PEMBELA declaration & press statement PDF Print
Friday, 22 February 2008 16:48

MALAYSIA’S 12TH GENERAL ELECTION: ISLAMIC NGOs ELECTION DEMANDS

In view of the upcoming general election, Malaysia’s Islamic NGOs exercise their democratic right by calling upon political parties, election candidates and the future state and federal government to address issues concerning the interests of Islam, Muslim society and the nation.

The calls for a responsive government which is receptive to the aspiration of the people and the Muslim majority contained in a document called “Malaysia’s 12th General Election: Islamic NGOs Election Demands”. The document is a product of a consensus reached through a series of consultation among Malaysia’s main Islamic NGOs including Muslim Youth Movement of Malaysia (ABIM), Jamaah Islah Malaysia (JIM), Malaysian Chinese Muslim Association (MACMA), Syari’e Lawyers Association of Malaysia (PGSM), Allied Coordinating Council of Islamic NGOs (ACCIN), Wadah Pencerdasan Umat (WADAH), Muafakat Masyarakat Malaysia (MUAFAKAT) and Muslim Lawyers Association (MLA), Persatuan Ulama’ Malaysia (PUM), Teras Pengupayaan Umat (TERAS). (See the full list below).

The document comprises a host of demands which fall under six main items, namely the special constitutional position of Islam; Islamic education and da’wah (call to Islam); good governance; democracy and civil society; inter-ethnic and inter-religious relations; and Islamic faith and morals. Following are the summary of the demands:

1. Special Constitutional Position of Islam

• Defend the position of Islam as the Religion of the Federation under Article 3 of the Federal Constitution.
• Assert the significant role of Islam in the state and rejects the notion of Malaysia as a secular state.
• Defend and strengthen the position and jurisdiction of Syariah Courts under Article 121(1A) of the Federal Constitution.
• Legislate laws controlling the propagation of non-Muslim religions among the Muslims in Sabah, Sarawak, Perlis, Pulau Pinang and Federal Territories as provided by Article 11(4) of the Federal Constitution.
• Enhance the level of professionalism among the staff of Islamic agencies.
• Legislate Halal Food and Processing Act as a means to govern halal industry and enhance the enforcement of halal requirements.
• Take stern action against employers who prevent employees from practicing their Islamic religious duties at work.
• Prosecute those who cause religious disharmony, especially by making offensive remarks against Islam, under Section 298A of the Penal Code.

2. Islamic Education and Da’wah

• Increase the learning period of Islamic subjects in national primary and secondary schools.
• Set up Islamic higher learning and research institutions in specific fields such as education, technology and management.
• Guarantee academic and intellectual freedom by giving autonomous status to the universities.
• Re-instate and increase the per-capita aid to People’s Religious Schools (Sekolah Agama Rakyat, SAR) and provide free textbooks to students of these schools.
• Re-introduce the teaching of Mathematics and Science in Malay at national schools.
• The Ministry of Education to allow excellent students from private religious schools to enrol in boarding schools under the supervision of the ministry and the Majlis Amanah Rakyat (MARA).
• Extend the provision of government scholarships, which are currently enjoyed by Malay students, to non-Malay Muslim students.
• Increase the number of recipients of the Public Service Department’s scholarship award to Muslim students to further their studies abroad.
• The Ministry of Education to continue encouraging Islamic practices in schools.
• Provide special allocation to Islamic NGOs to carry out Islamic educational activities.
• The Ministry of Information to be sensitive toward the feelings of Muslim majority in devising broadcast policies; prioritize television programs that contribute to the development of a moral society; increase the number of Islamic education programs; and stop airing entertainment programs that promote hedonistic culture.
• Private television stations must adhere to the National Culture Policy and the National Education policy in selecting their programs.

3. Good Governance

• Step up the efforts to curb graft and abuse of powers among public officials.
• Appoint public officials among those who are free from graft, abuse of power and immoral conduct.
• Foster the internalization of Islamic values among civil servants.
• Public officials to make public declaration of their assets.
• Appoint senators among the leaders Islamic NGOs to oversee the implementation of Islamic policies and promote the welfare of Muslims.

