Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Resurrecting the dead

Resurrecting the dead PDF Print
Friday, 22 February 2008 16:07

PAS is contesting only 60 Parliament seats. They need 150 seats to control two-thirds of Parliament. PAS cannot implement Islamic laws even if they control two-thirds of the seats in the State Assembly without controlling two-thirds of Parliament.

“I do not want to send you to jail,” said the judge as he stared at me like he was trying to burn a hole right through my chest. “But I have to.”

“I plead leniency your honour,” was the only response I could come up with in such short notice. “I am, after all, a first-time offender,” I added, hoping that that would 'melt' him a bit.

“It's not that I want to punish you,” the judge replied without flinching and with the same cold stare. “Sending you to jail is not about punishing you. It is about protecting society from people like you. You may be a first-time offender, but what is there to guarantee you will not do it again? Society needs to be protected and that's why I have to send you to jail. If I thought you are repentant then I could give you a suspended sentence and bound you over for good conduct. But thus far you have not even said sorry for what you have done or promised never to do it again.”

I saw this as an escape clause and quickly jumped in. “But I regret what I had done, your honour, and I promise never to do it again. I now realise my mistake.”

“Hah, a leopard never changes its spots. If you did it once how would I know you will not do it again? Sure, you can always say you are sorry and that you regret what you did. But I am not too sure if I were to release you that you would keep your word.”

No, I did not really go to court. And, no, I was not sent to jail. In fact, the entire dialogue above never happened. I just put that in to dramatise what the Islamic Party of Malaysia (PAS) must be going through in the ongoing 'trial'. For eight years, the Chinese in particular and the non-Malays in general, have been screaming about the Islamic State Document (ISD) that PAS introduced in Terengganu not long after the Tenth General Election in 1999. Actually, long before PAS did that in Terengganu, they had done the same in Kelantan about eight or nine years earlier. But the ISD that PAS launched in Kelantan not long after the 1990 general election and the one launched in Terengganu not long after the 1999 general election both went nowhere. And PAS knew they would get nowhere with it.

Why in heaven's name did they launch them then? This would probably be what many of you would now be asking. Well, it's simple, really. PAS is an Islamic party and it is therefore their 'duty' to launch the ISD. What else would you have expected PAS to do? I would be very surprised if they had NOT launched them.

But PAS had only 27 Parliamentary seats in 1999 and even less in 1990. They would need at least 150 seats to control two-thirds of Parliament before they can implement the ISD and change Malaysia from a Secular State to an Islamic State.

Okay, PAS controlled Kelantan in 1990 and Terengganu in 1999. Maybe PAS did not, on both those occasions, have 150 seats in Parliament or controlled two-thirds of Parliament. But they did, in 1990, control two-thirds of the seats in the Kelantan State Assembly in and, in 1999, in the Terengganu State Assembly. So the ISD could have been implemented in these two states even though PAS would not have been able to do so at Federal level. Why, then, did PAS not do so at state level?

PAS could not do so at state level because, to make constitutional changes at state level, you require the approval of Parliament and PAS did not have 150 seats in Parliament or control two-thirds of Parliament. But this should still not stop PAS from 'pushing' the issue. Whether PAS does or does not control Parliament is not the issue. PAS' job is deliver its election promise -- the implementation of Islam -- and then leave it to Parliament to sort the whole thing out.

We must remember, PAS was under pressure. Umno was calling PAS a liar. UMNO was accusing PAS of cheating the voters by not delivering its election promise. The simple-minded village folks (orang kampong) are not able to rationalise issues the way we can. These people would swallow the Umno propaganda hook, line and sinker. “PAS bohong! PAS tipu! Sebelum pilihan raya janji Islam. Bila sudah menang pilihan raya diam, tak buat.”

PAS had to show that it delivers its election promises, or at least try to deliver even if it does not have the power to do so. We promise, we deliver. If Barisan Nasional blocks it at Federal level because they control more than two-thirds of parliament, then PAS can't be blamed for that.

PAS' job is to try to deliver what it had been mandated to do by the voters who voted for it. And PAS did just that. So it fulfilled its election promise. But Malaysia still remained a Secular State as everyone thought it would, PAS included. That is not PAS' fault though. That was Barisan Nasional's fault. So Barisan Nasional is the chow lang in the eyes of the Malay voters, not PAS.

