Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow The Threat to Secular Democracy In Malaysia

The Threat to Secular Democracy In Malaysia PDF Print
Sunday, 24 February 2008 17:13

For all its weaknesses, secularism remains the only safeguard we have to keep our country on a democratic track. And for that reason, the democrats among us must be prepared to defend our secular democratic and plural public domain at all costs, come what may.

by Farish A. Noor

AS far as complex plural societies go, Malaysia has to be one of the most complex and plural societies in the world at the moment. There are few countries with a racial, ethnic, linguistic and religious mix like Malaysia’s and I have to confess that I am more than annoyed when I meet Middle-Eastern friends who occasionally offer me nuggets of wisdom when they pontificate about how religious pluralism can and should be managed in Malaysia.

An Egyptian colleague once opined that Malaysians can and should be more tolerant of each other; until I pointed out to him that in Egypt – which is 98% Muslim – the Catholic and Coptic minorities are in a rather sorry state despite the fact that as such a small minority they could not possibly threaten the Muslim identity of present-day Egypt. If some right-wing conservative Egyptian Muslims cannot abide by the idea of having a tiny 2% Christian minority in their midst, then how would they cope with living in a country like Malaysia where the non-Muslim population is nearly 40%?

This pluralism is perhaps one of the greatest assets Malaysia possesses and is blessed with. It is certainly not a problem and thus should never be pathologised as such. Religious diversity is not an illness that infects the body of the state or nation; nor should it be seen as a handicap.

But what the state has to do in such a context is to play the role of honest broker and to create those vital common public domains where interaction, cooperation, respect and recognition can develop. For any state to appeal and cater to the demands of only one group, and in particular the majority, reeks of bias and uneven compromise; which in turn can only lead to further majoritarianism dominating the arena of national politics.

Religious lobbying

Thus, it is with these considerations in mind that we look at the election campaign in Malaysia today. Over the past few weeks, a host of religious lobby groups and NGOs have called upon the government to take up the concerns of their respective members and constituents.

We are all familiar now with the demands of the Malaysian Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf), that were couched in terms of a somewhat sectarian communal demand for the respect and protection of Hindu temples, among other things. The Malaysian Council of Churches have called on Malaysian Christian voters to vote wisely; while the Malaysian Consultative Council on Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Sikhism and Taoism have called on the members of their respective faith communities to pray for the nation’s betterment and for election candidates who will uphold freedom of religion in the country. At the same time a coalition of Muslim NGOs and lobby groups have likewise issued their demands, calling on the political parties that are contesting in the elections to address their sectarian concerns which include the rejection of the idea that Malaysia is a secular state and of religious pluralism if it implies that all faith and belief systems are equal.What do these developments tell us about the state of Malaysia’s populist politics today?

Firstly, it would indicate that there is the emergence of an increasingly vocal, visible and powerful parallel civil society that operates along the basis of particularist religio-communitarian demands and which advocates the concerns of their specific targeted constituencies only.

With the rise of religious-based consumer groups, workers groups, professional groups, etc. it would seem that the space of secular civil society seems to be shrinking on all fronts. Issues such as workers rights, gender equality, environmentalism et al. that were once neutral issues in a secular public domain have now been “claimed” by exclusive religious groups instead; and we may eventually end up with the rather absurd situation where instead of having a universal (and secular) lobby on environmental concerns, we are left with Muslim-based, Christian-based, Hindu-based and Buddhist-based sectarian environmental groups instead.

The second observation is that Malaysian society itself seems to be splitting apart, thanks to these centrifugal forces let loose by five decades of divisive sectarian politics that was initially race-based and now increasingly religion-based. If this trend continues, and Malaysian Muslims think they can only find security among fellow Muslims, and the same trend takes hold in the other communities (made evident in Hindraf’s call for Hindu solidarity), then what will happen to the very idea and ideal of a universal Malaysian citizenship that equalizes all of us?

