Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Undur Lah, Pak Lah! (Part II)

Undur Lah, Pak Lah! (Part II) PDF Print
Sunday, 09 March 2008 19:49

The academics will no doubt have their own voluminous analyses of this election, the most significant turning point in Malaysian politics. I wish only to highlight one positive and refreshing trend. This election saw all parties fielding many new and young candidates.

M. Bakri Musa

Any other political leader whose party had been so humiliated as UMNO was at this election would by now have tendered his or her resignation. Abdullah Badawi however, is slow on the uptake. He does not respond to subtle signals, even though there was nothing subtle about voters’ rejection of his leadership. The only way to get his attention would be to hit his thick skull with a two-by-four lumber, metaphorically speaking of course.

At a press conference early this morning he declared, “I don’t know who is being pressured (to step down), I’m not resigning.” At best, that reflects a leader totally out of touch with the harsh reality; at worse, the bravado of an idiot. With Abdullah, it is both.

If UMNO members do not complete what the voters had set out to do in this election – that is, get rid of Abdullah – then the next elections would be even uglier. If former UMNO leader and Prime Minister Mahathir was accurate in his assessment that the party can no longer be reformed from within ( a sentiment I share), then we are indeed watching the beginning of the end for UMNO. The implosion has begun.

Nothing is inevitable, however. This once proud party could indeed regain its luster and the citizens’ confidence if it were to thoroughly cleanse itself. As with a fish, the rot begins at the head. Chopped off the head, and unlike a fish, with a viable organization a fresh, unblemished head will emerge ready to take over, as with a hydra.

Fortunately the party has a chance to do this soon. Its Supreme Council members must move forward the party’s leadership conference that was postponed to this August. The council should also rescind its earlier “tradition” of there being no contest for its top posts. It should open up the process and loosen the rules. There is no need for a prospective candidate to line up support from umpteen divisions. To discourage frivolous candidates, institute the payment of deposits, as with the general elections.

Those two initiatives would immediately open up the field. UMNO could then preview more candidates instead of restricting itself to the same tired old faces. New faces of course would not guarantee change. We have already seen many young leaders in UMNO who are only too quick to learn and too eager to acquire the unsavory traits of their elders.

A New Dawn for Malaysia

As Anwar Ibrahim rightly observes, this election marks “a defining moment” in the history of the nation and the opening of “a new chapter.” It is indeed a new dawn for Malaysia, a pivotal point in its politics. He can say that with considerable authority. More than any other person, Anwar was responsible this remarkable reshaping of the Malaysian political landscape. Even though he was not allowed to contest this election, he campaigned actively.

He was also instrumental in aligning the opposition parties. Those parties also worked closely together in 1999 and 2004 elections, but without Anwar’s personal involvement they did not achieve much. Clearly the Anwar factor is real and remains formidable.

The academics will no doubt have their own voluminous analyses of this election, the most significant turning point in Malaysian politics. I wish only to highlight one positive and refreshing trend. This election saw all parties fielding many new and young candidates. Two young fresh talents deserve scrutiny for different reasons, but both reflect the greater political dynamics.

One is Nurrul Izzah, Anwar’s daughter who defeated Welfare Minister Shahrizat Jalil in the Lembah Pantai constituency which included the upscale community of Bangsar and the University of Malaya campus. Unlike many of her cabinet colleagues, Shahrizat was a competent minister. She also treated her novice political opponent civilly and with respect, rare among UMNO politicians. They have a penchant for demonizing their opponents.

Nurrul Izzah’s considerable talent (she after all has a graduate degree from Hopkins) and appeal aside, her victory reflects the waning support of UMNO among urban sophisticated voters.

On the other hand, the fate of another young candidate, Abdullah’ son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin, provides an amusing contrast. A year or two earlier Khairy, using the “protection” of his father-in-law, managed to ascend to the number two position in UMNO Youth san a contest or election. This time he was catapulted to contest the hitherto safe rural parliamentary seat of Rembau. Despite being challenged by an unknown school teacher, Khairy managed only to squeak through. UMNO has problems even in the Malay heartland.

Obviously this Oxford graduate was attempting to ride on his father-in-law’s coattail, except that Khairy made the mistake of not recognizing that his father-in-law had no coattails; he was naked!

Non-Political Lessons From This Election

For Malaysians who rely on the mainstream media or who are guided by their opinion shapers, the results of this election would be a shocker. For those who follow the Internet however, this was exactly what we had expected.

While the pundits in the mainstream media were all wet in their prognostications – they all confidently predicted a return of Barisan’s supra-majority – Raja Petra of Malaysia-Today was spot on in his overall predictions. He also predicted a significantly reduced majority for Abdullah and a greatly enhanced one for Najib.

Mainstream media readers may not have heard of “Chegubard” Badrul Hisham Shaharin, Khairy’s political opponent in Rembau, but ‘Netizens are very familiar with him. They also contributed substantially towards his campaign. Had indelible ink been used on voters to prevent repeat voting and had the Elections Commission not have spare postal votes handy, Chegubard would have handily crushed Khairy.

