Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Malaysia PM fails to gauge public anger as electoral hammering puts job at risk

Malaysia PM fails to gauge public anger as electoral hammering puts job at risk PDF Print
Sunday, 09 March 2008 20:16

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia (AP): Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi appears to have made his biggest political blunder yet by seeking a fresh mandate amid surging public anger against his administration.

The miscalculation dealt his ruling coalition a string of defeats in Saturday's general elections and could eventually cost Abdullah his job, analysts said.

"He misread the signs. A lot of people were voting against Badawi," said Malik Imtiaz Sarwar, a human rights lawyer and political commentator. "He became the face of the mismanagement of the country. People were beginning to really, really dislike him despite his affable demeanor."

Abdullah's National Front coalition lost its two-thirds majority in the 222-member Parliament for the first time in four decades, winning only a simple majority of 139 seats. The opposition also won control of legislatures in five of Malaysia's 13 states in the biggest electoral upset in the country's history.

The results were seen as a verdict against a string of missteps by Abdullah and his failure to fulfill promises made ahead of 2004 elections which the National Front won in its biggest victory ever.

Analysts say the 68-year-old ignored Malaysia's widening poverty gap and increasing cost of living. Corruption appeared to get worse even though he had promised to eradicate it, while charges of nepotism fizzed around his government.

He made his son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin one of his advisers. Unconfirmed reports surfaced about a yacht Abdullah bought in Turkey and a house his son purchased in Perth, angering many low income Malaysians.

When the southern state of Johor was struggling after floods in late 2006, Abdullah was in Perth to inaugurate his brother's curry restaurant. Some even criticized him for remarrying less than two years after his first wife died of cancer and then showing public affection toward his new partner.

"At a time when the country is crumbling around us we have to watch his lovey-dovey going-ons with his wife," said Malik. "People don't want to see a lovable teddy bear. They want a tough leader."

Abdullah's next big test will be when he faces the general assembly of the United Malays National Organization, the largest party in the National Front, later this year.

"The reality is that there will be tremendous pressure within UMNO for him (Abdullah) to step down," said Bridget Welsh of the Johns Hopkins University, an expert on Southeast Asia who was in Malaysia to monitor the polls.

The Front is a coalition of 11 small parties and three major ones that represent Malaysia's main ethnic groups — the majority Muslim Malays who make up 60 percent of the 27 million population, the Chinese at 25 percent and Indians at 8 percent.

Traditionally, Malays have voted for UMNO, the Chinese for the Malaysian Chinese Association and the Indians for the Malaysian Indian Congress. The parties have been given Cabinet posts proportional to the seats they win in Parliament.

The power-sharing arrangement has helped ensure racial stability, and it worked as long as the three races believed only their parties could look after their respective communities' interests.

But the minorities have become increasingly disappointed at the failure of their parties to protect them.

The Chinese and Indians were angry at an affirmative action program, known as the New Economic Policy, that has given Malays preference in jobs, education, business, housing, finance and religion since 1971.

They also worried that their religious rights were being eroded by the government, which has been openly pushing to make society more Islamic. Several Indian temples were destroyed by authorities last year, purportedly for illegal construction, and many courts presiding over religious disputes ruled in favor of Muslims.

Ordinary Malays were also unhappy, with many charging that the benefits of the New Economic Policy were being reaped only by rich and well-connected Malays.

Repressive police tactics also fueled anger. Officers dispersed thousands of people with tear gas and water cannons at a street protest in October to demand electoral and judicial reforms.

Similarly, minority Indians were chased away by the police when they held an unprecedented rally to protest against racial discrimination in November. Five of their leaders were jailed under a law that allows indefinite detention without trial.

One of them contested a state assembly seat from jail and won. It is not clear if he will be allowed to serve.

These frustrations were tapped by the opposition parties, which for the first time set aside their ideological differences and came together to pose a united challenge.

Opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim campaigned on a platform that urged people to look outside race-based politics. His election rallies attracted thousands of people compared to a few hundred by ruling party candidates.

It is clear that the Indian and Chinese minorities abandoned the National Front in droves — the Chinese party in the coalition won 15 of the 40 seats it contested and the Indian grouping won only three of the nine seats it stood for. Many Malays also voted against UMNO, which won 78 seats compared to 109 in 2004.

Although the opposition parties are also identified by race, they have agreed to build a multiracial alliance where all races will be treated equally.

"What is crucial now is how the opposition works as a coalition. The mandate given to them has created a national opposition for the first time," said Welsh. (INTERNATIONAL HERALD TRIBUNE)

written by indianputra, March 09, 2008 20:34:21
This morning, I went to visit an MIC ADUN who lost. Over thosai and coffee, I asked him, what happened..? I know him, very hard working, be there for his constituency whenever they required him, had an office where he went at least 3 times a week, had an assistant who took care when he was not around etc.

