Opposition not very smart, says Mahathir PDF Print
Friday, 07 March 2008 10:21

FORMER prime minister Mahathir Mohamad, largely out of the spotlight in the elections so far, has finally returned to the arena with a wide-ranging exclusive interview with online newspaper Malaysiakini.

Among other things, he was more guarded in his comments on his successor, Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi, and was critical of Malaysian Indian Congress chief S. Samy Vellu. He also called for a better opposition.

It would be a 'disaster', he said, if Malaysia 'loses its opposition' as in Singapore.

'I have always maintained that this country needs an opposition and they should be critical of the government without which we don't have a mirror to look at our faces,' he said.

'We think that we are very beautiful but it is the opposition that keeps telling us (that may not be true).'

Government MPs, he added, tended to be apple polishers, giving Kuala Lumpur little means of assessing itself accurately.

The Malaysiakini interview, which came as the country counts down to tomorrow's polls, revealed a former premier that was critical of both the ruling coalition and the opposition.

He criticised Datuk Seri Samy Vellu for not allowing other Indians to have their say in parliament, and fingered him as the source of their main grouse.

Asked if he thought Datuk Seri Samy Vellu's departure would improve things, he replied: 'It could be, it could be...because then other voices will be heard.'

As for the opposition, Tun Dr Mahathir had little good to say. 'The opposition is not very smart,' he said of their approach.

'There are so many things that they can make an issue of and attack the government but I don't see them doing that.'

Keeping this in mind, the former premier predicted that Barisan Nasional (BN) would retain its two-thirds majority tomorrow and win 70 to 75 per cent of the 222 parliament seats - lower than the 91 per cent it won in 2004.

But he doubted that BN would be able to seize Kelantan from PAS.

'Kelantan would be very difficult because although the margin is very small, Kelantanese have got a mind of their own, so to speak. If they are living in KL, they are very supportive of the government but if they are living in Kelantan, the peer pressure is very strong.'

During the interview, Tun Dr Mahathir also repeated previous criticism of the decision to cancel a number of mega-projects that were inked during his tenure, including the bridge to Singapore and the Bakun dam project.

This issue had caused a rift between him and Datuk Seri Abdullah after he left office.

'When I left, I made sure that the party, the government and the finances are in good shape. So when I am told that (my) projects have been postponed because of no money, it's definitely not true,' he said.

But he appeared to backtrack from widely reported remarks that he made earlier about having a 'gentleman's agreement' with Datuk Seri Abdullah for the latter to step down after serving as Prime Minister for one term and let Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak take over.

'I want to say this, there was no gentleman's agreement on this. My thinking was that he should serve for one term and give (way to) Najib who by then would be much older to succeed him,' he said. - THE STRAITS TIMES

THE OPPOSITION

'There is no possibility for them to win the election and form the government. I mean when you talk about it, people think you are silly. Of course, they say 'When we become the government', but will you become the government? There have been 11 elections so far - your performance is terrible, you're fighting each other.'

TUN DR MAHATHIR, on the opposition's chances

HIS SUCCESSOR

'It is up to the people to judge. You see, I would be biased. Of course, if you ask a former PM what he thinks of the new PM, he would say 'Oh, he's not good' and all that. That is normal. For the new PM, if he wants to leave his mark...but the unfortunate thing is that the mark caused some losses for us. That is why I was so critical.'

TUN DR MAHATHIR, on Datuk Seri Abdullah's performance

MIC CHIEF

'I know their (the Indians') main grouse is not with me, their main grouse is with Samy Vellu because with Samy Vellu there, there is no chance for another Indian to come up. When we formed the Barisan Nasional, Umno accepted PAS, another Malay party, into BN...but Samy Vellu insists that nobody else, no other Indian organisation, can come in, and this is frustrating a lot of people who did not agree with him.'

