Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow While we go to the polls, they rip us off in our sleep

While we go to the polls, they rip us off in our sleep PDF Print
Monday, 25 February 2008 22:35

Practically the whole country is focused on the coming general election due to be held on 8 March 2008. But while we look the other way, distracted by the intense election campaigning, some parties are quietly about to make RM4 billion from a property development that involves a piece of land belonging to the rakyat.

Practically the whole country is focused on the coming general election due to be held on 8 March 2008. But while we look the other way, distracted by the intense election campaigning, some parties are quietly about to make RM4 billion from a property development that involves a piece of land belonging to the rakyat. And rakyat here means 26 million Malaysians, 11 million or so who are registered voters. Sadly though, only 8 million who will come out to vote this election while the other 3 million will just stay home to watch television.

But it will not be 26 million Malaysians who will profit from this development. It will be handful of people who walk in the corridors of power. And these handful of people are the man with two Muhammad's in his name who would like to be Malaysia's future Deputy Prime Minister, Anuar Zaini who runs the Malaysian government's propaganda machinery also known as Bernama, and the cronies to the powers-that-be.

In June last year, it was reported that a company owned by Hong Leong's Quek Leng Chan will be taking over the land which the Universiti Malaysia sits and will turn into a new township. The university would then be relocated to Sepang.

There was a big hue and cry and the government flatly denied such a thing was in the cards.

Everything went quiet for awhile. Part of the objection to this proposal was because of the 'sacred' status and sentimental value of Malaysia's first university. But what was even more of an objection was the fact that a Chinese company was going to become the beneficiary to a very valuable piece of government asset.

To quell the outrage, the government quickly denied such a thing was being planned. But the denial was a lie and merely meant to quieten things down for awhile so that alternative plans could be put into place.

Realising that the university land was a 'goldmine', other parties jumped in and last week they announced that the university would sell off 27.5 acres of its under-utilised land for a price of RM312 million or for a value of RM200 million plus a share of the developer's profit, whichever is higher. However, what was not revealed was that the Selangor State Government, which is supposed to be a joint-venture partner, would get only 10% of the deal while 90% will go to Muhammad son of Muhammad and Anuar Zaini. The state government company is merely a front to give an impression that this is a government deal and to avoid any more controversy while in actual fact certain individuals are going to profit from the entire arrangement.

Yes, while Malaysians sleep, while Malaysians get distracted by the 8 March 2008 general election, those connected to those who walk in the corridors of power are going to make billions while the government will get pittance in return. Is this not one more of so many reasons to cut Barisan Nasional down to size by denying it its 92% hegemony in Parliament?

It is time Malaysians demonstrate outrage and shout loudly, “NO MORE!” And this demonstration must come in the form of no longer allowing Barisan Nasional a landslide victory in the coming general election and by denying it its 92% hegemony in Parliament.

Shock over township plan for UM campus

Malaysiakini, 13 June 2007

Former academician Dr Syed Husin Ali has expressed shock over news that Universiti Malaya (UM) will relocate its campus from Lembah Pantai, Kuala Lumpur, to a large swath of undeveloped land in Sepang Selangor. “I was shocked and a great number of the UM Alumni have expressed consternation on hearing that there is a plan to relocate UM to Sepang,” said Syed Husin in a statement today

The move is reportedly part of a property developer’s proposal to turn the 300ha campus into a commercial and residential township to complement its RM1.2 billion Damansara City project. According to Business Times yesterday, GuocoLand Bhd - a property developer controlled by billionaire banker Quek Leng Chan - has made a bid for the university grounds. Citing sources, the newspaper said the company intends to develop a commercial and residential township on the area, which has an estimated gross development value of RM10 billion. If the proposal is approved, the university will be relocated to the developer’s 4,860ha land bank in Sepang.

Syed Husin said: “Apparently, the plan aims to kill two birds with one stone, one, to maximise profits from the development of the present university site and, two, the sale of these bungalows and villas to university staff, which it would otherwise face great difficulty to dispose of. Presumably, it hopes to sell these to the university staff, if it succeeds in relocating UM.”

He noted that there is “little or no concern” over the impact of the move. “The intended relocation will certainly (disrupt) the lives of thousands of academic and non-academic staff of the university and their families,” said Syed Husin, a former lecturer at the university and now deputy president of the opposition Parti Keadilan Rakyat.

The campus was established in 1959, after the university was set up as an autonomous entity following its separation from the University of Malaya, Singapore. Although there were lobbies to site the campus near Johore Bahru and elsewhere, the location remained even after Universiti Malaya was officially founded in 1962.

The UM has developed into an institution with a strong historical and academic tradition. It has served higher education well and contributed considerably towards the process of nation building. A large number of its graduates have been and are important political and administrative leaders of the country,” said Syed Husin. “Universiti Malaya and Lembah Pantai are one, the same and inseparable. There should be no attempt to separate them, especially if entirely for commercial purposes that will enrich only a handful few who are already extremely rich.”

GuocoLand's share price gained 87.3 percent six days prior to yesterday to RM3.26. Registered in Singapore, the property developer recently announced plans to invest US$5.4 billion in China. Meanwhile, UM vice-chancellor Rafiah Salim has denied receiving a proposal from Quocoland to develop Lembah Pantai, according to Sin Chew Daily today. The daily also reported Higher Education Minister Mustapha Mohamed as saying there would not be development in the area, describing the university grounds as having significant historical and cultural value.

