Small Wave Turns To Political Tsunami PDF Print
Sunday, 09 March 2008 14:07

KUALA LUMPUR, March 9 (Bernama) -- What was first thought as a small wave has turned into a political tsunami following the outcome of this general election.

Barisan Nasional (BN) lost four states -- Penang, Kedah, Selangor and Perak -- apart from failing to wrest Kelantan.

BN component parties, especially Gerakan, MIC, PPP and MCA, lost heavily in their attempt to grab parliamentary seats.

Political analyst Associate Professor Dr Mohamed Mustaffa Ishak believed national issues such as the country's leadership, family involvement in politics and business, Hindraf and price hike were the main factors that contributed to the results.

It seemed that urban Chinese voters were not happy with such issues and the urban Malay also followed the trend.

He said the choice of candidates, Umno internal bickering and poor BN machinery and strategies have also contributed to the scenario.

"The rakyat has now translated their votes into real protest," he added.

An abnormal high percentage of silent voters of between 35 and 40 percent compared to the normal average of 20 percent swayed most of their votes for the opposition.

Mohamed Mustaffa said the outcome of this general election was worse than the 1969 general election.

Although BN secured only 51 per cent majority to form the federal government in 1969, the only state lost then was Kelantan compared to five states this time, he said.

He believed that BN did not expect this kind of defeat as the coalition thought they were encountering a "small wave" only in Penang and some resistance when trying to capture Kelantan.

"They underestimated the rakyat's strong sentiments towards the national issues that turned into tsunami," he said. He believed that the opposition too did not expect such a big win.

Mohamed Mustaffa said Umno counterparts such as Gerakan, PPP, MIC and MCA were hard hit by the national issues.

"They lost not because of their own problems but the national issues and the contributing factors," he said.

In Penang, the failure of Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon to groom a good successor and to come up with a credible line-up also added to the changing political landscape in the state, according to Mohamed Mustaffa.

"This has created an uncertain situation in the state," he said.

"The message is loud and clear. The rakyat want to see changes... all sorts of changes."

Umno, Mohamed Mustaffa said, needed to re-evaluate itself and carry out a major overhaul in order to retain its relevancy.

"If not Umno will be wiped out in the next general election," he said.

As at 4.30am, election results are still being updated and BN has yet to secure the two-third majority.

BN should thank Sabah and Sarawak for delivering seats as expected and saving the coalition from further humiliation, said Mohamed Mustaffa.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by Tom Cruise, March 09, 2008 14:53:23
Question to Pak Lah;

Do you still find our true leader Yang Amat Berhormat Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim as irrerelevant???

I am still in a shock as to how BN managed the 130 odd seats! I expected a total wipe out!!!

Paklah 'DO YOU KNOW THAT' it's your moral duty and obligation to step down as both UMNO leader and PM in the wake of BN's poor performance, most leaders with integrity do step down but then what integrity do you have? I SUPPOSE YOU CONSIDER BEING ABLE TO FORM A GOVERNMENT A VICTORY... Shame on you!

Son in law to be inducted into your miserable Cabinet??? There's going to be an Cabinet full of MORONS...Pathetic!!!

written by oknyua, March 09, 2008 16:22:37
Tom Cruise, Son-in-law in cabinet?

Don't AAB think about it. If AAB cannot function without SIL's advice, then resign now, otherwise it is a sure destruction of Malaysia.

AAB, Mr Big Ear, Mr "work-with-me," Mr "I-am-fair," Mr "I-am-harworking," Mr "I-am-not-sleeping," the people have judged you and you cannot live in self-denial anymore. Save Malaysia and resign from your 3 ministerial posts immediately. All your pre-election claims, like your leadership, are hollow. All the advertisements were commical. There is nothing left to hold to and if you have "Big Ears," as claimed, resign.
written by sickofitall, March 09, 2008 17:44:43
The biggest winner in this election will be Najib tun Razak. Remember you heard it here first, explosives (sorry no pun intended) are coming (sorry no pun intended) soon!
written by Gerald, March 09, 2008 17:46:16
MR PM, Please resign as the rakyat has said it loud and clear that we want dynamic leaders with objectives and clear plans instead of cloudy corridors prior to elections. If your cabinet is in doubt, please ask advice from MR Anuar Ibrahim, Mr Lim Kit Siang, Mr Nik Aziz. Please DO NOT FORGET TO ADDRESS THEM AS "MR" AS THEY ARE RELEVANT PEOPLE!
written by atsanee, March 09, 2008 18:05:41
I am a concerned citizen,
Thats why I voted for and convinced my wife to vote for PKR in Kelana Jaya.
We won,realized our dreams but what now?

The UMNO brute is hurt but alive and will live to fight another day.
As a matter of fact,they still form the government.

They can call another snap elections anytime and in any by elections,they can claw their way back.
They have the resources to do so.

So to our brilliant heroes in the the Coalition Rakyat,Dont deviate from your mission and dont disappoint the people.

In 1999,we did well because of people's support for the free Anwar Campaign.
In 2005,we hit rock bottom due to the euphoria from Tun Mahathir's departure and AAB's promise to clean up the government.
This time round,the call to deny the government of its 2/3 majority resounded with the long suffering masses.
Now we got that,the people are challenging us to see what we do with a 1/3 presence in parliament.
If we achieve very little,and people in Selangor,Perak and Kedah especially become frustrated by loss of economic development due to sabotaging by the Federal government,the people will eventually lose hope and faith in the Pakatan Rakyat.

To counter this,the Pakatan Rakyat must continue to aggressively campaign on issues close to the people's hearts like abolishing the ISA, corruption,Free Press,independent judiciary and police,racial problems,crime,nepotism etc.
Keep these issues alive and keep the government on their toes.
So please show us positive RESULTS of denying the government the 2/3 majority.
We and the world are watching.
written by billykbk, March 09, 2008 18:35:02
I'm just wondering how on Earth could Najib won Pekan with a majority of over 20,000 votes when he only managed to win marginally in 2004. Any idea where all the army's postal votes went to? Defence Minister, rings a bell?
written by sonofmalaysia, March 09, 2008 20:34:38
Four years ago, the people gave the AAB a strong mnadate on the back of his promise to reform the governement. He was too weak to carry out his promise, as he was alone and faced unsurmountable resistance from UMNO. If he was honourable, he should have resigned and apologised to the people. Instead, he hang on to the post and occupy 2 more post which he was neither qualify nor have the capacity. Instead of reforming the system, he caused the system to degenerate even further.

Had he done the honourable thing, he would have preserve his honour and come make a come back in future. Now, he will be completely disgraced and will be booted out from UMNO and goes down in Malaysia as a pariah PM !!