Ong: Status of Malaysian Chinese has improved PDF Print
Wednesday, 27 February 2008 08:34

PETALING JAYA: It is an undeniable fact that the political, economic and social status of Malaysian Chinese has improved since independence. 

MCA president Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting said, “The older people can testify to this. More than 50 years ago, many Chinese were living in poverty. Over the decades, many children left their villages and settled in urban areas. 

You can see Chinese residents in Petaling Jaya moving from small to bigger houses,” he told PJ Utara constituents at a community gathering here last night. 

Ong said the MCA had been urging the Government to change its policies in education, public service and government procurement that were not in favour of the community. 

There are now 89 Chinese primary schools nationwide, most of which were relocated and others are new ones. The party felt that it was not enough and decided to set up Tunku Abdul Rahman College and Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman.  

We also encouraged the Government to hire Chinese in the public service and helped them with their promotions. When the Government came up with a policy that restricted Chinese companies from providing procurement services to government departments, we corrected it in the Cabinet,” he said. 

At the gathering, Ong praised the party's candidates Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun (PJ Utara), Victor Gu (Damansara Utama) and Sheah Kok Fah (Kampung Tunku), saying that he was confident that they form the best team the party has put up for the people of PJ Utara. - Star

Comments (49)Add Comment
written by kamal, February 27, 2008 08:41:52
Look what this UMNO monitored MCA leader is saying.

Chinese are now treated like 'pariah' too even when the chinese contribute the highest tax paid to the government.

Its time for MCA to realise that they should not be BULLIED!!!!!!!!!

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com
written by rajaphillips, February 27, 2008 08:42:53
Yes, it has improved through the own hardwork
written by manny_california_usa, February 27, 2008 08:49:27
Hey Mr Ong, what kind of report card is this? Is that all you can do? My 9 years old daugther can do better than that,shame on you.

Listen, as a leader you don't 'urge' the government to do this and to do that for the citizen, you should 'tell' the government that this what we want you to do for the citizen. You moron.
written by Mr Smith, February 27, 2008 08:52:00
Oh Yes, their status have improved. That is why Ong chickened out when shown the keris.
The status of Chinese have improved so much that there isn't a single Chinese in the Federal Court or hold the post of Vice Chancellor in any public university or CEO of any GLC or Director General of any key ministry.
Sure their status as second citizen has improved when compared to Indians.
written by damarwulan, February 27, 2008 08:52:31
Dear Datuk Seri,
How many children of the Chinese were given scholarships by the goverment to study abroad? How many of them get to enter the local Universiti? At least the BA did promise that education to Universiti is FREE. You have been in power but did not do anything.
written by joseph81, February 27, 2008 09:01:31
I believe it's typo error, it should be Malaysia Chinese Assocition (MCA) instead of Malaysia Chinese, ....or maybe OKT speak too fast
written by kurangfaham, February 27, 2008 09:04:33
Yes again, They have improved by running most of the illegal activities like Illegal gambling,prostitution, immitation VCD and DVD,Along, gangesterism,andso on. Of course with the help of the enforcements.
written by loosecannon, February 27, 2008 09:17:06
So tell us OKT, what are the percentages of Chinese civil servants both in the junior and senior rank have increased in the last 50 years that MCA was in the government.

Since you also touched on education, pray tell us what was the percenrages of Chinese in local universities 50 years ago as compared to present time? Prove to us that you are telling the truth and I will give my vote to MCA, otherwise stop telling lies.
written by Bigjoe99, February 27, 2008 09:18:36
If there was no improvement while the economy was growing at 7-8%, you would have everything burnt down and nobody would have anything. For a senior member of MCA to resort to such political-double-talking shows how low a standard MCA have become. Tan Siew Sin would never have talked like this.

