Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow 30,000 crowd in PKR ceramah in Lembah Pantai

30,000 crowd in PKR ceramah in Lembah Pantai PDF Print
Friday, 07 March 2008 13:53

Our special correspondent reports on a huge Keadilan rally last night in Lembah Pantai attended by some 30,000 people, 90 per cent of them Malay. He came away convinced that there was still hope for the country.

On another note, I went to the Keadilan ceramah at Lembah Pantai behind Angkasapuri last night. I went there around 10.45pm after attending another ceramah by Sivarasa near One Utama. The crowd at Lembah Pantai was unbelivably large. All roads to the ceramah area were completely blocked with people (more than 90 per cent Malays and mostly young). And it was raining heavily mind you!

When we went, Ronnie Liu of DAP was speaking. he was pretty good engaging the crowd in his talk. I have never been to a ceramah this large since 1969! There must have been at least 30,000 people.

Anwar came at 11.30 pm. He spoke till 12.20 am. He was consistent unlike the BN politicians and their kaki bodek. To the largely Malay crowd he talked about true Islam - which means treating all children as our children. That was a poignant moment. He said something like, "Anak India pun anak kita, anak Cina pun anak kita dan anak melayu pun anak kita." At another point he asked the crowd whether giving help to poor indians was wrong and the largely Malay crowd responded with a strong and loud "tidak"!

Here is a leader who in spite of his chequered past is bringing a message of unity while those BN politicians are dividing us. If you had been there, you will understand why the BN leaders are worried sick. Even the ever cynical me, came home with better hope for this country
largely because of the youthfulness of the crowd. If this is the future, we can still hope. - ALIRAN

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by temenggong, March 07, 2008 13:55:57
Go Anwar!!
agree 124
written by Bill Gates, March 07, 2008 13:59:09
So PKR and DAP have successfully organized a mega ceramah besides the earlier Bersih and Hindraf rally.

People have awaken. Tomorrow we shall all go to the polling station to make change happen so as to tell Pak Lah, Khairi, Najis, Kerismudin that PKR and Anwar are not goner. Make Pak Lah and UMNO remember about Anwar and that Anwar will survice with PKR.

Bravo Anwar. In Anwar we all now have hope.
agree 151
written by Cash Money, March 07, 2008 14:03:28

Dear Anwar

Humanity in you will open many doors to lead.

One for the road promise the rakyat that you will never join Umno even if they

invite you back.
written by teo siew chin, March 07, 2008 14:12:39
It's absolutely amazing this awakening of our rakyat, the Giant!
All for one, and one for all!
HAIL THE PEOPLE POWER!!!!!!!!
written by temenggong, March 07, 2008 14:13:19
Finally the malays have got up and are moving. They are breaking their psychic bonds and tasting the opposition. This newfound freedom will not go away but be here to stay!!
written by DontPlayGod, March 07, 2008 14:14:28
The Star published on its front page a huge turnout at the Rifle Range flats showing thousands at BN's ceramah where the big guns from BN were there. I have a strong feeling that the large crowd assembled there are members of MCA, UMNO, Gerakan, and what have you, just to please UMNO, whose AAB was there.
written by Raja Gasper, March 07, 2008 14:20:28
Happy Voting and Have a Nice day.Vote wisely.What you sow is what you will reap.
Anwar is a major player in this 12th General Elections and a very Charsmatic
leader too from the huge crowds,we knows him.

