Mahathir says PM Abdullah must take responsibility for poll shock PDF Print
Sunday, 09 March 2008 16:27

KUALA LUMPUR (AFP): Malaysia's former premier Mahathir Mohamad said Sunday his successor Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has "destroyed" the ruling coalition after disastrous weekend elections.

"I think he should accept responsibility for this. He should accept 100 percent responsibility," he added.

Mahathir, who led the ruling United National Malays Organisation (UMNO) which helms the Barisan Nasional coalition (BN) for 22 years before stepping down in 2003, lashed out after its worst performance in history.

"My view is he has destroyed UMNO, destroyed the BN and he has been responsible for this," Mahathir told reporters.

He suggested Abdullah should resign, and said he had made a mistake in selecting him as prime minister.

"I am sorry but I apparently made the wrong choice."

Mahathir has previously said he never intended for Abdullah to serve more than one term, and that he should have opted instead for influential deputy prime minister Najib Razak who is now leader-in-waiting.

The Barisan Nasional suffered its worst ever result in Saturday's polls, losing its two-thirds majority in parliament for the first time since 1969 and conceding four more states to a resurgent opposition.

Abdullah was punished over rising crime and inflation in an election also tinged by rising racial tensions between majority Muslim Malays and minority ethnic Chinese and Indians.

"I think the people must have been very angry, all the races, Chinese, Malays and Indians," Mahathir said.

"The problem is we (the government) have become so arrogant. We suppress any opinion that we do not like and they begin to believe in their own reports which are not actually consistent with what is happening in the country."

Abdullah was Mahathir's hand-picked successor when he stepped down, but after the new leader dumped several of his pet projects he began launching accusations of economic mismanagement, nepotism and corruption. - CHANNEL NEWSASIA
Comments (31)Add Comment
written by Ramesh, March 09, 2008 16:45:08
TDM, You made the same mistake too, my dear TUN. You under estimated DSAI, Makkal Shakti and brothers and sisters of Malaysia. 2 week ago, you said DSAI must be dreaming if he ever wants to be the PM and opposition only will garner 30 odd seats. What has happend to your vast experience and inteligent reports? Give another 4 years, UMNO will become irelavent just like MIC, MCA, Gerakan and PPP!!! Its easy to blame others and thank you for selecting a weak PM. I have never forgotten Tian Chua in his shorts and T-shirt and hand cuffed and DSAI's black eye. You made the right choice of quitting, if not this could have been you!!!
Ramesh
agree 132
written by AsamLaksa, March 09, 2008 16:51:37
"The problem is we (the government) have become so arrogant. We suppress any opinion that we do not like and they begin to believe in their own reports which are not actually consistent with what is happening in the country."

Is Mahathir planning a comeback?
written by Milo, March 09, 2008 16:56:07
TDM is wrong this time. Badawi has proven to us why he should stay as PM for another term. He is the only PM who can personified UMNO as the pariah party they are to the general population. He is the only PM who can unite the people to bring about changes by voting opposition. This way, 4 years on, Malaysia can start to have a bright future.
written by Kaneeneh, March 09, 2008 17:07:32
Melaka's CM Ali Rustam said it a few months ago, UMNO doesn't need anyone. UMNO can stand on its own. This must be a dream come true for UMNO. Now they can form a 100% UMNO cabinet. Cabinet Kayu.
written by Jefus, March 09, 2008 17:17:20
UMNO is so full of themselves - u can see the look of disbelieve when the results were announced. They were suckers for their own spin!

