Election briefs - 1 (27/2/08) PDF Print
Wednesday, 27 February 2008 08:52

PAS calls for TV boycott

BACHOK: PAS deputy president Nasruddin Mat Isa wants voters to boycott all television programmes in the run-up to polling day on March 8, claiming there was only Barisan Nasional propaganda available. 

Nasruddin said voters including their children should only view animated programmes such as Doraemon and Power Rangers

The electronic media has become one-sided. For voters to have a clear head when they cast their ballots, they should refrain from watching television for now,” he said at a ceramah in Kampung Bukit Chenda here yesterday. 

He promised that the PAS-led Opposition would lower the prices of goods if voted in as the next government of the country. - Star

Lim challenges Nor Mohamed to an economic debate
GEORGE TOWN (Feb 26, 2008): Following reports that Finance Minister II Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop had pooh-poohed DAP's RM35 billion fiscal stimulus plan, DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng today challenged the minister to an economic debate.

"Nor Mohamed says our proposal is not realistic, not practical. Since he is contesting in Penang, let's have a public debate on economics. Come! Let's have a debate.

"We're not proposing to take all of Petronas' profits but only half of its RM70 billion per annum. I think it is only fair," said Lim, a trained accountant.

Asked why DAP had conceded that it would not win against the Barisan Nasional (BN) ion March 8, and yet made promises to implement fiscal plans and other policies, Lim said: "We are only contesting 47 parliamentary seats and even if we win all, we don't have the full mandate.

"This is this election. But does it mean that we will lose in subsequent elections?

"A journey of 10,000 miles begins with a single step. This is our first step," said Lim, adding that each political party had the right to make known its programmes and plans to the people for the future.

"(For now) we only want to deny them the two-thirds majority for the betterment of Malaysia," he said.- theSun

Bid to strike out 'caretaker govt' suit

KUALA LUMPUR: The High Court fixed next Tuesday to hear applications to strike out the suit by Lim Kit Siang, who wanted a caretaker government formed during the general election.

Judge Datuk Wan Afrah Wan Ibrahim decided on the date in chambers after meeting counsel Karpal Singh, who is appearing for Lim, and Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail, who is appearing for the Election Commission and the previous government.

Wan Afrah ordered both parties to file written submissions on the application by tomorrow.

In the applications that were filed separately, the two respondents claimed that Lim's application was frivolous, vexatious and an abuse of the court process.

In his application on Feb 4, Lim had applied for a caretaker government to be formed once parliament was dissolved. Parliament was dissolved on Feb 13. The respondents, however, claimed that there was no reasonable cause of action for Lim to file the suit.

Earlier in court, Karpal applied for the case to be heard immediately in view of the fact that parliament was dissolved and election was slated for March 8.

Wan Afrah, however, said there was this application to strike out which should be heard first and that this case was only fixed for mention yesterday. - NST

written by kamal, February 27, 2008 08:55:36
VOTE BN OUT!!!!!!

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com
written by Mr Smith, February 27, 2008 08:59:42
Going to a Malaysian court to seek justice? You must be joking.
It's a market place to buy and sell justice. Didn't you attend the RCI?
written by manny_california_usa, February 27, 2008 09:30:07
You are right Mr Smith, i totally agree with you.
Seeking justice in malaysia is like going to Bermuda Triangle and getting disappeared for good.
written by Sudahlah tu, February 27, 2008 09:31:32
Orang Melayu, tolong bangunlah ...
Cara kerajaan BN 'memanjakan' anda semua tidak berniat sesuci yang digambarkan oleh mereka.
Kerajaan BN selama ini 'mengkongkong' daya pemikiran anak2 anda dengan sistem pengajaran yang lama dan tetap bergantung kepada bantuan kerajaan.
Sistem penaikan pangkat di tempat kerja milik kerajaan berbau politik dan pilih kasih.
Kes-kes melibatkan pengetua jabatan mengambil kesempatan memasukan saudara sendiri dan menaikkan pangkat mereka begitu ketara kini.
Banyak lagi ... kisah gadis muda yang bergaul dengan pengetua atasan demi mengekalkan peluang pekerjaan tu .....
Moral konon ??? Islam konon ????
Betulkan UMNO berjuang untul umat Islam dan kaum Melayu tulin ... ?
Kenapapun kebanyakan 'pendatang Melayu baru" dari seberang yang bertapak maju dan diberi kewarganegaraan begitu sahaja ?
Berapakah bayaran yang dibuat oleh mereka ini untuk menjadi 'Melayu' baru...?
Apakah Melayu baru ini bertaraf Bumiputra dengan serta merta dan bersiang dengan Melayu tulin ?
Apakah sistem pengagihan keperhatinan rakyat Melayu dan 'Melayu' baru itu berbeza ?
Kenapa Melayu tulin selalu dicabar untuk membanglitkan isu2 dengan kaum lain sedangkan 'pencuri' sebenar memang berada di dalam kelompok sendiri ?
Apakah nilai bangsa Melayu tulin di Malaysia tidak berharga langsung dalam dunia ini ?
written by asguard, February 27, 2008 09:45:49
To all malaysians... like or not... BN has fail miserablely....so here is a slogan to encounter their manifesto...its simple and handy... A thousand broken promises.. the past,present and the future... its malay version seribu mungkir janji ...dahulu, kini dan selamanya.. pass this messages to your friends...relatives...
written by Cozy, February 27, 2008 11:45:56
SAYA SUDAH BOYCOTT HAMPIR SETAHUN...! ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! BULLSHIT OF MEDIA PRIMA@UMNO!

