Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Election 2008: Pas' non-Muslim surprise

Election 2008: Pas' non-Muslim surprise PDF Print
Friday, 22 February 2008 17:52

JOHOR BARU: Kumutha Raman looked nervous as pressmen, armed with notebooks and recorders, jostled for an interview with her.

Johor Pas commissioner Datuk Mahfodz Mohamed (left) with Kumutha Raman, the first non-Muslim womanfemale to be fielded as a candidate by the party, who will contest the Ulu Tiram state seat. On her right is her brother R. Logeswaran.

The 29-year-old law graduate, who had just been named as the first non-Muslim candidate to be fielded by Pas, listened attentively to the questions hurled at her, when Johor Pas announced its candidates at the headquarters in Batu Pahat.

She is contesting the Tiram state seat. But knowing the realities, perhaps Pas is fielding her under the Parti Keadilan Rakyat symbol, based on the electoral pact the two parties have made.

Still, is she in for a culture shock? Will she be able to speak the language of Pas where Arabic phrases and Quranic verses matter most? Will she have to physically cover herself more than ever?

"I know I won't feel alienated because I believe voters nowadays are open-minded," she said.

"I also know that Muslims and non-Muslims will be able to accept me."

A member of the one-month old Unity Bureau under the Johor non-Muslim Pas Supporters Club, Kumutha may be oblivious to the fact that she had broken the conservative Islamic party's 61-year-old tradition of only fielding Muslims as candidates.

"I joined the club because I see that Pas is not bent on racialism. To me all races, be they Malays, Chinese or Indians, are the same."

Making the announcement about Kumutha was Johor Pas commissioner Datuk Mahfodz Mohamed, who said the move signified Pas' tolerance towards other races.

Pas will be contesting in 34 state seats and nine parliamentary seats.

The party lost all the 37 state seats and 11 parliamentary constituencies it contested in the last general election.

This time around, fresh faces made-up one-third of the candidates and none of them were Pas Women's Wing leaders.

Ostensibly, the Johor Baru lass's candidacy is to woo support for the Islamist party from non-Muslim voters in Tiram, especially the Indian vote which comprises 14.39 per cent of that area's voters.

However, even during the announcement, there were murmurs of uncertainty amidst the applause following Kumutha's nomination.

"She is new, too new. And this is quite a task for her.

"The party leadership may want to introduce someone fresh to the party, but the members fear that too much hope is being placed on her.

"She may not be able to do it," a party member said.

Tebrau MIC division chief M. Soorianarayanan, whose division is in Tiram, was even more caustic.

"What is Pas doing? They are going to humiliate the girl and destroy her future in politics. The Indian community is going to hate her for aligning with the opposition," Soorianarayanan said.

The Tiram constituency is a Barisan Nasional stronghold.

In the 2004 election, BN's Maulizan Bujang beat Pas' Roslani Sharif, by a margin of 15,595 votes and the coalition is expected to repeat the feat.

Perhaps Kumutha's candidancy is to serve a greater goal in Pas' strategy to make it more relevant to Malaysians. - NEW STRAITS TIMES

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by revelation, February 22, 2008 18:06:42
SPOT THE DIFFERENCE?

"I joined the club because I see that Pas is not bent on racialism. To me all races, be they Malays, Chinese or Indians, are the same."
====> ONE IS SPEAKING IN THE NAME OF UNITY AND LOVE EACH OTHER.

"What is Pas doing? They are going to humiliate the girl and destroy her future in politics. The Indian community is going to hate her for aligning with the opposition," Soorianarayanan said
====> ANOTHER SPEAKING OF HATE, DESTROY, HUMILIATING...

nuff said... smilies/cry.gif
written by JohnQ, February 22, 2008 18:36:16
Even there are still islamic, i still support PAS as in the past bcos islamic state still far more rational and fair then the current corrupted pariah gov.
written by singam, February 22, 2008 18:41:17
All that the Indians of Ulu Tiram have to do is to review the videos of how the Indian community has been treated by UMNO, aided and abetted by MIC. Their frustration and anger have been stirred. They are looking for hope. Barisan Rakyat can deliver.

Ulu Tiram used to be a BN stronghold because of the solid block vote delivered by MIC. But times have changed. MIC and BN are in for a rude shock.
written by temenggong, February 22, 2008 18:42:29
Well done Kumutha! Well done Pas!!
written by temenggong, February 22, 2008 18:47:58
But I wonder why field her under PKR flag? Why not directly under Pas symbol?

As long as she understands and is conversant of Pas policies and constitution, the will be able to speak and explain to the masses.

Again wonderful move because this has managed to break the mindsets of the people. After Hindraf, this is the next best thing to happen. There goes a few more seats to the opposition. BN is now in real trouble!
written by Wisdom above, February 22, 2008 18:48:17
Finally, since 1984, the common aims of 'Barisan Rakyat' was displayed.

2008 is the year of 'Barisan Rakyat'.

'People's Front' speak volume in itself.

Syabas.
written by raven1958, February 22, 2008 18:50:44
AS the BN stares at a dwindled majority ...it is a nightmare thinking how many more seats then usual you are actually going to loose.....and worse still if you are going to loose the two thirds majority.........but the real nightmare begins when Chinese and Indians dont mind being members of PAS!!!...but what does the nightmare become when a Chinese or Indian actually becomes a PAS candidate.....UMNO, the Malay Muslim party hasnow become irrelevant.........
written by sickofitall, February 22, 2008 19:16:23
Well done, Kamutha!! PAS will do more for you than MIC ever can!!
written by sikembangcina, February 22, 2008 20:08:49
You GO Girl! we will support you all the way!!
written by MMhunter, February 22, 2008 20:30:39
can anyone please suggest some nice english website on the 12 general election.Website that provides a good read....cheers
written by AsamLaksa, February 22, 2008 20:32:40
Why the hell are grown ups talking like kids in a playground squabble???