4. Civil Society and Democracy

• Ensure that elections are clean, free and fair.
• Select election candidates among those who are of high integrity, good conduct and able.
• Ensure that the government exercises its powers in accordance with the rule of law and the constitution.
• Widen the democratic space in order to allow civil society institutions to contribute to social empowerment and nation building.

5. Inter-Ethnic and Inter-Religious Relations

• Enhance commitment to religious and racial harmony.
• Reject political parties and politicians who disregard special position of Islam in Malaysia and those who advocate the secular understanding of absolute religious freedom.
• Strictly enforce laws on the building of houses of worship irrespective of religions.
• Ensure that the sensitivities of local residents be taken into consideration before a house of worship is built in the area.
• Form a special committee comprising the representatives of Muslim organizations and local authorities to deliberate on applications to build non-Muslim houses of worship in Muslim-majority residential area.

6. Islamic Faith and Morals

• Reject the notion of religious pluralism which claims that all religions are the same.
• Reject the use of specific Islamic terms like “Allah”, “Ka’abah”,”Baitullah” and “Solat” to refer to certain dissimilar concepts in non-Muslim religions.
• Increase the number of religious enforcement officers and their level of professionalism.
• Strictly enforce the existing laws on religious and moral crimes.

The full document can be accessed at www.MYISLAMNETWORK.NET

The Islamic NGOs Election Demands are endorsed by the following organizations:

