Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow TUNKU ABDUL AZIZ: All have a stake in good governance

TUNKU ABDUL AZIZ: All have a stake in good governance PDF Print
Sunday, 24 February 2008 09:51

By : Tunku Abdul Aziz, NEW STRAITS TIMES

MY article, "English Proficiency Will Empower Us", that appeared in the New Sunday Times of Feb 17 has brought forth an avalanche of support for English as the language of instruction in our country's system of education.

Although the response was not altogether unexpected, the degree of unanimity took me by surprise. There was not one dissenting voice.

I thank you all for taking the trouble to write in with your thoughtful, encouraging comments on an issue that has been on everyone's mind ever since the policy change to replace English with Bahasa Malaysia was put in train all those years ago.

A lot of water, I am reminded, has flowed under the bridge, but if only the government of the day had consulted and engaged parents and teachers as partners instead of treating them as dissidents before that fatal decision was made, it would have realised how one political miscalculation would have had the effect of turning our country upside down in educational terms, with far reaching implications for our competitiveness as a whole.

That single decision, motivated solely by political expediency, had robbed young Malaysians of their rights to the rich repository of knowledge that only the English language could effectively unlock.

Much remains to be done by the government to create a social and political climate of inclusiveness.

The argument used in the past that a victory even by a single vote at the polls legitimised everything was disingenuous because it was tantamount to depriving us of the right to be consulted on matters that affected us most directly and personally.

Effective democratic governance must be predicated on a healthy working partnership between the people and their elected representatives: it is a shared undertaking, though admittedly not a joint responsibility.

This is because the job of an elected government is to govern in a transparent and accountable manner. It must do so by putting the interests of the citizens at the centre of all of its actions, first and last.

As the country goes to the polls in the next few days to elect its representatives to both the state and national legislatures, I reflect, with gratitude, on the many blessings this country has enjoyed since independence.

There have been both trying and dangerous times that confronted us but, on balance, we have weathered the storms. We have been well served by each successive administration.

There is, for the new government that will be formed after the final results are announced, a great deal of unfinished business to attend to urgently.

The list is long and varied, ranging from the economy to national integration, with any number of social and political hot potatoes in between.

The new government must never forget that its legitimacy to govern stems, first and foremost, from the voters' faith and trust that it will do the right things by them. It must never take public trust for granted, and must reciprocate this by putting all of its actions under public scrutiny. Trust begets trust.

With many new faces in the Barisan Nasional line-up, and assuming that they believe in public duty in the public interest and are going to function as thinking ethical leaders instead of party storm troopers, we hope the Dewan Rakyat will regain its rightful place as the protector of the nation's moral and ethical values.

There are a number of critical areas of governance to be addressed on a non-political basis.

Corruption in the widest possible sense, and not just bribery, must be tackled with courage and imagination because it retards development. The Anti-Corruption Agency under the current leadership is doing a reasonable job, but it needs more power to act decisively.

I believe that the prime minister can leave an important and lasting legacy if he decides to concentrate on policies whether they be economic, social or political that will carry all the people of Malaysia with him.

Such policies must be underpinned by ethical values and high standards of public behaviour.

And they must be seen to be guided by a sense of justice for all. The government has a duty to put all of its actions that have public interest implications in the public domain.

High and often unrealistic expectations have been raised that must be met. The Barisan Nasional coalition will romp home, and govern this country yet again as it has done for half a century. Of that we have absolutely no doubt, and we hope that the trust it enjoys will not be misplaced. The government must remember what Abraham Lincoln once said, "What is morally wrong can never be politically right".

In our parliamentary system of government, the opposition parties too have an important role to play, and this they must do in order that the system of checks and balances, which is so vital to the proper functioning of our democracy, remains inviolate.

Remember, all of us have a stake in good ethical governance.

written by Cash Money, February 24, 2008 10:07:03

How to expect accountability and good governance when you think BN is going to romp home Abdul Bodoh Aziz.

Stop quoting what others said and do us all a favour find another career, you are a disgrace to your profession.

written by cwy, February 24, 2008 10:39:23
English is definitely a language commonly used internationally for all purposes.
Mahathir also agreed, just before he retired from politics, to use English as the medium of Instruction in Teaching Science and Mathematics in Secondary school ( in a way admitted he had done wrong to use Bahasa in the schools and Universities.

In order to speed up the usage of English at all levels of formal education, we have to vote for Barisan Rakyat lead the leaders who are mostly proficient in English and possessing the foresight for moulding a harmonious and progressive Malaysia.

I support you!

I support BR for a developed and competative Malaysia at this age of Globalisation!

