Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Vote for democracy! Vote for a stronger opposition!

Vote for democracy! Vote for a stronger opposition! PDF Print
Wednesday, 05 March 2008 21:44

The 12th General Election is crucial for Malaysians. It will set the direction for the nation and will determine the status of democracy in this country. More importantly, the outcome of the results will decide the secular status of this nation which is under grave threat, says P Ramakrishnan.  We don’t need a strong government. We need a just government.

The rot has set in

Extremist elements are aggressively in the forefront pushing the Islamic agenda and ignoring the pluralistic character of this nation. They completely ignore the historic social contract, assiduously negotiated by the main communities in a give-and-take understanding to secure independence and forge a nation from our diverse cultures and religions.

Various groups and people have toiled and contributed to make this country what it is today. Our strength has always been in our ability to work together in a co-operative and compromising spirit to accommodate the interests and welfare of all Malaysians.

This live-and-let-live spirit is being undermined deliberately by certain politicians posturing uncompromisingly as champions of a single community to the detriment of our shared unity. While this stance may make them popular among certain sections of the population, it sends out very serious danger signals for the future well being of this nation.

Our democratic space has disappeared. We cannot hold discussions on issues deemed to be of utmost importance because certain elements oppose such discussions. We cannot walk peacefully to highlight certain grievances without the police resorting to high-handed tactics to break up such democratic actions. We cannot publish anything without a permit. We cannot form any associations without being registered. We cannot go to court to challenge unjust decisions of the Executive because that right has been taken away from us. We don’t get television and radio air-time or media space to articulate legitimate criticism against the government. This - and much more - has been taken away from us.

Our judiciary is in a shambles. It is a pity that a noble institution set up to safeguard justice has been destroyed by uncaring politicians only interested in perpetuating their power and position. It is so tainted and corrupted by unsavoury characters promoted to high places to do the biddings of the powerful. Deserving, honest and honourable judges were deliberately by-passed to keep the judiciary pliant to the Executive. The last hope for the common person to seek justice has been made a complete mockery.

Our education system has deteriorated to pathetic levels. It is no longer seen as a means of  ennobling young minds and empowering future leaders of the country with the right knowledge and values to mould them into healthy, mature, thinking and discerning citizens. The school system has become so polarised that it no longer reflects the multi-cultural make-up of the country. It is so bad that Marina Mahathir in her column in The Star revealed that she had pulled  her children out from the national schools because they have become Malay schools.

More disappointments and worries

Our parliament has turned out to be such a disappointment. Our elected representatives no longer stand as tall as the building itself unlike previous parliamentarians who came imbued with parliamentary traditions and healthy respect for democracy and vibrant debates. They crossed swords in a dignified manner without anger or rancour. These days debates have become shouting matches, spiced up with sick jokes and shocking sexist remarks. Even if certain members were to speak the truth and act according to their conscience they are punished for crossing party lines as was the case with the two MIC MPs and Shahrir Samad, the chairman of the Back Benchers Club.

Worse, the Barisan Nasional-dominated parliament has over the years passed terrible and demeaning bills and amendments that have taken away most of our fundamental rights and freedom. Instead of acting in the larger interest of the people and the nation, the BN-controlled parliament had passed all those obnoxious bills to keep the Executive in perpetual power.

Our unity over the last 50 years, instead of strengthening, has dissipated to worrying levels. It is a tragedy that we are now more divided than we have ever been before. Public policies and practices have widened the gap. People feel discriminated against, not only the non-Malays, but the Malays as well, when it comes to contracts, licences, promotions, loans, and scholarships, which invariably went to cronies and the well-connected. While we can blame the British for the divide-and-rule-policy, the BN has mastered this art to perfection to remain in power.

Corruption has pervaded our entire system. Through corruption, billions of ringgit have been lost at the expense of development and help for the poor. We have squandered our wealth through un-tendered projects, seeking and securing contract sales through middlemen, writing off billions of ringgit lost mysteriously, and through failed projects and contracts. Though the fight against corruption has been declared with pious intentions, so far nothing has happened to stamp out this scourge.

Well, fellow voters, the list of things that are wrong in this country can go on and on. The point is, do we want to let it go on? This is what we have to decide.

Do they need another huge mandate?

The BN asked for a strong mandate in all the previous elections. This mandate was given without fail. Indeed, the last mandate was unprecedented. It was a whopping 91 per cent of parliamentary seats.

What did this huge mandate amount to for the people? In what way has it benefited the country? The huge mandate produced a strong government. But it did not produce a just government. It  made the politicians powerful. But it did not empower the people or safeguard their fundamental rights and freedom. It is this huge mandate that has robbed us of our human rights and made us powerless. It is this huge mandate that has made this BN government so arrogant and unjust in its policies to the poor and the powerless.

Do they need another huge mandate? The answer must be a resounding NO! We don’t need a strong government. We need a just government. A just government does not need a huge mandate.

Another point to take into consideration is this: How did this strong government become so arrogant and uncaring? Simple. There was no strong Opposition in parliament. There was no Opposition to provide the necessary check and balance. There was no strong Opposition to force the government to act justly. There was no strong Opposition to prevent the numerous amendments to the Federal Constitution to take away our fundamental rights and freedom. There was no strong Opposition to ensure that the policies of the government were just and fair.

My fellow voters, vote for democracy. Vote for a strong opposition. Vote to deny a two-thirds’ majority. Do this and you will see the difference when the next parliament meets.

Do not fail yourself.
Do not fail the country. - Aliran Monthly

written by Flex Tan, March 05, 2008 21:44:54
Barisan Rakyat Ceramah in USJ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FKIwuJ7QCyE

Barisan Rakyat at DAP Ceramah USJ PT2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjjFJCP4Kg0
written by Flex Tan, March 05, 2008 21:45:37
Barisan Rakyat in Tmn Tun
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbXK8qGyPrk

Tmn Tun Ceramah PT 2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OJ0uv5abfMM
written by Flex Tan, March 05, 2008 21:48:47
EVERY MALAYSIANS PAID THEIR TAXES... WHY SHOULD AN OPPOSITION BE DENIED OR SHUT-OUT OF THE POLITICAL PROCESS AND VOICE.......

THAT'S HOW VINDICTIVE, IN-TOLERENT AND NOT COMPASSIONATE BN IS !!!

WHAT SLOGANS THEY UNVEILED ... IT'S JUST GIMMICK !!!
written by Uncorruptible, March 05, 2008 21:50:34
What clout has the Indians and Chinese all this while anyway?????
The got nothing, EVERYTHING is in umno's hands.
If they want more clout, they have to change the government as soon as possible.

Tale of Snaky Candra Mustafar

While in the political wilderness, candra founded a social justice organisation (sjo). It was a full time job and people actually worried if he could earn enough. His noble answer was that if he "....earned less, just spend less".
He soon rose to fame on the backs of the people's indignation at the governments corruption, injustices and evil.
Then his daughters grew up and one of them applied for a Universiti place. Anuar gave his daughter a scholarship and that bought candra to Anuar's side. He resigned from the sjo saying that he needed money for his daughter's education. He became Anuar's think tank and well paid for it, even got a job as professor at MU. He was so happy that he even organised a human rights seminar and invited mahatew to officiate its opening.
When Anuar was sacked by mahatew, candra's loyalty to Anuar didn't wavered initially. He joined Adilan and fought for Anuar's case.
Then something happened along the way. Anuar' funds dried up after the 1999 GE, and candra severed all ties with Anuar and left in a huff because he couldn’t get his hands on the party’s funds. No more money, what some more.
Now suddenly he has surfaced, looking and talking very prosperous. He has new masters now. And like all people without principles and after being bought over, now condemns their old friends who once help them when they were down. He believes bn will win again, so he is in for a long lucrative friendship with them. He had compromised himself time and time again. But this time he has exposed himself to be a turncoat. JUST has become just him alone, everyone of worth has deserted him.Just like nallakaruppan.

All those who sleep with umno are NOT Chinese !!!
They are TRAITORS !

Let us not fail ourselves this time.
Let us not fail ourselves big time.

Hisapmodin (spit) drinks beer.
Hisapmodin (spit) unfit to be education minister for threatening to kill the Chinese with the keris.
Hisapmodin (spit) takes commission from school bookstores 25% of gross sales.
Hisapmodin (spit) impotent to solve school children heavy school bag problem.
VOTE HISAPMODIN (spit) OUT !!!!!
This Elections should decide whether God or Satan is in charge of Malaysia.
VOTE OPPOSITION !!!

umno (spit) is the colonialist of Malaysia.
umno (spit) is plundering Malaysia without mercy.
umno (spit) is a four-letter word that rhymes with luck.
umno /mic/mca/grkn (spit) = AXIS of EVIL
written by JUST, March 05, 2008 21:54:35
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related
written by cwy, March 05, 2008 21:55:28
This country belongs to all Rakyat!
It is not own by BN!
It is a crucial moment for us to decide if we will like the BN
to lead us to hell in the next years when our oil will be depleted and all the national revenue robbed!
Vote BR to save our nation!
written by mara koman, March 05, 2008 22:31:36

Wht clout,,,wht have you seen in the last 50 years.

Chinese and Indians,, you will nothing to lose at all,
Nothing at all. Give the Opposition a chance,, pls.

Than the BN arrogant govt will come down to their feet

written by seek justice, March 05, 2008 22:33:52
I WOULD LIKE TO SUGGEST SOMETHING TO COUNTER THE SPR'S DECISION NOT TO USE THE INDELIBLE INK, MAYBE A LONG SHOT BUT WHAT DO YOU THINK?

WHAT IF WE - THOSE WHO ARE VERY UNHAPPY WITH THE CURRENT GOVERNMENT ACTUALLY APPLY INK (WHETHER INDELIBLE OR NOT, SO LONG AS IT REMAINS THROUGHOUT THE DAY ON 8TH MARCH) ON OUR FINGER ONCE WE HAVE VOTED?

IT WOULD SERVE TWO PURPOSES:

1. IT WOULD BE A MARK FOR ALL TO SEE THAT WE HAVE NOT VOTED BN. IF EVERYONE WHO WILL NOT VOTE BN COOPERATES, WE CAN LITERALLY CHALLENGE THE RESULTS OF THE POLLS;

2. THOSE WHO DO NOT HAVE THE INK MARK ON THEIR FINGER, MUST BE CHECKED FOR MULTIPLE VOTING. I'M SURE THE POLLING AGENTS WHO ARE WITH THE BA/BR CAN INTERVENE DURING REGISTRATION.

IS THIS TOO FAR-FETCHED?
written by Flex Tan, March 05, 2008 23:39:10
seek justice,

THE INDELIBLE INK IS THE BN 'S IDEA ... AND THEY "U TURNED THIS IDEA" FROM THEM (FOR FAIRER GE) ONCE AGAIN.........

JUST LIKE THE REST OF THEIR MANY PROPOSALS....

MAYBE IT'S TRUE THEY HAVE RUNNED-OUT OF PHANTOM VOTERS TO RECYCLE AROUND THE COUNTRY.....

NOT TWICE, BUT MANY-MANY TIMES THIS TIME ROUND .....
written by Flex Tan, March 05, 2008 23:40:48
PS. THAT'S WHY THEY NEED TO SCRAP KJ'S IDEA....
written by indianputra, March 06, 2008 01:01:34
On behalf of the Rakyat, I am giving a stern warning to the opposition!!!

It's possible because WE WANT A CHANGE, the opposition may take over a few states and possibly form the next Government.... and IF THEY TRY ANY OF THE CURRENT GOVERNMENT's POLICIES LIKE CORRUPTION, RACIAL POLITICS, INJUSTICE, UNFAIR TREATMENT OF RACES, LACK OF GOVERNANCE, CRONISM ETC. we will kick their ass like it was never kicked before and get rid of them in the next election.

It's better we Rakyat tell them this before March 8.. THEY HAVE BEEN WARNED
written by Lim Lim, March 06, 2008 03:06:12
me n my friends are non muslim ,we shall be definitely walking our talks to vote for PAS against umno/BN!!why?all we are looking forwards is to bring down the "racial divide" enforced to us ,all malaysian;for the past 50 years by the corrupted,racist,everytthing is self-gain,hypocritical,insensible umno/BN regime!!enough is enough,n we really hope that the muslim could do the same to Keadilan,DAP etc etc as far as ther are the Barissan Rakyat..the hope to begin for a new malaysian tomorrow!!we do not need a "strong"gorvment,we only need a just,fair,clean n sensible gorvment!!!
written by asguard, March 06, 2008 08:49:01
As you ready know...why the devils.. wanted 2/3 ...badly.. so that they can continued to manipulated whatever system within the country for their own gain..not at the expenses of the people... they have no moral at all.... i don't be surprised when oil well dries up... they will even sell the country...remember their motto whatever it takes to be... by all means....
written by renoir, March 06, 2008 14:55:12
The article is ok except for the sentence below:

>Extremist elements are aggressively in the forefront pushing the Islamic agenda and ignoring the pluralistic character of this nation.]]

These elements tend to push not the Islamic agenda, but what SEEMS like an Islamic agenda. Thus, they seldom worry that Islam forbids corruption, racism, and injustice in general. The so-called "Islamic agenda" is merely a front, a way to pose as champions of Muslims so that anti-Islamic behavior by the same people could be overlooked. Thus, to call it an "Islamic agenda" is as erroneous as calling the Iraqi invasion a "Christian agenda." In both cases, religion had been used to hide worldly desires, so to call what happened here an "Islamic agenda" could only be of comfort to BN. I hope Aliran, and Ramakrishnan, would be more careful with their terminology.
written by Eskay Lim, March 06, 2008 20:29:31
NO, NO, we do not need a 2/3 majority government.
We need a JUST & COMPASSIONATE government.
We need a strong opposition.
written by Sunnysoul5, March 06, 2008 21:29:18
The Barisan Rakyat must work hard in the last remaining hours to convince the voters that they need the support to bring about the much needed agenda of changes.

If Hillary Clinton can do wonders to win in Ohio and Texas and regain her chance to win the Democratic nomination, then BR can do it too. She may get more support from the “super representatives” because of the political patronage of her husband’s allies within the party.

The BN’s propganda against Anwar may help to increase his popularity and allow the swing of the voters in the last remaining hours of campaigning. If he is not relevant, then why is BN so worked up with him. The smarter voters may smell the rat of the intensive “character assassination” and begin to favour Anwar. The BN campaign strategy may have hit the wrong cord to give Anwar the unfair advantage of publicity without having to spend much money to do so. This could also signal the fact that BN must have strong feedback about the popularity of Anwar on the ground and the BR machinery is gain voters’ confidence.

The use of Islamist strategy may be a way to gain votes from the lesser informed voters, but at the end of the day these people may wake up from their dreams. They may then assess and conclude that these Muslims are not practicing the good value of honesty, integrity, trust, clean, anti-corruption as well as other virtues, so it is better to vote for the alternative.

Yes we are looking forward to a just government especially after nearly 30 years of abuses and excesses by some leaders. Voters are crying foul of the issues and situations, so even BR may not have all the solutions may be given the chance to lead for a change.

Looks like Anwar, RPK and Kit Siang are creating the waves of change, and BN has to work real hard to ensure that the voters do not sway too much to BR. Personal attacks and name calling may work out to be counter productive, and the victimized may gain some sympathy votes in the process.

The end results will only be known by 9th of March, but the BR is definitely gain momentum and may achieve a breakthrough of sort.

Surely, more and more voters are crying aloud that “enough is enough”. Most voters are law abiding citizens who will support the government whether it is run by BN or BR. It is good that we are beginning to see the beginning of the two party system maturing. Even Mahatir can sense the support of BN will dwindle this time around, and if God has its way BR may be able to form the next government.

The ball is in the voters' court and the best opportunity to speak out through the ballot paper. Thereafter, it may be more difficult to determine the fate of the people once a new government is formed to run the country.