Campaigning reaches climax in M'sia elections PDF Print
Friday, 07 March 2008 14:46
KUALA LUMPUR (AP) - CAMPAIGNING reached a climax Friday for Malaysia's general elections, which the ruling coalition is certain to win despite expected losses in some districts due to anger among the Chinese and Indian minorities over race and religion.

At stake in Saturday's elections are 222 seats in the Parliament.

Twelve of Malaysia's 13 states will also go to the polls simultaneously to elect state legislatures. Most of the results will be known by early Sunday.

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi was scheduled to meet with fishermen and visit a mosque in the northern state of Penang later on Friday, making last-minute contact with his constituents before the end of campaigning at midnight.

His deputy Najib Razak was to inaugurate a clinic and meet with schoolteachers and senior citizens in Pahang, another northern state.

Unlike other parliamentary democracies, campaigning is low-key in Malaysia, largely because the weak opposition has little money to push through its message, and the ruling National Front has little need to prove its credentials.

The National Front has won every election since independence in 1957, and is expected to win again even though it is unlikely to repeat its 2004 performance when it captured 91 per cent of Parliamentary seats.

Ms Tricia Yeoh, director of the Center for Public Policy Studies think-tank, predicted the opposition would win between 35 and 38 seats in Parliament, nearly doubling the 19 seats it held before Parliament was dissolved.

'There should be a swing in these seats' due to Chinese and Indians voting for the opposition, Ms Yeoh said. 'That's the fear of the BN ... The Chinese and Indian votes will be the important swing votes,' she said.

A reduced majority for the National Front in Parliament would be seen as a personal rebuke for Mr Abdullah, who has lost much of the goodwill he received when he took office in 2003, replacing longtime leader Mahathir Mohamad.

Mr Abdullah has been blamed for failing to properly manage inflation, crime, corruption and most importantly ethnic tensions between the minorities and the majority Malays.

Muslim Malays make up 60 per cent of Malaysia's 27 million people, and form the bulk of voters for Mr Abdullah's United Malays National Organisation. The party dominates the National Front coalition, which includes Chinese- and Indian-based parties in a power-sharing arrangement that has ensured racial peace in this multiethnic country.

But the minorities have complained of increasing discrimination, citing a 37-year-old affirmative action programme for Malays that shows no sign of being diluted despite their rising standards of living. The programme gives Malays preference in government jobs, business, education and religion.

The Chinese and Indians are also angry at a string of court decisions in religious disputes that have gone in favor of Malays.

Indians were incensed by the demolition of Hindu temples by authorities last year.

'The problem is not with the Malays. The problem is with the corrupt leadership of this country,' opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim told a rally in Kuala Lumpur on Thursday night.

Mr Anwar, a former deputy prime minister under Dr Mahathir, promised to end racial discrimination if his People's Justice Party wins, a virtually impossible scenario.

'We want strong Malays, strong Chinese, strong Indians ... Take the best Malays, let them work with the best Chinese and the best Indians,' he said to roaring applause.

At another rally on Thursday night in Chinese-dominated Penang, the opposition Democratic Action Party drew some 30,000 people, compared to a few thousand at a speech by Prime Minister Abdullah earlier.

'I think we have broken some new ground,' said Mr Jeff Ooi, a DAP candidate. 'We are still hoping that the massive crowds will translate into votes. People are disappointed with how the government has been run in the past few years. People are dissatisfied with the inequitable distribution of wealth and opportunities.' Still, large crowds at opposition rallies do not always translate into votes.

'It's your choice but I hope the people think carefully,' Mr Abdullah told his rally, warning that the minorities will have no voice in the coalition if they do not vote for the Front. - STRAITS TIMES

written by mimag2005, March 07, 2008 14:48:52

Hi Guys...

Those who are computer savvy...

Please post again a combi of images of last year's incidents at Trengganu, Bersih Rally, Hindraft, especially images with open injuries with Life’s juice flowing……

THEN…… ' flood ' these images to all sites...

...." A PICTURE PAINTS A 1000 WORDS ".... By Bread..

………….IT’LL BE KNAP SHOT…………..!!!

