Malaysia set for general election PDF Print
Friday, 07 March 2008 23:32

Campaigning is drawing to a close in Malaysia, ahead of the country's general election on Saturday.

Analysts say the governing coalition of Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is worried by signs that ethnic minorities will support the opposition.

Ethnic Indians in particular feel they are discriminated against in favour of the Malay-Muslim majority.

Nonetheless, the governing coalition is still expected to win, as it has every general election since independence.

On Friday Mr Badawi visited a mosque and met fishermen in the northern state of Penang. His deputy, Najib Razak, opened a health clinic and met teachers in eastern Pahang.

His governing coalition, the National Front, controls all but one of Malaysia's 13 states and its three federal territories.

The northern state of Kelantan, controlled by the Pan-Malaysian Islamic Party (PAS), is the only state it does not currently hold.

The National Front has won every general election since the end of British colonial rule in 1957, and is not expected to lose this one.

Racial peace

However, analysts say ethnic tension in Malaysia could lead to gains for the opposition parties, including one led by the former Deputy Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim.

Ethnic minorities, who make up 35% of the population, say government policy has denied them fair access to jobs, education, and housing.

Last November about 10,000 Malaysian Indians took to the streets to protest.

Mr Ibrahim, who is banned from holding office after being jailed for corruption in a trial he says was politically motivated, is promising to end racial discrimination if his party wins.

"We want strong Malays, strong Chinese, strong Indians," he told a campaign rally on Thursday night.

"Take the best Malays, let them work with the best Chinese and the best Indians."

But the government maintains that its governing coalition, which includes ethnic Chinese and Indian parties, has ensured racial peace in the country.

Polls open on Saturday at 0800 local time and close at 1700 (0000 to 0900 GMT), with provisional results expected nine hours after polls close. - BBC

written by Msian 2, March 07, 2008 23:42:35
Anwar U may not be our next PM, thats OK. You have wake up a new generation of thinkers who only want the best for the country & people. We will see Nurul as our coming PM. Thank you for speaking the truth.
written by krepot, March 07, 2008 23:58:30
Dear Friends,

Tomorrow, when you go to the polling stations, let us spare a thought for all the 'unpaid' volunteers who tirelessly sacrificed 2 weeks or even more of their time in the hope of making Malaysia a better place for all of us.

Ta'pau some drinks, bites or just go over and thank them....let us show our gratitude for a change.

Malaysia is read for a CHANGE!
written by hiro, March 08, 2008 01:03:58
Pak Lah, read our lips: Barisan Nasional's FIRED.
written by fireduck, March 08, 2008 02:00:05
Just can't sleep ..... can't wait to cast my vote.

This is it, fellow rakyat. I feel like we are at the threshhold of something very positive, a real defining moment in our history. May we all be safe and secure after that as provocation and disturbances are real possibilities. But for the future of our country and the future of our children, we must vote, not with fear but with our conscience.

The Opposition parties have done their part by agreeing to straight fights in most constituencies. It is very admirable. Now it is OUR turn to do our part. The opposition candidates cannot do much now but rely on us to deliver them the seats. So, let's do it, people!!!
written by lucky irish, March 08, 2008 03:13:26
Wahai AAB, i am a Malay but i am ashamed of u. Even say so that there's no representative of other races in your cabinet, it doesn't mean u should not give them what is due for their community as they are people of our country, they have rights and dont forget u still ask them to pay taxes! You still need to be fair to all, that is a mark of a true peoples leader. if not u are perpetuating INJUSTICE! and u r RACIST!

Is this Islam Hadhari? shame on you

written by Anak Kampung, March 08, 2008 03:51:58
*$&# the Beeb. Their reporting on Malaysia has got more and more forgettable lately.
written by mypanida, March 08, 2008 05:46:37
Well....D Day is here.....time to walk the talks instead of talk and talk....

MAKKAL SAKHTI is here with us.

and the WIND OF CHANGE is with us PEOPLE, show them whos is the BOSS.

VOTE for a change,

VOTE for the future of our children

Vote the OPPOSITIONS...be they PAS PKR DAP et al....

btw Dr. Halimah Ali (N45) you have mine and my family votes...

and Mr. S. Manickavasagam (P109) you have ours too.

SELAMAT BERJUANG TO ALL THE OPPOSITION CANDIDATES
AND THANKS TO ALL THE SELFLESS HELPERS WHO CAME OUT IN DROVES AND WORKED WITHOUT PAY WHEN ALL YOU GUYS AND GALS COULD HAVE EASILY GET A PAY CHEQUE IN THOSE BARISAN NASIONAL'S CAMPS.
KEIKHLASAN KAMU SEKALIAN AMAT DI SANJUNGI.
TERIMA KASIH.

zzzz
written by Rakyat M, March 08, 2008 08:01:12
All my friends and relatives, includes all the business man (chinese) I know told me that they will never vote for BN this time. Some even told me, saying that apparently they are supporting BN in their mouth, but the 'X' they give will be PKR, DAP or even PAS !!!!

Let's kick BN out this time !!!
written by CPY, March 08, 2008 09:42:33
I wonder could we see this thing in Astro? Pls tell us.