written by Gerald, March 09, 2008 17:31:58
CM for Melaka Ali Rustam and Hishamuddin always boasted that BN doesn't need the vote from the Chinese and Indians. You two guys must eat back your own spit. We, the rakyat can only put all these in our hearts and will unleash when the time comes, AND THE TIME IS NOW! POOR BN YOU LOOK LOST FOR WORDS...GOD IS GREAT AND NO MAN IS ABOVE HIM! WHERE IS THE BN GUY/DEPT WHO SAYS THAT IT IS FORBIDDEN TO WORSHIP STATUES LIKE THE CHRISTIANS, BUDDIST, AND HINDUS??? HE SHOULD BE ACCOUNTABLE FOR OPENING HIS BIG MOUTH???
written by Rohani Hitam, March 09, 2008 17:39:31
TDM comment is uncalled for. How can he tries to wake-up a sleeping PM so rudely. AAB desrves his sleep as he slept all the way when he was the DPM under TDM and continue to do for the last 4 years as the PM. TDM chosed a sleeping PM who is fat asleep even now as he refuse to accept responsiblity.
TDM he was your choice. You chosed him because he slept all the way during your term and you deserve what you get - a passif, non-proactive and extremely obedient DPM. You didn't like opposition from any of your quarters and you have a HP6 heir to your hot seat.
Now you want to blame him for what? You have left the administartion completely corrupted, indulge in cronyism and poor in state administration. You too must retire. Shut-up and take the long break that you need. Perhaps join AAB in his long sleep and sweet dream.
written by FFT, March 09, 2008 17:42:58
Beware the snake-like mamak who is trying to slither himself into a position to hijack the election results for his own political gains.

Funny how this megalomaniac uses the word "we" when he refers to those in control of government (and no, his use of "we" does not mean "we, the people").

One thing to keep in mind is that what was voted against yesterday is the mess that resulted from Mahathir's 22-yrs of corruption.

Mahathir should be given a clear choice: either enjoy your retirement quietly and gracefully, or face the possibility of swinging from the gallows for corruption and destruction of every single institution of the country (a.k.a. treason).
written by panca, March 09, 2008 17:43:25
Badawi is the perfect PM, The PEOPLE OF MALAYSIA thank you for your pick.

The political structure of the country which umno has been manipulating, by big guns the divide and rule system, it's called to live with disharmony. It is the mode of arrogance and inequality in your umno system and badawi is the perfect pm, called it a blessing in disguise for the People who rises early than hime to break it, timely. Fate(karma, action n reaction) if you like to call it or god's will, it skidded and turned turtle on that fateful day, March 08th 2008.

So what is your motive of your article here that speak of responsibilities? what responsibilities, yours or his? or any motivational plan for your son? badawi has not done his responsibilty or perhaps has done his responsibilty to allow the CHANGE of guard.

We want the government to be credible and the government needs The People.
It's simply the right for the process of democracy to work for the progress of the country, not umno to hold on to it and cause the good policies to be amended to suit the waving of the keris.

Step aside, while people work don't complain about what happen and those bureaucrats on TV stations should not be too eager to speak of the umno brand of administration, if it serves all, perhaps the CLEAN and Hindraf, Lawyers' walk and so forth do not to go beyond....march.

Save your breath if your personal, selfish agenda appear in your head.
written by grant, March 09, 2008 17:44:44
If anyone analyze the results, UMNO had 70 odd Parliament seats only for this rnd. The rest were from MCA/MIC.... If MCA and MIC were to defect to BR, UMNO will eat shit literally... And yet they wanna blame MCA and MIC for the loss.

If UMNO can stand on their own, they wont be getting such a low margin of Parliament Seats.. Have this to say to UMNO.. Up Urs!
written by Kent Tory, March 09, 2008 17:45:58
Pak Lah needs to realize that his son-in-law is one of the crucial reasons for the Rakyat's deep disatisfaction towards the BN gov't. KJ being a nobody in his thirties, calling the shots in the country only because he is the Son in law of the PM. He had hurt not only the rakyat but many senior respected political leaders with his arrogant and gangster style attitude. This is just not acceptable. Pak Lah need to realize that KJ is not only doing his daughter, but has buggered the Barison National. I hope the others in the UMNO will see this and force Pak LAh to resign. If that happens, then KJ will also be history!. UMNO needs to take this drastic action to remain relevant in Malaysian politics or in the next GE they will not even get what they retained this time. .
written by grant, March 09, 2008 17:46:20
With 2/3 majority dented, and 5 states under BR, we are heading to a new era... With Sgor and FT loss, let's see wat these UMNO goons like Zakaria and co can do abt it. Ur time is over so is...gerakan coz they are doomed!
written by Gerald, March 09, 2008 18:14:45
ONE OF THE REASON for BN downfall is no doubt the infamous "Hishammudin waving his Kris" to intimidate other races. May I dare Hisamuddin to wave his kris now if only he has the two balls remaining...Maybe I need your kris to cut rambutan from the trees..as least I'm sure the rambutans are still there but I'm not sure if you still have your rambutans in your pants!
written by atsanee, March 09, 2008 18:26:41
No Tun,you must take much of the blame or credit yourself.
AAB just carried on with what you started.
You created this UMNO monster,not AAB.

