Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow SPR actions affects BN Performance

SPR actions affects BN Performance PDF Print
Wednesday, 27 February 2008 11:48

Dear Tan Sri Rashid,

First and foremost, let me congratulate you and your team (The SPR) on ensuring that the 2008 GE will be a more transparent election. The SPR decision to use the indelible ink and the use of transparent boxes shows sincere appreciation on the part of the SPR to ensure that a fair election will be conducted this time around.

As you are fully aware, Tan Sri, the people trust in the ruling government very much is reflected by the performance of SPR. When there is problem, immediately the people with creative mind will say that there is a conspiracy between SPR and the ruling government. This is a norm and it happens in every country in the world.

Issue No 1 - Stamp Duty Validation

It would be the role of SPR to show that it is truly independent and protect the image of Malaysia. This is best demonstrated by a concerted and transparent action. After a good start in the last few months, where SPR attempts to improve it’s image, I was shocked to read a short write up in Malaysia Today (25 Feb 2008) about the issue of the use of Stamp Duty under the following heading “ Duti setem: Demi selamatkan BN, tindakan SPR dikecam”. Immediately after reading the article, I search the morning newspaper and for any official statement from SPR in the local media as well on the SPR website on whether there is any response from SPR on the cancellation of the use of Duty Stamps.

It is indeed sad to note that I did not find any? Why is that? If SPR has insisted on the use of Stamp Duty and duly informed everyone about it, why the sudden change of thoughts? Even Tan Sri Rashid came out on TV several times and remind all contestant about the use of stamp duty usage several days before nomination day. I don’t quite get it. Why the sudden change of decision at the 11th hour.? What made SPR change it’s own ruling? Why did SPR did it in the first place? Now there appears to be more questions than answers. Why are embarrassing the BN and the country in this way?

I was a government servant once, where my experience in matters related to gazette of regulations is probably useful to be shared here. I have never had the chance to work with SPR but being an independent body like SPR, I believe, for it to introduce a new regulation it has to go trough a series of process where it involves some research, meetings after meetings, and logical reasoning . Once it has been deliberated a few times and after many meetings, it has to be published (or the civilians use the term “gazette”) . Similarly if it has been gazetted and need to be de-gazetted, it has to go trough a similar process. In my experience being a government servant this cannot be done within hours. It takes several months? How did the SPR manage to do this in a matter of hours on a public holiday?

If indeed the allegation made in the article that appears on Malaysia Today and the announcement is true than the credibility of SPR is suddenly being marred by it’s own action. They just threw mud at their face. This is very sad. It should not have happen. SPR must issue a statement to explain. Otherwise the credibility of SPR will be affected and if that happens, the credibility of the government and the relationship between SPR and the government will then be scrutinize under the microscope. There will be more rumours and my worry is that this will affect the position of BN in the coming election

As such in the best interest of the image of Malaysia, I would appreciate if SPR can give an official statement on this effect. MAFREL must look into this matter and make a statement as well. We must have the GE 2008 as one GE without incident and will be the one that we can be proudest in the history of the nation. The GE 2004 was really bad and it really dented the image of SPR. If in the beginning of the year, you have tried to improve your image, why damage it now?

Issue No 2 - Phantom Voters?

On the same note lastly, I would like to mention here that my name is still listed as a registered voter in Chemor (Hulu Kinta and Tambun) and in Bukit Antarabangsa despite many attempts I have made to get SPR to my name from the Perak database . Up to yesterday my name still appears in both constituency. I am tired of complaining to SPR since the year 2000. A simple thing like this cannot even be resolve.

If during the Election Day, someone actually turn up with an IC bearing my number in Chemor and he goes to vote and if the opposition party checks on that day and found that it is indeed true that such a person voted in Bukit Antarabangsa and in Chemor, then I believe the election result for both parliament and state can be declared null and void (for both Bukit Antarabangsa and Tambun). This is what I am worried about. It may again affect the image of BN. Why is that this simple matter cannot be resolve after so many years? Where do we Malaysian put our face when when people question us. I do hope that SPR can do something about it.

Shown below is what I meant.

Image A: This is the correct one. I am registered here and a resident here. The name, the old and new IC number is mine.

Image B: This is the wrong one. The address is my old hometown. The old IC number is mine. I dont know where the new IC number comes from.

Issue No 3 - Unsigned Nomination Form

I was shocked to read in the papers that a minister, Rafidah Aziz had forgotten to sign her nomination form. Apparently the form was on display during the nomination day and the candidates and its agent has noticed that Rafidah Aziz did not sign the form. The form was apparently signed after the objection period was over. The SPR HQ must look at this matter and see whether the Returning Officer has breached any of its rules and regulations.

