This Malaysian Election May Not be a Lock PDF Print
Saturday, 01 March 2008 14:53

Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob, ASIA SENTINEL

The country’s voters, disgruntled over a wide range of issues, go to the polls on March 8

Malaysia’s bedraggled political opposition, riding an apparent wave of citizen discontent, may be gaining some unaccustomed momentum ahead of voting at Malaysia’s general election, scheduled for March 8.

The opposition, beset by a lack of access not only to the levers of power but access as well to almost any of the elements that would contribute to a level playing field, including to the press or properly apportioned districts, has a nearly unbroken record of losses except for a handful of seats in the Dewan Rakyat, or national parliament, and in local legislatures.

Nonetheless, political analysts say the prospects for the loose-knit opposition coalition, made up of the multi-race Parti Keadilan Rakyat, or Justice Party, the Islamic Parti Islam se-Malaysia, and the Democratic Action Party, which is dominated by Malaysian Chinese, have perhaps the best chance in decades of denying the government its two-thirds monopoly on power.

Almost nobody gives the opposition coalition much more chance than just breaking the national coalition’s two-thirds majority. But a convergence of issues has improved the opposition’s chances. Although the economy is rolling along at a healthy 7.3 percent clip, led by domestic demand and bolstered by rising commodity prices and investment spending, inflation is a nagging issue, as is street crime, particularly in Kuala Lumpur, a city that has always seemed preternaturally safe. The National Crime Index has spiked up by 45 percent over a single year.

In addition, there is rising apprehension among both the Indian and Chinese populations over increasingly strident assertions of racial superiority by ethnic Malays. Whatever the debate, the fact remains that the worst race riots in Malaysian history – in May 1969, 39 years ago, have haunted and shaped Malaysian politics ever since. The race card has been used by all factions in Malaysia’s political scene, be it by the ruling coalition or by the opposition, largely causing the effect of maintaining the status quo.

A long string of corruption charges, many of them backed with considerable proof, have been laid at the door of top UMNO officials. Those charges of corruption have been exacerbated by the fact that Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi followed former Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad into office with both a mandate to clean out the stables and a promise to do it, then backed away.

Thus heartened, the main opposition parties have agreed to cooperate with each other, fielding single candidacies in most constituencies to avoid splitting their votes and giving the Barisan a clear path to return to power. The Barisan in 2004 won 91 percent of the seats in the parliament and expects to lose at least some. Badawi himself has sought to dampen expectations, telling supporters and reporters to expect losses. Some analysts have suggested the opposition could take as many as 50 seats in the 219-member body. But as many as 30 would be optimistic.

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by MMhunter, March 01, 2008 15:48:34
Hi Flex Tan if we vote for BN.We blame you.If you want us to vote Opposition please do not use caps lock.Write like us all do and we will listen to you bro.
written by Ray, March 01, 2008 16:52:04
Badawi, Samy Vellu, Ong ka Ting dan Karpal Singh ada special meeting.
Badawi: lembu punya harga sudah naik, kita orang melayu banyak susah.
Samy: Kambing punya harga sudah naik, kita orang india banyak susah.
Ka Ting: Babi punya harga sulah naik, kita olang cina manyak susah.
K. Singh: Kalau saya punya naik, lu tiga orang lagi susah.
VOTE KARPAL SINGH AT BUKIT GELUGOR IN PENANG. VOTE DAP
written by glock17, March 01, 2008 17:52:30
Folks....

