Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow You owe your goodies to the Opposition

You owe your goodies to the Opposition PDF Print
Thursday, 06 March 2008 17:15

If it was not for the Opposition, there would be no goodies or development for the people, says P Ramakrishnan. Where there were no contests when certain candidates were returned unopposed, the BN did not spend even a single sen in that constituency.

All the money that is now being dished out was sorely needed even before this election campaign period. But why was this money not available then? A caring government would not wait for an election to behave as Santa Claus. It would have done the right thing when the need was there.

If it is seen to be generous now it is simply because the BN is desperate to win. It is approving all kinds of projects and releasing millions of ringgit just to ensure its victory.

You remember Ijok and the recent by-election there? Ijok, a rural constituency which hardly saw its assembly member, was suddenly swarming with so many BN politicians pouring in money and bringing in overnight development running into almost 100 million ringgit.

If there had been no contest, Ijok would not have received anything! It would have remained a forgotten and neglected area with no one losing sleep over its unfortunate situation.

The same thing is happening now. Goodies are pouring in by the lorry loads! What is being promised and given to the Chinese and Indian Malaysians is mind-boggling. Chinese schools are allowed to relocate with funds provided; new Chinese schools can now be constructed when it was no-go all these years; farmers are given land and grants.Tamil schools are given huge allocations when in the past it was a miserable sum. Twenty years of begging for a Thaipusam holiday yielded nothing, but all of a sudden it was given for Selangor and Putrajaya.

According to Malaysiakini a whopping RM125,580,000 was promised from the end of December to 14 February. It is very clear that what is dished out does not come from the generosity of the heart but is given out of fear of losing the support of the Chinese and Indian Malaysian communities. It is bribery – bribing to buy votes to remain in power.

Voters should ask why this could not have been given when the election was not on the horizon. Voters should now punish the BN for not being sincere in their motive and resorting to bribery to win votes.

Voters must play smart and realise how much more they will be given the next time if they elect the Opposition this time! Voters have everything to gain – a double bonus - by voting for the Opposition. - Aliran

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by zul4kulim, March 06, 2008 17:19:57
Hantu Hadhari
http://1426.********.com/2008/...iaran.html
written by sickofitall, March 06, 2008 17:22:01

My fellow Malaysians,

The battle has not been won, let alone the war. Yes, I have spoken to many who said they will vote BN (God knows why!)I can also confirm there are a lot of phantom voters around, including in my residence. Please continue to keep your eyes and ears out for vote rigging and unfair electoral practices. Please please use this last 36 hours to work hard. There are a lot of housewives and retired civil servants who feel uncomfortable and disloyal voting for the opposition. You NEED to and you MUST explain to them the BN of today is not the same as the BN of 70s and 80s. Please please go house to house if you need to, work the phones and get as many to vote opposition for BOTH state and federal. There is still a lot of work to be done. If YOU read this and agree, BUT do nothing, then please please for the next 5 years, DO NOT COMPLAIN about the government we will be getting. We need you to help, as the opposition machinery is not as well funded and well resourced as that of BN. WE NEED you!! 36 hours left, please do your share. God bless, and may our efforts result in a country where there is a place for all under the Malaysian sun. Let's sacrifice some time and energy to make sure the Malaysia we leave behind for our childrena nd grandchildren is one we can be proud of.
written by Chuan, March 06, 2008 17:37:38
Dear Rakyats, I urge thee please respond with prudence and wisdom!

Take all these monetary rewards that is being given blindly by our ex-ruling government and vote for a cleaner, safer and better tomorrow!

written by Lim Lim, March 06, 2008 17:47:47
"hari ini beri kamu gula gula,besok hari rompak kamu juta juta"!!
to all the sensible,right minded malaysian,do u want this deplorable political blackmailing tactic that hav been deployed by the umno/BN goons for decades??do u still remember goods that cost rm50.00 being purchased with rm5,000.00??it is not their money,it is our hard earned malaysian tax payers'money!!enough is enough!say NO to BN two days from now for a new beginning,the change at least for us to that light at the end of the tunnel!vote Barisan Rakyat,vote any opposition!!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, March 06, 2008 19:08:30
This is how things work for the past 50 years, and it is a tradition, except in Kelantan where the people are more loyal to their own party (PAS) and cannot be bought with money. They are real Muslims, unlike elsewhere in the country where the coruupted monkeys no longer fear their own God, and worship Money-God instead!
written by Eskay Lim, March 06, 2008 20:19:35
As some legal minds have said:

"Giving and promising all those goodies like land-grants & low-cost apartments, giving monetary grants to Chinese & Tamil schools, promising development projects worth hundreds of millions of ringgit just before a general election by the care-taker government may not be "corrupt practice" but it definitely is BAD practice, a form of bribery ... and this government is encouraging it.
written by Flex Tan, March 06, 2008 22:24:17
CURRENTLY IT'S JUST PROMISES (9MP).... MAKE SURE THE OPPOSITIONS ARE MORE IN THE NEXT GOVT. TO ENSURE ALL OF IT IS IMPLEMENTED !!!