He was very bitter and he said the following:

* It is all because of Samy
* Samy did not see the pulse of the rakyat
* Samy is egoistic, had an attitude and was very proud
* Samy should have supported HINDRAF and had a dialogue with them
* Samy should not have stood for election again
* Samy should have fought with Pak Lah not to use force against HINDRAF

etc. etc. etc.

I totally agreed with him, but asked him WHY DIDN'T PAK LAH AS THE NATIONAL LEADER AND THE LEADER OF BN STOPPED SAMY? He had no answer..

Friends.. It is Pak Lah, who screwed up BN and UMNO during this GE. The following is expected:

1) He resigns voluntarily
2) The lost UMNO, MCA and MIC candidates will force him to resign
3) The UMNO supreme council will ask him to resign
4) A vote of no confidence in his PM ship will be made by the opposition parties
5) He will be challenged for UMNO presidency by Najib in the next UMNO General Assembly
6) He will run away to Perth

WHATEVER, PAK LAH IS A NON ENTITY, NON RELEVANT AND WILL DISAPPEAR SOON.

HE HAS TO GO AWAY and you bloggers continue your protest please.
written by Uncorruptible, March 09, 2008 20:51:16
Hail the beginning of the TWO-PARTY system in Malaysia!!
Tread carefully, tread well.
Our future is in your hands.
written by educationist, March 09, 2008 21:01:48
In so doing, a new political reality has emerged in Malaysia. For, too long more than 2/3 of Malaysians have bought the BN line that only they can serve the nation, bring peace and prsoperity. But now, 5 opposition state governments have a chance to show that they can do things differently yet continue to bring peace, harmony and economic progress to their citizens. Of course, we hope BN will not continually throw obstacles onto their path, as they did with Trengganu after the 1999 elections
written by periasa, March 09, 2008 21:05:40
Dear YM RPK,
You have done a great job in highlighting and providing avenues to discuss social ills and mismanagement of the country. The opposition onslaught is due to your very efforts in getting Malaysia Today going. Dato' Seri Anwar has all my respects and I had always believed in him to deliver the results...and he had done it. DSA is very relevant in today's context of Malaysia politics. He had also been the driving force to champion and go against the mismanagement of the country.
Now that we had shown the people's power, "Makkal Sakthi"...I hope the Opposition Coalition (OC) will not forget the contributions made by the Indian community that had been one of the reasons to turn the tide against the BN Government. I also hope that the OC will transcend all racial boundary and appoint (depending on the Constitution) at least, Indians as Deputy Chief Ministers or Mentri Besars in states like Perak and Selangor or even Penang. I am sure there are plenty of very capable Indian administrators within the OC. This will then prove to the world and the vast majority of Malaysians that OC has indeed being not racial in its decisions. This could lead to far greater majority in the next elections. It is the trust and honor of the words and pledges by OC that matters henceforth.
DSA must play the pivotal rule as the 'de facto' Prime Minister for all states won by the opposition. In this manner he can skew the thoughts and administration of these states since he had managed the country before being put into jail or pulled out of the main political stream by TDM.
It is also by earnest desire to see that YM RPK be given some kind of role and the states controlled by the Opposition should create a print media with YM RPK as its chief. In this manner, vital information can be passed on to the vast majority of population who do not have access to internet and blogs.
I hope some one or DSA (DAP, PKR and PAS) would pick up these suggestions and implement wherever it is practical.
All the very best to Opposition Coalition (OC) or Front and sincerely hope it conducts the administration without any bickering or to show any kind of divisions amongst the OC.
Best regards.
written by HJ Angus, March 09, 2008 22:27:02
The automatic response is "Just Go" but maybe he can still play a role in the fostering a more democratic Malaysia.

I have a simple poll on my blog that asks the question:

"What Are Your Views on Abdullah Badawi Remaining as the PM of Malaysia?"
Do think about it and make your choice.
written by Krazee, March 09, 2008 23:41:49
My 2 sen woth is that his ppl have all gown arrogant...starting with Umno Youth... Hishamuddin and khairy...still the same inspite of the big losses..
I thot this shd make them wake up to see that the ppl are the boss and not the other way round but no...see the press conferences...the arrogance of Johor MB...
I really pray the new opposition will make full use of the new support and hope the next time round......form the next Govt. Maybe this will also show Govt servants that the ppl are the boss starting with SPR...PDRM and so on.....
written by Msian 2, March 10, 2008 00:49:10
What a good showing by the Opposition. With the likes of KJ, Kerismuddin, Fat AP Queen this BN is not going to change much. If it does its a smoke screen not forgetting they have their fingers in too many pies too. Its not even a question of democracy that the PM has put, its a direct challenge that the next time around the broom would sweep better. UMNO has taken for granted that the malays have a kampung mentality & have used the media to lie. Well, the malays are not sleepy heads. They are very much informed & progressive. Its just that they need someone like Anwar to play the leadership role. The malays value nationhood & they know they will be fighting their own kind as the rest of the ethnic group population decline in the future. Bn have been telling lies, covering up corruptions, plundering via their cronies/proxies & creating bad vibes among the races. I am very happy to see a new beginning of a 2 party system. Salutes to RPK,Anwar,Guru Nik & LKS .
written by Mat Keris, March 10, 2008 00:53:30
Indianputra “Friends.. It is Pak Lah, who screwed up BN and UMNO during this GE”

Else, how could we win so big? Let’s thank him for the blunders lah.