UM land more important than money

Dr Hsu Dar Ren, Malaysikini, 21 June 2007

I refer to the malaysiakini report Shock over township plan for UM campus. According to the report, a prominent developer has made a bid for the Universiti Malaya’s campus ground. The university authority has denied it and expressed shock over the report. I suspect even they may not even be privy to the proposal.

The piece of campus land situated in Lembah Pantai is indeed very valuable, and I tend to believe that there may have been a proposal to shift the university and develop the land, bearing in mind that there is no smoke without fire.

I am not a Universiti Malaya graduate but that is not important because I believe that it is the duty of every single Malaysian to defend the heritage of the country, and one such legacy is the Universiti Malaya campus. Businessmen, politicians, civil servants and indeed everyone of us must understand that there is something more valuable than just money. A heritage ground is one of these priceless inheritances.

No amount of money can be equated with a heritage ground. Money earned can easily be spent, but a heritage will remain forever as a symbol of a nation and it is what nationhood is about. Imagine a proposal to shift the Buckingham Palace in London. Even though it is situated within the one-square-mile golden city centre, the British will defend this building till the end of their nationhood. Imagine a proposal to shift Harvard University from its present campus in Cambridge, US. I think the whole of America will be in an uproar because the American heritage and the pride of the nation will be challenged.

There is a Chinese saying meaning ‘A gentleman loves money but you must earn it in the proper way’. Developers and businessmen, let me appeal to you - there is something more important in life than just making profit. Leave Universiti Malaya alone.

UM seeks approval to develop under-utilised land

Bernama, 19 February 2008

Universiti Malaya (UM) said today it has submitted a proposal to the Ministry of Higher Education to develop under-utilised land of 27.5 acres (11 ha) out of 900 acres (360 ha) of its main campus land. The successful completion of the development project is expected to provide UM with a minimum income of RM312 million or the land value of RM200 million plus a share of the developer's profit, whichever is higher, UM said.

It said in a statement that the Vice Chancellor, Datuk Rafiah Salim, on behalf of the university's Board of Directors (UMBD) and the university, sought the approval of the Minister on Jan 25 for the development project. The project, under a private-sector initiative, will be undertaken by a consortium by the name PPC-MINT-GLOMAC.

PPC-MINT-GLOMAC, a result of a merger of two companies, was recommended by Colliers International Property Consultants Sdn Bhd, which the university had appointed for an independent assessment. The two companies were from the three shortlisted by Colliers International to make presentations to UM Holdings Sdn Bhd Board of Directors (UMHBD) on Sept 27, 2007.

Initially, eight developers were invited to submit proposals for the development but only five submitted proposals. Colliers International was appointed by UM Holdings, a wholly owned subsidiary of UM that was incorporated in line with the government's plan for public universities to be financially independent.

UMBD has appointed Datuk Seri Panglima Mohd Annuar Zaini to the board of UM Holdings and to chair with the aim to fulfil the corporate aspirations of the university. UMHBD also comprises Emeritus Professor Tan Sri Dr Augustine Ong, Annuar Mohamad, Azhar Harun and Professor Dr Muhammad Zakaria.

Among the roles of UM Holdings is to plan, identify, explore, conserve, develop and enhance the university's assets. The university disclosed that UM Holdings had received many proposals for various types of development and projects. Several parcels of land were identified, and the 11 ha of land on Lot 10476 were chosen.

The university said the PPC-MINT-GLOMAC consortium, which made a presentation to UMBD on Oct 9, 2007, drew attention to the presence of the proposed University of Malaya Alumni Association (PAUM) clubhouse and the PALAPES (Reserve Officer Training Unit) camp on the land to be developed.

"This will affect the Master Plan of development of the consortium in relation to the land. UMBD acknowledged the concern of the consortium and recognised the need for UM to obtain optimum benefit to all in regard to the development of the land. With this in mind, UMBD recognised that both the PALAPES camp and PAUM's clubhouse need to be relocated to sites to be identified by UM," it said.

It also said that on 13 December 2007, UMBD said that subject to agreement by PAUM, the site for the building of PAUM's clubhouse and the PALAPES camp will be relocated to sites identified by UM.

"UM gives the assurance that this development will be transparent and all processes and procedures will be observed, and decisions made will be based on independent professional advice. Evaluations and recommendations are made by UM Holdings and UMBD but the final approval rests with the Government," it added.

Comments (68)Add Comment
written by zul4kulim, February 25, 2008 22:44:37
and we thought pak lah was sleeping smilies/grin.gif
or was he?
Rakyat cannot do much while still enjoying the circus in town...how would we explain this robbery to the rakyat in rural areas?
http://zul4kulim.********.com
written by Commonsenses, February 25, 2008 22:46:30
heheheheh......M2 has his hands in the till again now its UM land. They keep robbing the people in broad daylight and they promise to build mosques in kelantan. But as I understand there are 3 parties involved Glomac, M2 company and another party. So he is fighting so hard for UMNO is not for position after all but for wealth.
written by arifabdull, February 25, 2008 22:47:46
PENGKHIANAT..........
written by Moving Train, February 25, 2008 22:52:57

As they say, always watch the magician's OTHER hand. In cohorts, all of them. The UM people, the politicians, the corporate bigwigs. Tak boleh senang tengok tanah university, idle it may be, but part of a large, serene pocket of diminishing green lung in the capital. Their greed knows no bounds. No shame, no subtlety. Just blatant rape.