Good Luck !

written by Sudahlah tu, March 07, 2008 14:55:53
Kita, rakyat Malaysia yang berpegang kepada perlembagaan negara menuntut hak asasi kita ditunaikan oleh kerajaan pilihan kita dan bukannya ditentukan oleh UMNO.
written by Sudahlah tu, March 07, 2008 14:59:02
UMNO bukannya menolong Bangsa Melayu secara umum tetapi kroni2 mereka sahaja ....
Cuba tengok wakil2 mereka yang kebanyakan mempunyai agenda tersendiri dan juga hidup di luar kemampuan sendiri yang halal.
Inikah apa yang kita hendakkan untuk masa depan anak2 kita ?
written by LKO, March 07, 2008 15:01:51
It is very arrogant for Abdullah to say that if the non-Malays don't vote for BN then is will be just Malays in his government. What a cheap threat, but still a threat not the least.

If he analyse his mistakes then he should come out with the solutions and not continue with it. Non-malays have been threatened in the past even when they voted for BN. What's the difference now if there is no non-Malay participation?
written by Hakim Abdullah, March 07, 2008 15:08:01
I know Badawi is dumb, stupid and arrogant so to make such a threat to our Chinese brothers, he has elevated his already destroyed credential to a new level. He is in my view our Rakyat's nemesis. Talk about committing political suicide....
written by Bill Gates, March 07, 2008 15:23:36
The NST (No Such Thing) paper, March 9, 2008:

BN congratulate BR

The new opposition party head led by Abdullah Ahmad Badawi congratulate Lim Kit Siang and Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim for their victory in the 2th General Election. BN has accepted the verdict of the people and wowed to be a constructive opposition. The former PM advised the new government to be fair to all those who have voted for BN and in the election. "We have learned a valuable lesson not to trust even our own members who have betrayed us."

When approached by reporters at Putrajaya last night, Najib refused to comment. The other BN leaders cannot be reached at the moment.

The people of Malaysia have made a stunning decision by voting in DAP, PKR and PAS. When met at Permatang Pauh, Datuk Seri Anwar said an announcement will be made tonight to reduce the price petrol from RM1.92 to RM1.50.

Kit Siang thanked the people for their courage to swing their votes to enable BR to form the new government. "This is Makhal Sakhti. Today, history is created and we shall now all known as Malaysian, instead of Chinese, Malays or Indians. March 8, 2008 will be forever remembered by all fellow Malaysians as the day of hope and change." Kit Siang added that one of few important changes Malaysian will see include setting up a Royal Commission to look into all misdeeds by the previous governments. The ACA will also be made answerable to parliament during first parliament sitting. SPR will be revamped to make it fully independent and Rashid's appointment will be immediately revoked for his failure in upholding fairness, independence. He was also responsible for creating public disorder and waste of public funds during the 12th General Election.

The public can look forwar to more changes being announced in a few more days. Meanwhile, Monday, March 10, 2008 has been declared a public holiday for all to celebrate the Rakyat's victory.
written by asguard, March 07, 2008 15:34:47
Hey.... don't sent few opposition into the parliament ...sent a least 98 MPS ! if want to stopped the devils from doing whatever they want....
written by DezMalaysia, March 07, 2008 16:06:23
Si Angkuh BodohWi ini pun ada sesuku (1/4) Cina jugak... Darah yang megalir dalam badan dia pun berbabi jugak... Jangan BERLAGAK macam engkau sangat pandai lar... semua orang pun tau you BodohWi kuat tidur, kuat bohong & kuat Hadhari Haram !

JANGAN PANGKAH BN !!!
written by Raja Gasper, March 07, 2008 16:12:32
Do it TODAY what is right NOW and don't waste TIME.Truth itself is not hidden in darkness. It is always revealed and is perfectly transparent. But the blinds and wayward self cannot perceive it. The light of day is not hidden except to the blinds, and the Light of Truth is not hidden except to those who are blinded by self. Truth is the one Reality in the universe, the inward Harmony, the perfect justice, the eternal Love. Nothing can be added to it, nor taken from it. It does not depend upon any man, but all men depend upon it.....said GOD.

So Vote wisely in the coming elections.What you sow is what you will be reaping.
written by Iliyas, March 07, 2008 16:18:03
Greetings Malaysian Insider,if your 2pm latest imaginary focus is anything to go by,than Sabahans are doomed.The good news is Sabahans have come a long way to know what they want for the future of their children.Musa Aman's most favorite tag-line"IF YOU WANT DEVELOPMENT,PROJECT,SECURITY AND PROSPERITY,VOTE BN"Word of advice and caution,these treats do not tickle us any longer,Malaysia does not belong to Musa Aman and all his cronies,Malaysia belongs to US,remember that for as long as you live.