The third observation is that the Malaysian government – which should have dedicated its time and energy to uniting these communities and forging a common public space and common universal identity based on universal citizenship – has singularly failed in this task; and has instead perpetuated the logic of racial, ethic and now religious compartmentalism by catering to the exclusive demands of the sectarians instead. The erroneous logic of racial divisions that underlies the Barisan Nasional (BN) formula has now come full circle, and the rise of religious communitarian politics in Malaysia is the nett result.

What we are witnessing is in fact the slow and calculated dismantling of the ideal of a Malaysian Malaysia itself, thanks to the growing ethnic and religious communitarian politics that we see in the country. The few groups that are calling for the Malaysian state to affirm its secular stand and identity are doing so for the simple reason that they know that only a neutral secular state that treats all the religious communities on an equal basis can in fact stem the rise of divisive religious sectarianism in the country. But does the state listen, and will it heed these warnings?

This leads us to the most alarming observation of all: It is clear that with the present set up of the BN – with Umno dominating the coalition and dictating the terms of BN’s normative politics – that this religious communitarianism is not about to be contained. Instead, we have seen the Umno-led government cave in time and again to the demands of the conservative Islamists who today are even calling for the state to reject any claims of being neutral and secular. Umno’s dependency on the Malay-Muslim vote bank (for fear of losing seats and votes to PAS), means that it will turn to the Malay-Muslims for support. Yet historically, the Umno leadership has cultivated the support of the Malay-Muslim vote bank without attempting to reform or open up the mindset of the Malay-Muslims in the process.

BN’s divisive politics and Umno’s narrow ethnic and religious-based appeal means that it is now stuck in an impasse of its own making: dependent on the Muslim vote, it cultivates that constituency while allowing the communitarians to dominate it at the same time; which in turn means that the tone and tenor of normative populist Malay-Muslim politics remains sectarian and communitarian.

Losing faith

Equally worrying are the signs that non-Malay and non-Muslim communities are losing faith in the Malaysian project itself, and likewise replicating the communalist race and religion-based politics of the majority. In this respect, Hindraf is merely a symptom of a deeper problem in Malaysia, that of communalism taking to the path of political mobilisation.

This then brings us back to the question of what Malaysian identity means today, and whether the very idea of a universal plural democratic Malaysia still has resonance in the country. The results of the 12th general elections in Malaysia may hopefully provide us with some clues as to whether the Malaysian dream of creating a Malaysian Malaysia that is truly plural, democratic and secular still holds, or whether we have passed that invisible line and are now living in a thoroughly divided and sectarian society where the notion of a national body politic is merely a mirage. As a secular democrat, I hope and pray that it is not too late for us to rescue the idea of a democratic and secular Malaysia that is home to us all and with a government that treats all communities with equal respect.

But we end with this one simple warning: The challenge that stands before any government of a society as plural as ours is to develop a national politics that is inclusive and accommodating to all, giving every citizen a space and a place in the national narrative and national identity. The safeguard that ensures that such a politics of universal representation can take place is a secular democratic system where the state remains the honest neutral broker between all communities, and does not favour one community over others.

Any attack on the very idea of secularism is therefore an attack on the value of universal equality itself, and those who condemn secularism as being “un-Godly” or corrupt are really the ones who wish to destroy the secular basis of a free and equal society where every citizen is accorded the respect that she or he is due. When the attacks against secularism come from the representatives of the majority ethnic-religious community (such as was the case with the rise of Hindutva supremacists in India, and Muslims communitarians here in Malaysia), what we face is nothing short of the rise of the tyranny of the majority.

For all its weaknesses, secularism remains the only safeguard we have to keep our country on a democratic track. And for that reason, the democrats among us must be prepared to defend our secular democratic and plural public domain at all costs, come what may.

written by hiro, February 24, 2008 17:27:39
There is every reason for voters to fear voting for BN, for it would mean more religious bigotry and institutionalised racism, the twin weapons that perpetuate money politics and corruption in UMNO and Barisan Nasional Government.