27 acres now, 873 acres later ( after the election). And there's nothing anyone can do about it. People of malaysia, NOW is the time.

bn O-U-T !!!
written by Rakyat M, February 25, 2008 22:53:33
Dirty Dirty Dirty.... Shame on you Muhammad son of Muhammad. I just wonder until when all these money sucker of Malaysia will get the punishment.... Malaysia continue like this really no hope.... Please vote BN out... please let everyone knows about this..
written by DontPlayGod, February 25, 2008 22:56:57
What to do? The Malays, whether UMNO members or not, continue to look up to UMNO as their God. If I were an UMNO bigwig or even the PM, I would do the same. After all, no matter how I rape them, the idiot supporters will still vote me in with a bigger majority!
written by InEffective, February 25, 2008 22:59:38
maybe even the sultan's palace or even the national mosque could be at-risk from unscrupulous property guys. Anybody now is for sale. - Nice

written by BennyG, February 25, 2008 23:03:35
"NO MORE!"
written by tano, February 25, 2008 23:39:34
a not very long time ago....STADIUM MERDEKA was almost...now UM (could use the land for a bigger Hospital Universiti)...what about Pudu Jail? heard Kent College in Tuaran Sabah would also move to a 'greener pasture'?
written by Spear Bing, February 25, 2008 23:41:37
No...no. It's not that we, the rakyat, cannot do anything to nip this project in the bud. It's PEOPLES' POWER in action now. We have received so much 'GRACE'from the 'divine forces' that are imploring us, the citizens, to really wake up to redeem the glory of Malaysia from the perpetrators and vultures who are constantly pursuing their enrichment through corruption, collusion,greed and abuse of power and position of those in the corridors of power.

Very quickly a high powered ACTION COMMITTEE "RESTORE UM HERITAGE" committee must be set up to look into this collusive business scheme.

Talking about HERITAGE, where is our YM Dr. Rais? Is he aware of this scheme? What is his comment of this project?.

This could be an election issue and the opposition parties should quickly capitalise on it.

More 'divine interventions' are coming on the way. Just be alertly awared.
written by raven1958, February 25, 2008 23:48:31
The problem is the University was cooked the day they appointed the fat lady Rafiah Salim.....and of course there are little weaklings like Amin the deputy VC whose mom forgot to give a spine......today Malaysians will loose one of their greatest heritages.....both of these are the vehicles used by snakes like Anuar Zaini and co to rip off the University Malaya big time......this deal is easy to stop....get a good lawyer to file an injunction.....and make certain Nor mohamad looses......so that Public Bank's licence can be pulled....
written by miwaki, February 25, 2008 23:57:54
To stop all these nonsense,we have to wipe out BN completely.Make sure BN becomes opposition party after the general election.
written by Hairy Potter, February 26, 2008 00:15:57
If this is true, then its the ultimate in political corruption. It has to be. UM is an institution just like Cambridge, Oxford and Sorbonne, albeit of a much lesser prestige. Selling off UM is like selling off the country. Its like relocating the whole population to Papua New Guinea for the sake of redeveloping Malaysia. Mere stupidity!
written by castrol, February 26, 2008 00:24:47
I see it very interesting that BN in Penang have adopted the slogan 'Keep ReInventing'. As far as I know, you cannot re-invent an invention but you can certainly make or improve an invention to be better.

I would call this re-packaging. Imagine giving my nephew the same old Christmas present I gave last year this Christmas albeit with new wrapping paper! So in its simplest term, what we will get is the same old crap but with better packaging.

This clearly indicates the lack of ideas from our bankrup leaders in Penang. So how do we expect BN Penang to lead us towards a better future in Penang?

When 'Keep ReInventing' comes to mind, I can't help but to compare it with all the corridors the government has launched. All this corridors is actually taxpayers money spent on ideas only, nothing concrete.

It is actually building of infra-structures to attract investments into the country. Nothing new at all, but with the term 'corridors' being used, it sounded so much better and grand.

For all I care, the government can claim to spend billions building such a corridor from Perlis down to Johor, including kick-backs mind you, and all we will attract is small investors, which will definately not justify the amount spent.

Why? Contrary to what our ministers are saying, Malaysia simply does not have a conductive environment to do business. Maybe we have that 3 to 5 years ago but is just isn't the case now. Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand fast catching up, if not surpassed Malaysia already!

What we really need is not 'Keep ReInventing'. We need new ideas, directions and mentality. We need people who are able to project these qualities, and as far as I know, BN cannot do it. To do with old ideas with new packaging is suicidal.

'Keep ReInventing'???????

written by Sagaladoola, February 26, 2008 00:37:29
Do you know why Malaysians are always busy and do not have a good life?