Support BR! Hidupkan Malaysia !
written by notsosmart, February 24, 2008 11:50:46
Enough is enough. Not going to vote the BN in this coming election. For 50 years, they have being toying with our national economy, education, technology...etc. They have wasted too much money on policies and projects that don't generate good results. How many things that you can claims that this is a proudly made Malaysian product or technology. Too much failure. The current system of governance must need a correction badly.

Enough is enough. Not another 50 years of failure. Globalisation is moving too fast for us risking to takes another attempt. Don't want to see our national still running on natural gas while others have gone into fusion. We want a new transparent, fair and functional strategies to turn our country into a highly respected nation. No more bull-shitting the rakyat, corruption and authoritarian abuse.

Enough is enough, my Fellows Rakyat. Change your country system for a better future.
written by Toyolbuster, February 24, 2008 12:00:26
"...how one political miscalculation would have had the effect of turning our country upside down in educational terms,"

That was never a miscalculation. It was a typically well planned, well thought out, UMNO's selfish and greedy political strategy to hold on to power perpetually . Just like all the other constitutional policies that were blatantly amended according to their whims and fancies. Even before the word GO to "Malay-nise" the education medium, those BN fellas have had already transfered their own children into private International schools locally as well as abroad (does KJ ring a bell here). Those who did not, but were prepared, could afford to send their children for extra and special English medium studies. The rest of the common folks were left to ROT. But UMNO couldn't care less cos they have already identified their own children to lead the country in the future, and they certainly did not wish to see the others competing with their special breed.
written by Milo, February 24, 2008 12:03:51
Even TDM who was the one who replaces English with BM as the main medium of instruction in school during his term (despite having a huge ego) has admitted this hedious mistake and tried to change the scene. What cue else does the current government need to take immediate steps to stop the regression? Are the leaders so blind and impotent? Perhaps this is the problem. Political expediency is more important truth in solving problems in Malaysia. And here is the danger. If you let politics and not reason trumps, the problem will grow exponentially as the population increases over the years. Like global warming that is slowly but surely hurting us, in continuing thi stupid education policy, we will be creating a generation of "illiterates" in modern term which may drive us more and more backward in the world of knowledge. We HAVE TO to take immediate steps NOW!
written by densemy, February 24, 2008 12:17:52
Its true. One of the worst decisions the government ever made was to change back to BM as the language of education. That decision on its own is enough to relegate Malaysian education to the garbage bin, but you must realise there are other agendas at work in the decline of the education system, especially at a tertiary level.

Please note that the People's Declaration still doesnt advocate English as the main language of education
written by densemy, February 24, 2008 12:21:27
You have been far too forgiving when you state "We have been well served by each successive administration."

In fact each successive administration has neglected, manipulated and abused the goodwill and the faith of the Malaysian people. Governance for the people is a non-existent concept in Malaysia
written by Dreamlander, February 24, 2008 15:43:56
There was ONE very beneficial (to SINGAPORE) unintended outcome of this Bahasa Malaysia policy.
Many tens of thousands Malaysians denied a place in local universities just walked across the causeway, applied for a bursary and pursued and completed their U-level education in Singapore.
After graduation, due mainly to the 3-year bonded service, most stayed back in Singapore. Many, if not most, married a Singaporean spouse. Another incentive retaining them was the income & currency exchange disparities between Malaysia and Singapore.
This episode proved that Malaysia is a very generous country to its neighbors. We paid for 12 years of primary & secondary education here and all Singapore needed was to provide the last few years of U- education to capture a new recruit for its work force. It was on the efforts contributed by these expatriate Malaysians in Singapore that Singapore's economy took off to become what it is today.
Incidentally, this practice is still on-going.
written by AsamLaksa, February 24, 2008 16:36:36
For the record, I dissented against Abdul Aziz's idea of using English to teach Science and Maths in MT. I think it doesn't hit the right spot. I think Malaysians have good English proficiency is great, no arguments about that. But what I think is that fixing this alone is not good enough and misleading. You want better education and research standard, then end rote learning, get rid of quotas and encourage critical thinking.

Why no education big shot want to take a look at rote learning? Why no big shot pushinh to challenge the quota? Why no big shot questioning the need to ban activism and curtail freedom of expression in universities? You train them as robots, you get robots. You restrict their dreams for local uni place, you disempower them from day 1 they realise their hopes of their dream course in local uni is very very slim.

Forget what language you use, as long as you don't fix the fundamentals from primary school, you'll get the same disempowerment.
written by JUST, February 24, 2008 20:21:36
http://www.straitstimes.com/Pioneers Of Singapore/Lee Kuan Yew/Multimedia/STIVodcast_2348.html
written by JUST, February 24, 2008 20:22:18
http://www.nationmultimedia.co...044574.php
written by cheekhiaw, February 25, 2008 15:57:10
Remember, all of us have a stake in good ethical governance.

Just that some have smaller stakes than others.