For more, see: http://hiroblog2007.********.com/

for the following articles:

1) An Appeal To All Malaysian Voters,

2) A Further Appeal to Anyone Who Thinks BN Sucks, and

3) Voting Out of Fear.
written by varvoom, February 24, 2008 17:31:23
Turkey is one good example for secular constitution with Islam as the majority's people religion(94% of their citizen are muslim)
written by cheekhiaw, February 24, 2008 18:10:02
The only reason why countries with more than 90% of people following one religion are the way they are is because the people were forced to adopt it.

As an example, Egypt was Coptic Christian (thanks to the swords of the Greeks and Romans) long before Islam was founded. Christians like the Greeks and Romans themselves.

By law of averages, if Islam is so 'true' the ratio of Muslims in Greece and Italy today should also be like Egypt's.

But it is not. The difference is the rulers of Greece and Rome wielded a different sword from that of post-Coptic Egypt.

It is the same with all religions all round the world.

Why do you think Hishamuddin wields a crooked knife?

So you think religions are great?

written by mypanida, February 24, 2008 18:18:24

rebuff them at any opportunities.....those so-called champion of ketuanan melayu...

don't they realise that a lot of FREE Malays are overseas and not thinking of coming back because they have a conscience and are not cowed into backing the BN...

rebuff all religious bigotries.....

rebuff all those mullahs....

talibanisation is coming our way.....

written by chin, February 24, 2008 18:29:21
Farish,

I totally agree with your evaluation and the time may soon come when we will have to stand up for what we believe in.

written by Loh, February 24, 2008 22:19:42
///Umno’s dependency on the Malay-Muslim vote bank (for fear of losing seats and votes to PAS), means that it will turn to the Malay-Muslims for support. Yet historically, the Umno leadership has cultivated the support of the Malay-Muslim vote bank without attempting to reform or open up the mindset of the Malay-Muslims in the process. ///

That is the problem with political monopoly where UMNO has found the tested means of getting votes from Malay-Muslims. UMNO was not prepared to be judged by its work in doing good to the nation. UMNO found the divide-and-rule approach meets their needs for votes. That was the reason why it would negate on its promise to review Article 153, and since May 13 and the advent of NEP, to keep on to the most convenient means of returning to power by inculcating the concept of ketuanan Melayu among the Malays.

Early exodus of non-Malays in response to NEP was treated with disdain when the then PM the late Razak called them ‘good riddance‘. Since then one to two million people found abodes in foreign countries based on their qualification to ‘pay taxes’. The people who left were law-abiding citizens in the first place. Their continued presence in the country would have no doubt helped created the critical mass required to run knowledge-based economy, and helped raised the standard of living of the country. But then, the exodus had satisfied the secret desire of the people in power to cleanse the country of plural religions, to the extent possible.

When the case was made for NEP to create Malay millionaires rather than to alleviate poverty mainly for Malays, the powers-that-be utilised it to park public funds in the hands of cronies as fodders for money politics. Since then UMNO has become a gang of a few, by a few and for a few.

NEP was to be for 20 years, and with an objective of getting Malays to own 30% of corporate ownership. Had UMNO kept its promise, a review of the achievements should have been undertaken in 1990. That was not done. The reasons were later made known when ASLI presented its report in 2006, 16 years later than it should to have come out. ASLI’s report said that the 30% target had been exceeded. The government went into denial mood, with both the PM and the DPM declared that EPU would show government statistics to prove ASLI wrong. Some 18 months have passed, and the government has not revealed the methodology and the statistics. What was more telling of the government intention was the outburst by the son-in-law of the PM that the government would be increasing the target of 30%, had that target been achieved. One does not know whether the son-in-law was speaking for the PM. What is clear is that the government has no intention of removing the single most important policy which underpins all the ills in the country, starting with legalised corruption to making national sol aridity an impossible dream.