OTHERWISE, IT'S JUST ANOTHER 5YRS OF RAPING AND ROBBING....
written by Uncorruptible, March 06, 2008 22:24:36
Latest on candra

He did not convert to Islam because he loved the religion but because he says Muslims are fatalists, and it was his only way he could get anyone to marry him, a cripple. (with due respects to his wife)

Resorting to use of unprincipled people like chandra muzaffar and nallakaruppan shows just how desperate and panicky the bn is. Anuar's message is getting through. Keep tightening the screws on the bn's coffin !!

What clout has the Indians and Chinese all this while anyway?????
The got nothing, EVERYTHING is in umno's hands.
If they want more clout, they have to change the government as soon as possible.

Tail of Snaky Candra Mustafar

While in the political wilderness, candra founded a social justice organisation (sjo). It was a full time job and people actually worried if he could earn enough. His noble answer was that if he "....earned less, just spend less".
He soon rose to fame on the backs of the people's indignation at the governments corruption, injustices and evil.
Then his daughters grew up and one of them applied for a Universiti place. Anuar gave his daughter a scholarship and that bought candra to Anuar's side. He resigned from the sjo saying that he needed money for his daughter's education. He became Anuar's think tank and well paid for it, even got a job as professor at MU. He was so happy that he even organised a human rights seminar and invited mahatew to officiate its opening.
When Anuar was sacked by mahatew, candra's loyalty to Anuar didn't wavered initially. He joined Adilan and fought for Anuar's case.
Then something happened along the way. Anuar' funds dried up after the 1999 GE, and candra severed all ties with Anuar and left in a huff because he couldn’t get his hands on the party’s funds. No more money, what some more.
Now suddenly he has surfaced, looking and talking very prosperous. He has new masters now. And like all people without principles and after being bought over, now condemns their old friends who once help them when they were down. He believes bn will win again, so he is in for a long lucrative friendship with them. He had compromised himself time and time again. But this time he has exposed himself to be a turncoat. JUST has become just him alone, everyone of worth has deserted him.Just like nallakaruppan.

All those who sleep with umno are NOT Chinese !!!
They are TRAITORS !

Let us not fail ourselves this time.
Let us not fail ourselves big time.

Hisapmodin (spit) drinks beer.
Hisapmodin (spit) unfit to be education minister for threatening to kill the Chinese with the keris.
Hisapmodin (spit) takes commission from school bookstores 25% of gross sales.
Hisapmodin (spit) impotent to solve school children heavy school bag problem.
VOTE HISAPMODIN (spit) OUT !!!!!
This Elections should decide whether God or Satan is in charge of Malaysia.
VOTE OPPOSITION !!!

umno (spit) is the colonialist of Malaysia.
umno (spit) is plundering Malaysia without mercy.
umno (spit) is a four-letter word that rhymes with luck.
umno /mic/mca/grkn (spit) = AXIS of EVIL
written by asguard, March 07, 2008 08:55:41
I definite won't be voting for the devils... they are too greedy for power and money... All the elections goodies can and shall be withdrawal anytime after the time... these are only a ploy..coned by devils.. They are not sincere at all... they only knows how to broke a thousand promises again and again... Only know how to manipulated the election.. Only knows how to play cheating game..more lies than ever.. I DON'T FELL FOR THEIR TWISTED LIES NOT NOW BUT FOREVER... till to the end of time... once a devils always is and shall be a devil no matter what you think....
written by oceanuz, March 07, 2008 20:12:26
damn...
mana gula-gula saya...
Maybe BN think they sure win here.... smilies/tongue.gif
written by Uncorruptible, March 07, 2008 21:26:21
Bandar Tun Razak (BTR)

The infamous tan chai hole is shamelessly standing for the third time.
What did he ever do for BTR?
In Taman Bkt Anggerik there are electrical outages every month. There are also water cuts from few hours to few days EVERY month without fail for the past 30 odd years. He never even help to bring up the matter with the authorities.
He and his henchman take over public community halls and use them for their private purpose. For example in Taman Connaught, if you want to play table tennis, you have to pay RM 50.00 to join and RM 10.00 every month. Where the money goes, nobody knows, but it is in the hands of mca people. When the table tennis tables (which were donated free) get spoilt, they are not replaced.
Or if you want to place at the OUG community hall, where the tables are also donated, you have to pay RM 50.00 to join and thereafter RM12.00 monthly collected by mca gangster loong peng sum. Again where the money goes nobody knows. mca is all about money in their pockets only.
In Seputeh vote Teresa Kok of DAP.
In Bandar Tun Razak vote Tan Sri Khalid of Keadilan. This man is a true friend -in the worst times he is still supporting his friend Anuar Ibrahim unlike snakes and dishonest people like candra muzaffar or ha ha ha nallakarupan.