That is because of the rip-offs. They even try to do it during elections. Goodness gracious. Someone please ask BN leaders this question when they campaign over the constituency. Question them , ask them what the hell are they doing with the National Heritage = UM . Money more important than heritage is it?

written by Motherchell, February 26, 2008 00:40:20
My blood boils of how these hoodlums are selling the country off lock stock and barrel. The Royalty must stop giving these thiefs titles . they seem to misuse them so much and conversely give a bad impression of the Rulers by these actions. Was there not anyone to recommend otherwise about these awards????

There must be more voices of dissent from my Malay brothers. this is the only way to check the UMNOPUTRA'S Misuse of power.!!! They must spread the actuals around the rural folks to get them to think of what they need for their children.

WE MUST STOP THEM FROM FURTHER CARNAGE ON THE 8TH!!! BADAWI! SO MUCH FOR YOUR RELIGIOUS STUDIES on Islam Hardari.

written by doggone, February 26, 2008 03:12:44
I'm all out of fuming piss and is now grinding off the crown of my molars. It's everyone for himself under this pak-farking-lah's regime.

Isn't there someone in power who could stop the desecration of this prestigious symbol of higher learning by those uneducated prick? God damn those unsatiated mofos wanting more from our land.

Worst case scenario should 'pissfull' yet peaceful protest fails to wake up the power that be, we'll pass the hat around to get enough to pacify the devil.

A much revered institution, our Universiti Malaysia is on the chopping block.

I pledge RM300-00 into the pocket of M2M & Cronies Sendiriwang Berhad if they would look for an alternative piece of land for development and leave our UM alone !!

written by PakMalau, February 26, 2008 08:05:35
i'm goin to print this article n make tons of copies to share it with my family... mind u i have a big family

and hell yeah u know whats our vote gonna be
written by Atheist, February 26, 2008 08:18:21
Wahhhh .... what financial genuises we have here !!! While we are at it, let's move the Dataran Merdeka, Parliment, Tugu Peringatan and so on to Sepang. After all, they are all siting on valuable land !!!!!!!!!

Let's see if te MPs are willing to travel to Sepang for a Parliment siting. I remember that ministers refused to move to Putrajaya / Cyberjaya due to the percieved 'inconviniences'. Sooooo ... why the double standards towards UM staff and students.

This is how the rich rip the country from from the kampung boy .... take $1 dollar land, sell for $10 to the kampung boy .... give $2 ang pow, pay tax $2 and take $5 out of the country !!!!

AAB harvard degree ..... why ehhhh the dollar so weak and our people suffering ???????
written by Raja Gasper, February 26, 2008 08:20:22
The fault lies on voters who blindly vote.That is the reason(s) why BN can do
wonders like sell here and there but nothing can be done by the people to make
correction(s)to the political status of the country.

Make use your vote wisely this time and vote the party the most best in terms
of fairness,justice and wise in helping the people and not robbing the people.
written by Taikohtai, February 26, 2008 08:57:09
Castrol wrote:

I would call this re-packaging.

Aussies call it "Same Sh*t, Different Buckets"
written by East Highlander, February 26, 2008 09:18:00
What's the big hue and cry over a university ranked lower than our football team.
written by malaysianohope, February 26, 2008 09:19:10
G'Morning Pete,

If what you said is true which I tend to believe, I think we should resort to some positive action to highlight the blatant robbery like organising a demonstration at the site (remember Hindraf). I'm very confident that the Rakyat will support this dissent and coming a few days before the general election. Memang nak cabar kita Rakyat. So to all Voters remember who are your friends and who are your enemies.

The people in power who has taken us Raykat for granted, come 8 February shall be taught a lesson which you never forget. A pm who is bodoh sepat and umno behaving like a ganster.

VOTE OUT THE BASTARDS! VOTE OPPOSITION!
written by Farmer, February 26, 2008 09:23:44
Why u all blame the BN Govt?, blame the people who vote them for past decades.
U ALL DESERVE IT LAH.
This is what u want, this is what u get.

VOTE FOR A CHANGE!
written by Bigjoe99, February 26, 2008 09:24:17
OK for Malay to rip off Malaysian but not OK for Chinese to rip off well anyone but the Chinese I guess.
written by Birdbrain, February 26, 2008 09:51:44
http://votewisely.********.com...ority.html

Visit this site if you're unsure why you shouldn't vote for Barisan Nasional!
written by densemy, February 26, 2008 09:57:30
Yet another example of how the UMNOsi hold education in such low esteem