I WILL NOT GIVE BN ANY VOTE THIS TIME... U CAN SHOW ANYTHING YOU WANT, BUT PEPOL KNOWS THAT IS YOUR DIRTY TRICK...

THE OPPOSITION GOING TO WIN BIG THIS TIME AND WILL TEACH YOU A GOOD LESSON... REMEMBER THAT...!
written by Flex Tan, February 27, 2008 11:48:00
OPPOSTION PARTIES SHOULD DECLARED:

"13 FEB - 8 MARCH AS NATIONAL TV BOYCOTT MONTH" - ASKING THE RAKYAT "NOT TO LISTEN" TO TWISTED PROPAGANDAS.

IF THE BN WANTS TO TELL GREAT STORIES.... THEY SHOULD ALSO SHOWS, THEIR "200 OVER PROJECT SAKIT" (LONG DUED/ UNFINISHED) SINCE 2004.
written by kent chong, February 27, 2008 12:20:25
Pls inform your friends,colleagues and relative:-
*Raja Petra also giving speech at Port Klang tonite 8pm

http://www.dap-elections.com/topics/events/

Ceramah at Puchong Jaya
February 27, 2008
7:30 pm
Venue : Puchong Jaya, Jalan Serintid 3, (opp IOI Mall & behind Sutramas apt.)
Speakers : Karpal Singh, Teresa Kok, Gobind Singh, Lim Kit Siang

Debate at St-Francis Xavier’s Church, Jalan Gasing
February 27, 2008
8:00 pm to 10:30 pm
Debate between Edward Lee, Datuk Lim Thuang Seng, Datuk Donald Lim

Venue : St. Francis Xavier (SFX) Church, Jalan Gasing, PJ
(for SFX Church Members only)
Enquiry : 016-293 9603

Ceramah at Kg Chempaka
February 27, 2008
8:00 pm
Venue : Hock Kee Restaurant, Kg Cempaka, Petaling Jaya
Speakers : Tony Pua, Lau Weng San, Dr Cheah Wing Yin
Enquiry : 016-220 8867

Ceramah at Kg Aman Serdang
February 27, 2008
Venue : Kg Aman Business Centre, Serdang
Speakers : Lim Guan Eng, Ean Yong Hian Wah, Teo Nie Ching
Enq : 016-2651178

Ceramah at Jalan Hang Tuah
» yesterday, in the early evening
February 27, 2008
Venue : Hang Tuah, Flat B, Jalan Hang Tuah, Kuala Lumpur
Speakers : Lim Guan Eng, Fong Kui Lun, et al.
Enq : 03-214258345

written by picadilly, February 27, 2008 14:39:00
Where is the ceramah by RAJA PETRA??
written by mwaalib, February 27, 2008 19:37:26
I support the call for boycott.
written by SimpleSoul, February 27, 2008 20:55:16
EATING YOUR BOWL OF 'LIES'

Never had i been so disgusted watching our local news. To all news readers and reporters of MSM. The next time you take your first bite of your meal, just look in to it and be proud of yourself. Has the food you about to feed your self was hard earned by your biasness and non accurate news which you had to report.

You should me ashamed of your self of the unjust that is controling and you should take no pride by calling your self a news men. When I was young, our community used to have high respects for reports and newscaster when seen on the street. You were very much looked up upon with such professionalism. Always with a notepad and camera.

Today if I come across anyone with a 'PRESS" tag who are slaves to your masters, all I could do is offer a spat on your morality. You could justiffy to yourself by saying that its a job you have and you have to pay yr bills. But alas... a poor widow who sell her self to feed her kids....

Remember everytime you walk around proudly with any banners of your masters, you are bound to be cursed and sweared harshly within people's heart.

Well ones again, I would encourage you to look into yourseld with the knowledge and morals you were thought in school and see how much have you transformed in the recents years.

Repent by the next time youre about to have yr next bowl of lies