"What is Pas doing? They are going to humiliate the girl and destroy her future in politics. The Indian community is going to hate her for aligning with the opposition," Soorianarayanan said.

Why can't they act like adults???

What Kumatha's opponents should say is best of luck, question her on the issues that she is planning to stand on and rebut them. This culture of ridiculing should end. Grow up!

We all look for sportsmanship and friendship in competitions like all the stuff you hear in the Commonwealth Games in Bukit Jalil. But Malaysian politics still have this prizefighter attitude. Please don't sound like bullies. Grow up!
written by thegodfather, February 22, 2008 20:34:51
PAS, I salute you. Go for it, Kumutha!!
written by musicmysoul, February 22, 2008 21:04:34
'Mystery' Tamil CD selling like hot cakes .....can we view this on the net please.Appreciate if the website can be forwarded...cheers
written by Debbie, February 22, 2008 21:29:28
NEW STRAITS TIMES mah , why u guys even bother reading this article?
written by hiro, February 22, 2008 21:41:47
It should be no surprise coming from NST. Note the subtlety. If NST wanted to end on a positive message of hope, it would have quoted the MIC fellow have his anti-opposition say and have the girl wrap up with a positve inclusive message.
written by AsamLaksa, February 22, 2008 21:49:37
Hiro, but NST still bodoh and nothing subtle. How are you going to make MIC look good when their division chief speaks like a pariah? Why can't MIC use someone who is more eloquent? How do these people get voted division chief?
written by Ben, February 22, 2008 22:00:18
You already have my vote. I will let other voters in the constituency know about your candidacy and encourage them to vote for you. Please remember to do your best for the voters once you are elected and also be gracious to the outgoing BN candidate who always have good intentions but somehow failed to deliver. I read somewhere that the road to hell is paved with good intentions.
written by Kcc, February 22, 2008 22:40:46
I'm a non-Muslim, but HIDUP PAS!!! Strange move, but a bold one indeed. So Kumutha, good luck to you; it will be tough, but it's not impossible.
written by The dragonheart, February 22, 2008 23:05:04
The Indian community is going to hate her for aligning with the opposition," Soorianarayanan said.

Are the Indian community that bad? Are the Indian thinking that oppositions are nation's enemy and not fellow Malaysian?
Don't the Indian had enough treatment from BN in the HINDRAF rally in KL?

Hmmm.. this mr Soorianarayanan should say sorry to Ms. Kumutha...and the Indians who supported her...
written by The dragonheart, February 22, 2008 23:10:20
PAS lost all the 37 state seats and 11 parliamentary constituencies it contested in the last general election.

Why?

Because Johorean will vote gay and lesbian monkeys as long as they are UMNO... In years to come the Johorean will realized all the land in the Iskandar Corridor will own by Singaporean and other foreigners... only than the Johorean will realized that made a mistake of voting gay and lesbian monkeys...but that would be too late...
written by Spear Bing, February 22, 2008 23:10:39
Kumutha should quickly set up her own blogsite with U-Tube/myspace video clips for the voters to view her speech and manifesto.

Quick quick, no time already. This news article by NST is a typical piece of skewed and biased report. Say goodbye to them and come out with your communication and publicity campaigns thru your website.
written by GermanMachine, February 23, 2008 00:14:02
Kumutha, you go gal!

My sincere blessing is with you.
written by varvoom, February 23, 2008 00:34:26
That's the way to show them, Well done PAS, the good old days are coming back!

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=egSzBxhxjiM
written by varvoom, February 23, 2008 00:36:31
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=egSzBxhxjiM
try this
written by Badaksumbu, February 23, 2008 00:40:06
from now onwards teach our young not to be racist!!!!
written by johanssm, February 23, 2008 01:45:53
Stranger things happened before,Oppositions be it PAS or whatever , must be progressive and democratic in nature.All elements of racial politicking are no longer suited in a globalised world.Therefore we need drastic actions and educates the people, voters and future voters as to why we must eliminates racist party such as umno,mic,mca.
Oppositions also need to state their stand regarding the NEP, how will they solves this issue
written by charcoy feng, February 23, 2008 02:04:05
That's the way girl..... You have just started the ball running. Bet you it's gonna have a snowball effect.... All the best.
written by rocky, February 23, 2008 02:19:21
Great work by PAS. A small step for PAS, a big step for Malaysians.

Now will UMNO be able to do the same? so who is fearless and true Malaysian?
written by wiltda13, February 23, 2008 03:05:43
Anyway.. PAS moved in right direction by fielding [b]A Non-Malay/Muslim Girl[/b] for this coming election.
written by singam, February 23, 2008 07:40:16
Spear Bing wrote - "Kumutha should quickly set up her own blogsite with U-Tube/myspace video clips for the voters to view her speech and manifesto."

The majority of the Indian voters do not have Internet access. Even of those who do, not all go to U-Tube, Kumutha has to make video CDs and distribute them widely.

In fact this most effective medium has to be harnessed by ALL BR candidates to counter the merciless onslaught of the MSM.