Every good tree produces good fruits and every bad tree will produces rotten
fruits.The bad tree will be cut by the owner because it is not profitable for him.
written by Sudahlah tu, March 07, 2008 14:25:30
Rakyat Malaysia sudah bangun ....
Awaking of a Giant ..............
Walaupun BN tipu untuk menang , rakyat tetap akan membangun untuk hak mereka ....
written by Mr Smith, March 07, 2008 14:26:07
In our country, change can take place only when the Malays say so and want to. If they open their eyes to the machinations and deceptions of the UMNO predators, they will wake up.
If 90% of this gathering was indeed Malays,then there is hope for this country. Hope they won't be easily tempted and duped by the crumbs that fall from UMNO's table. Crumbs are for animals, not human beings.
written by treeman1957, March 07, 2008 14:26:47
If only the turnouts at opposition ceramahs get translated into votes tomorrow?..let's hope so. Here in Sabah, some reports of BN samsengs threatening people through SMSs.
written by venna, March 07, 2008 14:29:36
This is the power of the people. You can fool some people for sometime but you cannot fool everyone forever! People now are aware of what is happening. With the media coverage of the world at large, people are growing more and more enlightened and they are comparing with other democracies in the world.
Even though the gomen is trying their best to keep us blindfolded, they fail miserably. We are not what we were 50 or 30 or 20 or even 10 years ago. With the internet age and education we cannot be kept in the dark and threatened anymore.
When the water rushes no dams can contain it any more. This is the power of Water. This is the power of the Human heart. It is incredibly powerful and nothing can stop it. So this huge turnout for the opposition ceramah!!
Vote for DEMOCRACY!
Vote for SELF RESPECT!
Vote for a FEARLESS SOCIETY!
Vote for FREEDOM OF SPEECH!
Vote for the FUTURE OF OUR CHILDREN!
Vote for the OPPOSITION!!!
written by BennyG, March 07, 2008 14:39:11
We prayed that tomorrow is a sign of a better Malaysia and that more Malaysians are aware of what is happening and more Malaysians are willing to show their will.

VOTE BARISON RAKYAR!!!
written by krising1, March 07, 2008 14:42:15
Only goes to prove that the Malays know that they are not the main beneficiaries of the NEP. Only the UMNOputeras are and they will chased with their tails between their legs. Let us get rid of this special class of super citizens. Tomorrow they must cease to exist. So vote wisely!
written by BennyG, March 07, 2008 14:43:19
oooops!

BARISAN RAKYAT.

hei, internet is slow today. hope it meant more people are accessing the blog to read the latest.
written by farah, March 07, 2008 14:53:56
DEAR DSAI, Still remember your bruised eyes/faced yet you stil waved at us/the crowd.... how brave you were cause you know very well you're innocent.
I still have you bruised picture scanned in my pc screen. You suffered so much but back with courage and truth.

WAY TO GO MY HERO! and HANDSOME EVER. We are with you and won't let you down.
written by Hockchew, March 07, 2008 15:01:06
Give Anwar and his people our votes. Vote Nurul into parliament and let Malaysia move into a new era.She is intelligent and young.

We are all Malaysian. Dont be threaten by BN through dirty tricks or be scared of May 13. Let BN know that their time is out.

I am a 5th Generation of chinese origin and christian faith and I will vote for PAS because PAS fear God whereas UMNO think that they are God.

With or without MCA and MIC make no difference because they are never there when we need them. Where were they when they threaten to burn down the Chinese Assembly Hall? Where were the MIC when the hindu temple were destroyed?

BN is the real racist party and is the mother of disunity. Who wave the keris? Who Started May 13? Anway, the current UMNo headed by Badawi is a fake one because the original one had died in 1998.

BN is like the 128 years old voter who will turn up at the coming PRU12 at he various voting centre. Just change it! Its in our hand, together we change it for the sake of our children, family and the country. One people One nation.
written by mimag2005, March 07, 2008 15:04:45

Hi Farah,

Why dont you post his bruised image... for better effect !

You are not alone...!!!

written by Amzek, March 07, 2008 15:14:10
To all pemerhati pos undi, please look-out for the groups of voters who seem to get preferential treatment from SPR officials to 'cut' queues during their registration. Scrutinise their KPs, take their photos and MMS to other pemerhati at nearby pos undi. If they are pengundi hantu, they will likely head to the next pos undi and cast another vote.
written by Beautiful Mind, March 07, 2008 15:31:13
Good Luck PKR...