When Umno challenged PAS to 'deliver its election promise', it did not think that PAS would actually do it. This is because PAS can't act alone but must act in the spirit of the opposition coalition, then called Barisan Alternatif. Umno was calling PAS' bluff. Then, when PAS fails to deliver, Umno can turn around and call PAS a liar and a cheat. Janji tapi tak buat.

Umno was in fact caught off-guard when PAS 'accepted' Umno's challenge and announced the launching of the ISD. Not only Umno was caught of-guard but the other three members of Barisan Alternatif as well -- DAP, PKN (now PKR) and PRM (now merged with PKN into PKR). DAP, PKN and PRM did not agree with the ISD and told PAS so. DAP even left Barisan Alternatif in a huff.

Umno realised that challenging PAS was a mistake. It thought the challenge was safe because surely PAS would not act alone and DAP, PKN and PRM would object strongly to the ISD. But PAS did act alone in spite of the protests from DAP, PKN and PRM. PAS had no choice, really. It was being challenged by the other Malay-dominant party and was being called a liar and a cheat. Either it faced Umno and accepted the challenge or else PAS would become irrelevant and might as well close down just like Semangat 46 before that.

Now it was Umno that was in a bind. Umno never for one minute suspected that PAS would put the opposition coalition in jeopardy by going against the wishes of the other three coalition members. But PAS did and the coalition practically broke up (hidup segan, mati tak mahu). PAS, however, managed to redeem itself in the eyes of the Malays. And Umno responded by hurriedly declaring, on 19 September 2001, that Malaysia is already an Islamic country, so why do we need PAS? PAS can only promise. It does not control two-thirds of Parliament so it can't deliver. Umno, however, through Barisan Nasional, does control two-thirds of Parliament. So Umno does not need to 'promise' like PAS does. Umno can deliver. So Umno, in a way, became Malaysia's new Islamic party, dislodging PAS from that perch.

Many may have not noticed this, but since the 2004 general election, when PAS lost Terengganu, almost lost Kelantan, and saw its 27 Parliament seats reduced to just nine, PAS has stopped talking about the ISD. DAP knows this. Talk to people like Ronnie Liu. He can tell you that PAS wants to treat the ISD as an embarrassing mistake that should be buried in the past and allowed to remain buried. But people would not allow it to remain buried. They kept resurrecting the ISD issue even though PAS themselves, those who gave birth to it, would like it to remain buried. It was no longer PAS that was talking about the ISD. It was those who would like this stigma to hang over the head of what could be the most successful and powerful opposition party.

Okay, PAS made a mistake in the past. They have learned from this mistake. But do we want to keep harping on the past? How far back into the past should we go? Is there any cut-off date? Should we continue killing every Japanese we see in Malaysia because of what they did to us during the Second World War? In 1834, the Chinese in Lukut massacred Raja Busu and his entire family plus hundreds of Malays. Raja Busu was a member of the Selangor Royal Family. Should I still hold that against the Chinese, in particular the Chinese from Lukut? Or maybe I am entitled to avenge the death of my ancestors by 'teaching' the Lukut Chinese a lesson?

Sometimes the past is better left in the past, especially when all has been forgiven, though not quite forgotten. What the Chinese in Lukut did to my family in 1834 and what the Japanese did to Malayans during the Second World War is now a footnote in history. What PAS did two elections ago is also a footnote in history. Should we condemn the Indians for giving 90% of the votes to Barisan Nasional (MIC) in the recent Ijok by-election or should we instead support them and stand by HINDRAF because of what they are doing today rather than because of what they did a few months ago in Ijok?

Today, PAS is talking in another nada or tone of voice. That is what counts. Yesterday is yesterday. Today is what matters. And if today we still want to talk about what PAS did yesterday, then I too should condemn the Chinese for what they did yesterday to my family in Lukut and what the Indians did yesterday in Ijok. By the way, do you know we eventually lost Lukut, Linggi and the areas surrounding it because of this massacre? The British stepped in on the excuse of 'restoring law and order' and to protect their business interests. Negeri Sembilan would not exist and today it would still be part of Selangor if the Chinese had not started a 'war' down there.

