Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow An Open Letter - Appeal for a better Parliament

An Open Letter - Appeal for a better Parliament PDF Print
Friday, 07 March 2008 17:59

It is meaningless for us to complain about our Parliamentarians and the Government, if we do not first discharge a simple but sacrosanct duty of choice.

Yeo Yang Poh

Dear Fellow Malaysians,

It is true that there are things that we Malaysians should be proud of, and be thankful for. It is equally true that many things are not well in our country. They have not been well for some time now. Matters of safety and security, price hikes, education, issues of equal opportunities and equal treatment, constriction of various forms of freedom, marginalisation of several segments of society, the failing justice system, corruption in the public sector, the rising denial syndromes, the arrogance of wrongdoers nourished by their repeated ability to get off scot-free, and the numbness of the public reaction towards misdeeds and the lack of accountability, just to describe a few.

Many of the ills that we complain about in our society are the symptoms of the underlying causes. Some of the major root causes are: (a) epidemic corruption in a system that does little to prohibit or redress it, (b) lack of a system of transparency and accountability, (c) the suppression of various freedoms so as to turn a silent majority into a silenced majority, (d) a Government that is more interested in commanding than serving, (e) a Parliament whose overwhelming majority cares more about power-consolidation than nation-building, and (f) a weak “last bastion” in the form of a failing justice system.

Can things be allowed to go on this way? Can we afford to do so? Should our future generations suffer the consequences of our permissiveness? It is quite obvious that we need a better Government and a better Parliament. But that will not happen if we, the citizens of Malaysia, do little more than blaming the Government and criticizing our Members of Parliament. It is we who put our MPs in the Parliament. It is we who must take the ultimate responsibility. The buck stops at each and every one of us.

My earnest appeal to everyone is therefore as follows:
(i) discuss the need for a better Parliament and a better Government, with your family members, colleagues, friends and persons close to you;
(ii) make it a point to go and vote in the next election, and to vote for change and for betterment;
(iii) discard the notion or excuse that your single vote will not matter;
(iv) discard the notion or excuse that politics is dirty and all politicians are the same, and therefore that there is no point in voting;
(v) influence and encourage as many of your family members, colleagues, friends and persons close to you as possible, to come out and vote for change and for betterment in the coming election.

It is meaningless for us to complain about our Parliamentarians and the Government, if we do not first discharge a simple but sacrosanct duty of choice. Let us all take the time to look into the beautiful but expectant eyes of our children, and of the children of many others for whom we care. The future of our nation is meant for them. But millions of them cannot vote. They put their fate in our hands. They rely on us not just for their present living and support. They rely on us, too, to vote for a better future for them. And after discharging our duty to vote, we must continue to be vigilant, and ensure that our elected representatives account for their actions, and make good their promises.

I humbly suggest to you that change and betterment are not empty dreams, if all of us play our respective parts. I invite you, and I urge you, to answer my appeal as set out above.

Yours sincerely,

Yeo Yang Poh
Advocate & Solicitor & a concerned Malaysian

Comments (5)Add Comment
written by Lim Lim, March 07, 2008 20:01:02
the pakistani hav done it,the aussie hav done it,the korean hav done it,our neighbor the people in thailand hav done it,the taiwanese hav done it n even kosovo hav done it !!on the 8-3-2008,that's tomorrow,pls make sure we malaysian are going to do it!!do it to save ourselves,do it with the wind of change,a change we all must believe in!!a change at least we can provide for the children of tomorrow to dream on!!which we do not harbour any hope with the present corrupted,racist,everything is self-gain,super hypocritical,insensible umno/BN goons.it is high time we crash that umno/BN "racial divide",vote any opposition,hidup rakyat,hidup bangsa malaysia!!
written by mypanida, March 07, 2008 21:41:21
ON POLLING DAY,

GET YOUR CAMERAS TO CATCH PHANTOM VOTERS AND ALL THE MISDEEDS OF BN

SELAMAT BERJUANG.....

UNDI LAH PARTY PEMBANGKANG
written by Uncorruptible, March 07, 2008 22:02:09
Bandar Tun Razak (BTR)

The infamous tan chai hole is shamelessly standing for the third time.
What did he ever do for BTR?
In Taman Bkt Anggerik there are electrical outages every month. There are also water cuts from few hours to few days EVERY month without fail for the past 30 odd years. He never even help to bring up the matter with the authorities.
He and his henchman take over public community halls and use them for their private purpose. For example in Taman Connaught, if you want to play table tennis, you have to pay RM 50.00 to join and RM 10.00 every month. Where the money goes, nobody knows, but it is in the hands of mca people. When the table tennis tables (which were donated free) get spoilt, they are not replaced.
Or if you want to place at the OUG community hall, where the tables are also donated, you have to pay RM 50.00 to join and thereafter RM12.00 monthly collected by mca gangster loong peng sum. Again where the money goes nobody knows. mca is all about money in their pockets only.
In Seputeh vote Teresa Kok of DAP.
In Bandar Tun Razak vote Tan Sri Khalid of Keadilan. This man is a true friend -in the worst times he is still supporting his friend Anuar Ibrahim unlike snakes and dishonest people like candra muzaffar or ha ha ha nallakarupan.
written by hiro, March 07, 2008 22:51:22
PAK LAH, THANK YOU FOR YOUR LETTER AS BARISAN NATIONAL CHAIRMAN TO MY MOTHER. THIS IS WHAT OUR FAMILY HAVE TO SAY TO YOU: YOU'RE FIRED.
written by panca, March 08, 2008 02:53:40
My friend sitting next to me, failed, failed as a voter because he failed to avail himself to register.

My mother-in-law said don't be too bordered with election, I said it is about our lives, our rights to exercise. She continued, we have better things to do, then it went up my nerves, and retorted, this is for my kids who have many years and for those who don't exercise are selfish and it's okay if some are in their 70s a perhaps they have lived to a ripen age.

My next inspired mate was the uncle-in-law met during CNY and chatted with me most, who was all for CHANGE and promised himself to go to the polls but now another vote lost, he had moved on - Heaven can't wait.

Are we doing enough for ourself, we have a moral duty yet we throw our rights away!

The above article is exactly what happen to us. Wish it had come earlier and gets repeated at this time.

HOPE The PEOPLE OF MALAYSIA perform his humble moral duty again and again and again till death do us part(my uncle-in-law a good example of a law-abiding citizen).

HOPE >>>> HelpOurPeopleElevate!