Please think carefully before you cast your vote PDF Print
Friday, 29 February 2008 10:18

By S. Ali Mahmud

It has never been my intention to campaign for the opposition or against the ruling party. Being a political free-thinker, I subscribe to ideologies that will bring good to me as a citizen of the country as well as the ‘health’ of my motherland. With the upcoming General Election, I am pleading to all voters to ‘Please think carefully before you cast your vote’.

Observing the news and incidences that had been occurring in the country, I could not help but feel concern and anxious about the future of our country. The General Election is approaching and I wonder if the citizens of the country will be making the right choice in this upcoming election? Based on the views of several eminent political observers, the majority felt that it is unlikely that the ruling party will ever be denied its two-third majority, my heart palpitates, my hands sweat and I have been having sleepless nights. I could not help but worry for the future of my country. I begin to ask myself if my fellow Malaysians are willing to ‘close one eye’ and continue to mandate the existing ruling party to rule the country notwithstanding their record; or we are simply in denial of the state of our country.

The arrogance of leaders in our country is evident when we saw how law enforcers were being deployed to split up peaceful demonstrations, one of the citizens’ fundamental rights. The aggression by law enforcers during the ISA vigil, Hindraf demonstration and Bersih’s rally are blatant abuse of power by the government. It also proves that the law enforcement agency is not independent and would only protect the powerful and oppress the weak.

Over the last number of years, we saw politicians from the existing ruling party abuse the trust that the citizens had mandated them during the last General Election. The ‘close one eye’ scandal, the abusive words and name-calling, e.g. ‘monkeys’ and ‘beruk’ by some arrogance ‘politicians (including politicians ‘wannabe’), clearly prove that such personalities are not fit to represent the citizens. We do not want any ‘Al Capone’ or ‘Don Carleone’ (even lower class than these notorious gangsters) to represent us in our Parliament. We need erudite Members of Parliament who are eloquent and capable to debate the legislations and issues regarding our country. We cannot afford to have Members of Parliament who raise unimportant issues such as crucifixes in missionary schools or a boy who 'insulted' the national anthem when the country and the world are facing serious financial crises.

I trust most of us are fearful of change. It is not an easy process but, in reality, we face changes every minute in our lives. We make changes when we feel that the old way no longer relevant to us. We move on when things do not happened as originally planned. Procrastination will never ease or solve our problem. In this situation, the ‘change’ I am advocating is to change the existing ruling party -- not only deny them a two-thirds majority but make them the opposition party. Let's do this in the name of self-respect and seize this chance to change.

Studies have proven that ‘changes’ help people achieve success. Madonna is one of the best examples. After 26 years in the music industry, she is still relevant in today’s music industry because her willingness to embrace changes and evolve in accordance to time.

In the last General Election, the ruling party won by a landslide as the citizens were expecting changes that were promised them. However, given the last 4 years, not only there have not been any changes, the condition of the country has become worse. We witnessed hostility of the law enforcer who should be protecting us. We saw the hike of crime rate and people are fearful to leave their own home. We saw how leaders brazenly abuse their power to enrich themselves and their cronies. We saw incompetent personalities being appointed to hold key positions in the country which have become a disgrace. We saw our judiciary being manipulated and racial sentiment issues used to divide and rule this country. If we are still adamant about changing this government, we are indeed committing suicide.

After being entrusted with power over the last 50 years, politicians in the ruling party have become complacent and over time turn arrogance. As such, remarks like ‘close one eye’, keris waving, insulting other minority ethic groups and name calling no longer appear insulting or offensive. If we continue to mandate such personalities as our representatives and allow them to remain in power. Indeed, we have so little respect of ourselves that we continue to inflict unnecessary torture unto ourselves. As Harris Ibrahim and Raja Petra rightly pointed out, the Rakyat is the Boss. It is time we prove to them, we are indeed the boss.

written by Birdbrain, February 29, 2008 10:28:30
Oh yes, after 50 years of complacency they can afford to do all this......

1) Health Minister extra marital affairs
2) DPM special affairs with Mongol
3) PM had a quick marriage and cannot wait for few more rounds
4) Rob the Rakyat and feed themselves; PKFZ scandal
5) Buiding sleepy and EMPTY corridors; just lies

Many, many more...................
written by Bill Gates, February 29, 2008 10:33:44
I have thought it over many times and my vote, votes from my family, my brothes and sisters, in-laws and step-in-laws, neighbors, friends, colleagues, friends' friends, in-laws and out-laws will go to any opposition.

