Meeting Raja Petra Kamarudin PDF Print
Friday, 07 March 2008 08:15

In a Chinese restaurant along a row of brothels in Brickfields, Raja Petra Kamarudin was having dinner with his wife, Marina, and two close female friends.

Sat around a round table on the sidewalk, the ang moh (white) looking “Malay” was charming and had a steady gaze. With a shaved head and donning spectacles, he looked the intellectual prince of Malaysia Today. What got to me was his easygoing and down-to-earth style. He was definitely not the Sultan of Johor of whacking the golf caddy fame. Actually, Petra was not even like most of the royalty types that hung out in the local clubs and classy restaurants in town. Perhaps the most royal looking part of him was a ring with a huge stone and his watch. Otherwise, I felt he was a true Malaysian in a sense and living testimony that identity goes beyond skin colour. The fact that Petra was probably a PAS sympathiser didn’t add up as he looked so modern. Ah! Stereotypes again.

To shock Malaysians leading up to elections, I wore a PAS pin though I am not a PAS member. I can’t be and neither do I want to be one. Political parties are too restrictive with their constitution and manifestos and all. Also, there are some key things within PAS that I simply can’t agree with but respect as its their culture and their freedom. The most glaring dissonance is the idea of covering up women from head to toe. I like to wear shorts and t-shirts most times with my well-worn pair of Converse sneakers. Especially with the heat, I’m not about to conform to the dress code unless required or in situations where its polite. But that’s their religion. Of course, the other is that I am a Christian.

Comments (6)Add Comment
written by MalaysianIAm, March 07, 2008 14:37:32
i wish i could meet with rpk too
written by MalaysianIAm, March 07, 2008 14:38:21
and i would defnitely not care about meeting badawi
written by jabins, March 07, 2008 16:50:03
Yup, met RPK at the Brickfields ceremah, it made my year!!!
Hearing him sent us all into a frenzy!!
The "Man" primarily responsible for the awakening of Malaysia.
Can't thank him enough for his untiring efforts. A true Patriot of Malaysia.
We salute you.
written by Angela Ooi, March 07, 2008 19:51:27
Raja Petra you ARE our Prince, an honest, brave man who though has normal- sized ears, listens and understand how we rakyat feel and attempts to speak out for us.Daulat Tuanku!
written by Uncorruptible, March 07, 2008 21:56:44
Bandar Tun Razak (BTR)

The infamous tan chai hole is shamelessly standing for the third time.
What did he ever do for BTR?
In Taman Bkt Anggerik there are electrical outages every month. There are also water cuts from few hours to few days EVERY month without fail for the past 30 odd years. He never even help to bring up the matter with the authorities.
He and his henchman take over public community halls and use them for their private purpose. For example in Taman Connaught, if you want to play table tennis, you have to pay RM 50.00 to join and RM 10.00 every month. Where the money goes, nobody knows, but it is in the hands of mca people. When the table tennis tables (which were donated free) get spoilt, they are not replaced.
Or if you want to place at the OUG community hall, where the tables are also donated, you have to pay RM 50.00 to join and thereafter RM12.00 monthly collected by mca gangster loong peng sum. Again where the money goes nobody knows. mca is all about money in their pockets only.
In Seputeh vote Teresa Kok of DAP.
In Bandar Tun Razak vote Tan Sri Khalid of Keadilan. This man is a true friend -in the worst times he is still supporting his friend Anuar Ibrahim unlike snakes and dishonest people like candra muzaffar or ha ha ha nallakarupan.
written by panca, March 08, 2008 03:56:45
Cheers Jed!

I had my opportune time that I met him (YM RPK or Pete) on one evening while I was having dinner. We have yet to catch up for a drink perhaps when he is more free. Cheers to you, Pete.

Pete is a really warm person. He listens attentively when in conversation.

My hat off to you.