Abdul Khalid to be sworn in as Selangor MB PDF Print
Sunday, 09 March 2008 17:14

KUALA LUMPUR: Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim will be sworn in as the Mentri Besar of Selangor when the new state government is formed, said PKR and DAP leaders.

DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang said that Khalid would be heading the state government when PKR de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim had gestured him to answer the question on whether the former CEO of Guthrie Bhd would be the next MB.

Lim said this at Anwar's residence in Bukit Segambut after they had a meeting to discuss the plans for Selangor.

Anwar said they had been discussing on formalising the consensus between the three parties.

"Now we are looking into how PKR, DAP and PAS can combine and work together to administrate Selangor as we had done with Penang," he said adding that they have called representatives from the parties to decide on the matter.

On whether the parties would have deputy MBs who are Chinese and Indian, he said they had not decided on the details.

Anwar said they had agreed on a formula on how the three parties would govern Perak, which has equal winning seats between the parties, and will announce their plans later.

On whether Wan Azizah will step aside for him to take over her Permatang Pauh seat, he said "not necessarily".

"Moreover, she had a resounding victory; we will think about the issue in the next few weeks," he said.

On whether he would be heading any of the states, he jokingly quipped that he would like to, if given the opportunity, to head Penang.

"But nobody offered me the post in any of the states," he laughed.

Anwar also said the parties were working towards establishing a strong coalition between the three parties to administrate the five states.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by atsanee, March 09, 2008 18:20:34
Anwar,plse reamain as you are.
Relevant and power and strength in the wings.
Spiritual adviser to the BR.
Do not get involved in the running of state governments as that may work against you.
You are greater than life.
Let Wan Azizah and Nurul Ezzah shine out on their own.
And keep your legacy intact.
written by defendermalaysia, March 09, 2008 18:46:07
To be fair to everbody, the position for chief minister for the states should be as follows: Penang chief minister DAP, deputy PKR. selangor chief minister PKR, deputy DAP
Perak chief minister PAS, deputy DAP.
This is what we call power sharing and unity coalition. Prove this to BN that all of you PAS, DAP PKR can work together, adminster the states without fear,corruption and most important be fair to every Malaysian without bias to any race or religion.In Selangor, PKR should imediately investigate about zakaria palace and take action to demolish this corrupt palace. This should be a reatliation against UMNO Krir toyol who demolish 100 year old temple in Klang.
written by indianputra, March 09, 2008 19:00:09
Khalid, congratulations...

However remember one thing.. YOU ARE NOT THE CEO OF A COMPANY.. You are the Menteri Besar of multiracial population of Selangor. Your arrogance, ego and poor interpersonal skills you exhibited when you were the CEO CANNOT be used at a MB.

Learn to be humble, listen to people before you talk back, be generous, be understanding, be kind but remain firm in human values. All the best!
written by Anak Kampung, March 10, 2008 08:04:55
tambalagee, I believe that the constraint is that the state constitution does not allow for a non-Muslim MB but I could be wrong about that. Can anyone confirm?
written by Bigjoe99, March 10, 2008 08:39:06
Anwar must not be CM and best not to be. He is not the end of the struggle but just the means. Anwar is better off going down in history as the senior leader guiding the country than to actually have to rule and be tainted by the dirty comporomises of day to day politics. Mentor Leader should be Anwar's ambition not PM.
written by Chuang Tze, March 11, 2008 02:51:00
Anak Kampung is correct. It is in the Perak State's Constitution to have only a Malay muslim MB. It is up to the people of Perak whether they are mature enough to want to remove or change this racist, bigoted and obsolete clause. A Perak people's referendum ought to do it.

However, at this stage, we should not be too petty when dealing with this issue and let us accept this "condition" and see how it can be worked around.

And BigJoe99, I disagree with you. I think Anwar should be the next PM when BR takes over in 2013 !! He is best suited for the post !!
But only if he pledges to use the 2/3 BR majority in 2013 to enact
a law in Parliament where the BR Govt. can prosecute all cases of
corruption, and can seize whatever assets these thieves possess,
and I would strongly suggest execution as the penalty for
plundering Malaysia !!! How I hate these corrupt bast*rds !!