefit the people like subsidising petrol prices and cheaper education and medicines.
AAB,Please do all these to remain relevant.

If you step down, all it will mean is the country will be torn apart as there will be a proxy wat between Mahathir(through Najib and Mukhriz) and Anwar Inrahim(BR) and we dont know where that will lead us.
Damn if Malaysia is going to be caught up in the crossfire.
Heavens forbid.
written by atsanee, March 10, 2008 08:46:56
AAB,also suggest you allow free speech and freedom of expression.
Allow people peaceful assembly and make the police cooperate with street marchers so long as they remain peaceful.
If that had been allowed before, maybe you would not have done so badly in the Polls and you would have been better informed about whats really bugging people in the streets.
So get down from your ivory tower,your executive jets and your australian holiday villas and be with the people.
And oh yes,WAKE UP FOOL !!
written by Bigjoe99, March 10, 2008 08:51:38
To survive, he needs to be even more corrupt than Dr.M, go on a spending spree that will keep UMNO happy. So the first order is to raise oil prices, put money in piggy bank and spend like crazy. If he hessitate, he will be taken down as soon as this year.

My bet is Razaleigh will be next PM.
written by Bandit, March 10, 2008 10:08:26
Najib Razak as next PM ??? What??? We all know Najib won because of postal votes. smilies/grin.gif . So did KJ monkey. Cik Gu Bad I salute you...You are the true winner and will be come the next elections.

Badawi. You have been manipulated by the snake within your family. You brought in a monkey and he made a monkey out of youand the whole barisan with his arrogant behaviour. (MUAK AKU TENGOK MUKA KHARI).

If BN have any little honour left, I suggest Badawi and Najib and Keris Hisapmuddin to resign with immediate effect. Let Ku Li be the next PM.

Bravo Malaysians!!! Rakyat Pantang di Cabar!!! Mau Cabar Lagi Kah?????
written by kksam, March 10, 2008 10:43:21
No don't force him to resign, let him have the chance to respond as i believe he won't dare to screw around this time. No matter how bad Abdullah was, he is still better than Racist Najib, at least Abdullah haven't said bath in chinese blood or wave his keris at the chinese community. Remember, Najib involved in the Altantuya case, imagine what an ambitious man can do