UMNO = Ketuanan Melayu = Racist = MEGA Corruption (submarine/Migs/private jet,etc.) = Blind Nationalism = Keris Wielding = Threat of Homicidal Sprees against minorities (a.k.a amok) = Burning Down Chinese Building = Tearing Down Hindu Temples = Allocating Free IC's To Foreigner (Mindanao/Indon/Pakis) To Increase Umno Polling Victory and Supporters = Racial Discrimination (education,housing,business,license,scholarship,etc.)= Narrow Minded Malay Superiority = Murders (Altantuya and 2 MIC politicians) = Police Brutality (Hindref/Anwar Black Eye)= ISA/OSA = Close One Eye = Judiciary Rot (Lingam Gate) = Nepotism = Pornography and Adultery (Dr. Chua authentic sex scene) = Nepotism / Cronyism(enrichhing Badawee families, Rafidah families, Mahathir families, Mat Deros families, business partners, relatives,others BN lackeys), Prohibiting Religion Practice (ban bible in Bahasa Malaysia which adapt the word Allah) and etc. etc.

Yes, BN will win due to its misused of goverment machinery, vote buying via tax payer money and support from rural voters whom have less awareness of universal democratic importances.

The paramount responsibilities for all of us now,is to get as many PKR/PAS/DAP representatives into the parliament and voice out the misconduct and evil practice of Umno regime.

The time is now or never. If Umno wins a landslide victory, you , I and the future generation will always be caught in the vicious cycle of systematic racist/corruptive ruling goverment.

For God Sake, please Vote Wisely This Time.

Glock17
written by Task Force 101, March 01, 2008 18:24:02
Good article. But I just cannot understand why they cannot get anyone else apart from Tricia Yeoh. She is just a BN plant. She spews out the reality and quickly adds or qualifies herself with a BN supporting statement ie " they will be not much impact etc" to protect her Prada bags and her fat salary!

VOTE BN OUT!
written by fireduck, March 01, 2008 19:03:47
The wise sages have told us before that Power Corrupts. Absolute Power Corrupts Absolutely.

We gave the BN 90% (in seats only, mind you. Not votes), and with more than 2/3 majority, that is absolute power. Which equates to absolute corruption. In fact, they really didn't need to have a Parliament. Think about it. With or without the Opposition, they get to pass bills just like that (most recent being the extension of the EC Chairman's retirement age).

So, actually the so-called debates in Parliament are just for show. Very unnecessary. Kit Siang and company brought up very good issues and questions, but we all know that they are not going to be heard and acknowledged. Even if some of the MPs or backbenchers hear the Opposition, they cannot break ranks and vote with their conscience. There is such a thing called the Whip (another stupid British legacy). Anyone dares to break ranks will be chatised and there will be no further squeak from that MP in the future (look ay Shahrir).

And with this huge majority, the Cabinet can make any decisions that they want. And with the rest of the BN having to toe the line, it goes on to mean that the PM is all powerful. In other words, dictatorial! What he say goes, everyone else will just respond 'Yes, sir!', while shouts from the Opposition and the rakyat fall on deaf ears.

Ok, so the govt likes to say they always consult each other, and decide by consensus. OKT, Keng Yaik, Semy like to say they give their input, etc., etc., but when it comes to the vote on the tabled Bills, have they EVER voted according to their conscience and with the rakyat's voice?

And I have not really seen them accepting ANY suggestions from Opposition (who are also REPRESENTATIVES of the RAKYAT). So, if they decide on consensus, without input from the Rakyat nor the Opposition, then what's the difference between them and a military junta (ala Myanmar, perhaps?)?

So, giving the BN such a huge mandate in 2004 and all these 50 years was a mistake. We must learn from that and correct our mistakes without further delay. We must unequivocally reclaim our voice in Govt. No more 2/3 majority. No more unchecked power to the ruling party. No more blind loyalty to any party. No taxation without real representation (how I wish we can do that!).

Thus, this election there is no more doubts in my mind who I will be voting for. Even if the opposition candidate looks like a goofball, he/she will get my vote. Simply for the bigger purpose of denying the BN the 2/3 majority.