Meanwhile in the rest of the world education is seen as the key to the future
written by ibabonma, February 26, 2008 10:45:03
Why not they just take over MASJID NEGARA?
written by Malaysiaku, February 26, 2008 10:46:42
Everyone, do your bit and vote the BN out! Forget about all those 'gula-gula' they dish out during election times to get you to vote for them. Without voting they have already got 7 uncontested seats already, so we have to work harder now to get rid of them or at worst deny them 2/3 majority. We need EVERY vote from the public!
written by ultraman, February 26, 2008 10:49:28
Many voters are duped onto votong for BN. They did not realsie that they are manipulated by businessmen and politicians to vote BN. But after the voting they would find it is too late. CORRUPTION STILL GOES ON! ABUSE OF POWER UNABATED!BODY SNATCHING WOULD STILL GO ON! THE LIST GOES ON AND ON!
iN THE END WE FIND THAT WE ARE THE REAL LOOSERS.
BN MEMBERS GO ON PLUNDERING OUR COUNTRY'S RESOURCES: TIMBER; OIL; LAND AND WHAT HAVE YOU. BY THE TIME OUR GRANDCHILDREN GROW UP THEY ARE LEFT WITH NOTHING. BY THEN SOME OF THE YOUNGSTERS WOULD HAVE TO GO TO THAILAND, VIETNAM OR INDIA TO WORK AS MAIDS OR LABOURERS. THIS IS THE REALITY.
THE TIME TO ACT IS NOW! REDUCE BN MAJORITY!
VOTE ANY OPPOSITION. NO NEED TO CHOOOSE. ANY PARTY EXCEPT BN.
I KNOW OF A LOT OF CHINESE IN KEDAH ARE GOING TO VOTE PAS!
written by ibabonma, February 26, 2008 10:54:26
Dalam apa perkiraan sekali pun, akhirnya orang Melayu hapraklah yang bertanggungjawab keatas sebarang bencana yang didatangi oleh UMNO ... haramjadah.
written by Fart Fart Wah, February 26, 2008 11:23:13
and so the MALAYS AS USUAL MACAM KERBAU DICUCUK HIDUNG AKAN DI TARIK OLEH KETUANAN MELAYU GANG...
written by Tornado, February 26, 2008 11:34:16
Most Malaysian are dumbs and be enslaves by their own workers.
Most Malaysian still daydreaming habit, no action talk only.
written by NRR, February 26, 2008 12:40:41
Money from the de-gazzetted and sold Sungei Buluh forest reserve has gone to Australia. Now this guy is given another opportunity to exploit UM. I wonder what hold this guy has on the BN govt (especially Selangor State Govt)that he continues to get such large projects for free. May be the immigrant Top honcho of Selangor is grateful to him for letting him lead the state.
written by MNor, February 26, 2008 13:10:39
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gifam indeed very sick of the current ruling party. their day-light robbery cannot be accepted anymore and none of my family together with my relatives willvote for BN. I pray that this comming GE12 will deprive them of the 2/3 majority. God bless you all.
written by bumi non malay, February 26, 2008 13:53:05
Students cannot protest because of University Acts.

Lecturer, Dean, Professor all quiet because of job and perhaps losing their cut in the deal.

heritage Foundation all quiet because they too have a cut.

Even in countries that have NOT send men to space smell of CORRUPTION written all over!!

Lets Vote Opposition in in Selangor and Declare Independent from Malaysia....this is to stop the ROT from State Level. Lead the way Selangor to Declare independence from Malaysia!!

Sapu everything and to Hell with UMNO-BN & Cronies!!
written by Birdbrain, February 26, 2008 14:00:34
http://www.tvpas.com/material....ta&id=5740

I like what PAS said here, we should not be over materialistic in life.
written by Raymond, February 26, 2008 19:29:54
4 Billion... wow that will take them to the next life.. Believe me when these bastards have completely raped the country dry, they will leave. They have properties off Malaysia, in Europe and elsewhere. Eventually all will see the deeds of their greed, and one day, when there is no more to take, the strife and struggle within UMNO camp will happen. But sadly, our PM, and his cronies will be living elsewhere.
written by sonofman0, February 26, 2008 20:00:10
Excellent! East Highlander, excellent! If I could punch the "vote up" arrow 10 times to show my appreciation for your comment, I would gladly do so.

Have you heard of the Inspector of Works who regularly took bribes from contractors? When told that he would have no self respect left if he continued to do so, he retorted, "You cannot buy a house with self respect!" Difficult to argue with him, don't you think so?

We both know it's not the university they want. You've estimated its low value correctly. It's the land underneath they want! And why not? The majority of the voters keep saying, "Help yourself," election after election.
written by The Truth Seeker, February 26, 2008 20:29:29
the mastrermind behind this scam is annuar zaini, the man with 2 faces,
written by The Truth Seeker, February 26, 2008 20:56:08
annuar zaini had denied the award of this to hong leong, a chinese base company. he uses the press to play up the issue, even prime minister and DPM was interview, UM old boys association also was dragged in tho make noise.
today after 6 months after govt denial, this same piece of land is awarded to a company where glomac has 10% and the other 90% belongs to annuar zaini's nommines, and as BERNAMA chief, he blank out all protests and comments from NGO.

same style like pak la, no general election, on wednesday and yet precisely on wednesday he called for dissolved of parliament.
a man who talks about islam hadari and yet lied, so annuar you also lied and cheat, first sign allah given you is a mild stroke,which you got few months ago and soon allah would give you another heart attack to punish you.
written by turun padang, February 26, 2008 20:59:21
PEOPLE!!!!

I have been trying to ask all of you to go to the nearest operations ctr to help out & see what is actually in progress but No..

All of you here keep talking to the people who already non BN Supporter.

What's the point of keep talking to believer..WE have to convince the HARD CORE BN SUPPORTER AND IF WE REALLY WANNA SEE CHANGE IN THE COUNTRY, IT START FROM YOU!!!

DO you guys know, all effort has been done by BA & BR especially PAS
go to the nearest PAS , KEADILAN or DAP ctr to see for yourself & get those metarials & start distrubiting to your friends, neighbours, relatives & even strangers..

Go help get the message across!!!! SPREAD THE NEWS!! & ENLIGHTEN THE REST OF MALAYSIAN

Stop sitting infront of your computer & act like you have done enough!!!