When the government policies are clearly in the name of the interest of the Malays, rather than all Malaysians, it has in fact allowed all actions including ethnic cleansing done in a non-violence manner. The destruction of temples, the snatching of dead bodies for Muslims burial, and the declaration of the country as Islamic state are just the actions to tell the world that the non-Malays are temporary beings in the country, and soon it will be totally Islamic either through migration or through conversion. The country has already gone into the path of no return. The Muslims in the country are fighting a losing battle to live Islamic life based on their own understanding of the religion. They will soon conform to state-legislated form Islamic living.
written by datnari, February 24, 2008 22:56:47
The only solution that can resolve all UNITY problems in this country is to close down the God forsaken party of monkeys known as UMNO!!!

You bury this f**ked up group, and i assure you all will be fine in this beloved country of ours.....peace and harmony will return to us as once was during our childhood days.
written by DontPlayGod, February 25, 2008 00:56:04
This Islamic thingy will no longer be a problem when the percentage of Muslim Malays exceed 80%. By then, the other races and religions no longer feature in Malaysia's political scenario. Malaysia will become an Islamic state by then. All kafirs/infidels like some of us here need only make up their minds whether they would like to live in a Taliban Islamic state, or leave.

Can't you see the Islamic group movements growing more vocal by the day? Can't you see the "little Napoleons" mullah's and Islamists making their own Islamic rulings in schools, and other Government Institutions?

As the Americans would put it, "there ain't nothing you can do about it", or as the MP for Jerai would put it, "If you are not happy with it, just leave". BTW, this Jerai MP, has been well rewarded by the powers-that-be in UMNO. He has been made chairman of the UMNO Assembly, and he will again be standing for this Election. It just goes to show the true colours of UMNO, doesn't it?

As Dr.Syed Alwi of Singapore wrote quite some time back, the only way for Malaysia to remain secular is for the Muslim Malays to maintain their percentage at the present level, i.e. below 60%. But UMNO doesn't want that. The Tun has alread opened the floodgates of the Muslim Malays production factories, and UMNO through its BTN has also reminded the Malays to fulfill this population increase.
written by Tompios, February 25, 2008 03:35:08
"Islam is the official state religion of Malaysia" - Being state official religion it does not mean that Malaysia is an Islam country. The Republic of Indonesia, there are at least five official religions for her people. I think, Indonesian are far more happier in term of pluralism religions than Malaysian. Pluralism here does not mean plurality in their faith but more on integrity among religious faith.

But, as far as I know, the trouble makers in Malaysia are those people who 'think' Islam is the best religion in the world. These people will force other to accept their idea and oppinion and do not realize that it is all about personal asumptions. You and I might be wrong. People claimed that Islam is the truest religion. Why? Because the Quran said it so, that is why it true! Oh God!! Has mercy on me!! Hmm, I will not blame you for your single direction state of mind because that is your oppinion and beliefs. But, think of other's capabality in their brain then you will understand how God has given us the plurality of minds. God has prepared us one set of personal-individual brain so that we can think differently and personally to come close to Him. Those sacred books and its Laws are just an intrument on how we people see God in the different ways and abilities.

PEMBELA! you are trying to spent your life in hell situations. Your destination is killing other human being with your static-brain and bloody-hands. You start to do your God whose name is Allah a great JOB to vanish human being in Malaysia. Do you think that if all Malaysians are (converted to) Moslem than real hapiness and peaceful situations will covering this nation? NO! NO! NO! Until now, I do not see any dominate Moslem countries that really have ability to govern in peacefully their governments. These country still need non-Moslem countries to do many things. Why because their leaders are incapable to govern even theirselves. Do you believe? As for me - anwer is YES! Why? Because people like you PEMBELA is really PEM-Pembawa BE-Berjuta-juta LA-Laknat. Tinggallah di luar planet ini wahai PEMBELA dan mereka yang sewaktu dengannya.