We have enough of UMNO's arrogance and politcal hegemony. Smash UMNO in thsi election.
written by temenggong, February 29, 2008 10:34:25
We can only show that the rakyat are the boss when we vote incumbents out.
written by cancan, February 29, 2008 11:24:17
I have say it before and I will say it again.

Malaysia is truly a blessed country with many natural resources.
After 50 years being ruled be the BN goons,we are still lagging behind our neighbor.

To rule a blessed country unsuccessfully is a sin.

If the country had been ruled efficiently by the BN goons,we would have put our little neighbor in our pocket,so to speak.

The system of this country is seriously flawed.

1)The education system is going backward.
2)The judiciary system is a circus.
3)The security system is making the people insecure.
4)The administrative system is full of little napoleons dictating their own terms.
5)The administrative system,from top to bottom is full of corruptions.
6) The political system is always skewed to one race.

Do we still need to think carefully before we vote ?

Give them another five years and they will take us all to hell.

Link: http://kingsmary.********.com/
written by hiro, February 29, 2008 11:42:37
We only need to read what BN candidates say and correlate with their conduct to know they are a party of cowards and corrupt bigots:

http://hiroblog2007.********.com/ Glossary of BN/UMNO Election Terms

Compare with refreshing line up of Opposition candidates, professionals who let go of their lucrative business or career to fight for justice, long term veteran opposition candidates who have nothing to gain except to spend their whole lives fighting for a cause, and being incarcerated for political crimes.

The choice is clear. We need to vote for the opposition, and in overwhelming strength!
written by cheekhiaw, February 29, 2008 12:25:01
A BILLION RINGGIT REASON TO VOTE OPPOSITION

Recently a half-baked finance minister tried to impress the country by claiming the economy 'grew' by 40% the last 4 years. That works out to be about RM200 billion of more output/income per year.

Economically sensible folks know that that '40% growth' was not real. It is 'nominal' growth i.e. growth in USD or Ringgit terms only but not in actual or real value.

The cause of that is the country had printed a lot more money and expanded money suppy by more than what is justified and as a result the value of the Ringgit had dropped (to follow the US Dollar down).

Malaysians know that. Their salaries are buying them less today than 4 years ago. They call it inflation.

If one looks at the price of oil which had increased more than 3 fold over the last 4 years (from US$30 to US$100 per barrel), one can surmise that from the oil companies' point of view, the USD (and therefore also Ringgit) today is worth only 1/3 what it was 4 years ago.

Loss of 60% of value is perhaps too 'unreal'. 30% is more likely.

So the drop of value of Ringgit by 30% was the cause of the rise in nominal GDP.

All square, some may think. 30% drop in Ringgit value is about compensated by 40% rise in the country's income as the HP6 Finance Minister claimed (actually we need 50% GDP expansion to compensate for the 30% drop in value but let's not quibble)

But while every Malaysian's savings (in banks, EPF etc.) and salary had dropped 30% in real value due to the Ringgit's fall, was it compensated by a 40% 'expansion' in income?

No?

Well, in that case, something is wrong.

Someone had basically taken from your savings and salaries, and given it to someone else!

Who do you think that is on the receiving end? Petronas is just one of the obvious ones.

So you see how capable our finance ministers are?

After stealing from you, they tell you half the story (the nice sounding part) to make themselves look good.

written by Sudahlah tu, February 29, 2008 14:25:36
Bukannya senang untuk menjatuhkan UMNO / BN yang berada di pentas utama kerana mereka mengawal segala jentera PRU termasuk SPR.
Kami percaya akan berlakunya lebih kes2 menyelebelahi BN semasa pengiraan undian nanti.
Rakyat harus memahami keadaan kandang binatang buas ini tidak boleh diusik dari luar.
Biarkan mereka berkumpul dan menyalak sesuka hati.
Binatang buas ini akan bersaing 'mencari makan' kerana sudah menjadi tabiat semulajadi mereka berkumpul.
Dan apabila 'makanan' tidak mencukupi untuk semua, maka bermulalah sistem penghapusan sesama sendiri.
Yang tua dan tidak bermaya akan 'dihukum' , yang muda dan tidak bertenaga akan 'dibaham'.
Akhirnya, yang tinggal hanya mereka yang cukup gila dan tamak untuk terus berkuasa.
Ketika itu, senang untul kami mengecam mereka dan 'mengasingkan' mereka dari masyarakat manusia.
Sabarlah ...
written by Task Force 101, February 29, 2008 15:02:27
I am thinking carefully (1 second)(2 second)...done.

I have thought carefully and I will.... VOTE OPPOSITION!!!

Jokes aside. I want a change. I want to stop the UMNO Fat Pigs from raping every man, woman, child and earth under Msian sun! I want to stop them from doing more damage to this country and lead us to hell and ill prepared for a globalised world.