TUN DR MAHATHIR, on whether MIC chief Samy Vellu should leave

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by joseph81, March 07, 2008 10:36:44
Memory loss talk cock master is back !
written by apanama, March 07, 2008 10:40:41
we don't really need any more views, opinions or comments from memory-loss-talkcock-master. just an apology - for 22 years of abuse -- will do. sorry is a hard thing to say indeed.
written by apanama, March 07, 2008 10:44:16
melayu mudah lupa.
mahathir mudah lupa.

sekarang kata samy bongkak
tapi sebenarnya mahathir pekak.

ini kes mamak cakap lain bikin tak serupa
oi mamak, rakyat tak pernah lupa

written by Krazee, March 07, 2008 10:49:11
It's his 22 years that made the system so entrenched that it is difficult to change.
We should be at par if not better than our arrogant neighbour given that we have natural resources but NO, they grew by leap and bounds using the cream of our people.
It used to be 60% of the senior management personnels in Singapore private companies are Malaysians........
written by Raja Gasper, March 07, 2008 10:50:21
The mistakes is made by then the PM Dr Mahathir and not Sammy Vellu.Why is that
the PM is blind and deaf to hear the voice of Indians ? Is he the PM then ? All
power is invested on him and yet he failed to act as there is nothing happens.

Today he blame the MIC Chief Sammy Velu for plights of the Indians and as the PM
he should be blamed too.Captain is to blamed if the crews of the ship are in dire
trouble.PM DR Mahathir is not sincere in helping the Indians because he thinks that Indians are poor people and only good to make use of them for poltical purpose rather than upbringing them to a respect level like the Malays.

A theif will only knows how ROB from the people but a righteousness leader is
the person who lead his people to path of great happiness in all aspect of life.
written by Mr Bean, March 07, 2008 10:50:54
The rakyat already have enough of you. You are just as crooked as the Gomen that you critised.

Most of the problems started during your selfish and dictatorstyle premiership.

The rakyat wont be so dump to listen to your stories. Too late, damaged done.
written by Jivathma, March 07, 2008 11:01:13
Mahathir, well thanks to your dictaoriship you made them look not smart during your tenure by controlling the media and other means. YOu are just another racist leader.
written by grant, March 07, 2008 11:03:46
but 1 thing he has mentioned it correctly is this.. Peopl need to understand this..

'I have always maintained that this country needs an opposition and they should be critical of the government without which we don't have a mirror to look at our faces,' he said.

'We think that we are very beautiful but it is the opposition that keeps telling us (that may not be true).'
written by Sudahlah tu, March 07, 2008 11:06:24
Cukuplah, TUN..... cukuplah tu ..
Segalanya bermula daripada awak juga ..sikap tamak ... tanpa wawasan
Kini, sila lihat dengan mata sendiri hasil perbuatan awak ...
Rasakanlah ... apa yang kami rasai semasa awak 'mengetepikan' kami semasa awak berkuasa ...
Cukuplah tu ...
Tengok-tengoklah anak kesayanganmu di Jerlun ... kini dipermainkan oleh UMNO ..
Anak kesayanganmu ... sungguh menyakiti hati awak tu .. rasakanlah ..
Segalanya .. biar bersederhana dan bermuafakat kepada rakyat jelata dan bukanya warna...
BR tidak perlu pandai .... mereka bukannya bodoh ..
BR lebih perhatin dan mendengar suara rakyat Malaysia .. itu penting
Sesuatu yang awak tidak endah selama 22 tahun berkuasa ...
Sakitnya .... rasailah ... nak mati tidak berani ..
Hidup berdarahkan air mata ... dulu pandai berlakun menangis ..
Sekarang .... sambung lagi .. berlakunlah .. tanpa pengampun2 UMNO ..
Sunyi dan bodoh kan ????
Itulah .... yang melawan ajaran Allah ...
Biar berpanjangan hidup awak hingga 100 tahun untuk menyaksikan lebih balasan hasil
buatan awak ... kita sama menonton ya ...
written by mikewang, March 07, 2008 11:10:18
'I want to say this, there was no gentleman's agreement on this. My thinking was that he should serve for one term and give (way to) Najib who by then would be much older to succeed him,' he said.
-------------

At his age, it is a wonder if he doesn't suffer from lapse of memory or plainly, senility.
written by future, March 07, 2008 11:14:04
Halo OLD MAN just keep your mouth shut.
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 07, 2008 11:24:38
Your son looks stupid, act stupid, like you.
written by Ken Liew, March 07, 2008 11:25:13
Yes, Opposition are stupid...But the BNs are stupid-est!!.. Answer me, who are clever...???... But i know, He who thinks he is clever actually, stupid.