PERTUBUHAN-PERTUBUHAN PEMBELA ISLAM (PEMBELA)*ALLIED COORDINATING COMMITTEE OF ISLAMIC NGOs (ACCIN)*AKADEMI AIDIT*AL-HUNAFA*AL-ISLAH, BANDAR BARU SUNGAI BULOH*ALUMNI KOLEJ ISLAM KELANG (ALKIS)* ANGKATAN BELIA ISLAM MALAYSIA (ABIM)* BADAN NADWAH ISLAMIAH PAHANG*BADAN UGAMA & KEBAJIKAN MARA*DARUS SYIFA’*FORUM BERTINDAK ANTI MURTAD *FUTURE GLOBAL NETWORK (FGN)*FORUM PENYELARASAN UMAT [15 NGO GABUNGAN PULAU PINANG]*GABUNGAN MAHASISWA ISLAM SEMENANJUNG (GAMIS)* GAPETA*HALUAN* IKATAN INTELEKTUAL MUDA ISLAM (IIMI)*IKATAN MUSLIM MALAYSIA (ISMA)*IKATAN PENGKAJIAN ISLAM PAHANG (IKATAN)*ILMUAN*INTERNATIONAL MUSLIM IMAN NETWORK (IMAN)* MUSLIM WOMEN UNION (IMWU)*ISLAMIC INFORMATION AND SERVICES FOUNDATION (IIS)* ISLAMIC OUTREACH ABIM (IOA)*ISLAMIC PROPAGATION SOCIETY INTERNATIONAL, PENANG (IPSI)*JAMAAH DAKWAH & ISLAH (JADID)*JAMAAH ISLAH MALAYSIA (JIM)* JARINGAN SISWAZAH MUSLIM MALAYSIA (JASA)*KELAB AL-QURAN AL-KARIM, BANGI*KELAB HARAPAN, YAYASAN HARAPAN*KELAB REMAJA ISLAH MALAYSIA (KARISMA)*KESATUAN PELAJAR ISLAM JOHOR (KPIJ)*KESATUAN PELAJAR ISLAM PERAK (KPIP)*KHALIFAH INSTITUTE*KEPENTINGAN BANGSA (KKB)*MADRASAH HIDAYATUL MUSTAQIM, SELAYANG BARU*MAJLIS TINDAKAN INDIA MUSLIM MALAYSIA* MARKAZ DAKWAH AL-ISLAMIAH AL-ANSAR, KUALA SELANGOR*MASJID BUKIT INDAH* MASJID JAMEK PAKISTAN*MUSLIM BROTHERS, SHAH ALAM*MUSLIM CARE* MUSLIM PROFESIONAL FORUM BERHAD (MPF)*NGO ISLAM CASMARIA, BATU CAVES*PEGUAM PEMBELA ISLAM (PPI)*PERKIM*PERSATUAN AL-HIDAYAH*PERSATUAN DARUL FITRAH MALAYSIA*PERSATUAN FALAK SYARIE MALAYSIA*PERSATUAN KEBAJIKAN ISLAM MALAYSIA (PERKIM BANGSAR)*PERSATUAN KEBAJIKAN PEKERJA ISLAM, TNB (PKPI-TNB)* PERSATUAN KEBAJIKAN PELAJAR ISLAM SARAWAK (PERKEPIS) PERSATUAN KEBAJIKAN PELAJAR ISLAM W.P (PERTIWI)*PERSATUAN KEBANGSAAN PELAJAR ISLAM MALAYSIA (PKPIM)*PERSATUAN MAHASISWA AKADEMI PENGAJIAN ISLAM UNI. MALAYA*PERSATUAN MAHASISWA ISLAM UNIVERSITI MALAYA (PMIUM)* PERSATUAN PEGUAM MUSLIM MALAYSIA*PERSATUAN PEGUAM SYARIE MALAYSIA (PGSM)*PERSATUAN PELAJAR ISLAM KELANTAN (PPIK)*PERSATUAN PEMBIMBING ISLAM PUALAU PINANG (PEMBIMBING)*PERSATUAN PEMBIMBING PELAJAR ISLAM KELANTAN (PPIK)*PERSATUAN PENDIDIK INSAN NEGERI SEMBILAN (PPINS)*PERSATUAN PENDUDUK PENDUDUK KAMPUNG BATU MUDA TAMBAHAN*PERSATUAN PENGUSAHA RESTORAN MUSLIM MALAYSIA (PRESMA)*PERSATUAN SERUAN ISLAM SELANGOR DAN WP (JAMI’YAH)* PERSATUAN ULAMA ISLAM (PUM)*PERTUBUHAN AL-NIDAA’*PERTUBUHAN CINA MUSLIM MALAYSIA (MACMA)*PERTUBUHAN KEBAJIKAN & DAKWAH ISLAMIAH MALAYSIA (PEKIDA)*PERTUBUHAN MUAFAKAT SEJAHTERA MASYARAKAT MALAYSIA (MUAFAKAT)*PERTUBUHAN SINAR DAMSYIK MALAYSIA (PSDM)*RESEARCH & INFORMATION CENTER ON ISLAM (RICOI)*SURAU AL-AMIN, BANDAR TUN HUSSIEN ONN SURAU AL-ANSAR, TAMAN SRI RAMPAI, SETAPAK*SURAU AL-IKHWAN BANDAR BARU SUNGAI BULOH*SURAU MUHAMMAD AL-FATIH KG BATU MUDA TAMBAHAN, KL*TERAS PENGUPAYAAN MELAYU (TERAS)*WADAH PENCERDASAN UMAT (WADAH)*YAYASAN BASMI KEMISKINAN (YBK)* KAJIAN & STRATEGIK MELATU (YKSM)*YAYASAN MUSLIMIN* YAYASAN PEMBANGUNAN UMMAH (YPU).

[ The list shall be updated and change from time to time.]

written by liquidvol, February 22, 2008 17:00:05
This is extremely uncomfortable. I never thought I would actually see this. PEMBELA, you are not right in the head. I am sorry, but you guys are making me feel very uncomfortable. We are a multiracial/religious country. How on earth am I supposed to go down with what you just said..?
This is insane. Hate to say it Pete, but seriously …..this is highly unacceptable. I thought I was going to try to write what I feel calmly but suddenly my blood has begun to boil and I better stop before I start a domino effect on religious bashing so I am going to stop…

But oh my Allay.. This is creepy..
written by veseti, February 22, 2008 17:00:14
sound islamic, looks islamic but its not islamic
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

