For people to judge which brother is better: Pairin PDF Print
Wednesday, 27 February 2008 09:05

Keningau: Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) President Datuk Seri Joseph Pairin Kitingan regards contesting against his younger brother, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) Vice-President Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan, just as challenging as contesting against other opponents.

While expressing surprise that his brother chose to contest the same seat, Pairin said the BN Government practised democracy, and as a BN politician, he would stress to the people that the BN should continue to be supported.

"Of course, I had not expected him (Jeffrey) to contest against his own brother. But what can I doÉit has happened, so we will be conducting our own campaign. Contesting in the general election is a challenge for anyone, whether your opponent is a sibling, friend or another person. It's for the people to judge," said the veteran politician, who is also Sabah Deputy CM.

The sibling rivalry is expected to be interesting as Pairin has held the Keningau seat for 22 years.

Pairin said opposition parties like PKR and DAP should be rejected as they had gone into Sabah's interior only to disturb the people's thinking.

"They don't have a clear, specific agenda, and although they are in the opposition front, they are not united. The BN, on the other hand, has specific (development) plans for the people. So, what else do we want. The BN top leaders are sincere and committed. So, why should we seek the opposition which have no clear direction and have threatened unity by organising street demonstrations and went against the law."

Asked whether his brother's presence would threaten his position in Keningau, Pairin said: "If the people choose and support the BN, surely it will win. And this is our wish and our appeal to the people in the state's interior to make it happen."

Pairin, who will also be defending the Tambunan State seat, where he has established himself for 32 years, will face PKR's Mozes M Iking and Independent Francis Koh Kui Tze.

Meanwhile, the Liawan State seat will see a four-cornered fight involving BN's Datuk Sairin Karno, DAP's Lawrence Mogidau, Jius Awang from PKR, and independent candidate Yapilin Nawawi. The Bingkor State seat will also see a four-cornered fight involving BN's Justin Guka, Jeffrey (PKR) and two Independents, Thomas Anggan and Victor Leonardus. - Daily Express

written by temenggong, February 27, 2008 09:41:46
Pairin like Gerakan were traitors. They won the mandate for opposition and soon after they joined the ruling BN.

Lets kick out both PBS and Gerakan!
written by manny_california_usa, February 27, 2008 09:42:24
Mr Joseph take it from us, cause we are the majority here. We choose Mr. Jeffrey.
Now what? Are you still want to stand against your brother?. Come on give me a break. The wise thing for you to do now is to withdraw and let Jeffrey win, afterall he is your blood man...come on... be a gentleman.

DEAL OR NO DEAL...
written by khongja, February 27, 2008 09:44:16
This guy SENIOR PAIRIN had his chance to rule Sabah honestly but he blew it.Then he became a dog and beg for entry to the BN.Where was his pride and honour.He could sell his mother s soul to the devil just for a position.Maybe SABAHANS ARE UNIQUE?
written by Sudahlah tu, February 27, 2008 09:49:56
Pemenang pertemuan ini ialah rakyat ...
Kamilah yang menentukan masa depan kami dengan pemenang nanti ..
Buatlah pilihan yang bijak ...
Keningau , kawasan yang luas dengan keindahan semulajadi selama ini memerlukan seorang wakil yang lebih memahami keindahan itu dan bukannya berpolitik tamak.
Penjualan tanah dan kawasan demi pembangunan tidak perlu dilakukan dengan cara kotor dan tidak bersistem eko.
Fikirlah ..
written by asguard, February 27, 2008 09:54:46
Vote for PKR candidate..if you are voting for servants then you're selling your soul to the devil...
written by Bill Gates, February 27, 2008 10:21:48
The elder Pairin has sold the souls of Sabahan. He is the main cause of the CM post going to UMNO. He is UMNO's dog who has his personal interest. VOTE him OUT.

Bring Jeffery back.
written by Toyolbuster, February 27, 2008 10:22:20
Both brothers are the same. Jeffrey is a snake, Joseph is a dog with its tail nicely tugged in between its legs. But voters must vote out BN which is the most important consideration. Jeffrey might also crawl back to BN if he wins, but Joseph is a no hoper. He has proven in the last 22 years that he is just a weak dog but runs well for its master. We have to take it a step at a time, that is to vote BN out first. Forget about how slimey Jeffrey is, just take it with a pinch of salt.
written by cheekhiaw, February 27, 2008 10:23:30
Mr Pairin,

The people would judge but some people not sure lah.

Can share your confessions with your god with us?
That would certainly help.

Thank you in advance.

written by Agahdemo, February 27, 2008 10:41:54
Joseph said: "The BN, on the other hand, has specific (development) plans for the people. So, what else do we want. The BN top leaders are sincere and committed".
What else do we want you say? BN(UMNO) top leaders are sincere and committed you say? We say you are nothing but UMNO's puppet. The Sabahan at large have not benefited, but only cronies of UMNO of which you are one of them. You have no interest of your kadazan people at heart but to serve your own selfish interest.
UMNO is going to swip you all under your feets and leave you and your people to become nothing but 'yes' dogs. What you all want is to be able to exercise your rights as natives of Sabah, determine the direction of where Sabah should be heading!!!
Now, you have sold your rights and the rights of your people to UMNO....... You will be condemned to hell....
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, February 27, 2008 11:40:56
Wake up Sabahans. This is your chance to kick out UMNO and to give your own son, Jeffrey a chance to be your legitimate leader, and to salvage back some pride.
The Mazu statue is a big issue for the Chinese. So vote for the opposition, and kick out UMNO to save Sabah from going bankrupt.
written by fromamovingtrain, February 27, 2008 11:49:56
Both are hopping artists, but by far, Pairin's performance was the much better one. Remember 1990, with Tengku Razaleigh and Rais Yatim. That one significant act of back- stabbing caused umno to be revelled upon entering sabah 1-2 days later. Incredibly, he brought the whole party back into bn when it became clear he was losing his pants.

Jeff, put him to submission, and then see if he begs you to let him join keadilan.

bn OUT!
written by Bluechip, February 27, 2008 12:15:50
Politik tetap politik , adik beradik tetap adik beradik . Kalau politik boleh mengeruhkan hubungan adik - beradik itu sudah kira bahaya .
written by Thomas47, February 27, 2008 13:23:47
One is a hopeless "hopper" while the other is the locals 'paramount leader'. Both are sibblings. Make guess who will win.
written by bumi non malay, February 28, 2008 05:11:52
What so hard....We have UMNO-MCA, MIC, PBS...all BN. and BN-PBS did not respect Freedom of Religion ala Lina Joy.....Sabahans...this matters!! Kick BN out, give Lina Joy Freedom of religion..vote opposition!!