Lawan tetap lawan.
written by longjaafar, March 07, 2008 16:28:49
Before the Lingam Commission was formed, a senior officer from the Attorney General's office was asked to brief Datuk Seri Najib, the DPM.
So he started with...."Dato Seri, I have been asked to brief you on the commission..."
Before the officer can finish his sentence, Najib cut in .."I'm very busy. Just tell me how many percent and how do you intend to divide it."
written by aryn, March 07, 2008 16:39:58
And who says we cannot have a government of our own. Who says we cannot throw out the BN and vote the opposition as our new govt?

Let's make a change. Vote for Malaysia, for our children future. Vote PKR,DAP,PAS.
written by CL Lee, March 07, 2008 16:49:46
Was at the DAP ceramah in Han Chiang School in Penang last night (06/03/0smilies/cool.gif.
The atmoshere was electrict and festive like, the crowd was magnificent and show great enthusiasms on blowing the BN out of the way....
The winds of change is magnanimus as if hurricane will twist the BN out of Penang .....
Let's have this converted into a real tsunami of votes against BN tommorrow and wipe them out...
written by Anti Relon, March 07, 2008 17:11:42
BBC News 6 March 2008
In Britain everything is appreciated.

Temple wins national pride poll
A Hindu temple has been named the landmark of which residents are most proud, in a national poll.
More than 2,300 residents voted for the BAPS Shri Swaminarayan Mandir in Neasden, north London, to win the inaugural Pride of Place award....

http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/1/hi/england/london/7279710.stm
written by DontPlayGod, March 07, 2008 17:17:44
Sometimes I wonder whether our Yang Berhormat's know how to surf the internet or whether they are computer literate. Do they ever read the alternative media? If they do, then they will not be saying the things they have been saying or doing.

But I am quite sure our PM is not computer literate. He didn't know that his own website posted a seditious article for more than a year. And the police did not even call him in for questioning, like they did RPK and wife, who were pulled in for questioning for more than 8 hours.
written by ChiaCY, March 07, 2008 17:18:40
This election is no longer between Opposition and BN, it is the People's Power against the Corrupt! It is Makka Sakti against the Arrogant! It is the TRUTH against the betrayer of our TRUST!

VOTE the Arrogant/betrayers/the Corrupt OUT!

WE HAD ENOUGH!
written by mimag2005, March 07, 2008 17:24:07

Hi Hockchew.....

Please post pictures... for better effect...!!

written by glock17, March 07, 2008 17:34:49
This country still have hope...this lies in the hand of the Malay younger generation. The reponsibilities of doing away Umno culture of corruptive-racist ideology starts from tommorow !!!

My plea to the younger Malay generation is that with unlimited politcal power , it must come with umlimited responsilities. Make this country a home to all whom have been born here.

The time is now or never.

Glock17
written by Lim Lim, March 07, 2008 18:00:41
pretty sure the MSM will not publicize on this event,paste onto You Tube promptly n we shall take it over n pass the " phenomena" on at the eleventh hour!!!
written by Sunnysoul5, March 07, 2008 19:15:52
Anwar has the natural leadership since the UM days, but because of the many mishaps along his career he has to transform himself to become relevant in the new Malaysian era. It is going to be a close fight between BR and BN judging by the big crowd at BR gatherings. It is a dawn of a renaissance of sort and the voters are going to make the historical decision to demonstrate People Power. This is the best time for change as the voters want to choose the right leader to set the correct and positive direction for all Malaysians irrespective of race, religion, creed or class.

Anwar has the experience to move the people forward, and with his international network shall become an instant asset. It is important for Anwar to work on anti-corruption, mitigating the rising costs of living that can wreck the social economic landscape of beloved Malaysia, provide fair and equal opportunities to all deserving Malaysians, and above all else rebuild the international image of the nation.

