M'sia opposition draws huge crowds ahead of poll PDF Print
Friday, 07 March 2008 14:06

p1

PENANG (Malaysia) – REUTERS: MALAYSIA'S opposition has staged one of its biggest election rallies, raising opposition hopes that it could severely dent the ruling coalition's chances in Saturday's general election.

More than 25,000 people attended the rally late on Thursday by the Chinese-dominated Democratic Action Party (DAP) in the northern state of Penang, home to Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi where the DAP hoped to make its biggest electoral inroad.

The organisers put the figure at about 50,000 people or more, as the ruling Barisan Nasional coalition faces a backlash by ethnic Chinese and Indians, who complain of religious and racial inequality in the mainly Muslim nation.

And in the north-eastern state of Kelantan, some 20,000 Muslim supporters of the Parti Islam se-Malaysia (PAS) turned up at a soccer stadium in pre-dawn mass prayers to seek divine help in the election.

Barisan is waging an all-out war to end PAS' 18-year-old rule of Kelantan and expand its influence in the country.

The ruling coalition is considered certain to retain power although its majority will be reduced in the national Parliament, analysts say.

The opposition, which wants to deny Barisan a two-thirds majority in parliament, the level needed to change the constitution, hopes to draw a protest vote over rising food and fuel costs, street crimes and an influx of cheap foreign labour.

Tens of thousands of people at the Penang rally shouted 'Down, Down Barisan'.

Many of those who attended the rally wore red, the colour favoured by the DAP and overflowed onto the adjoining streets, blocking traffic, witnesses said. They sang a popular Chinese song, chanting 'I will strive to go on'.

'We will not submit to Umno's political domination,' DAP Secretary-General Lim Guan Eng said, referring to Mr Abdullah's United Malays National Organisation (Umno).

'We make a pledge to move forward and make Penang dynamic again. We will not be dependent on the will of Umno but dependent on the will of the people of Penang,' he said.

Ordinary Chinese voters at the rally criticised Barisan, a 14-party coalition that has governed the country since independence from Britain in 1957.

'The Barisan Nasional politicians have been too arrogant, I think the power has gone to their head,' said Mr Wong Yoke Meng, a sales executive in his early 30s, who came to the rally with his sister and father.

Mr Abdullah, speaking to reporters in Penang on Thursday, warned the Chinese that a vote for the opposition could limit their say in national decision-making. 'I don't want to form a government that is made up of only one race,' he said. - STRAITS TIMES

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by Sudahlah tu, March 07, 2008 14:17:54
Arus Tsunami Pulau Pinang kali ini begitu menakutkan UMNO.
Manakah Si KJ sekarang ?
Kenapa tidak terbang dengan AA ke sana untuk memberi ucapan Kebangkitan UMNO Malaysia ?
written by Sudahlah tu, March 07, 2008 14:19:17
Mintalah 70% bahagian saham daripada setiap syarikat bukan-bumiputra sepertimana yang awak laungkan semasa PA UMNO dulu ....
written by rayfire, March 07, 2008 14:21:56
smilies/cool.gif
The Barisan Rakyat has awaken , the Wave is now a Tsunami!
Time to WASH OUT the DIRT!

Let the mission begin for Malaysia for ALL MALAYSIANS!
smilies/kiss.gif
written by Raja Gasper, March 07, 2008 14:22:45
Happy Voting and Have a Nice day.Vote wisely.What you sow is what you will reap.
Anwar is a major player in this 12th General Elections and a very Charsmatic
leader too from the huge crowds,we knows him.

Every good tree produces good fruits and every bad tree will produces rotten
fruits.The bad tree will be cut by the owner because it is not profitable for him.
written by Kimm, March 07, 2008 14:24:45
A matter of fact if a good majority of Chinese and Indians vote for the change in the Opposition and with good sincere Malays who want a change for good clean new Govt also vote for PKR and PAS we will still have Multi Races to rule the country in a just and fair govt.

So Pak La dont threaten the Chinese we have enough!!!
written by mimag2005, March 07, 2008 14:25:00

Hi Guys...

Those who are computer savvy...