U guys will be the downfall of islam just like the suicide bombers.
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by redzuan mohd, February 22, 2008 17:24:58
Then they vote for UMNO. Kah kah kah.
written by cruzeiro, February 22, 2008 17:43:04
There will be no end to this childish behaviour of sectarianism.
This has been fueled and encouraged by the competition among certain quarters who wish to compete in the same arena of "supremacy", bigotry, prejudice and arrogance.
And it plays into the hands of those who practice the "divide & rule Policy".
It will only end if all parties choose to first see his neighbour as his brother and practice the "golden rule of reciprocity", whichever group he belongs to.
The other option would be social strife.
Unless he can practice Reciprocity, he has no legitimacy in demanding anything in the name of GOD.
He who makes these demands is a hypocrite and a thief who uses God's name, if he denies this one Truth.

Read -
A Curse in the Malaysians' Embrace. at http://cruzinthots.********.co...curse.html if you wish to understand what I mean.
written by sickofitall, February 22, 2008 19:18:58
See what BN government will bring us?
written by Bandit, February 22, 2008 20:47:32
Pembela.I suggest you guys go claim a part of a sahara desert and start a civilisation there using all the declaration you all made here. For a start you can take all the members of your NGOs with you.
written by Hakim Abdullah, February 22, 2008 21:12:12
Funny how Pembela retrogrades backwards. Islam is progressive so why are you changing the original plan?...Pembela, you made us muslims looked dumb!
written by AsamLaksa, February 22, 2008 21:45:55
Malaysia... about 60% Muslims and 40% non-Muslims. The above declaration, does it represent the 40% non-Muslims? If it doesn't then it is only for all Malaysians. Trying to be the agent of disunity? Nonsense however presented with professional sounding words or frilly ribbons is still nonsense.

What this declaration states clear are:
1. rejection of religious freedom
2. promote and enforce Islamic supremacy
3. encourage further censorship and banning of the media
4. possible creation of 2 class system in society - Muslims and non-Muslims
5. creation of more ideological crimes
6. elevation of Muslim NGO status to direct interference in governmental policies

Don't believe me? Read the declaration carefully.

Sure they throw in nice bits here and there. Take this one for example...
• Extend the provision of government scholarships, which are currently enjoyed by Malay students, to non-Malay Muslim students.
Nice, right? But look at the point following it...
• Increase the number of recipients of the Public Service Department’s scholarship award to Muslim students to further their studies abroad.
This shows they are not seeking for equality but rather we give you a bit here but you give us more there. Why can't all scholarship be base on need and not on religion?

More Islamic studies in schools? Not getting enough at home or at the surau?

The good governance bit is nice but it's nonsensical. Internalise Islam in the civil service? It's indirectly trying to get rid of non-Muslims from the civil service.

The Civil Society and Democracy bit is cool. Hear that over and over. But did you know enforcing democracy also means allowing people an informed choice? What this means is you need freedom of expression and association which are the hallmarks of democracy. Look at the other points and you find this lacking. They don't want a real democracy, they want their brand of democracy. Malaysia Today and all blogs would be banned or heavily regulated according to their demands.

Inter-Ethnic and Inter-Religious Relations heading sounds nice but the points are fantasy. Do you think it will achieve harmony or cause more problems?
• Enhance commitment to religious and racial harmony.
By enforcing Islamic and racial supremacy? Apartheid didn't work. Segregation doesn't work.

• Reject political parties and politicians who disregard special position of Islam in Malaysia and those who advocate the secular understanding of absolute religious freedom.
No relgious freedom and you wonder why followers of other religions are worried.

• Strictly enforce laws on the building of houses of worship irrespective of religions.
• Ensure that the sensitivities of local residents be taken into consideration before a house of worship is built in the area.
• Form a special committee comprising the representatives of Muslim organizations and local authorities to deliberate on applications to build non-Muslim houses of worship in Muslim-majority residential area.

More of Islamic supremacy as no need input from other faiths. Have they heard of fairness or does it only apply in their interest?

• Reject the notion of religious pluralism which claims that all religions are the same.
This shows delusion on the grand scale. Nobody said all religions are the same, they are all different. That is not what pluralism is about. Another clear statement of Islamic supremacy.

