Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow ELECTION 2008 / ASIDE: How about automatic registration of voters?

ELECTION 2008 / ASIDE: How about automatic registration of voters? PDF Print
Tuesday, 04 March 2008 10:26

By : Shuhada Elis, NST

POLITICS and the election give me the brain freeze. I was born in 1983, the year MTV turned two and Michael Jackson and Madonna were chart-toppers.

Those in the 25-year-old age group are the Generation Y, who, studies have shown, have short retention span, seek alternative sources of news (via Internet or mobile phone and not the mainstream media), are brand-conscious due to peer pressure, hunt for bargains and freebies, go for music and are into computer games.

The younger ones, especially the girls, look up to Hillary Duff, a.k.a. Lizzie McGuire, as an icon.

They are comfortable in hipsters and baby tees, shop at Girls stores in KLCC and Mid Valley Megamall, among others. A mobile phone is a standard accessory. And so is lip gloss.

The majority do not give a hoot about local or international issues and do not seek opinions. Many, including me, are in a world of their own.

So, what do I care if one is a Yang Berhormat or not?

If he cannot meet my basic needs of, say, an efficient public transport system, why should I waste time listening to him preach something he doesn't even practise?

A friend, Nor Ruzzana Roseley, actually dreams of getting her name on the ballot paper in future general elections but she has yet to become a registered voter.

Even if she does, she thinks the candidate is not worth her vote.

"So what's the point of voting? Wait until I become a candidate; I'll definitely walk the talk," she said.

My other friends responded to my email with a "no, will not vote" reply because they haven't registered as voters.

In my case, I am not a registered voter because I was simply too lazy to register.

We'd rather queue to get cinema or concert tickets, irrespective of how long the queue is.

I think the government should come up with a system whereby a person is automatically registered as a voter when he or she turns 21.

Spain is one country that does this. I was told by Rocio Ochoa, an intern with the company, that its citizens automatically become voters when they turn 19 but this does not make it compulsory for them to vote.

In the era of technology, it is about ease of doing things.

If we can now check our status as a registered voter and our polling station online, what's stopping the Election Commission from carrying out automatic registration or even an online one?

Petty as it may sound, it could be the first step towards getting us to exercise our rights as Malaysians.

written by Mik, March 04, 2008 10:39:31
Thanks for the idea. Now if i can find a minister and forward a proposal, i can build a system and reap the rewards. Of coz i m goin to make profit , not much, may be bout 300 percent?But tats too little. of coz i need to pay some commision to the officers who approves n award the contract. Good idea. may be 500 percent will do. alrite. thank u . Malaysia Boleh. Who said u cant make money in Malaysia. Hey, remember, those digital signboards telling us the traffic condition cost us about rm300million. correct me if i m wrong. wat does it do? it tells us the road we are heading into is congested. Good idea.
written by Richard Lo, March 04, 2008 10:50:25
Good idea. But unfortunately it will remain a good idea on paper. Why? because if efficiency is introduced into the system where can our corrupted leaders/politicians make some fast and big bucks? Plus how is the EC a.k.a the government able to continue manipulate the electoral boundaries to keep them in power?
written by krising1, March 04, 2008 11:17:12
Maybe it is a good idea, maybe it is not. Some just may not want to vote at all. They hate politicians.

But it would be a good iead to automatically deregister a dead voter. The state has to issue a death certificate for everyone who dies. In the case of a citizen, just extend a copy to the EC and the EC deregisters the voter. QED. You do not need to be a graduate of an Ivy League school to think of this!
written by LC Teh, March 04, 2008 11:27:45
Remove the BN's monopoly on power and this wish may come true. The trouble is BN has been controlling everything and shaping the minds of the public for too long. Anything that cannot be used to their benefit will not be pursued.
written by fireduck, March 04, 2008 11:44:25
At least we have a young lady thinking ..... what our country should be doing. That is her generation speaking, but do the present day politicians hear her? She may be Generation Y, and I may be Generation, oh, somewhere between G and P, but our aspirations are for the future of our nation. Being politically aware is the first step towards being a contributor to that future. I would applaud her for this awareness.