And for those of you who really wanna help out.. here's the link to get your kempen materials..

http://www.bahankempen.com/

AND DO YOU KNOW WHO PREPARE ALL THIS MATERIALS? Its people from BA, especially PAS!!!

AND PEOPLE OF DAP, IF YOU CAN PLEASE LINK YOUR CAMPAIGN MATERIALS TO THERE TOO!
written by Loh, February 26, 2008 21:39:39
///Universiti Malaya (UM) said today it has submitted a proposal to the Ministry of Higher Education to develop under-utilised land of 27.5 acres (11 ha) out of 900 acres (360 ha) of its main campus land.///

The land which is underutilised should serve as reserve land for the university for future development in university education. Underutilization of land in the campus cannot be justified for it to be used for commercial development. The land can serve as green lung for the present.

When commercial development takes place within the campus, a case will soon be made that the remaining land have more commercial value than serving as a campus. Soon the campus will give way.

///UMBD has appointed Datuk Seri Panglima Mohd Annuar Zaini to the board of UM Holdings and to chair with the aim to fulfil the corporate aspirations of the university.///

One would have believed that the corporate aspirations of the university would be to turn the research outputs of the university for commercial use. Unfortunately, it now resorts to making profits through real estate development, utilising the land which the forefathers had generously bestowed to the university so that it had a suitable environment for the students to pursue higher education. Now, the Minister of Higher Education has the additional authority to decide on commercial issues connected to the university. It sounds like all ministries are given equal opportunity in commercial pursuits.
written by Uncorruptible, February 26, 2008 23:42:31
Give him a scholarship to study in England, gets his degree and hurries back to Malaysia to join in the den of bn thieves and steal from the country while robbing the people - the story of hairy khairy and his ilk. These scenarios like the above are played out time and again. Will the rakyat take action this time?
umno is a four-letter word that rhymes with luck.
umno/mic/mca/grkn = Axis of Evil
written by almurady, February 27, 2008 01:02:21
Vote For PAS ... what our chinese friend got to say..
http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=CB9nKQiNNhw smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by red door, February 27, 2008 02:11:52
TDM mengaku kezaliman terhadap DSAI.... interesting:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCO7Cm4qeL4

written by Ken Wong, February 27, 2008 10:43:23
General Election

We all know that once in a few years we are given the opportunity to vote. Why vote? It has no effect on the outcome.

One vote alone may not count but many votes together becomes a voice to be reckoned with. Let your voice be heard.

This election, more so than others is a vital election because we are at a cross roads. If we get it right we will prosper; if we get it wrong, we will suffer as we have seen in our neighboring countries.

To help you decide please ponder these issues:
1. Do you think our politicians in power are corrupt?
2. Do you think our civil service is corrupt?
3. Do you think they are incompetent?
4. Do you think the people in power sets themselves above the law?
5. Do you think our leadership has lost its way?
6. Do you think we are getting more & more divided by race & religion?
7. Do you think we have a questionable justice system?
8. Do you think that they are wasting our wealth?
9. Do you think our children will suffer more?
10. Do you want to see change?

If you say yes to 3 or more of these issues, don't you think we need change? YOU CAN MAKE CHANGE HAPPEN!!!

Just send this to 10 other relatives or friends and ask them to do the same to 10 of their friends and so on. By so doing we are enlisting the power of multilevel marketing. Yes the math works and it is awesome. By the 7th level this message would reach 1,000,000 people. Yes we can make our vote count! Better believe it!! We owe it to ourselves and to our children and to their children.

Malaysia Boleh! make it happen for ours and our children's future.
May the force be with you
written by The Truth Seeker, February 27, 2008 12:31:44
university malaya standard rating drop to 264 , malu la, the boaard should think ways to improved the standard, however they think ways on how to screwed university malaya land bank, so sad and the board should resign,
written by sonofman0, February 27, 2008 22:57:45
Zul4kulim,
Want to know Pak Lah's secret? He keeps his eyes closed so we won't know if he's LISTENING or not.

Arifabdull,
Sometimes a SINGLE WORD says it all!

Moving Train,
They've got the tools and the majority of the people's permission. So WHY NOT?

Don't Play God,
Just PLAY ELECTION. "What to do?" V O T E. You have the POWER. V O T E!

Sagaladoola,
Great name. I really like it!
BANG ON! To these guys money IS more important than heritage!
You now have the chance to do a REVERSE RIP-OFF! Rip them off with YOUR VOTE!

Motherchell,
It's not the titles they want. It's the COLD HARD CASH! Of course a title or two wouldn't hurt.

Doggone,
"Isn't there someone in power who could stop the desecration .......... ?"
Yes, there is! Y O U! Your VOTE is your POWER! USE IT! Without the INDIVIDUAL DROP of water, there can be NO OCEAN. You ARE that DROP!

Atheist,
They are all sitting on valuable land which they want to convert to HARD CURRENCY!

Ibabonma,
Wonder if Raja Petra can enlighten us.

NRR,
I don't hear the Australians complaining.

MNoor,
There is an INSTANT cure for your sickness. Unlike many other medicines, this one tastes like HONEY. Take a dose of V O T I N G!

Ken Wong,
The force IS YOU! V O T E!