I read and listen on the news yesterday where Dato Kamarulzaman issued a statement that candidates that wish to withdraw must filled form 6 or 6A in person in front of SPR officials if they wish to withdraw. They are not allowed to send a representative. Here we see the disparity in the use of the signature and the regulations. I have not seen the election rules and regulations and my comment is made based on what has transpired. If signature is important in withdrawing to contest, wouldn’t it be equally important for you to contest. The Kuala Kangsar RO, I believe has not shown fairness. The SPR HQ must come out with a statement on this issue. As for Rafidah, I believe the failure to sign was an oversight. She indeed wanted to contest. Now the issue in hand is showing the conduct of professionalism. In a football game, if the ball touched a person’s hand and it was a foul, then the person will be cited and the kick is given to the opponent team. In the same manner, Rafidah you must also make a stand here and be professional about it. If you have done something wrong then admit it. It will make you a more respectable person. I am worried that your action and the so called suspicious relationship with the RO in Kuala Kangsar, may just become a political issue that will drag BN down. Rafidah, please do the right thing.

Below is an extract of the relevant Act that I downloaded from the SPR website (www.spr.gov.my) Going by item 4, 5 and 6 it is quite clear that Rafidah cannot contest and the RO has erred in his decision. SPR HQ must make a stand on this. Rafidah, please be a professional - withdraw .. that is the right thing to do.

ELECTIONS ACT 1958

ELECTIONS (CONDUCT OF ELECTIONS)
REGULATIONS 1981

NOMINATION

Nomination papers

4. (1) Any person eligible for election as a member of the Dewan Rakyat, or of the Legislative Assembly of a State, in accordance with the Constitution of Malaysia, or the Constitution of a State, as the case may be, may be nominated as a candidate for election.
(2) The nomination of any other person shall be void.
(3) Candidates shall be nominated by means of nomination papers which shall be as set out in Form 4 or 4A, as the case may be, in the First Schedule. Such nomination papers shall be submitted in triplicate.
(4) Each namination paper shall be completely and correctly filled in the national language and shall state -
(a) the name of the constituency in which the candidate seeks election;
(b) in the case of election to a State Legislative Assembly, the name of the State concerned;
(c) the full name, other names, if any, identity card number, occupation, if any, and residential address of the candidate, and the candidate’s correspondence address to which documents relating to the election may be sent;
(d) the name and identity card number of the proposer and seconder, whose names must appear in the electoral rolls for the time being in force for the constituency for which the candidate seeks election; and
(e) the name, identity card number and address of the witness in the presence of whom the candidate affixes his signature.
(5) Each namination paper shall also bear the signature of the candidate and all the persons mentioned in paragraphs (4)(d) and (e).
(6) Failure to comply with subregulation (3), (4) or (5) shall render the nomination paper liable to be rejected by the returning officer.

Dr Mohamed Rafick Khan bin Abdul Rahman
MD MMed (OM) MBA (IT)  Dip Ae Med CTM AME (17)
www.rights2write.wordpress.com

written by Flex Tan, February 27, 2008 11:51:41
SPR IS A DAMNED S....
written by Flex Tan, February 27, 2008 11:56:08
PS. MAYBE THATS HOW MALAYSIAN GET "26 MILLION POPULATION OVER NITE".... WHERE DID THESE ALIENS CAME FROM...???
written by Cozy, February 27, 2008 12:07:01
SI-KITOL KATA, "PAS-PKR-DAP MAIN MALAM NIE ESOK BERCERAI".

SPR = ANAK LUAR NIKAH PERKAHWINAN ANTARA MCA-UMNO-MIC-PPP-GERAKAN. TAK TAU SAPA IBU-BAPA DIAORANG....!!!

PENGUNDI HANTU = INILAH HASIL PERKAHWINAN DALAM BN!
written by Mr Smith, February 27, 2008 12:09:28
Why do you think the Constitution was amended at lightning speed to extend the Chairman's tenor by one year ? Yes, to do this dirty work for BN. Do you think the Chairman has the courage to disqualify Rafidah?
This case must go to court while making sure that Fairuz is not brought back to sit on the bench. There is hope of winning if you engage the services of the one ' who looks like me and sounds like me.'
written by Beezee_Beezee, February 27, 2008 12:19:23
Even with all the facts and facts sheets we have see both in MT and even in News paper. Sorry lah we know well as long as BN is in power nothing gonna be right. Pepatah mengatakan. Just like trying to straighten the WET Thread. Nasi dah Jadi Bubur.

Kalau nak tengok perubahan silalah Undi BA/BR....
written by hiro, February 27, 2008 12:23:47
SPR has no credibility. In the face of so much evidence, all Tan Sri Rashid can muster is that it is just a small matter. Any credible elections commission chairman with integrity would immediately ask the complainant to refer the matter to the secretariat, and the secretariat would resolve the issue in just a few hours.