Equally telling was that I had difficulty assessing both Malaysiakini and Malaysia-Today; their websites were swamped despite having multiple mirror sites. Even when the authorities suspended Malaysiakini’s website, it could still be accessed via its mirror sites elsewhere.

For another telling contrast, I had no problem at all downloading the mainstream media’s websites. In my hunger for news however, I readily settled for second best! This election is more than a repudiation of Abdullah Badawi. It is also a repudiation of the mainstream media and their pundits and journalists.

Doing away with Abdullah is much more doable task, not so with our incompetent sycophantic media. UMNO members must not shy away from doing the necessarily dirty task at hand, getting rid of its leader Abdullah Badawi. If they fail to do that, then Malays would not hesitate in getting rid of UMNO.

written by mara koman, March 09, 2008 20:16:19

To the article above by bakri musa,,

I am trying to make sense of the whole new era.

-First mahathir's plan of asking Badawi to step done, is fine, But Najib to replace him. I rather stay with badawi at the moment. One would not deny, the force behind Badawi was his rotten racist group najid, nazri, hishammuddin and growing boy khairy. ( This khairy was to fight back,, not end of world. This is not 100 me race, but cry of million to have a better life.;; can the khairy learn to shut up,, arrogance you stop )

-Honestly PKR, Anwar shd be eventully be the PM. Bring najib is going back to 100 years of Umno's arrogant and stupid govt again..and his cronnies.

-Can this Old man/ mahathir, stop meddling with the situation now, and let the existing engineer the best govt who will work the people
written by panca, March 09, 2008 20:57:14
The political parties based on religion and racial lines shall see to its own demise and thus will onlt give birth to parties that can only relevant to the human race.

We would like to see the quick process more death of racism and religion fanaticism parties and over time become carcasses of the past.

The human race factor.
written by kurangfaham, March 09, 2008 20:58:12
Memang tepat, inilah masa untuk Pak Lah meletak jawatan sebagai gentleman.
written by CVL, March 09, 2008 21:06:21
Lets all herald this new dawn; a fresh start has begun for all of us Malaysian to start rebuilding our dreams for a better Malaysia.

As an addition to these observations by Bakri, emergence of dynamism in the voters is worthy of mention as it is certainly telling.
This dynamism was gathering its inertia back then thru the revelations of events such as the Lingam Tape, the PKFTZ , Auditor’s General report, crimes as the Sharlinie case; spiking critical mass thru the manner the government ‘handled’ these; picking up momentum thru recollection of kerismanship. I think the final fueling point of this dynamism was completed the way the government handled the Bersih and Hindraf rallies in Kuala Lumpur.

Without doubt, the dynamics synched well with the catalyst role brought about by Anwar. And thus this empowerment to change is not only seen but tipped some scales on the Richter.

However, In celebrating this beginning, it would be prudent to cast our sight on the root cause of this dynamism else they recur.
written by CHEERFUL Joo, March 09, 2008 22:08:05
Dear PM

Just do one thing right restore back Independence Justice and correct the wrong doing of TDM. You beat him for once.
written by mecharojak, March 09, 2008 22:23:32
History have shown that Pak.Blah is very thick skinned and thick skulled. He would not step down voluntarily without a big "GTFO" handed to him by UMNO itself.
written by Chandramooi, March 09, 2008 22:37:55
Dear PM
Take heed of this quote........

All the world's a stage,

And all the men and women merely players;

They have their exits and their entrances;

— (William Shakespeare, As You Like It, 2/7)

written by Bennyloh, March 09, 2008 23:45:00
Everything is cool and calm..
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...ni-dr.html
written by Motherchell, March 10, 2008 00:25:27
Good analysis in a nut shell Bakri! further ,i would say Badawi's downfall, can easily be chronicled.

The day he was designated the PM of Malaysia by TDM the walls of Troy crumpled .In the first place he is not PM material, and i cannot understand why he was ever promoted to one, by a martinet like TDM.

He was always with the wrong crowd of advisers , like KJ, Nazri etc . The people needed a leader who had a human face , but it was just a cosmetic mirage he showed. That was blatantly exhibited during the Berseh and Hindraf rallays . Worst still was the citizenry swallowing one like that from a religious studies graduate. His lifestyle , nepotism, cronism, and open corruption. When it came to basic rights of the people they were pickaxed to oblivion.
The incubation of Mat Rempits, who were unknown in the annals of the history of the Country. UMNO used the system they placed before its people in Education, and Social Structure . These gullible youngsters became their Protectors-- shrewdly they set in place to cover their pilferage of the Nations coffers. These people were sidelined in the name of the NEP. These were the votes that went against UMNO.