Please post again a combi of images of last year's incidents at Trengganu, Bersih Rally, Hindraft, especially images with open injuries with Life’s juice flowing……

THEN…… ' flood ' these images to all sites...

...." A PICTURE PAINTS A 1000 WORDS ".... By Bread..

………….IT’LL BE A KNAP SHOT…………..!!!

Good Luck !

written by Mr Smith, March 07, 2008 14:32:59
"Mr Abdullah, speaking to reporters in Penang on Thursday, warned the Chinese ...."
================================

What right have you warn Chinese voters? Why, even Malays are going to vote against you and BN. So go and warn them too.
Even Mahathir, your former boss,told us not to vote for you as you are useless and 61/2.
Now why should we want you?
written by Vertigo Cure, March 07, 2008 14:34:31
The main BN component parties are all race based; unmo, mca, mic. So the day BN is in power, different races will not be united.

In order to be a malaysian malaysian, BN has to go.

Vote Out BN!
written by farah, March 07, 2008 14:45:25
Actually we RAKYAT are united. Just come and see how we people of all races share and speaks outspokenly who are we voting!! All Malays i/we met said Vote any opposition so long kick the BN.

As said by Raja Petra during his wonderful, briliant speech at Brickfields on 6th Mac, 08, " if attack were said to be happen to Indians, all chinese and malays will come forward/unite to protect".

HAPPY VOTE!
written by Sagaladoola, March 07, 2008 14:47:14
Mr Abdullah, speaking to reporters in Penang on Thursday, warned the Chinese that a vote for the opposition could limit their say in national decision-making. 'I don't want to form a government that is made up of only one race,' he said. -

I take it as a threat. I feel threatened, therefore I will vote for Barisan Rakyat - PKR , DAP , PAS tomorrow.

Besides, previously although BN having a big mandate last election , the chinese had a limited say as well .. Who cares.. it does not make a difference at all.

No more Divide-and-Rule. Don't talk crap to us about all that Racial or Religious Heroism. Our ENEMY NO. 1: CORRUPTION AND INEFFICIENCY (MINISTERS SLEEPING ON THE JOB)

written by grant, March 07, 2008 15:12:41
to badawi.. dont threaten the Chinese... without the Chinese, Msia is nuts! When Penang was taken over by Gerakan then Opposition, we build our own fortune.. If Penang was a country, it would be far far ahead of Msia just like Singapore... Malays, Indians, Chinese dan lain-lain in Penang will be sharing the spoils or our own labor...

By then, u the sheep herder will say that Msia cannot compare with SG AND ALSO WITH PENANG because Msia is an rotten Apple while Singapore and Penang are D24 Durians!

Seriously, we shud vote for Penang to be a coutnry of its own! U threaten the Chinese that we wont hv a representative in Parliament, let me just ask u, when did we ever hv 1? All MCA representative are just puppets!

Dont talk cock la u low mentality sheep herder!
written by Amzek, March 07, 2008 15:14:43
To all pemerhati pos undi, please look-out for the groups of voters who seem to get preferential treatment from SPR officials to 'cut' queues during their registration. Scrutinise their KPs, take their photos and MMS to other pemerhati at nearby pos undi. If they are pengundi hantu, they will likely head to the next pos undi and cast another vote.
written by grant, March 07, 2008 15:15:16
U forgotten ur ancestors were once Chinese... And now u threaten the Chinese... Even when the Malays vote u into Parliament and into the government, what did u do for ur own race? U telan everything they had... U bloody blood sucking bastard!
written by msiaman, March 07, 2008 15:25:08
Badawi, Badawi,

You reap what you sow.....

If you keep a short leash of all your UMNO dogs and give better credibility to other component parties, they might be able to put an independant show for themselves, since you allow your pet monkeys to distroy whatever dignity left in all component parties, you see why you are shitting bricks now?

Don't be an arogant arse! Especially whack your pet monkeys to behave!