Congratulations.
written by Vertigo Cure, March 09, 2008 18:27:02
It takes a stupid leader to choose another stupid leader.

Mahathir left all the shit for AAB to clean up but the latter just sleeps on it.

Mr C4 is now very happy that he may become the PM. But don't be too happy, next election he'll lose even bigger - the PM seat may go to Anwar.
written by ez24get, March 09, 2008 18:58:58
***"The problem is we (the government) have become so arrogant. We suppress any
opinion that we do not like and they begin to believe in their own reports which
are not actually consistent with what is happening in the country."***

I pity Badawi - he is the nice guy surroundED by sharks and wolves in UMNO. I
dare say even Najib were to be the PM on March 8, the outcome of the polls would
still be the same. It's UMNO that the Rakyat is angry with. It's UMNO and it's
cronies that have been stealing from the people. It's UMNO that is arrogant -
people like close-one-eye MP, ZAM, Taxi Nazri, gangster deputy security
minister, King Zakaria and similiar type of personalities in UMNO that the
rakyat is angry and not with Badawi directly. The trouble he is surrounded by people who provided him with false information and wrong reading on the ground - people such as:-

1. Zam the information minister who instructed the media not to report the real
truth; He's the one who tell Badawi not to listen to non-BN criticism when
Badawi asked everybody to give comments. Thank God, he has been booted out!

2. Nazri who told Badawi the silent majority do not like rallies, the freedom of
expression and agrees with the BN. Remember he said once the MP are elected, they can do what they like because it is the people who elected them.

3. the 4th floor guys who do the wheeling the dealing without the knowledge of
Badawi.

4. people who flaunt their ill-gotten wealth; the AP recipients who travels to
work in helicopters; the Zakarias who build palatial mansions among the modest
homes of the rakyat; the east coast ministers who lost millions in a single
casino session; etc

Badawi being the head honcho of course has to take the blame on the misdoings of
his UMNO members. Even if Badawi resigns, UMNO is still the same. All the fat,
corrupted culprits are still in UMNO; all the arrogant bastards are still in
UMNO! All the racists are still in UMNO!

It's UMNO who the rakyat is not happy with - not Badawi directly!
written by Rhan, March 09, 2008 19:04:00
Don't ever listen or trust this old fox. I am sure he will threaten all Malaysian especially the Chinese with 513 if he ever sense the rakyat oppose sentiment. I can accept a sleeping and incompetent PM rather than a selfish hypocrite.

Ask him to shut up.
written by The Truth Seeker, March 09, 2008 19:48:14
abdullah is surrounded by tose so called ceap skate little napolean. one of them is annuar zainni, this little napolean at times think he is the man behind the power, many occasions he chaired meeting behaving like a emperor. he contributed to pak lah down fall,he should resign from BERNAMA and UNIVERSITY MALAYA
written by HamChak, March 09, 2008 19:56:18
Mahathir, Mahathir,
It was YOU who handed all your SHIT and
Half Past Six Ministers to Him (Badawi).