And as an aside, may I point out the misused term of 'Yang Berhormat'. Dulu, elected officials memang are people who command hormat because of their high morals. Tapi sekarang, majority of them 'buy' their way in, whether its with serious money or with sweet but empty promises, so what's so berhormat about loose change and loose morals? The correct term for YB is 'Yang BerKhidmat'.
At his/her RAKYAT's service.
written by densemy, March 04, 2008 14:05:01
In Australia registration and voting is compulsory. I'm not sure if that is an altogether good thing. But one thing is for sure its better than the set up you have here in Malaysia and the outcome is definitely a measure of what the people want

They also have preferential voting which is more important where there is some real competition for seats.

But they do have a system whereby you can vote at any polling booth in Australia with minimal fuss... and that leaves the primitive Malaysian system for dead

But like everything else the government has touched in Malaysia the electoral system in outdated, inefficient and wide open to abuse and corruption
written by Jay Krish, March 04, 2008 14:12:47
Isn't that nice... all citizens are automatically registered as voters at 21. actually it will be very convenient for BN to channel these registed-but-didn't-vote ballots to 'high-risk' areas. since everybody is registered, there will be plenty of 'unused votes' in all areas which can be 'used' by BN.

Get your ass off the TV and register to vote Shuhada... you know what... don't bother!
written by East Highlander, March 04, 2008 14:52:31
How about automatic registration of voters?

This should be a no-brainer but then the brain is the only organ the goons are not using.
written by The dragonheart, March 04, 2008 15:03:30
I think Malaysia has the capability of any automatic system.. as it claims the MY-KAD is the best in the world...

Yes, once your are 21, the system will automatically make u eligible to vote ... and when you are dead, your name will be deleted.

Even voting can be done electronically... System cannot cheat, SPR do not need to recruit peopele to check register or counting votes..Results can be shown immediately...no ballot paper required...just by putting your MY-KAD in the slot, press button on the candidate of your choice and press confirm button to complete your vote.

What is important for the contesting political party, is the auditing of the software that administer the voting system from time to time so that it have not been hacked or tamper with...

P.S

Reading the article above, I wonder how many of the commenters in blogs like this are really registered voters and eligible voters...Yes, I agree that many urban people of the age of 21 to 29 are not registered votes... I have met many of them, sometime they argue like they are the candidate, but actually they are not even a registered voter....sad...very sad
written by shamadz72, March 04, 2008 16:09:40
"Automatic registration for voters system" is ony good if we have a transparent and impartial SPR like in other 1st world countries. Unfortunately here in Malaysia, if you do that there is a possibility some Hantu will be given a Mycard (Surprised? Who control the issuance of Mycard) to vote on behalf of that person. There is alrewady a few cases been highlighted, such as 1 Indian lady who is in Selangor and never registered as voter suddenly saw her name registered in Kelantan and has voted there before.
written by mike1m, March 04, 2008 17:37:37
The Election Commission has cancelled the use of indelible ink for this general election, citing public order and security issues.
written by Daryl, March 05, 2008 00:28:48
Goverment only accept proposals from within the party if you are considered rakyat or ordinary citizens you only get love every 4-5 years when we need you. BN goverment only need you when they need your vote during this "love making" period. If you are Barisan Rakyats candidates (laughing out loud) you can forget about it. BN politicians threaten murder and burning down building got a pat on the back and said well done. Others send SMS about the truth and our beloved Policemen/women start to catch and lay down rules. WHERE IS THE JUSTICE AND RAKYATs power.

BR or the old name Oppositons parties was never given a chance and now maybe we need to give them a chance so rakyats voice can be heard in the Parlimen.

So, please do your duty and go register yourself and make yourself useful for once.
written by AsamLaksa, March 05, 2008 01:44:19
Nonsense. If you are well inclined to vote, then you register. If you can't be bothered to begin with nothing will get you to vote even if there's automatic registration. You think politics comes every 4-5 years? It's everyday you live under in the country. You think your involvement with the system comes every election time? It's everyday you live under the system. Automatic registration will not compel you to vote.

In fact people who would only vote because they are automatically put on the list is not much good for the country. Why? They can't be bothered in the first place. Complain complain complain and don't take up responsibility to vote.

Registration is no big deal. It's not like it will take you hours upon hours to register. If not interested then don't make excuses.

Heck, I haven't even touched on how such a system can be abused yet.
written by Lembing Tajam, March 05, 2008 12:51:38
Even sound good but not in Malaysia.If this is good our neighbor country Singapore may long time implemented it.The current system is a good one but miss manage by cow and goons like SPR and BN.