The whole of Sabah knows what you and your lieutenant's have reaped and raped from the people and the business community,and Sabahans will attest to this by voting you out.You have not only conned,cheated and hoodwink the people of Sabah,but jilted their trust.When Anwar Ibrahim said he will take back Najib but sent him to MONGOLIA,we appeal to Anwar to sent Musa Aman[The Chief Minister of Sabah a.k Mr.Corrupted]to PAKISTAN.
My fellow Sabahans,let us not be deceived by all these unscrupulous promise any more.Enough is enough,let us be bold and with a firm conviction to boot these rapist OUT for a better tomorrow.
Bill Gates,i know Sabahans will surely be reading your article on the 9th.March.
written by Lim Lim, March 07, 2008 19:57:42
the pakistani hav done it,the aussie hav done it,the korean hav done it,our neighbor the people in thailand hav done it,the taiwanese hav done it n even kosovo hav done it !!on the 8-3-2008,that's tomorrow,pls make sure we malaysian are going to do it!!do it to save ourselves,do it with the wind of change,a change we all must believe in!!a change at least we can provide for the children of tomorrow to dream on!!which we do not harbour any hope with the present corrupted,racist,everything is self-gain,super hypocritical,insensible umno/BN goons.
written by CHEERFUL Joo, March 07, 2008 21:25:46
This is the right moment for the changed. Don't be afraid. Why we should be threaten by our zzz PM, SIL, Mat Rempit and gangsters because we gave them too much power. Do we want to live in fear?

For people in Rembau if you let KJ win, better pray hard that your children and grand children will not became Mat Rempit or bully by them. The choice is in your hand. If your children and your grand children is, you deserve it.
written by Uncorruptible, March 07, 2008 22:03:06
Bandar Tun Razak (BTR)

The infamous tan chai hole is shamelessly standing for the third time.
What did he ever do for BTR?
In Taman Bkt Anggerik there are electrical outages every month. There are also water cuts from few hours to few days EVERY month without fail for the past 30 odd years. He never even help to bring up the matter with the authorities.
He and his henchman take over public community halls and use them for their private purpose. For example in Taman Connaught, if you want to play table tennis, you have to pay RM 50.00 to join and RM 10.00 every month. Where the money goes, nobody knows, but it is in the hands of mca people. When the table tennis tables (which were donated free) get spoilt, they are not replaced.
Or if you want to place at the OUG community hall, where the tables are also donated, you have to pay RM 50.00 to join and thereafter RM12.00 monthly collected by mca gangster loong peng sum. Again where the money goes nobody knows. mca is all about money in their pockets only.
In Seputeh vote Teresa Kok of DAP.
In Bandar Tun Razak vote Tan Sri Khalid of Keadilan. This man is a true friend -in the worst times he is still supporting his friend Anuar Ibrahim unlike snakes and dishonest people like candra muzaffar or ha ha ha nallakarupan.
written by asiana888, March 07, 2008 23:02:13
Happy voting Malaysians! Vote wisely and vote for a better tomorrow .... vote Opposition!

I am saddened not able to participate in this historical election in Malaysia. Last minute got called overseas for work .... but have been calling back to make sure all my friends and family go out and vote for change!

Hope to see a new parliament when I come back.

Nurul for Lembah Pantai!
Hannah for DUN Subang!

Opposition for Kelantan, Terengganu, Penang, Kedah!

nevermind if no MCA or MIC reps anymore .... they made no difference for us (non-Malays) anyways. I prefer to hedge my bet with PKR & PAS ... that's how bad things had gone.

Hidup Malaysia!

Have a great day tomorrow!
written by lucky irish, March 08, 2008 02:39:59
Wahai AAB, i am a Malay but i am ashamed of u. Even say so that there's no representative of other races in your cabinet, it doesn't mean u should not give them what is due for their community as they are people of our country, they have rights and dont forget u still ask them to pay taxes! You still need to be fair to all, that is a mark of a true peoples leader. if not u are perpetuating INJUSTICE! and u r RACIST!

Is this Islam Hadhari? shame on you