That is if you are able to keep your job after tomorrow....
written by malaysian2008, March 07, 2008 15:28:27
"Mr Abdullah, speaking to reporters in Penang on Thursday, warned the Chinese that a vote for the opposition could limit their say in national decision-making. 'I don't want to form a government that is made up of only one race,' he said."

it is a threat and we dare you to form your govt. make up by 1 race - umnoputra. just try it. you are finished then.
written by Ray, March 07, 2008 15:41:25
The roar of the Penangites is so great.
It's no retreat no surrender. We go to polls to kick out BN. Mampus pariah BN.
written by Raja Gasper, March 07, 2008 16:13:11
Do it TODAY what is right NOW and don't waste TIME.Truth itself is not hidden in darkness. It is always revealed and is perfectly transparent. But the blinds and wayward self cannot perceive it. The light of day is not hidden except to the blinds, and the Light of Truth is not hidden except to those who are blinded by self. Truth is the one Reality in the universe, the inward Harmony, the perfect justice, the eternal Love. Nothing can be added to it, nor taken from it. It does not depend upon any man, but all men depend upon it.....said GOD.

So Vote wisely in the coming elections.What you sow is what you will be reaping.
written by aryn, March 07, 2008 16:31:44
Now let's translate the crowd presence to votes. Don't let our children down.
Vote PAS,DAP,PKR.
written by Lipanbara, March 07, 2008 17:13:51
I want to see the face of dissappointment from Pak Lah when Penang goes down to Opposition...and I really can't wait to see that happen...VOTE BN out!
written by Lipanbara, March 07, 2008 17:15:39
The Malay and Indian had spoken through BERSIH and HINDRAF, I guessed the above turn out was from the Chinese...
written by Lim Lim, March 07, 2008 17:47:57
RPK,the chinese hav finally shown their spirit for the JOM UBAH,this is what it is after the malay's BERSIH n the indian's HINDRAF!!
written by Lim Lim, March 07, 2008 17:51:39
Salute to those brave penengites,keep the flame going strong!!let urselves be the locomotive to go for the change,the change we all must believe in!!!pakistani hav done it,aussie hav done it,siamese hav done it,taiwanese hav done it,korean hav done it,even kosovo hav done it!!!tomorrow,8-3-2008 will be our turn to do it!!!!
written by Chaptokam, March 07, 2008 18:04:16
I was at the ceramah last night , it was RALLYISTIC and FANTASTIC monster crowd . By the way last night's crowd I believe have entered Guiness Book Of Records as the BIGGEST crowd in any election ceramah in Malaysia , rain or no rain they were there . Donations collected amounted to a staggering one hundred and fifty three thousand ( 153 k )another record to be entered in the Guiness Book OF Records on the Most Donations ever collected in a single ceramah . Do I need to answer whether the crowd size and applause will convert to votes ? I definitely think so base on the public sentinment and their willingness to contribute to the cause ie to support the opposition this time .
written by Chaptokam, March 07, 2008 18:08:11
Penang will be the start of the domino effect . It will start to trigger the fall of the others into the other states . This will also start a chain of effects when Penang goes to the Opposition , some leaders in the BN component whose leadership have lead BN to a trouncing defeat will see their heads ROLL . This is because they have chosen their self interests , greed , abuse of power , lying that their candidates will or sure to win to their BOSS , promoting their own brothers to contest one in Perak and one in Penang over other more qualified candidates , dropping incumbent candidates who won big with people who lost and with those unknown and uncontested , will bear the brunt of this disasterous election . Also for Bodowi to make sure he doesnt get forced out as PM , more events will follow , just wait and see but I will not speculate as to what will happen , just wait and see .
written by astina, March 07, 2008 18:25:16
'I don't want to form a government that is made up of only one race!!

Right now we have component members and we pretend to form consenses...if ur guys dont joins us our covers will be blown smilies/smiley.gif
written by Flex Tan, March 07, 2008 18:40:02
WIND OF CHANGE !!!!!!!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u7Dz5MOLit8
written by temenggong, March 07, 2008 18:49:18
The Malay and Indian had spoken through BERSIH and HINDRAF, I guessed the above turn out was from the Chinese...