Non-Moslem can live without Moslem but Moslem cannot live without Non-Moslem. Moslem agenda will finish if no Non-Moslem around and they will start biting and kicking each other just like Christians did during dark ages. Luckily, Christians learn how to live in harmony on this small planet and waiting for the (personal oppinion) 'promise' to go to other place 'heaven'.

My suggestion is, we Malaysian should have a 'golden rule' in our heart. Be fair to one and another. Killing other's beliefs will not make you far better then other. Religion is just like food menu on paper in a 7,000,000,000 (7 gigs) stars restaurant. It is all about your personal taste. Do not threatening other for not choosing your taste! No need! Very childish! Do not depicting your God-Allah with your behaviour. Your Allah is called Ar-Rahman and Ar-Rahim, right? So, act like HIM.
written by Bigjoe99, February 25, 2008 08:08:45
When the Prime Minister of this country believes that all he need is to win Kelantan and his mandate is unquestionable even if ALL the other minorities vote against him, what can be hoped for.

This PM said: This is not a secular country. His qualification that we are not a theocracy is a load of crap. There is no such thing. You can have a secular country that tolerate religious freedom and allow for government role in religion BUT you can't say we are not secular and then say we are not theocratic. Its oxymoronic. You can have different shades of theocracy but its either a theocracy or its secular. A theocracy that starts out benign just slips further and further in the face of tough challenges and demands. Its no different than dictatorship, you get worst and worst.

The truth is the idea behind all this is that same idea Lee Kuan Yew has. Instead of a benign dictatorship, they want a benign theocracy. They think Lee Kuan Yew can have it, why can't they?

Firstly, come hell or high water. Malaysian don't want to be Singapore. They think they are better and in fact is angry they are NOT. Secondly, even his son Lee Hsien Loong has admitted that PAP autocratic ways are untenable anyway and a more open, transparent and democratic Singapore is necessary for survival.

KJ wants to be Lee Kuan Yew, not Dr. M. That is what we should be scared about.
written by peace, February 25, 2008 10:57:36
Dear all malaysians,

Vote opposition doesn't mean that we are anti-gomen or we don't love our country malaysia. We vote for opposition because we LOVE OUR COUNTRY MALAYSIA and WE WANT CHANGES in the current gomen. period.
written by densemy, February 25, 2008 12:34:30
Malaysians live in a world of self induced delusion. You talk like this is the only pluralist country in the world... when in fact every country is pluralist, whether it be racial pluralism or religious pluralism or classist pluralism or sexual pluralism

As a pluralist nation Malaysia has failed dismally... Dont go quoting Egypt which is another dismal failure... why not instead compare Malaysia with Hawaii

There never was a Malaysian Project and the secular democratic society began to be eroded minutes after the Constitution was signed... This is yet another Malaysian delusion

The Chinese were isolationist right from the day they shovelled their first load of tin ore, and the Indians were the same from the first day they tapped a rubber tree

... and the reason? The reason is that there is NOTHING about Malay society that any other race would want to emulate. So if they dont want to be Malaysian then they might as well stay Chinese/Indian/Portuguese etc etc
written by cheekhiaw, February 25, 2008 13:53:40
densemy,

If the Chinese and Indians were isolationists from the very start, they wouldn't have bothered to learn and speak Malay before the days of 'ketuanan Melayu' forces them to.

To further figure that the cause was there is nothing worthwhile to 'emulate' (your words) from the Malays smacks of arrogance.

May be you are of that type but don't speak for the other Malaysians.

written by peace, February 25, 2008 17:51:17
densemy,

I would cordially invite you COME TO EAST MALAYSIA especially Sabah how our 30 of ethnics group here CAN LIVE IN PEACE AND HARMONY. Jangan saja jadi KATAK DIBAWAH TEMPURUNG!!!