Showing the kris, threats if you question Islam and Malay rights, ISA are all from the dark ages. I want my children to have a brain and critical thought. Not the thinking that they are 1st class, 2nd class or 3rd class

VOTE BN OUT!
written by kent chong, February 29, 2008 15:03:57
I agree with you! let tell your friends,relative and colleague to vote Barisan Rakyat (DAP,Keadilan and PAS)
written by Tom, February 29, 2008 15:12:16
If you think all the hereunder is BULLSHIT, then by all means VOTE BN! Take this election seriously or forever do not complain about the injustices all around you.

Do not complain that your son or daughter does not get a place in university to do medicine;

do not complain when they come to tear down your temple or church;

do not complain when they can outrightly tells you in Parliament to get out of this country even when your family has been here for 5 generations;

do not complain when they come to take your parent's body away for a Muslim burial;

do not complain when they tell you your business cannot tender for government contracts because your skin colour is different;

do not complain when they tell you your child must pay for tuiton in school while their children gets it free;

do not complain when their Ministers are robbing you blind through blatant corruption;

do not complain when they can get a 5% discount for buying a house costing RM700,000;

do not complain when the government employment policies are based on skin colour; do not complain when justice may be bought by the rich; etc. etc. etc.

DO NOT COMPLAIN AT ALL!

Vote for BN if all this is okay...
True Malaysian | Feb 25, 08 3:52pm
Open letter to all Malaysians:
If you believe that:
The ISA is necessary to arrest Malaysians who are deemed to be a security threat to the nation even if there is no concrete evidence.

all Malaysians are not equal even though the constitution says so and you believe that the NEP should be continued

Umno leaders can utter seditious and racist remarks and not get arrested

it's okay that Malaysians cannot even assemble peacefully to air their grouses

Cows can be slaughtered in public against the religious sentiments

it is okay if non-Muslim children have nothing to eat during Ramadan because the school canteens are shut down

it is okay if only BN views are expressed in the media and newspapers

it is okay if a letter to government departments is greeted with a deafening silence

it is okay to have a discriminatory university intake and public scholarship system

it is okay that the housing discounts are not given to all citizens

it is okay if your children have an uncertain future under the Malaysian sun

it is okay not to have friends of other races because polarisation is not that big an issue

it is okay if judges can be bought

it is okay that you have to be constantly on the alert to see if your spouse has converted to Islam because there is no law to protect you and your children

it is okay if non-Muslim children are barred from bringing 'wet food' to school for fear that it may contain pork because Umno thinks only Muslim sensitivities should be looked after.

it is okay if Chinese and Indians parents try to limit themselves to two children max because they realise how difficult it is to give their kids a decent education

it is okay if the Malaysian population uses Indonesians to expand

it is okay if Umno forever plays the racial and religious card to remain in power.
If all of the above is okay by you, then please, by all means, vote for BN.
written by Blue Blood, February 29, 2008 15:21:46
Changes is the law of life. One who indulges in the present & the past is for sure to miss the future. – JFK

So, let’s vote for a CHANGE! Vote for OPPOSITION.
written by LTan, February 29, 2008 16:07:32
SATU JIWA SATU UNDI, SATU UNDI SATU PERUBAHAN, SATU PERUBAHAN SATU HARAPAN, SATU HARAPAN SATU PENCAPAIYAN DAN SATU PENCAPAIYAN SATU KEJATUHAN...KEJATUHAN BN UMNO!!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, February 29, 2008 19:52:41
NO NEED TO THINK. Just vote for opposition, even if it is a dog, and kick out BN.
written by Uncorruptible, March 02, 2008 18:20:10
Ahmad Zahid Hamidi is now Dr. Ahmad Zahid Hamidi. I don't know how he got his doctorate degree, but let me tell you how he got his masters degree as told by one of his course mates. He enrolled in the UKM for his masters and during his studies, he was put together in group of five to do the course work. However, he hardly attended to the studies, and never did any course work with his group. His group was naturally upset, but decided to carry on the work and submitted the work to the professor including his name. The reason why he didn't do any work was because he had hardly any knowledge of English. The professor knew, but at the end of the course decided to award him a pass to save him embarrassment. Ahmad Zahid Hamidi was furious and went to see the professor telling him that he (Ahmad) cannot accept a pass. The professor, as he later told his students, was shaken and so intimidated that he finally awarded Ahmad Zahid Hamidi an honours masters degree. So this is the type of professors we have at the UKM. And this is the standard of the bn leaders of our beloved Malaysia. Vote wisely my fellow citizens.
Korek korek korek !