Malaysia's Anwar hails 'new dawn' after political comeback PDF Print
Sunday, 09 March 2008 14:39

KUALA LUMPUR (AFP) - OPPOSITION figurehead Anwar Ibrahim hailed 'a new dawn for Malaysia' on Sunday after stunning election results that cemented his political comeback after being sacked and jailed a decade ago.

The performance has even revived talk of the charismatic 60-year-old as a future prime minister, after the lost decade that followed his 1998 fall from grace when he was convicted on sex and corruption charges.

Mr Anwar delivered a crushing blow to the ruling Barisan Nasional coalition by rallying the opposition parties to their best performance in Malaysian history, seizing four states and more than a third of parliamentary seats.

He weathered blistering personal attacks during the campaign from Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's ruling party, which was clearly rattled as he criss-crossed the nation delivering barn-storming speeches.

A jubilant Mr Anwar said the opposition now had to prove it was a credible alternative to the coalition which has completely dominated Malaysian politics for half a century.

'It is a new dawn for Malaysia,' he said. 'People want to see justice.' Mr Anwar's Keadilan party won 31 seats for the biggest opposition presence in the new 222-seat parliament, from just one in the outgoing parliament.

The Chinese-based Democratic Action Party won 28 and the Islamic party PAS won 23.

Mr Anwar said the results exploded Malaysia's race-based political structure, under which parties have traditionally represented individual ethnic groups.

'The opposition that has been voted in is a truly multi-racial party. It is a fantastic setup,' he said.

'I will help the Malays, but it will be done justly, and in the same breath I will help the Indians and the Chinese.'

Political observers said Mr Anwar could rule the country if he managed to consolidate the successes of the disparate opposition parties.

'He played a major role in the opposition's success. Anwar remains very influential. He delivered a powerful blow to the ruling party,' Mohamad Agus Yusoff from the National University of Malaysia said.

'Anwar has denied the Barisan its two-third majority. He could one day become the prime minister. If the Barisan remains weak, we could see it being toppled in the next polls,' he added.

Family
In further victories for Mr Anwar's family, his wife Wan Azizah Wan Ismail extended her majority in her constituency in the island state of Penang, while his daughter Nurul Izzah Anwar won her first election fight.

Mr Mohamad Agus said the coalition's rhetoric that Mr Anwar was no longer relevant had sowed the seeds for its defeat.

'They adopted a denial syndrome. They failed to realise that Anwar represented the symbol of justice and had the capacity to woo voters across any age-group,' he said.

Mr Anwar spent six years in jail on sex and corruption charges which he said were politically motivated. The sex charge was quashed but the corruption count still stands, barred him from holding office until April.

He has raised the prospect of re-entering parliament through a by-election, but Mr Anwar said he would focus first on consolidating the election results.

'I am in no hurry to get into the parliament. I have 31 seats to consider which Keadilan won,' he said.

Shamsul Amri Baharuddin, a political analyst and Umno watcher, said the opposition would have to forge an alliance and create a two-party system in order to build a future for itself.

'Only then will Anwar have a chance to become a prime minister and maybe he could be a prime minister in the next 10 years,' he said.

Mr Anwar said he felt 'truly vindicated' by the massive vote of support.

'Going forward, Malays, Indians and Chinese all have to work together and make us a formidable force,' he said. - STRAITS TIMES

written by renoir, March 09, 2008 15:32:58
You've heavily wounded the evil beast. All that's needed to deliver a mortal blow to BN is to show Malaysians how different the Barisan Rakyat could be in terms of accountability, transparency, and justice for all. And in the process, we hope a true brotherhood of Malaysians will emerge, so that every citizen can proudly say: "I'm a Malaysian!"

Some years ago I wrote in a DAP website about how you could be "lesser than Mahathir, but greater." Lesser in terms of not being PM, but greater in that your legacy would be more lasting. Today, it seems that you COULD be PM as well! So I was in a sense pessimistic rather than optimistic! How times have changed!!!

written by jibbief, March 09, 2008 15:45:23
I can't asses Malaysiakini. Have been trying since 11:00am. I believe something in going on in umno. The plot to get rid of Bodowi
must be going on to prevent him from meeting the Agong tomorrow.

Malaysia......macam-macam ada!!!!
written by jibbief, March 09, 2008 15:45:23
I can't asses Malaysiakini. Have been trying since 11:00am. I believe something in going on in umno. The plot to get rid of Bodowi
must be going on to prevent him from meeting the Agong tomorrow.

Malaysia......macam-macam ada!!!!
written by samsengsil, March 09, 2008 15:47:26
From: A New Beginning, A New Hope http://wielmaja.********.com/2...-hope.html

DR Mahathir labelled Bodowi as "UNMO's Destroyer"
http://bodohland.*********.com/2008/03/09/second-award-for-bodowi/
written by dzcorleone, March 09, 2008 15:49:03
PM Abdullah must gracefully resign with immediate effect! I saw KJ giving a press statement last night, told reporters that "sebagai MP saya akan mengkaji sebab kekalahan BN". ... hahahah BN kalau sebab kau la bodoh!!
written by oknyua, March 09, 2008 15:56:57
#'Anwar has denied the Barisan its two-third majority. He could one day become the prime minister. If the Barisan remains weak, we could see it being toppled in the next polls,' he added#

Honestly I don't want AAB as PM, yet having AAB as PM is the surest way DSAI would be the next PM.