So, Please la, don't blame Badawi. I think
BADAWI is better and more Honest than you.
Why call a kettle black when your own pot
is even more than BLACK?
written by joseph81, March 09, 2008 20:05:04
No, Najib is not a good PM neither, please don't take us as idiots, we did not voted out BN so that ur sons can get more project, we did it for the country. Stop treating Malaysia as ur MONEY SHAKING TREE
written by bexe, March 09, 2008 20:15:09
No need to blame Tun
No need to blame AAB
No one could destroy UMNO but UMNO itself.
And they did just that. They imploded from the bad smell from the rot that they created and refused to clean. We the people saw to that. We lit the fuse.
We are thankful that we have been given this huge opportunity. It wouldn't and couldn't happen otherwise.
Let us finish the job. Let us sack every corrupt MP or assemblyman. Let us investigate everyone elected. Let us charge everyone who hold office if they have been corrupt. Put them in jail. Make them resign their seat. Call for bye-election to replace them. This way we will rid ourselves entirely of these UNMOpariahs.
Yes I expect the new leaders to initiate and carry this out.
written by raven1958, March 09, 2008 20:38:05
Mahathir cannot be trusted....this country lost virtually all its institutions leaving Malaysians high and dry. This country's resources in billions were handed over to thieving cronies and contrary to what he says the destruction of UMNO and the BN started during his tenure.....Malaysians are far better off without him and this country should NEVER EVER LET HIM COME NEAR THE CORRIDORS OF POWER. No matter how hard it is let us have fresh clean start.......enough of Mahathir's grand delusional coco maniac ideas
written by merchant222, March 09, 2008 21:52:58
Mahathir, shaaaadup and speak only when you are spoken to, by the RAKYAT. You initiated your rotten agenda; Corruption, Discrimination, Marginalization, Racial Divide, etc,etc,etc. As a leader for 22 years, you are nothing compared to the leader of the "Little Red Dot".

Now the people have spoken... We don't need MCA scums, The MIC is irrelevant, and The Umno big-wigs who hailed from neighboring countries pretending to be Bumiputras of Malaysia can go back to where they came from. We definitely do not need another Keris waving racist to be our PM. So, keep your opinion to yourself and just concentrate on your bread and butter business.
written by temenggong, March 10, 2008 00:36:17
Badawi should continue his office till the Umno AGM, then decline to contest the presidency of umno.
written by NancyL, March 10, 2008 01:28:53
Why Mahathir?..just leave him alone.....get Badawi...why want to shout at a mountain for....well this is the new malaysia.....GOODLUCK MALAYS....AND UMNO...CONGRATULATIONS FOR MAKING THIS ELECTIONS ANOTHER FAILURE FOR YOU GUYS.....JUST SLEEP AND SLEEP AGAIN...AND DENY ALL YOUR MISTAKES .....MALAYS WILL NEVER LEARN....
written by renoir, March 10, 2008 04:34:58
Nancy, try not to generalize. The fact that so many Malays have rejected BN and go for the Opposition shows that they're as "alert, smart and clever" as any other people, perhaps even smarter than you. I'm not sure that the Chinese and Indians, if told they could get something for nothing, wouldn't want that privilege forever. So let's be a bit temperate and not spoil this happy occasion, unless you're an out-of-work cyberwarrior trying to divide Malaysians again.
written by Beezee_Beezee, March 10, 2008 06:15:02
This OLD Roaster still busy with his KoKoKok.....We We We WHAT' I thought he never seek opinion..I I I made the decision....Now we Huh......"we the gormen Never" It's clear that when he was in gormen he just need to twist all the arms of the BN leaders to agree with him.

Gone were the days Mr.TDM..your BN policy can be archives in the Museam Negara..As a BUMI I have never claimed any help from the gormen...As DSAI had pointed out the NEP should Go...The BUMI things should be considered for the Poor and Natives both East and West Malaysia....The AP should be removed from the MITI and to be relooked back for better implementation. We do not encourage Handfull type of BUMIs controlled APs etc.
We the new Gromen of Selangor should look at the education policy of Free Education for the student in that state to show the BN gormen that we meant business. Free UNI to all anak jati Selangor...and selected other states student based on merit. Not whom has the power and whom they like.