We learn and we change to suit the environment.... But How much hv BN change in this 50 years? How much Malaysia hv changed??

The most important is, how much hv the world changed, and what Malaysia government DID to compete amoung other nation in the WORLD??

written by Counterpointer, March 07, 2008 11:44:12
ToonDogtheMahatiu,

The Winds of Change is a blowing. You thought you had blown Anwar away into political nothingness, but the Winds of Change have blown him back to haunt you.Everything you wished won't happen, will happen. Don't be too sure that you won't be seeing how's life will be like inside looking out of the prison cell bars.You can't have everything under your complete grasp anymore so don't be too sure what you think this opposition can't do.
written by Birdbrain, March 07, 2008 11:47:26
http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=N36eszwt8uE

60,000 in Penang not very smart?? Mahathir, eat your heart out! You can't even gather 100 people nowadays!
written by Daryl, March 07, 2008 12:00:54
Dr. M it is time for you to shut up, go home and enjoy the rakyat's money you con and rob. Listening to you again remind me why all these BN politicians are giving dunb and dumber excuses. After 22 years off listening to you I finally figure it out. Do you think Malaysians will be nice after going through all these BSs from BN? This is only the beginning of BN's end if you don't repent and change...
written by aiyomanaboleh, March 07, 2008 12:05:39
My dear Tun,

Everything starts with one small step.

Yes, 11 elections had passed and another 11 will come and may have the same results as you predicted BUT rest assured that the winds of change will continue blowing.

Everyone know the dacing is tilted towards the vices of power.
written by temenggong, March 07, 2008 12:22:06
He destroyed the organs of power in the country thinking it will load the dice everlastingly in favour of the malays! In the short term, yes, but in the medium term it is loaded against the whole country, targeted for ruin. Now we are in the medium term. Now ruin for the non malays spells utter ruin for the malays.

BN and the Opposition parties are very united on one issue; the death of Mahathir over which they will celebrate together clinking glasses in camaderie and singing 'kumbaya'.
written by Tom Cruise, March 07, 2008 12:22:11
Pastilah sokong BN, kan anak bertanding...Hypocrite!

Wonder what barter trade took place??? Pathetic bunch of people!

MARCH 8th VOTE FOR THE OPPOSITION PKR PAS DAP COMBINE AND SAVE MALAYSIA!!!

written by Baronshah, March 07, 2008 12:27:13
The way I see is that TDM has regained his "memory" since the judiciary inquiry where he could not remember.Since he has a lot to say about that and this.
written by notsosmart, March 07, 2008 12:51:52
...................'I want to say this, there was no gentleman's agreement on this. My thinking was that he should serve for one term and give (way to) Najib who by then would be much older to succeed him,.................

======================================================

How could C5 explosive be stolen and used on the civilian. Not sure if we could still trust the BN gomen. Not the way to silence your opponent. At least we know PAS, even with the MCA call them extremist, is not doing this.

written by tcutcutcu, March 07, 2008 12:59:41
I just want to say that the Tun Racist Mahadey Mengele AKA TWISTING MAMAK HYPOCRITE deserves to eat shit and die a miserable death.
written by Bill Gates, March 07, 2008 13:16:09
Cek dek, kalau hang tu pandai sangat, cuba hang buat ceramah kat kubang pasu tengok berapa ramai penyokong lagi yang tinggeh. Setakat ini DAP dah berjaya menarik lebih 100,000 orang kat ceramah depa kat Han Chiang semalam.
written by asguard, March 07, 2008 13:27:00
Joomlah kita tukar!
written by adzera, March 07, 2008 13:32:24
Mahathir Mohamad, kaulah syaitan yang bertopeng manusia, kaulah dajal anjing menyerupai orang, kaulah pengkhianat negara, bangsat lagi membangsatkan. Aku doakan kau mampus cepat secara amat pedih lagi menyiksakan. Aku doakan agar TUHAN akan beri balasan yang sewajar nya atas segala perbuatan kau terhadap negara dan rakyat.
written by Vertigo Cure, March 07, 2008 13:35:52
'I want to say this, there was no gentleman's agreement on this...'