I can see that you all are very CONCERNED for your COUNTRY. I too feel your PAIN and FRUSTRATION. For all of us ELECTION 2008 has to be a TURNING POINT. Never underestimate the POWER of the HUMAN SPIRIT. It brought down the berlin wall. It landed us on the moon. It will take us on the voyages of star trek.
But closer to home, it will unite our people as one people in one country. It will do this by PEACEFUL means through the power of the VOTE. It will not bow down to the dictates of violence, hatred and injustice. These are the enemies of our country.

Remember this song? It's an old song with deep meaning. I have changed it's words to suit our circumstances:

Where have all the voters goneYes we hear you Malaysia
Long time sleeping?We have all awakened,
Can you hear our country's callWe love you Malaysia
So loud and clear?We love you Malaysia.

Care to add a verse or two?

written by panca, February 27, 2008 23:18:14
They, The Champion of race and religion????

>>>Wake up from this BN lullaby that they have been singing and still do, putting you MALAYsian into REM Mode while they rip, rape, steal, cheat, plunder and get away with murder>are these what Malaysians choose to allow them to do to their country???

All their controlled MSM propogates their so-called "manifestos of lies" to hoodwink voters who aren't sober from 50 years of "track record", these aren't enough to prove their worst of wrong-doings?

Vote for CHANGE, it's the ERA OF CHANGE!
VOTE IS FOR CHANGE, THE PEOPLE OF MALAYSIA!
Just how much are we worth????
written by sonofman0, February 27, 2008 23:22:13
The verses should read like this:

Where have all the voters gone
Long time sleeping?
Can you hear our country's call
So loud and clear?

Yes we hear you Malaysia
We have all awakened,
We love you Malaysia
We love you Malaysia.
written by mikewang, February 28, 2008 00:04:42
UM might as well be allowed to die !
It is no longer the premier university in this region and remained corrupted by and after years of government policy.

However, I would rather see the university ground turn into a public park than to allow unscrupulous politicians lay their dirty hands on it.

written by gotsms, February 28, 2008 17:01:04
Tun Mahathir Admitted Victimizing Anwar Ibrahim in 1998!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPKrsCqznS0
written by truejustice, February 28, 2008 19:51:15
It's so obvious that any remaining land in the Klang Valley is prime property. One good example of development was the former Bukit Bintang Girls School which used to sit opposite Starhill. Hasty plans were made to relocate the school citing improper location due to shopping and entertainment area. Up came Pavilion and other developement which ensure that the developer made a nasty profit! Same goes for UM which has one of the largest remaining land in PJ prime area. No wonder the MB of Selangor has some unfinished business and decided to stay put smilies/grin.gif
written by cheekhiaw, February 29, 2008 12:54:08
The government is not just stealing from you while you sleep.

They are stealing from you while you sleep, while you work and while you eat. In fact, they have their stealing fingers on your money 100% of the time.

You know why?

That's because they had printed so much paper money and expanded money supply to the point that every Ringgit is worth lesser and lesser everyday.

Common Malaysians should know how much the value of the Ringgit had gone down by the size of their shopping bills.

How much had your shopping bills gone up by the last 4 years? 30%? They call it inflation.

Other countries selling to Malaysia know it and are therefore asking for more Ringgit for the same goods they sell to us. They call it inflation.

Our own Petronas and big businesses know that too. Which is why they are asking for more for their oil. Which is why the price of oil and kelapa sawit had gone up by 3 times in the last 4 years. They call it inflation.

Inflation is not a natural phenonmenon. It is man-made.

By printing money and expanding money suppy like nothing, they are in effect taking money from all of you on the quiet.

We are talking of hundreds of billions of such theft every year.

So while you sleep, eat and work, they are quietly emptying your savings accounts in the banks, EPF etc.

The numbers in those accounts may not go down but their real values are.

written by The Truth Seeker, February 29, 2008 18:40:45
hope barisan would lose more seats and the parliament would chased people like annuar zainni out from the university board.
written by sonofman0, February 29, 2008 18:41:37
Dear cheekhiaw,

Greetings from one who feels your pain and frustration. My comments are not meant to offend you. I just felt the need to comment with you, not against you.

We are the government. Therefore, are we stealing from ourselves? Of course many of us are not a party to this "theft". But more of us are. Therefore are we sanctioning it election after election? Do "the more of us" really believe that they are sanctioning theft?

Did you notice that we are not only ripped off while we work, eat and sleep? The collectors even have access to our coffins! No doubt you have heard of the DEATH TAX! They will tell you that they are not taxing your dead body but what you left behind.
In reality they are taxing what you cannot bring with you. They say that the tax will be used to build roads, hospitals, schools etc. Which of these is the person in the coffin going to use? You pay a toll for a road you will never use.

They are now even planning to make you pay for the water that you collect from the sky, acid rain and all! The Creator of the rain doesn't own it anymore.

I agree wholeheartedly with your statements on inflation. The little you have will be taken away from you and given to those who have more than they know what to do with. To these people ENOUGH is a BAD WORD.