Argue the issues- crime, corruption, end-of-NEP, free-choice of education. Don't talk as if the Chinese are stupid dumb villages that don't learn. Even my grandmother from kampung understand what a constitutional admendment is now.
written by khongja, February 27, 2008 09:31:44
The trouble with this ching idiot he opens his mouth spewing rubbish of chinese standards.Was he expecting us chinese to beg and grovel like the MCA .We have a saying here in Malaysia that if we chinese cannot survive in this country ,we might as well pack our bags and return to good old China!
IT WAS OUR SURVIVAL in our everyday life for the older generation and not chinese schools and those chinese craps!
written by the1, February 27, 2008 09:33:51
YES but with you OKT, without MCA.
written by StevenO, February 27, 2008 09:35:51
I rather sit and watch the grass grow than to hear you sing praises at Umno.

Blah...blah..bla..bla...Didn't your mum teach you from young, not to talk with your mouth full??? Your breath stinks of shit. Go away and stop licking those Umno Ketuanan Melayu *******s!!!!
written by temenggong, February 27, 2008 09:45:59
We need a Chindraf!

Let Lee Kim Sai, Tan Siok Choo and Tan Siok Eng speak!!
written by MMhunter, February 27, 2008 09:47:36
Hello okt we the rakyat voted for you too in our previous electios and we are not chinese.Why arent you representing us but only the chinese.Are you really representing all Malaysians or just the chinese.Hey enough is enough.This is race based politics.They get votes from non chinese but champion only the chinese.Is that fair.Lets say good bye to race based politics.Lets open our hearts and wellcome PKR.Its the only party that is making a determined effort to represent all Malaysians.If we dont support it.How can it grow and develop into a strong party to cater for all Malaysians.Lets votes PKR.Lets kill race based politics once and for all.Its now or never.The future lies in our hand.Dont let it slip away because of petty desires.
written by devious17, February 27, 2008 09:55:31
Oi! ong! you havent told the whole story laaa........Chinese has improved , yes , the fine print below states "Cina MCA saja dah bertambah kaya"

All the chinese have achieved was from their hard work and dedication,,you mca dogs have nothing to do with their success. Imagine if you mca dogs have been a helping hand to the chinese how much more they could have achieved for this country!!

Shame on you mca dogs!!
written by asguard, February 27, 2008 09:56:17
Its waste of time hear the moron servant praising its master... but nothing much is done actually thru out all of this years... vote for the opposition...
written by Bill Gates, February 27, 2008 10:15:05
OKT will only enrich his Ong's dynasty. Just watch - Ham Kah Chan will be the next Minister.

Remember people. A vote against MCA = a vote against UMNO

written by Sagaladoola, February 27, 2008 10:19:14
----------------------------------
ONG KA TING, ARE YOU SLEEPING?
----------------------------------

HIGHLIGHT:
It is an undeniable fact that the political, economic and social status of Malaysian Chinese has improved since independence.

COMMENT:
Are you sleeping? The normal chinese people did it through working like shit, their parents pay through colleges. I am not sure about MCAputra chinese who are friends of UMNOputra though.

I think the Chinese social and political status has proven to be "improved" (as Ong Ka Ting). It is pretty obvious right?

Social - highest tax paying group but terribly capitalised and labelled "kaum pendatang" (second class citizen)?

Political - the "Kambing" for Keris Waving with special remarks. Ask Hishamuddin, he is your friend.

Ohh you mean, that is equivalent to "improvement"?

People, the time is high. Do something before you are "improved" again this way.

written by Sagaladoola, February 27, 2008 10:26:28
Whoops I forgot to mention that Someone actually accepted all these Keris Waving with special remarks. Who was that yeah , Ong Ka Ting? Err, is it you? No?
written by bumi non malay, February 27, 2008 10:28:07
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif ha ha ha ha ha....to the jokes section.....Tak Nak Dacing, barang NAIK - MCA !!

Be Good if all MCA, MIC and PBS lose their Parliament seats.....let UMNO win BIG.....then we can slowly skin UMNO-Barang Naik slowly!!

Datin Chew.... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif ha ha ha....this one ex-DAP, once served Helen Clark (NZ PM).....hope you're enjoying your time with shoe lickers MCA to UMNO masters!!

And the Damansara Chinese School.....You will pay MCA for your crime against our children!!
written by alan cheong, February 27, 2008 10:28:36
LEI KONG TAI WAH, LEI LEE KOR KAU KOON, THOR SUI KAR KE CHAU KAU.
written by Toyolbuster, February 27, 2008 10:37:00
Ong Ka Ting, you are just full of shit you know that. In the recent 2 years, I have come across more and more chinese turning to garbage for a living. I have seen a not too old couple (40s) with their young daughter rummaging through garbage bins for cardboards and tins to redeem for cash. I am a 60 years old chinese and I can say that I have never witnessed such a depressing sight in my entire life till now, and Ong Ka Ting, you can say that the chinese are better off now? You are a disgrace to my Ong family. If you are my son, I will publicly disown you for betraying your kind.
written by kksam, February 27, 2008 10:39:36
NIAMAH reject the BN and MCA for being RACIST!!! How can we expect fair treatment by the government when they being racist and we support them? We need to put ourselves as a MALAYSIAN and not according to race and religion.
written by Msian 2, February 27, 2008 10:45:24
What bad breath. This Ong guy only knows how massively to put their hands into the rakyats pocket. Don't he realise how hard the Chinese work & save to send their kids to have an education??? My parents did & borrow too. Now all said about the chinese, what has he done to contribute to uniting the various ethnic groups. I don't even care whether I am chinese anymore. I see beyound colour & religion. You MrOng & cronies don't believe in unity & U are just passing & making lives for not only chinese harder but all Malaysians by your brand of racial alternative policies. You don't even know what the rakyat want. Stop & dismantle MCA and the chinese would say you are a hero.
written by hiro, February 27, 2008 10:48:37
Ong Ka Ting, we need to build a new Malaysia that is equal for all. The old people may appreciate little economic handouts from the government, but those days are OVER.

How is it possible for you to assess that the political and social situation of Chinese have improved when the Chinese voice is ignored in the government despite representation by MCA and Gerakan? All damned lies.

We're voting the Opposition, and that's final.
written by Commonsenses, February 27, 2008 10:52:36
Mr Ong, if the status of the chinese has improved then we won't have this issue of deprivity and dissatifaction among the chinese in malaysia. This time if u win MR ong its the malay who will be voting U. So join UMNOlah.
written by Jan, February 27, 2008 11:08:52
Improved? That kerismuddin thug just show his keris and Ong Kata Nothing will run away like a dog with his tail between his legs.
written by delCapo, February 27, 2008 11:20:40
talk cock like sing song
shuddup lah, Ong KT... unless u need 2 keep reminding yourself your own horsesh*t.

Pui!Pui! PUI!!!!!!!
written by Flex Tan, February 27, 2008 11:38:32
STATUS OF MALAYSIAN CHINESE (FOR THAT MATTER "MALAYSIANS" IN GENERAL) HAS IMPROVED ... HOWEVER, FALLS LOW WITH INFLATION AND 2008 SCENARIO.

BN'S STATISTICS IS "OUT OF DATE".
written by qitaro, February 27, 2008 12:13:12
Direct translation for alan cheong's entry ... aiya ... we are a multiracial country mah ... must share share lah!

alan cheong said:

"LEI KONG TAI WAH, LEI LEE KOR KAU KOON, THOR SUI KAR KE CHAU KAU." means ...

"YOU LIAR, YOU BLOODY GOMEN DOG, YOU RUNNING DOG WHO EMBARRASS YOUR FAMILY/CLAN."

Any other version?
written by Vertigo Cure, February 27, 2008 12:36:24
The improvements of Chinese have nothing to do with MCA.

By your own words, MCA has been urging and begging UMNO to change the discriminating policies but to no avail. Yet MCA still refuse to leave BN. Obviously MCA has benefitted from the loot. Shame on you.

Voting for MCA is voting for traitors.

written by onnyap, February 27, 2008 12:45:59
Btw OKT you forgot to add, the chinaman is so prosperous now and he has to be forcibly make to contributes and provides for his "extended families" at the expense of his blood family
written by myke, February 27, 2008 12:50:17
MCA, you and your sleeping partners....PLEASE GO TO HELL.
written by technoboy, February 27, 2008 13:03:58
OKT, improved my foot. MCA have to swallow its' pride when Kerisham waved the keris and worst still the son of LL Shit even went to the extend to defend the act. OKT, both you and Chan KC was put in place as President and deputy respectively by TDM. Is this the political and social status you are claiming for the Chinese community? Approving funds and new Chinese Schools is our right as citizen of the country, but you guys make it look as if we owe such a big damn favor to UMNO for those approval, in the first place we are not beggar and we don't have to beg. Economically, the Chinese worked doubly hard to sustain their livelihood in an environment where government projects were almost exclusively reserved for a specific race, with exception of UMNO running dogs like you and those in BN benefiting from some government contracts and also thru Ali Baba arrangement. You call this achievement for the Chinese economically? If not for the dynamism of the Chinese, we would have end up like the Indians and a Chinese version of Hindraf would have been born. ENOUGH OF CRABS, WE WILL VOTE OPPOSITION THIS ROUND!
written by Talisman, February 27, 2008 13:08:50
BEFORE INDEPENDENCE : TAR was given ultimatun by Bristish that 3 races must show proof that hey can work together. TAR proposed that Parliamentary seats be drawn geOgraphically (same as today) but the Deputy President of MCA was against it and proposed seats must be drawn according to Universal Suffrage. TAR said no. This Deputy left MCA. The stupid baba chinese leader acceded to TAR demands.
THAT IS WHY UMNO GET MANY SEATS WITH SO LITTLE VOTES.
WHOSE FAULTS IS IT, VOTERS? MCA & MIC.

1965 : TAR seceded Singapore from Malaysia. This automatically reduces non-malay votes from 65% to slightly more than 50%.
WHY DID'NT MCA STOP TAR FROM SECEDING SINGAPORE FROM MALAYSIA THEN?
They (MCA & MIC) are short sighted and selfish.

1970: Then then NOP was deliberating how to move forward from May 13. MCA was advised to take the lead and help the Malays to engage in the economy. SOme of the MCA leaders listen to their backroom boys to let them do it themselves. Again out of selfishness.

Today: Every where one look into, the Malays are doing things not at the expense of anybody, but just think that the world owes them a living.
And WHO SUFFERS?
The Non-Malays and the unconnected Malays.

Hello voters of Malaysia, 50 years is EEEEEENNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOUUUUUUUUGGGGGGHHHH!

JUST CAST YOUR VOTE TO ANY PARTY OTHER THAN THE BLUE DEVIL SCALE!
written by burn22, February 27, 2008 13:27:18
im a malaysian! but a non-bumi...
karang dah 50tahun merdeka, why still mention about what bangsa are we.
can't we just live as one, malaysian!
let's be treated with fairness and equality. then only can we move forward!
yang rajin dan tekun, will move forward,! yang malas akan ketinggalan, but don't blame on others for failure, but blame urself.
i came from a not well to do family, but i move forward for better life, without any help! if i can do it, why not others.
so OKT stop sayin that with ur party, you have help many to move forward!
written by JJFoo, February 27, 2008 13:32:03
The sole condition for MCA survival is it’s willingness to betray the Chinese people’s interest, the more support they garnered, the higher is it betrayal’s value. Otherwise, they serve no purpose to exist at all.

OKT, you are shitting in your pants and the people around you smell it, yet you try to “bullshit” your way out of it by hoodwinking the peoples, stuffing them with half truth and lies, treating them like idiot, expecting them to buy it.

So far, none of the comments (36) have one favourable word, my bet is that the next 36 comments will be the same. Such response to the leader of a so call “champion for the Chinese community” is an ultimate disgrace.

written by johanssm, February 27, 2008 14:06:34
The scenario might be much better if without the boneless mca who claims to represents the Malaysian Chinese.
After so many donkey years,mca should really ask themselves to name some 10 major achievements done by their party which are beneficial to all Malaysians( not limiting to their cronies).
Do notices that most of mca proposals and plans actually copied from the Oppositions.Its the mca which hijacked other parties ideas.