SPR is not credible. That makes BN government not legitimately elected even if they come to power.
written by shamadz72, February 27, 2008 12:28:26
Armed with my Cannon LBP2900 black & white laser printer & a photocopy machine, I have been printing out tons of the opposition pamphlet. I myself has been distributing close to 80 pamphlets since yesterday around my housing area. Any bloggers or netters want to help me out? Especially for those who is staying in Puchong, Sungai Buloh or Bukit Subang area. Drop me and email with your HP number at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Come on you guys, we have talk the talk and now is the time to walk the walk. Let us make this election that Bloggers Election
written by The dragonheart, February 27, 2008 12:32:56
If Rafidah refuse to withdraw... take her and SPR to court... she must admit that she is too old to contest.. she can't even know how to fill a simple form...

even an independent candidate at pantai, Kuala lumpur contesting against sharizat and nurul can fill the form on site few hours b4 nomination time..
written by Sutha, February 27, 2008 12:43:54
Getting transparent ballot boxes is a small matter and is not enough. RatShit has to address the issues of a clean electoral list, phanthom voters and slotting in of postal voters, especially from the army and how the voting is done there (the voters vote or the head of the camp votes on behalf of all) or whether the boss stands beside to intimidate the voters into picking only one blue party!

Ratshit, where are you?
written by IbnAbdHalim, February 27, 2008 12:45:39
I religion allows a person to piss on the grave, I'd like to do it on RaSHIT's.
written by bn haramjadah, February 27, 2008 13:38:42
AND RAFIDAH AZIZ HAS taken part in umpteen donkey elections and can forget to sign election nomination papers? AND WE HAVE TO TRUST THIS SILLY INCOMPETANT COW TO BRING IN INTERNATIONAL FDI's?
IS THIS THE CALIBRE OF OUR MINISTERS, WHAT IF SHE FORGETS TO SIGN CLAUSES IN INTERNATIONAL TRADE AGREEMENTS?
IS THIS THE REASON(DUE TO HER TIDAK APA ATITUDE,) THOSE LITTLE NAPOLEANS FROM HER MINISTRY GAVE OUT SO MANY AP'S TO ALL AND SUNDRY INCLUDING THEMSELVES, WHERE THE ACTUAL TRUTH OF THE MATTER IS, SHE DOES NOT KNOW WHAT THE HELL IS HAPPENNING IN MITI? AS her attendance to Parliment shows, she is hardly in Malaysia as she is out of the country galivanting all over the world on trade missions (or holidays)
with the amount of running around looking busy you would assume, Malaysia should be in the ranks of Japan on incoming foreign investment?
OR is it the truth of the matter is WE HAVE A RANK AMATEAUR DOING A PROFESSIONAL'S
JOB? BECAUSE THE SHEER INAPTITUDE AND rank incompetance shown here by not signing her nomination papers, shows we actually have a silly cow running for election, with the rest of the retards in the cabinet smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
OR IS IT THE TRUTH OF THE MATTER IS SHE SHOWS SUCH DISDAIN TOWARDS THE ELECTIONS, ITS SUCH A PETTY INCONVENIENCE TO HER, ASTHOUGH THE CONCLUSION OF THE ELECTION IN KK,IS A FORGONE CONCLUSION, DOES RAFIDAH KNOW SOMETHING WE DON'T?
CAN THE MIGHTY FAT COW PLEASE REPLY smilies/grin.gif ?
written by bn haramjadah, February 27, 2008 13:41:17
KAK PIDAH ACAH AJE LAH, Perliiiiiii je smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by lawa88, February 27, 2008 13:49:50
Well done shamadz72,

Yes let us all put our printers and copiers to good use.
If you need to do faster just go to the nearest photocopy shop.
Yes bloggers and even non-bloggers - let us walk the talk and get the Opposition phamphlets to the non-IT savvy. Let us help to get BN out out out...
written by mountainking, February 27, 2008 14:13:00
Dear Dr Mohamed Rafick Khan bin Abdul Rahman

am so proud of you that you are bringing this case to the public's attention. am sure the polling agent from chemor would take note of this. we will be very glad if more and more ex-gov servant is willing to share their experiences with the public.

let's see whether we can take the SPR and Rafidah to court or not.
written by cklife, February 27, 2008 14:13:08
HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAAHAHHAHAHA

His phantom representative is in Tanjung Rambutan. I guess this guy is crazy....
written by mike1m, February 27, 2008 14:20:58
rashid will say proof it in court
written by Saint, February 27, 2008 15:12:22
Dear Dr.;

How is that you have 2 IC's.
630917-08-6333 & 630917-10-5215
Same date of birth but different states and random number
written by budakindia, February 27, 2008 15:12:23
come on rashit! just admit it! you are helping those BN goons! It's a just returning favour for you to remain in office for another year! smilies/angry.gif
written by drrafick, February 27, 2008 18:36:34
Dear saint
That is what I want to know as in my possession now I have only one IC i.e. the first one..

If the opposition party is smart they will monitor and see voted using my IC in hulu kinta and then if the result is not in their favor, they can challenge it in court
written by Mimi, February 27, 2008 21:34:09
I don't mean to sound like I have lost hope, but how are we to fight them all? In what ever angles and ways we tried, we cannot seem to fight their wave of deceit. It is sad. Sad day for this country. smilies/cry.gif