Yes!! So we have Bersih, Hindraf and Han Jian!
written by JUST, March 07, 2008 20:18:31
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related
written by Uncorruptible, March 07, 2008 22:04:09
Bandar Tun Razak (BTR)

The infamous tan chai hole is shamelessly standing for the third time.
What did he ever do for BTR?
In Taman Bkt Anggerik there are electrical outages every month. There are also water cuts from few hours to few days EVERY month without fail for the past 30 odd years. He never even help to bring up the matter with the authorities.
He and his henchman take over public community halls and use them for their private purpose. For example in Taman Connaught, if you want to play table tennis, you have to pay RM 50.00 to join and RM 10.00 every month. Where the money goes, nobody knows, but it is in the hands of mca people. When the table tennis tables (which were donated free) get spoilt, they are not replaced.
Or if you want to place at the OUG community hall, where the tables are also donated, you have to pay RM 50.00 to join and thereafter RM12.00 monthly collected by mca gangster loong peng sum. Again where the money goes nobody knows. mca is all about money in their pockets only.
In Seputeh vote Teresa Kok of DAP.
In Bandar Tun Razak vote Tan Sri Khalid of Keadilan. This man is a true friend -in the worst times he is still supporting his friend Anuar Ibrahim unlike snakes and dishonest people like candra muzaffar or ha ha ha nallakarupan.
written by Yacob, March 07, 2008 22:21:13
kalau ada peluang, aku nak pancutkan air kencing pada muka si beruk Khairy. Siberuk Khairy itu memang tarafnya selayak babi. Patutlah mukanya nampak busuk. Tidak pernah ada orang UMNO sebusuk dan secomot budak beruk seekor tu. Kalaulah siberok itu dilantik jadi orang penting UMNO suatu hari nanti, UMNO dan Malaysia pasti huru hara dibuatnya. Sebabnya, siberuk Khairy itu bagaikan kera diberikan bunga. Berok oh berok !.
written by fearless, March 08, 2008 02:32:31
Q1: What would happen IF no Chinese ministers in the cabinet?
A1: From past historical records saying that Chinese basic rights were eroded even with MCA ministers in the cabinet. MCA and Gerakan are toothless parties, they are no more relevant to the Chinese community. In the nutshell, with or without MCA/Gerakan ministers in the Cabinet make no different to Malaysian Chinese dilemma.

Q2: Why SPR withdrew indelible ink procedure in last minute?
A2: To let BN releases their phantom voters on 8 March 2008.

Q3: Why more personal attacks on Anwar Ibrahim in recent days?
A3: BN is started worrying that Anwar may change the political landscape if urban Malays decide to revolt against UMNO. In addition, Chinese and Indian voters are very upset with Abdullah unfulfilled promises made in past GE besides other bread and butter issues.

BN cannot attack Anwar's popular poverty based-NEP, the next best option is launching a character assault against him.

Q4: Foreign investors want a 2/3 majority, but corrupted judiciary system and government?
A4: Indian government with slightly more than 50% seats in parliament does not drive away investors. Clean, effective and fair government is more important for foreign investors.

Q5: Will another 513 riots IF opposition front winning 1/3 or even forming a new government?
A5: Only poor "rakyat" with nothing to lose would resorting to riots. Malays are not poor "rakyat" anymore, in fact they shall be more worry than Indians on the safety of their properties, cars and children.

IF opposition takes over new government, Anwar Ibrahim or PAS leader will become a new PM, Malay political dominance is still intact. Total number of Malay seats in the parliament may be more than the present BN so-called racial power sharing system.
written by lucky irish, March 08, 2008 02:36:24
Wahai AAB, i am a Malay but i am ashamed of u. Even say so that there's no representative of other races in your cabinet, it doesn't mean u should not give them what is due for their community as they are people of our country, they have rights and dont forget u still ask them to pay taxes! You still need to be fair to all, that is a mark of a true peoples leader. if not u are perpetuating INJUSTICE! and u r RACIST!

Is this Islam Hadhari? shame on you

written by Wisdom above, March 08, 2008 10:43:27
Mandate of Heaven.. has caused 'PANIC' among BN 'UMNO-putras'.

Women Power. * 8-3-2008 is Women International Day.

People's Power and the Wing of Change has come.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat .