Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Public warned against attending gathering near palace

Public warned against attending gathering near palace PDF Print
Thursday, 27 December 2007 13:11

(The Star) KUALA KANGSAR: Members of the public have been warned against attending an illegal gathering scheduled to be held next to Istana Iskandariah, the official palace of the Sultan of Perak, on Friday night.  

Kuala Kangsar OCPD Supt Zakaria Pagan said that the police had not issued any permit for the gathering organised by a group called Malaysians For Solidarity. 

"Those found at the gathering will be deemed as participants of an illegal assembly," he said. 

Supt Zakaria said those found in possession of a pamphlet on the gathering, or those found distributing it, were also breaking the law since the pamphlet did not carry the identity of the printer nor the publisher, an offence under Section 11 (2) of the Machine and Printing Act 1984. 

"Those possessing or found distributing such pamphlets can be jailed up to a year or fined up to RM5,000," he said, adding that those found participating in an illegal assembly could be charged under Section 27 (2) of the Police Act 1967. 

"They can be punished under Section 27 (8) of the Police Act where they are liable to be fined not less than RM2,000 and not more than RM10,000 and jailed up to a year," he said. 

"I urge members of the public not to attend the gathering because stern action will be taken by the police," he said. 

He said the gathering should not be held there not only for security reasons but the location was also inappropriate due to its proximity to the palace. 

Supt Zakaria also said even though the organiser of the gathering had not applied for a police permit, nevertheless he did receive an application from PAS on Dec 24 to organise a talk at the same place and time. 

"It's a political `ceramah' and after studying and giving due consideration to the application, I have decided against issuing a permit for the gathering supposedly to be attended by about 1,000 people," he said, adding that the applicant of the permit had been duly informed of the rejection.

written by Frostee Snow, December 27, 2007 13:47:38
Guess any gathering in this country is illegal. What kinda state are we in?
written by gloryredstar, December 27, 2007 14:07:50
Only those organised by UMNO are deemed legal or tolerated by the authorities even though it is illegal and this is what is happening in our country. The Malaysians should act in this coming elections to get our long deserved democratic rights from the new government.
written by wannabepatriotic, December 27, 2007 14:10:32
"It's a political `ceramah' and after studying and giving due consideration to the application, I have decided against issuing a permit for the gathering...

How did you study the 'ceramah' and what are the consideration involved? Who are you to dictate? Let the public decide... Give us a summary/report of what the whole ceramah is all about... i'm curious to know what is deemed to be a legal gathering...

Also, pls tell us what was the most recent 'legal' gathering that was approved? Have there even been any given to the public???
written by lostasylum, December 27, 2007 14:23:05
"It's a political `ceramah' and after studying and giving due consideration to the application, I have decided against issuing a permit for the gathering supposedly to be attended by about 1,000 people," he said, adding that the applicant of the permit had been duly informed of the rejection.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

well... so much for the freedom of speech that supposedly exists in malaysia... anything that is organised by those NOT of the ruling coalition needs a permit... i wonder whether the open houses for all menteris require permit or not?..... and here we have our leaders condemning myanmar's military junta... the only difference between them and us is that at least the leaders in myanmar don't try to disguise their rule as democratic....
written by skc, December 27, 2007 14:45:56
Wonder if our Sultan of Perak will have anything to say about this ?
I sure hope that traffic along the north south highway will not be delay due to the police road block, everytime there is a plan gathering the police will sure block / check at Juru toll which affect all south bound traffic, and people is not stupid enough to blame the plan gathering thing. It is the police that is getting the bad name as far as I am concern.
written by pelukis, December 27, 2007 15:02:57
Every cities, every towns and every kampongs need to be 'BERSIH'.

Baguih orang Kuala, jangan bagi chan pada Nazri baran and Rafidah saham tu. Hai Orang2 Bukit Chandan moh kite turun padang..Gasak Yop Gasak.
written by zimbabwe, December 27, 2007 15:09:48
We all know how underpaid the police force really is. To have a professional force requires good wages coupled with stiff penalties for corruption.

To have underpaid policemen decide in effect on the direction of politics on the ground is not only undemocratic, it is the common modus operandi of undemocratic leaders who tend to delegate the dirty work to other State organs.

This is the way these leaders can appear as the nice guy. They can pretend not to control the police and remonstrate that any decision to allow or disallow public gathering is up to the police.

We all know the police force is highly politicised and not every policeman is bad. In fact there are so many who take pride in being clean but tend to struggle from poor pay and morale as well.
written by malaysianohope, December 27, 2007 16:03:02
Wah, macam Police State.

A harmless gathering becomes a security issue.

Might as well become a Communist Country. Then these scumbags can rule the country to the ground.

written by Mr Smith, December 27, 2007 19:16:15
MIC is going round the country meeting Indians. No permits needed. No need to apply too. And the meeting is not political.
written by Dogboy, December 27, 2007 21:09:44
More threats, warnings and bullying. Why do Malaysian's put up with this shit. Vote these ****ing pricks out of office in the next GE. That is the only way to get change around here.
written by anon, December 27, 2007 21:27:37
Any gathering is deemed illegal. So careful, do not go anywhere with more than 5 friends. Even if you guys want to visit the palace or go for a picnic.

But you can attend open air concerts in Merdeka Square - and enjoy the Malays artistes perform. You can also watch rempits racing - cops will look the other way.

You can of course gather with banners and all - to condemn the opposition and support the BN - that is legal.
written by Kcc, December 27, 2007 21:33:31
The demonstrations that we've seen lately have been successful in a way despite being curbed by the police and other authorities. These failed demonstrations have opened the eyes and ears of the leaders that action has to be taken to ensure people are happy. The formula is simple:
No demonstration = No action taken

Sad, very sad indeed smilies/angry.gif
written by Nautilus, December 27, 2007 22:11:58

Try organize a rally in support of ISA.
written by hoong, December 27, 2007 23:05:37
I thought 2007 visit Malaysia year is free to walk and visit any location.. so how about the tourist if they intend to visit the palace ?? Idiot enough .. criminal cases remained unsolve but go and against the Rakyat.. what is the tasks of the police force ?? Tangkap jenayah ke tangkap rakyat?
written by notsosmart, December 27, 2007 23:18:18
Malaysia is becoming more comunist than China. Ini tak boleh...Itu tak boleh.
written by Sutha, December 28, 2007 01:56:08
Communism always maintained fairness and above that, EQUALITY.
That is absent here. The rate China progressed is many folds we see around this land.
One faces a firing squad for being corrupted. Here...
written by ahmadbadrul40, December 30, 2007 01:13:53
We should keep on marching until UMNO collapse.