Volunteer As a Polling Agent and/or Counting Agent! - Reminder PDF Print
Wednesday, 27 February 2008 12:18

Sample Image

Do your part! Ensure a clean and fair 2008 elections - VOLUNTEER AS A POLLING AGENT and/or COUNTING AGENT!

A polling agent is someone who sits in a polling stream (the classroom where the voting takes place) and observes the voting process. Each school may have a different number of polling streams (saluran mengundi) depending on the number of voters in that area. Each polling stream caters to a specific age group.

A counting agent is someone who observes the counting of the votes after polling closes at 5pm.

You don't have to be a member of a political party to become a PA or a CA. You have to be Malaysian and above 21 to register as a PA or a CA. This is done through the political parties.

A PA is armed with a copy of the electoral roll for that particular classroom, pencil/pen and a ruler. The PA basically observes the voter as he/she enters the room. The election officer will read out the voter's name, IC number and his/her number on the electoral roll. The PA will cross out the voter's name on the electoral roll to ensure that we know exactly how many people voted in that classroom.

A PA must be alert and take note if there are any irregularities, eg. the voter is female but the IC number denotes the voter is male, the voter is much much older or younger than the IC indicates, the voter is Indian but has a Chinese name, etc. The PA has a right to object and raise questions.

More details will be provided at the training. Its a 1 1/2 - 2 hour session depending on Q&A. Training is free of charge.

Repeated sessions : -

The dates: 

8.30pm, Tuesday - 26.02.2008 and 04.03.2008 ( English)
8.30pm, Thursday - 28.02.2008 and 06.03.2008 (English)
8.30pm, Saturday - 23.02.2008 and 01.03.2008 (English)

DAP DAMANSARA SERVICE CENTER (Location Map attached)

Address:
DAP Damansara Community & Service Center
55-M Jalan SS 21/1A, Damansara Utama,
47400 Petaling Jaya

Please forward this to all Malaysians. For more information, call the hotline 016 220 8867 (DAP Damansara). To ease our arrangements, e-mail your name, phone number and IC to This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it . Walk in participants will also be welcomed.

map

Comments (4)Add Comment
written by shamadz72, February 27, 2008 12:27:31
Armed with my Cannon LBP2900 black & white laser printer & a photocopy machine, I have been printing out tons of the opposition pamphlet. I myself has been distributing close to 80 pamphlets since yesterday around my housing area. Any bloggers or netters want to help me out? Especially for those who is staying in Puchong, Sungai Buloh or Bukit Subang area. Drop me and email with your HP number at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Come on you guys, we have talk the talk and now is the time to walk the walk. Let us make this election that Bloggers Election!
written by Sutha, February 27, 2008 12:39:03

Whether as a Polling Agent or a Counting Agent, please do your job well with self-respect and fear of god.

Please don't be lopsided towards any party (including your favourite party) or be like the Chimpanzee Lingam's type of judiciary which couldn't take the Path of Justice, because sudah makan suap!
written by Toyolbuster, February 27, 2008 13:15:20
Guys, the opposition really need our help. Lets go out and give our support.
I will be making my way to Dsara Utama this afternoon and to offer my help to DAP there. This may be our once in a lifetime chance to whack the BN.
written by bumi non malay, February 27, 2008 13:30:41
Good..... Print and put Slogan "Vote DAP/PKR/PAS to Robohkan Zakaria's Palace"

"Vote DAP/PKR/PAS to stop University Malaya relocated to Sepang"!!!!

Try to stick near Bus Stop, KTM...area where people waiting for something to jog their mind with continuous anger towards UMNO-BN....

Make the fonts 76 or above in word so that people standing 4 metres away can also read.....Ayuh everybody...use your Crony company Colour Printer and print LOTS Discreetly.....Get some glue stick and Tampal on the WALL....