Anyway, here is something from another thread …

Folks, not only you have sent our message out with such an astonishing success, you have also lifted all of us to be officially recognized as the irrefutable True Boss of Bolehland. Tahniah & Syabas!

I concur with most of the views here eg. mara koman “mahathir's plan of asking Badawi to step done, is fine. But Najib to replace him. I rather stay with badawi”

The March 8th Tsunami is a result of our will ie. to send out a loud and clear message that WE WANT CHANGE & WE MEAN BUSINESS. It was never our intention to get rid of Pak Lah (as some vested politikus claimed so and tried to hijack your credit as theirs) just to be replaced by another HP6 monkey such as Najib, Mukhriz or what have you … Sorry, we classy beings don’t play no pariah games, please F yourself because we are convinced that as long as UMNO/BN is not taught a hard lesson, we have no doubt the same shits we have been forced to live with for the past 50 years will just bloodily persists till the end of time.

Some of the more sensible comments I have come across so far …
- Shahrizat Abd Jalil “The people have spoken, I accepted the message they are sending, Barisan Nasional has do some soul searching, to renew and reenergize itself.”
- CVL “Lets all herald this new dawn; a fresh start has begun for all of us Malaysian to start rebuilding our dreams for a better Malaysia” etc

I am so very profoundly proud of all of you, the #1 Boss of Bolehland … Salute, you are my MAN, my IDOL, my HERO!

“HE HAS TO GO AWAY and you bloggers continue your protest please”
I consider this an UMNO’s internal issue … none of our business. Don’t forget, we the Boss now have two monkeys to monitor ie. BN & BR. Let’s have fun as the Boss.
written by DontPlayGod, March 10, 2008 01:03:21
I think AAB should go, just go. I don't know what the UMNO bigwigs think. He is guilty of dereliction of duty, not doing his homework, and allowing his 4th floor boys to do all the planning and thinking for him.

In a word, AAB is just plain lazy, although he claims to work vey hard.
written by fireduck, March 10, 2008 01:19:57
Ya, AAB is as dumb as dumb can be. The writings were all on the wall, or more specifically, on the Net. If only he had cared to read them. There were enough gripes, scoldings, curses in the blogs to drown whatever 'positive' spins his 'advisors' put out. But he was dumb enough to believe his people (like Zam and KJ), and to totally ignore (and in fact fault) the bloggers, who are the messengers. There is no smoke without fire, but he very arrogantly believe himself to be loved by the rakyat.

And it is his own undoing when he openly challenge the rakyat with his famous 'Saya pantang dicabar'! So, as good citizens, we rose up to accept the challenge.
written by FFT, March 10, 2008 03:26:07

Another one who got hammered.

Looks like there's no light at the end of the "terowong" in his political career.

"Ini pilihan rakyat. You tak suka you keluar dari Malaysia!"
written by campuras, March 10, 2008 07:45:42
This is indeed a new chapter in the nistory bools of our country.

Will the oppostion coaliting make it to the next election as a united coalition of the willing or the unwilling will depends on the first 365 days. If they fail to deliver or put in substantial change that makes a difference, they will be no come back for them.

written by Bigjoe99, March 10, 2008 08:15:19
The article is very accurate. Badawi miscalculated, he was not wrong fundamentally. Badawi plan was always to control the right wing of the party and then swing back to the left with more liberal agenda. The problem is he thought he had a lot of time to do it. His problem began when he tried to accomodate the ambitions of his SIL with his agenda not realising he had to set the agenda as leader. It was just bad management.

Now the problem is even larger. With UMNO under seize, who is going to move the party to the left where the future of the party and this country lies?

They are already saying that its the price increase and oil price hike that is to be blamed ignoring the issues raised by DAP completely. They don't see that price hike and oil price hike is something that will continue to happen - its called globalization. What happens within the next 5 years, China and India slows down and commodity prices collapse? Are they going to say its out of their hands too?

The future of UMNO/BN is in moving to the left and Badawi blew the biggest political reform opportunity of a lifetime starting 4 years ago when he started to back off on crooked bridge, the police reform, Mat Deros, Rahim Thamby Chik, Rafidah, Lingam-tape etc. He backed off on everything. If he had backed off on the cases, he could not backed off on the major policies which was the police and the judicial system. Then he could have survived but he blew his political capital. Just blew it.

Now who is going to take the party to the right? No one has the political capital to do it. Not Najib, not Hissamuddin, not KJ. The closest is Razaleigh but he may be too old and I think revenge is more in his mind that actual fundamental reform of UMNO.

We are in for a ride for possibly decades after tonight...