Remember, Absolute Power Corrupts Absolutely. Vote to change that. Vote to put in all the necessary checks and balances.
written by Bill Gates, March 01, 2008 19:04:55
Look at the police report made by the stupid police. Can Gerakan or MCA vouched for police that they are not lazy? How may murder and rape cases have they solved. What about Adik Sharlinie's case? Have they solved it? What about Norita Shamsuddin? How could Badawi said in the BN manifesto about safety, security and prosperity when these policemen are busy making false report??? Mahu tolong BN menang percuma kah??? Pi lah main jauh-jauh sikit

=========================

DAP chairman Karpal Singh has denied that he and party secretary-general Lim Guan Eng had condemned the police, labelling them as lazy and "good for nothing."

"I did not say it and I do not use such words,” he said, in response to a report lodged by an Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP). "It is a terrible thing to do.”

He also denied that he was at a ceramah in Air Itam on Wednesday as indicated in the police report.

"I have checked with Guan Eng and both of us are amused as to how the ASP could make such a report when we were not even at the venue giving ceramah as indicated. I was in Sri Delima then and not at Air Itam. It is therefore a lie," he said.

He was commenting on a statement by George Town district police chief Assistant Commission Azam Abd Hamid that the police would call both Karpal and Lim to give a statement on the case.

Speaking at a press conference at the state DAP headquarters in Jalan Talipon, Karpal and Lim both said they would give statements to the police but at their convenience and not police's because of the campaigning.

Karpal, the candidate for Bukit Gelugor parliamentary seat, warned the police that he would not sit back but would also lodge a report if what the officer had indicated in his report was false.

"I take this matter very seriously and will not tolerate any lies from the police,” he said. "I find this is a good case for defamation because he had lied about us making the remark when we were not even there. Unless there were some clones out there. I would like to meet them.”

Karpal described the police report as a “normal scare tactic” usually used against the Opposition.

written by MMhunter, March 01, 2008 19:07:47
I got you dear uncle Flex Tan.Thanks for the clarifications.No more complaints from here anymore.Have a jolly good day.
written by devious17, March 01, 2008 21:00:49
Come what may, be it may13 terror , be it crooked kitchen knife bathed with the bumi-less blood..............BRING IT ON!

umno/bn can talk all they want but ont thing is for sure , umno/bn is going down.

The people has had it enough, 50 years to be exact.

The people will speak on the 8th of March.

written by Flex Tan, March 01, 2008 23:38:09
LET'S CELEBRATE....

IT'S A BEAUTIFUL DAY FOR ALL MALAYSIAN TODAY !!! (THE OPPOSITIONS ARE LEADING THE 2008 ELECTION......) AND LET'S BULLDOZE BN FURTHER FOR GOOD !!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NmmLvfzMuE
written by Uncorruptible, March 02, 2008 18:43:39
Here's the easy ways to get your degrees from UKM, Malaysia

Ahmad Zahid Hamidi is now Dr. Ahmad Zahid Hamidi. I don't know how he got his doctorate degree, but let me tell you how he got his masters degree as told by one of his course mates. He enrolled in the UKM for his masters and during his studies, he was put together in group of five to do the course work. However, he hardly attended to the studies, and never did any course work with his group. His group was naturally upset, but decided to carry on the work and submitted the work to the professor including his name. The reason why he didn't do any work was because he had hardly any knowledge of English. The professor knew, but at the end of the course decided to award him a pass to save him embarrassment. Ahmad Zahid Hamidi was furious and went to see the professor telling him that he (Ahmad) cannot accept a pass. The professor, as he later told his students, was shaken and so intimidated that he finally awarded Ahmad Zahid Hamidi an honours masters degree. So this is the type of professors we have at the UKM. And this is the standard of the bn leaders of our beloved Malaysia. Vote wisely my fellow citizens. BN is EVIL !!!
Korek korek korek !
written by Uncorruptible, March 03, 2008 21:18:26
This Elections should decide whether God or Satan is in charge of Malaysia.
VOTE OPPOSITION !!!

umno (spit) is the colonialist of Malaysia.
umno (spit) is plundering Malaysia without mercy.
umno (spit) is a four-letter word that rhymes with luck.
umno /mic/mca/grkn (spit) = AXIS of EVIL