The economic success is by the sheer determinations and ingenuity of Malaysian Chinese , and NOT by mca.
However mca also FAILED to mentions the quantity and QUALITY of malaysian chinese whom have migrated and whom have said Goodbye,sayonara to rotten Malaysia.

Its truly proven beyond reasonable points of doubts that bn are NOT about sharing of power but sharing of the nation's loot among themselves.
Plus we do NOT want any yes men in Parliament.Its true that a vote for bn = vote for umno.

***Saya TAK NAK bn , i say puk*mak to bn***

written by Bennyloh, February 27, 2008 14:11:03
Thank you for the rubber bands..
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...chive.html
written by Bennyloh, February 27, 2008 14:20:05
Was it not 350,000 Chinese form five school drop-outs so far? Going backwards compared to others.
written by Bennyloh, February 27, 2008 14:26:54
Apologies wrong image posted above!
Thank you for the rubber bands
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...pable.html
written by Xerxes, February 27, 2008 14:36:53
"....When the Government came up with a policy that restricted Chinese companies from providing procurement services to government departments, we corrected it in the Cabinet,” he said. "

OKT, that is absolute rubbish. I like your choice of words. Yes, you may have corrected it in the Cabinet but your Cabinet colleagues don't give a damn to your "correction". Why don't you try to supply to government departments incognito? Better still, why don't you try to supply to your own ministry?

Your UMNO bosses keep harping on power sharing. Ask them since Tun Tan Siew Sin left the Cabinet, have any non bumi been appointed to any of the senior ministerial post (Finance, Defence, Trade, Education and Internal Security). Power sharing means sharing some of the power at the highest level. Power sharing does not mean sharing only the second and third tier Cabinet positions.

And you crap about Chinese in the civil service. The reason why few Chinese wants to join is not because of low salary but because they know they will never ever reach the top no matter how good they are.

So please stop lying to yourself and to the Chinese.
written by Bennyloh, February 27, 2008 14:39:45
Go sing 'self-enrichment' song at this appropriate time..
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...tions.html
written by Ben, February 27, 2008 19:29:05
Please show us that you have achieved something. Nothing to show?

Stop playing the records of other people's achievements. They deserve what they get because they worked for it. You are like a cockerel I keep in the backyard. He cockle in the morning and the hen lays the eggs. When a snake came to hunt, he ran away while the snake swallowed the hen one by one. I decided he was useless and cooked him. Chicken curry with lots of potatoes. At least the last meal was palatable. Sorry I can't say the same for you, OKT!
written by wongnoball, February 28, 2008 01:27:51
OKT, What you mean by you urge .... you encourage the gov ..... ???? Is MCA a TRUE PARTNER or a LACKEY of the gov. ?????
written by wongnoball, February 28, 2008 01:32:13
OKT, Malaysian Chinese don't need a PONDAN to represent them ?????????
You better go and eat shit and die lah !!!!!!
written by Daryl, February 28, 2008 02:05:37
Datuk Seri Ong

Actually you are right the Malaysian Chinese lives has improved. But not the way you are trying to explain them. This is how it works actually: Chinese parents send their kids overseas and once they graduated and get their status and the whole family migrate to a beeter and progressive country. When questioned the not-so-intelligent goverment officials will always say if you don't like it go ahead. So, that is why their lives improved and that is my version.... Datuk Seri..
written by panca, February 28, 2008 02:17:00
It is an undeniable fact that the political, economic and social status of Malaysian Chinese has improved since independence.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yeah right, many have improved because they were fortunate as it had dropped from the skies and there are still many 'unfortunates' waiting for their chance from the skies to shower them, let's pray hard, real hard!

Some part of the brain faculty fail to rationalize what it means to be deserving and undeserving?

"Tau kark pai" (head damaged)
written by doggone, February 28, 2008 04:08:24
Mr. OarKui.
You had better walk under a rubber umbrella dress in rubber diving gears wearing rubber boots brushed with motor oil the next time you go out walking.

Heaven wants to strike you with lightning, Hell wants to pull you underneath and we chinaman wants to 'pui' on you. We will not humour you with a list of reasons. You know very well why.