So to AAB, sit there for another 4 years and destroys Malaysia, or resign now and let Anwar take over.
written by Ramesh, March 09, 2008 16:12:07
Datuk Seri, Taniah. You have done it. But most of all, the revolution started with Yang Mulia Raja. With his Malaysia Today, all these may not be possible. Thank you RPK, you are the MAN, you did all of these. Not to forget, Mr Lims, Mr Singhs, your never give up attitude has finally paid off. Taniah to all Malaysian.
Now what needs to be done? Firstly, Release the Hindraf heros, you have to do it or give hell to AAB to release them. Hindraf is revolution, Makkal Shakti. We came behind you, and now you can do the right thing. Afterall, Kamunting is in Perak. Secondly, when you govern, govern with pride, dignity and with just. This is all we are looking for. If you do this, Makkal Shakti, will be behaind you again.
Lastly, our great Samy said "The time will come, when they will learn the lesson", but with Makkal Shakti "The time has come and you have learned the leason". Hope we will never see you anymore. You have disgrase me as an indian, but now I can walk with pride among my brothers. Makkal Shakti has brought all of us together, never FORGET this. All the best and Congats to all Malaysian and my brother RPK.
Ramesh
written by oster, March 09, 2008 16:16:34
Well now, ain't it time for municipal and local elections as well as a Shadow Cabinet in Parliament?

written by Blackjacket, March 09, 2008 16:55:35
Finally,the winds of change has blown across the country. The BN goverment thought that the people can bought or be intimidated with threats, but they underestimated the rakyaat.. When the citizens of this country make up their mind, there is no turning back. The tidal wave of change swept through Kelantan,Kedah Penag, Perak and Selangor. If it was not for Sabah and Sarawak, BN would have been history. Congrat to all opposition parties for your efforts. It is not over yet this is just a begining, dont forget all the simple Ahmads, Ah Kows and Muthu,s who have made this dream come true
written by carlitos, March 09, 2008 17:49:55
PKR,PAS, DAP should offer Sarawak & Sabah MPs to jump ship to Barisan Rakyat

With 25 Sabah and 28 Sarawak MPs Barisan Rakyat can form government.

Just offer them post of deputy Prime Minister and increase in oil royalty from 5% to 10%.

Then offer them one of the senior Federal minister posts.

BN never offer this to Sabah and Sarawak. Make the offer before Bodowi meet the Sultan.

BN taught Sabah & Sarawak the art of lompat Katak. So now they should reap the reward of that teaching.

As a Sabahan I urged PAS,PKR and DAP to consider offering them those incentives to jump.

Anyone can ask the leaders of DAP,PKR and PAS whether it is possible to do that?
written by Task Force 101, March 09, 2008 18:52:02

Wonderful news. I like Anwar. I hope to see him as Prime Minister very very soon.
written by atsanee, March 09, 2008 19:03:06
Saudara Anwar,
This is not the time to think of political comeback.
This is not the time to think about getting back into Parliament or to get high political office to be lead and administer this or that state.
Please leave these to the younger geration.
The future is in their hands.
Your position is at its peak now ,so use it wisely, use it to further build your legacy.
If I may say so,the best way you could help the nation is to continue to be the de facto leader of the BR and take over the role of Tok Guru when he passes from the scene.
Make use of your time to go to the rural areas and talk to the people.
This is where the poor are and this is where the votes are skewed towards.
Convince them of the need and benefits of having a 2 party system.

Tell them of the ills of the current BN monster and its politics of fear and ignorance.
Make the people in the villages to be more politically mature.

Concurrently,make the BR more cohesive and gentle for the people.
Change the image of the component parties for the better.

Make PAS a more tolerant party for all Malaysian and a standard for good clean governance.
Make PKR a Party for all Malaysians.Keadilan for all and not just for Anwar and his family and cronies.
DAP also take a similar line with but highlighting secular values.

Get these going and BR will form the government in 5 years time.
Inshaallah,God willing.
written by us marshall, March 09, 2008 19:03:44
im still waiting for all the bloody mic,umno and mca big suns to give a press conference to explain why they lost!!! theu spoke cock before the GE and said that anwar is irrelevant n giving empty promises etc,and the ppl will not fall for such promises. well bodowi,ong ka ting and bloddy idiot samy vellu th eppl have soken n we dont want ur leadership antmoreeeeeeeeee. woi samy pondan just accept ur defeat n be a man,also to all mic idiot who lost u guys can go to hell. and before i forget very happy birthday samy *******. it was a nice birthday gift for you yesterday. hope u enjoy the present with ur wife n stupid son.
written by temenggong, March 10, 2008 00:43:51
So many hundreds of factors contributed to the recent change of events. Two stand out as criticality in the chain reaction; one is hindraf and the other was rpk!

The rest were contributaries.
written by nonpartisan73, March 10, 2008 03:23:46
like SOME malays, sorry to dissapoint some people, i vote for opposition not because i like DSAI or i believe in the opposition like a religion. I just hate PM and KJ, simple as that, and plus the cost of living is wayyy too high these days. Other issues are just complimenting my hate. Like SOME malays, i just want spring cleaning in the government. Say whatever you like and believe whatever you like but SOME malays that i said made up the majority that made BN lose. Like SOME malays who feel marginalized, i say, leave the government Pak lah, BN beef up or i'll pangkah opposition again.
written by asguard, March 10, 2008 09:32:33
Congratulation Anwar for your come back...