To add rancor , he groomed his SIL, he may be an Oxford orator, but is miles away from ebullience and class, definitely not a leader in the making. There has not been one account of his display of that Oxford breed, Its been overbearing!!

How could Malaysia have the ISA ? even after 50 years ,instead of working to unify diversity . they set up a police state!!!-- with cronies to protect them and yet UMNO wanted to connect to the the New World -- this is a pertinent question in every educated Malaysian!! and threatening the citizens with it is treacherous. They cannot be huddled into a corner like in the old days . These are the tears of each citizen.

Najib is no better, and if UMNO has to reform and survive, they definitely got to burn some midnight oil before it implodes into their faces!!!!!!!!

The periphery to rule in a dominion today has changed . The people have said it with one voice. If its too insipid for him to further hear us --- then i would say it will be to Australia's gain, -----Perth would see an explosion in inward flights!!!!
written by Mat Keris, March 10, 2008 00:36:33

Folks, not only you have sent our message out with such an astonishing success, you have also lifted all of us to be officially recognized as the irrefutable True Boss of Bolehland. Tahniah & Syabas!

I concur with most of the views here eg. mara koman “mahathir's plan of asking Badawi to step done, is fine. But Najib to replace him. I rather stay with badawi”

The March 8th Tsunami is a result of our will ie. to send out a loud and clear message that WE WANT CHANGE & WE MEAN BUSINESS. It was never our intention to get rid of Pak Lah (as some vested politikus claimed so and tried to hijack your credit as theirs) just to be replaced by another HP6 monkey such as Najib, Mukhriz or what have you … Sorry, we classy beings don’t play no pariah games, please F yourself because we are convinced that as long as UMNO/BN is not taught a hard lesson, we have no doubt the same shits we have been forced to live with for the past 50 years will just bloodily persists till the end of time.

Some of the more sensible comments I have come across so far …
- Shahrizat Abd Jalil “The people have spoken, I accepted the message they are sending, Barisan Nasional has do some soul searching, to renew and reenergize itself.”
- CVL “Lets all herald this new dawn; a fresh start has begun for all of us Malaysian to start rebuilding our dreams for a better Malaysia” etc

I am so very profoundly proud of all of you, the #1 Boss of Bolehland … Salute, you are my MAN, my IDOL, my HERO!
written by wishuponastar, March 10, 2008 00:51:27
Badawi is stark naked but Khairy says Fil looks striking in his Emperor's New Clothes.Poor PM..but he still better than the ex waiting to crown Najib so that Lingamgate can stay as a closed gate forever.

If Badawi want's to stay on Khairy should advise Fil to open-up Lingamgate and get Razak Baginda to tell the whole story about the girl from the Eurosian Steppes.That would keep his rivals busy and PM can slumber again.

Please bloggers do not try to canonize Mahathir because he is no saint.Why should he call for 'the day after'press conference? He is seeking a free ride on BA's glory.
written by grant, March 10, 2008 08:26:29
Badawi, u can go and hide under anybody's skirt la... ur thick skin face like wanna reput doesnt know any shame is it? somemore wanna come out and say that u will do this and do that... high time u resigned la... ur own state also kalah... the state that houses the fed govt administration also kalah... FT also kalah... wat more u want? if i were u, i go jump off from penang bridge...
written by cinabuta, March 10, 2008 10:06:21
Sikap bertanggung jawab atas apa yang berlaku, adalah yang amat penting, dan diambil kira untuk rakyat menilai, pemimpin itu berjuang untuk parti atau untuk perut. Jika dia menjadi pemimpin parti, sudah tentu dia akan meletakan jawatan sebagai Presiden UMNO dan Pengerusi BN, seterus nya meletakan jawatan sebagai PM.

jika beliau berjuang untuk perut, sudah tentu beliau akan terus menjadi PM dan Presiden UMNO, seterus nya kita akan lihat UMNO itu sendiri akan hancur.

Dalam UMNO dipenuhi olih pemimpin yang sudah tidak di kehendaki lagi olih ahli UMNO, mereka yang tewas dalam pemilihan puch pimpinan UMNO, masih lagi berada dalam majlis tertinggi. Ini lah punca kekalutan. paham lah dah kalah just leave, type your resume and get another job.

Sikap ahli UMNO yang bermuka muka terhadap pemimpin yang gagal seperti beliau merasakan, beliau masih di perlukan, walau pun dia sendiri tahu, khidmat nya telah tidak di kehendaki lagi.

Selamat meletakan jawatan.

written by DezMalaysia, March 10, 2008 11:35:40
Pak Tidor Bodohwi must resigns !

http://dezmondpang.********.com/
written by cinabuta, March 11, 2008 21:21:12
Cukup cukup menyuruh beliau meletakan jawatan, kita perlukan Badawi di situ, supaya
senang kita, menang dalam lain pilihanya kecil atau PUM ke 13 nanti, Kita menang sebab kebodohan nya. Kebodohan beliau menjaga hati rakyat.