Mahatir’s advice to have the strong opposition is a good start, because he knows the past, current and maybe future for Malaysia. He was a good economist and strategist to bring up Malaysia but rather weak in international relations according to the global opinions. Anwar may be able to close the gap.

Maybe Anwar is Godsend, so the voters may give him a resounding victory even though he is not even contesting yet. He may be the saviour that Malaysia is looking for.

Lembah Pantai seems to have many mat rempits, and Nurul may be able to provide the moral studies to these people for them to become useful citizens with proper coaching and leadership.

Give Wan Azizah and Nurul the full support so that Anwar can come back to mainstream politics in the near future. He deserves to serve the nation with a much better leadership position.

written by Yacob, March 07, 2008 19:45:04
Anwar can surely do ! To topple Pak Lah and Khairy beruk. Only by bringing down BN, the rakyat may get their rights. So vote BN out.
written by Uncorruptible, March 07, 2008 21:33:56
Bandar Tun Razak (BTR)

The infamous tan chai hole is shamelessly standing for the third time.
What did he ever do for BTR?
In Taman Bkt Anggerik there are electrical outages every month. There are also water cuts from few hours to few days EVERY month without fail for the past 30 odd years. He never even help to bring up the matter with the authorities.
He and his henchman take over public community halls and use them for their private purpose. For example in Taman Connaught, if you want to play table tennis, you have to pay RM 50.00 to join and RM 10.00 every month. Where the money goes, nobody knows, but it is in the hands of mca people. When the table tennis tables (which were donated free) get spoilt, they are not replaced.
Or if you want to place at the OUG community hall, where the tables are also donated, you have to pay RM 50.00 to join and thereafter RM12.00 monthly collected by mca gangster loong peng sum. Again where the money goes nobody knows. mca is all about money in their pockets only.
In Seputeh vote Teresa Kok of DAP.
In Bandar Tun Razak vote Tan Sri Khalid of Keadilan. This man is a true friend -in the worst times he is still supporting his friend Anuar Ibrahim unlike snakes and dishonest people like candra muzaffar or ha ha ha nallakarupan.
written by cm2121, March 07, 2008 22:12:31
Dear BN,

Divide us no more! We are united...we are Malaysians. No to racial polarisation.. no more segregation.. and no more BN. Buh byeee.
written by Msian 2, March 07, 2008 23:31:10
BN is predictable. Same old same old. So why waste a vote on them. BN don't have any credible candidates that have never stood up for the rakyat against corruption by their own kind, never want the rakyat to be Malaysian first but race first. Besides BN does not pratice self criticism within the party as a means to check & balance. Well, I would vote for any party who stand and work to dismantle those evil pratices. So only choice is to vote OPPOSITION.
written by bumi non malay, March 08, 2008 06:18:21
It would be BETTER if Anwar also Said...

Anak India, Melayu, Cina boleh MEMELUK agama sesuka hati mereka kerana Kebebasan Beragama dijamin Allah.........Gua sokong hak kebebasan Beragama Lina Joy!!

.....rather than

"Anak India pun anak kita, anak Cina pun anak kita dan anak melayu pun anak kita."

For his stance on Lina Joy have cost him his respect from society!!....

Vote DAP, PAS, PKR if you condemn Lina Joy Judgement, vote BN if you support Lina Joy Judgement.!!!

written by Bigjoe99, March 08, 2008 09:31:29
Its definitely heartening to see the Malay soul still live and well even in urban jungle of Kuala Lumpur. There is no reason why the Malays given proper support and encouragement cannot equal any other race and be a great one with a traditionally gentle culture and soul.
written by Dominic, March 08, 2008 13:52:28
Its `D` Day today!!! Go for it as if theres no tomorrow. Vote BN OUT... yes OUT . A new DAWN shall begin soon . New Hope is in the horizon. Its gonna be the greatest showdown ever in Malaysia this time round!!!