So, to anyone who value your rights regardless of race or faith, do reject this declaration and anyone who endorse it. It's heavily biased and will also cause more division in Malaysia. Even if you are a Muslim, ask yourself is this what your faith is about? Ask what is Malaysia and who are the Malaysians.

P.S. If anyone see this reply as an attack on Islam, well it isn't. It's an attack on an egocentric and self-serving declaration.
written by justice6, February 22, 2008 22:14:25
Prosecute those who cause religious disharmony, especially by making offensive remarks against Islam,

what about those waving kriss ...tat is acceptable ?..geesh..
written by cahayailmu, February 23, 2008 00:43:06
this is just another way to win vote form the religious ppl.
but the word Allah to be forbidden to other religions?
thts shallow.
mind u, im a Muslim.
written by sedan, February 23, 2008 02:01:54
One more thing. Actually two.

1) Promote Islam Hadhari as the pure form of Islam.

2) Najib Tun Razak should be crowned as the High Priest/Chief Ulama of all things pertaining to Islam.

written by cheekhiaw, February 24, 2008 15:47:42
The return of the blind pembelas.

When in total darkness follow the blind who knows the way better than others.

They know the way better not because of anything divine or superior, but because they got to fumble in darkness longer.

Now that the dark ages is past, the blind still wants to lead.

It is not their fault, for the blind knows not when it is darkness or bright.

Oh blind pembelas, it is daylight now. Go fumble around with yourselves.

written by Tompios, February 25, 2008 03:36:28
"Islam is the official state religion of Malaysia" - Being state official religion it does not mean that Malaysia is an Islam country. The Republic of Indonesia, there are at least five official religions for her people. I think, Indonesians are far more happier in term of pluralism religions than Malaysian. Pluralism here does not mean plurality in their faith but more on integrity among religious faith.

But, as far as I know, the trouble makers in Malaysia are those people who 'think' Islam is the best religion in the world. These people will force other to accept their idea and oppinion and do not realize that it is all about personal asumptions. You and I might be wrong. People claimed that Islam is the truest religion. Why? Because the Quran said it so, that is why it true! Oh God!! Has mercy on me!! Hmm, I will not blame you for your single direction state of mind because that is your oppinion and beliefs. But, think of other's capabality in their brain then you will understand how God has given us the plurality of minds. God has prepared us one set of personal-individual brain so that we can think differently and personally to come close to Him. Those sacred books and its Laws are just an intrument on how we people see God in the different ways and abilities.

PEMBELA! you are trying to spent your life in hell situations. Your destination is killing other human being with your static-brain and bloody-hands. You start to do your God whose name is Allah a great JOB to vanish human being in Malaysia. Do you think that if all Malaysians are (converted to) Moslem than real hapiness and peaceful situations will covering this nation? NO! NO! NO! Until now, I do not see any dominate Moslem countries that really have ability to govern in peacefully their governments. These country still need non-Moslem countries to do many things. Why because their leaders are incapable to govern even theirselves. Do you believe? As for me - anwer is YES! Why? Because people like you PEMBELA is really PEM-Pembawa BE-Berjuta-juta LA-Laknat. Tinggallah di luar planet ini wahai PEMBELA dan mereka yang sewaktu dengannya.

Non-Moslem can live without Moslem but Moslem cannot live without Non-Moslem. Moslem agenda will finish if no Non-Moslem around and they will start biting and kicking each other just like Christians did during dark ages. Luckily, Christians learn how to live in harmony on this small planet and waiting for the (personal oppinion) 'promise' to go to other place 'heaven'.

My suggestion is, we Malaysian should have a 'golden rule' in our heart. Be fair to one and another. Killing other's beliefs will not make you far better then other. Religion is just like food menu on paper in a 7,000,000,000 (7 gigs) stars restaurant. It is all about your personal taste. Do not threatening other for not choosing your taste! No need! Very childish! Do not depicting your God-Allah with your behaviour. Your Allah is called Ar-Rahman and Ar-Rahim, right? So, act like HIM.