Another example of him lying! Malaysia had this scum as a PM for 22 years!!!
written by Task Force 101, March 07, 2008 13:49:54

I agree Monkey Mahathir. But I think its time to shut both your holes as they only give out one thing... lets see if you are smart to guess, starts with a S and ends with T.

VOTE BN OUT!
written by ahkok, March 07, 2008 14:38:08
Opposition is not that smart uh?
Look who is talking? Someone who put in place so many unfair practices, corruption, abuse of power and then now, your son is at the receiving end. Kicked out of Langkawi.
Now that bn has turned around and bite your ass, you suddenly turn to appeal to the people to see how bad and corrupted bn is. I think if aab did not cancel all your pet projects, you will still be kissing his ass. What goes around, comes around.
Last time when you were still in power, so many people rushing to kiss your hand. Now when you extend your hand out, people just want to spit in it.
My advise to you is to die early. When Barisan Rakyat wins big this time, for a real ACA with real sharp teeth, the judiciary is placed back in order, your ass will be hauled to jail for your corruption and abuse of power. Live your bloody old life in jail thinking of what you did wrong. Then when time is up, you die lying right beside the dirty toilet bowl where you belong!!

written by Amzek, March 07, 2008 15:15:24
To all pemerhati pos undi, please look-out for the groups of voters who seem to get preferential treatment from SPR officials to 'cut' queues during their registration. Scrutinise their KPs, take their photos and MMS to other pemerhati at nearby pos undi. If they are pengundi hantu, they will likely head to the next pos undi and cast another vote.
written by Sutha, March 07, 2008 17:27:56

The opposition members not very smart because they are not crooked, not evil or liars like you, TDM Mamak Malabar, and your ArmNo Bloodsuckers.
written by radiohead, March 07, 2008 20:46:28
Woi, enough misleading people lah.
Opposition don't have to win the GE but just need to deny the 2/3rd majority....that's our objective.
If you guys don't play the dirty tricks with phantom voters and human rights deprived postal votes and making it fair and square, BN is screwed by now.

You don't keep twisting your story that there was no gentlemen agreement with your successor and hen there was one later. Which is which now???

You screwed your leadership as you did not pick the right successor and now crying over the spoilt milk. Your current successor is not running a 4x100m relay to pass the baton on as you wish...

Talking about Sami that he did not bring the matter up to the cabinet...didn;t you know the plight of the Indians back then when you held it for 22 years as PM. Was your PMship catered only to handle Malays??? Didn't you have control over the rakyat? If Sami didn;t bring it up to you, you should have been more responsible as a premier leader of the country to undertake the obligation rather than pushing the blame to Sami. I am not supporting Sami as I know he is another crook for the damage done.

written by Uncorruptible, March 07, 2008 22:06:16
Bandar Tun Razak (BTR)

The infamous tan chai hole is shamelessly standing for the third time.
What did he ever do for BTR?
In Taman Bkt Anggerik there are electrical outages every month. There are also water cuts from few hours to few days EVERY month without fail for the past 30 odd years. He never even help to bring up the matter with the authorities.
He and his henchman take over public community halls and use them for their private purpose. For example in Taman Connaught, if you want to play table tennis, you have to pay RM 50.00 to join and RM 10.00 every month. Where the money goes, nobody knows, but it is in the hands of mca people. When the table tennis tables (which were donated free) get spoilt, they are not replaced.
Or if you want to place at the OUG community hall, where the tables are also donated, you have to pay RM 50.00 to join and thereafter RM12.00 monthly collected by mca gangster loong peng sum. Again where the money goes nobody knows. mca is all about money in their pockets only.
In Seputeh vote Teresa Kok of DAP.
In Bandar Tun Razak vote Tan Sri Khalid of Keadilan. This man is a true friend -in the worst times he is still supporting his friend Anuar Ibrahim unlike snakes and dishonest people like candra muzaffar or ha ha ha nallakarupan.
written by Lim Lim, March 08, 2008 03:38:29
the wind of change will prove this talk cock master wrong,n all the right minded malaysian,we must prove him wrong but voting for any opposition,hidup rakyat,hidup bangsa malaysia!!
written by Lim Lim, March 08, 2008 03:39:23
sorry,but=by,but =by!!!!