TDM we the Malaysian who educated ourselves that never dependent on BN fund now show you we can make the different. To Succeed we must help amongst Malaysian not racist like UMNO/BN....KERIS raising should be banned in any premises....
written by mara koman, March 10, 2008 06:16:14

I think Badawi shd go on until the next umno AGM,,,

This mamak snake ,, mahathir why bother interviewing him,,

Hasnt we had enough of him and samy yearss....
written by Mat Keris, March 10, 2008 06:54:43
Ramesh … Kena Bull Eye!

AsamLaksa “Is Mahathir planning a comeback?”
Q > Since when he left? Or perhaps you should rephrase yr question “Is Mahathir planning a comeback VIA HIS PROXY?”

Milo “Badawi should stay … the only PM who can personified UMNO as the pariah party … the only PM who can unite the people to bring about changes by voting opposition.”
> Correct, correct, correct!

Gerald “BN doesn't need the vote from the Chinese and Indians”
> With so many cheap Indon, Pilipino and Mamak around, who needs Ah Pek and Thamby … but U R right, God is great, and that’s why the Tsunami – UMNO Proposes, Allah Disposes!

Rohani Hitam “TDM chosed a sleeping PM who is fat asleep even now as he refuse to accept responsiblity.”
> R U waiting for Mahathir to apologize to u? Your chances of striking the 1st prize (4D) is way better lah …

FFT “…snake-like mamak trying to hijack the election results for his own political gains.”
>The whole also can see that? Looks like this particular amphibian isn’t that smart after all?
”this megalomaniac uses the word "we" … does not mean "we, the people"
He is NOT THE ONLY ONE doing that … open up your eyes folks.

Panca “So what is your motive … speak of responsibilities?”
Aiyah, stupid question lah, retards also can tell what is he fighting for lah …

Atsanee “You created this UMNO monster,not AAB.”
> Careful what u say, a mega libel suit could be coming your way …

ez24get “It's UMNO who the rakyat is not happy with - not Badawi directly!”
> Pandai lah lu …
written by Rhan “I am sure he will threaten all Malaysian especially the Chinese with 513 if he ever sense the rakyat oppose sentiment. I can accept a sleeping and incompetent PM rather than a selfish hypocrite”
> SAFER?

joseph81 “please don't take us as idiots, we did not voted out BN so that ur sons can get more project …”

> If he does, he wouldn’t even have said it in the first place … Just take it as a compliment lah. Sometime, it’s better to be idiots, not so stressful lah …

merchant222 “We don't need MCA scums, The MIC is irrelevant, and The Umno big-wigs who hailed from neighboring countries pretending to be Bumiputras”
> Aiyah, don’t be so honest lah …

Temenggong “Badawi should continue his office till the Umno AGM, then decline to contest the presidency of umno”
>Sounds like an idea … You know what, you got $5!
As a gesture of respect to the Rakyat, KJ started a new reward program codenamed “Hear People, Pay People” ie. so long your suggestion is not a straight crap, you will be paid at least $5 … not bad huh?

NancyL “MALAYS WILL NEVER LEARN”
>Didn’t they just proved to you they have learned?

And many more rational, smart and natured views … I am so impressed lah.
Confirmed: The Bolehlanders sudah manyak matured and pandai dah! Politikus, Mati lu lah …
written by NancyL, March 11, 2008 07:18:44
YOU WRONG MAT KERIS...if their fathers didnt learn anything....
...atleast the children will learn something....
...do not underestimate us.....
...ME AND ALL THE MALAYS
....I AM AS SMART AS ANY OTHERS IN HERE EVENTHOUGH I AM JUST A HOUSEWIFE....BUT AGAIN DO NOT UNDERESTIMATE THE HAND THAT ROCKS THE CRADLE!!!!.....MY CHILDREN WILL BE THE BEST MALAYS...AND I KNOW THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF MALAY WOMEN WHO THINK LIKE ME!!!!GOODLUCK FOR THE BRIGHTER FUTURE OF MODERN MALAYS!!!!ALLAHUAKHBAR!!!!!

MALAY WILL CHANGE BUT WITH TIME AND EFFORT AND PATIENCE..THAT'S THE REMEDIES...YOU THINK WE ARE ALL STUPID?.....