Have you heard the story of the poor grandfather who stole a bar of chocolate to give to his little granddaughter? He just couldn't bear to see her watching the children of the NEVER ENOUGH section of society gorging themselves with longing in her eyes. Which child doesn't like chocolate?
Of course he didn't tell his grandchild that he stole the chocolate. He was caught and taken before a magistrate. The self-righteous court official berated the old man and put him away for six months. The old man cried and hung his head in shame as he was being led away to prison. Do you know
what separates this old man from the lower animal kingdom? We like to pride ourselves as being the highest in the animal kingdom - the human species. He had this one feeling which distinguishes us from the lower animal kingdom. He knew how to feel S H A M E. This feeling is a SPECIAL GIFT.
You cannot learn it. You cannot buy it. You can lose it only if you CHOOSE to SURRENDER it. The good news is you can regain it if you CHOOSE to do so. Isn't CHOICE powerful stuff? Shame points to REGRET. Doesn't regret amount to anything?

Did the old man do wrong? Yes, he did. Did the old man commit a crime? Yes, he did. Did he deserve six months in prison? Doesn't shame point to REGRET? Doesn't regret amount to anything? YOU DECIDE! By the way, this is not based on a true story, it IS a true story! Tell me honestly, didn't you shed a tear or two when you read this story?

There are those who steal far more, not out of necessity but out of avarice. Many of them have never stood before a court official and never will. These will never know to which part of the animal kingdom they belong to.

You are correct. Petronas is OURS. So is the land on which "kelapa sawit" is grown. We must ensure that the huge profits from these resources remain OURS.

As for your second last line, I have to make a correction. They're not doing it quietly anymore. It's all in the OPEN.

Have a good life, cheekhiaw. If you're a voter, may the FORCE of the VOTE be with you!

written by cheekhiaw, February 29, 2008 18:59:34
Hi sonofman0,

Nice grandfather story that one.

I am not sure what the moral of that story was but would suggest the more 'compassionate' ones think about this:

What if the old man was actually stealing chocolate for sale everyday except that the originator of that story chose to tell us the story differently?

written by cheekhiaw, February 29, 2008 19:04:13
sonofman0,

I did not claim to have any share in Petronas or kelapa sawit. Most of US don't.

Perhaps you are speaking for someONES else?

written by cheekhiaw, February 29, 2008 19:07:37
sonofman0,

If the grandfather story is supposed to be an analogy to what I was describing, then the grandfather is the government, and the child is Petronas and the big businesses.

There is no equivalent of the righteous cop and court official in my writing.

Just in case you have a different interpretation.

written by Jutawan, March 02, 2008 12:10:42
POLIS RAJA DI MALAYSIA
written by Jutawan, March 02, 2008 12:11:48
POLIS RAJA DI MALAYSIA (PRDM)
written by sonofman0, March 02, 2008 12:18:54
Hi cheekhiaw,

Hope you are in good health. Thank you for responding to my comments.

I think you are a compassionate person. Otherwise you would not have "suggested the more compassionate ones think about this".
The old man was wrong. He should not have stolen the chocolate. The magistrate was correct in pronouncing him guilty. But the magistrate only judged the "deed". He did not pay attention to the "intention".
His judgment lacked mercy. That is why the sentence was so harsh! This court official did not know when to show mercy. Now, those wealthy thieves who steal not out of necessity but for sheer greed; these are the ones who should be shown no mercy.

The old man was not a habitual thief. That's why he broke down and cried and felt shame. Habitual thieves normally do not behave like this. No matter how many times you send them to prison, they will steal again.

The oil belongs to Malaysia. We are the citizens of Malaysia. Therefore, strictly speaking we are all shareholders. Petronas is only the caretaker. The government must use the profits from the sale of this oil for the benefit of all Malaysians. Unfortunately, this is not always the case.
Taxes from "kelapa sawit" should also be used for the benefit of all Malaysians.

The grandfather story is not an analogy. It is a straight forward one.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to read my comments. Feel free to do so anytime.

All the best to you.

written by cheekhiaw, March 02, 2008 15:51:21
Hi sonofman0,

Hope you are in sound health.

Just to see where you are coming from, how would you judge Hishamuddin and his waving of a crooked knife?

That is one somefather you should have known well by now.

written by sonofman0, March 03, 2008 12:35:26
Good to hear from you again, cheekhiaw.

Many of us pay too much attention to the person rather than the action and the message. So we spend valuable time hurling invectives at the person's personality. In the case of most politicians it's like "pouring water over a duck's back". It's better to use the water to wash our eyes so we can "see clearly".

People like the one who "waved the crooked knife" are of no consequence in the political scene. Others before him have done what he has done. Others after him will repeat what he has done. They are merely tools and camouflage. The puppet masters are well hidden behind the camouflage. They decide on the action and the message.

What is the "crooked knife"? A butter knife? A bread knife? The answer will reveal the message. The important part of the message is the INTENT! Is it political posturing, or is it OMINOUS?

For my part, I prefer to look upon it as political posturing, for the time being. I may be wrong.

Have a good day!

written by cheekhiaw, March 03, 2008 14:58:35
sonofman0,

Then tell who are the puppet masters, and the action and the message behind the waving of the crooked knife...

written by klantikj, March 05, 2008 00:11:12
From JKR insider,

Samy no value already starting meeting with JKR about this. Ask JKR to involve in this project. Not much detail known. Still trying to korek korek korek.
written by zeff, May 21, 2008 11:15:36
may i ask what is our agong mizan doing? lol