Yesterday, 100 pro-government Malay Islamic groups led by ABIM announced that they want the government to Islamise this country. I need not go into details as you can read it here (Pro-government Islamic groups demanding stronger role for Islam ahead of polls in Malaysia) and here (PEMBELA declaration & press statement ).

Let us look at the track record.

Was it not PAS that summoned the Kelantan Hindus for a meeting and offered them a site for a Hindu temple even though they did not ask for one? Umno, however, during the time it was ruling Kelantan, blocked the building of a Hindu temple. Was it not Umno that declared Buddhist statues haram and blocked its construction in the state of Sabah? The court case is pending even as you read this. Was it not Umno that demolished Hindu temples in Selangor? Was it not Umno that shot tear gas and water cannons into the Batu Caves temple grounds? Was it not PAS that allowed pigs to be slaughtered in Kelantan while Umno, during the time it ruled Kelantan, forbade it? Look at the track record. Let the track record speak for itself.

Take a drive to Kelantan these next few days before the general election. Go visit the Kota Bharu market. See for yourself all the women selling at the Kota Bharu market. Yes, the women control the market. The women monopolise the economic scene. The batek and songket manufacturers are mostly all women. The signboards carry women's names. If you trade with them, you trade with the women. The women negotiate with you and the women handle all the money, not the men.

Where are the so-called 'separate check-out counters'? The men and women stand in the same line and the women serve you and you pay the women at the check-out counters. There are only separate toilets for men and women. The rest are all men-women mixed.

Go stay at the state government-owned Perdana Hotel in Kota Bharu. They have only one swimming pool. And you and your wife both swim in that same one pool. There are no two swimming pools, one for men and another for women.

You want to drink, fine, order a beer and send me the bill. Yes, you can get drunk in Kota Bharu if you want to, as you could in Terengganu when PAS was ruling that state from 1999 to 2004. Okay, Terengganu banned gambling when PAS was running that state. But that was because the PAS Menteri Besar had a meeting with the non-Muslims and they agreed that gambling is bad and should be banned. Some argue that gambling is Chinese culture and should not be banned. Well, why did the non-Muslims then ask the Menteri Besar to ban gambling? Anyway, I have made about ten trips to China thus far and have travelled the length and breadth of that country and none of the Chinese I met in China say that gambling is their culture. In fact, the Chinese government bans gambling and will not allow casinos on its soil.

If just because you want to gamble you would rather have Barisan Nasional rule Kelantan and Terengganu, then the Chinese are even shallower than I thought. But if it is really that important and really Chinese 'religion' that you gamble, then make this point clear to PAS. And if gambling is more important than a good future for your family, I am sure PAS will accommodate the Chinese and not interfere with Chinese 'religion', as it has promised. But please do not ask PAS to legalise child prostitution so that you can sell your children to the pimps for a profit as much as in some societies this is acceptable and very rampant.

Let me put it to you again in plain and simple English. PAS is contesting only 60 Parliament seats. They need 150 seats to control two-thirds of Parliament. PAS cannot implement Islamic laws even if they control two-thirds of the seats in the State Assembly without controlling two-thirds of Parliament. PAS is not pursuing the ISD any longer. Malaysia will remain a Secular State unless two-thirds of Malaysians demand this country be changed into an Islamic State through a referendum -- but then the referendum can only be called by Barisan Nasional and never by PAS because only Barisan Nasional controls two-thirds of Parliament.

Now, are we still worried about Malaysia being turned into an Islamic State? If we are then we had better watch Barisan Nasional closely because only Barisan Nasional can do that. Look at this news item again (Pro-government Islamic groups demanding stronger role for Islam ahead of polls in Malaysia) and here (PEMBELA declaration & press statement ). See who is crying out for more Islamisation? Is it PAS? Or is it the Umno-led organisations? And who will control two-thirds of Parliament come this election? Will it be PAS when it is contesting only 60 seats and may end up winning only half or so? Or will it be Barisan Nasional as most of you believe will happen? Is it wise, therefore, that Barisan Nasional be given two-thirds of the seats in Parliament? You decide come 8 March 2008 when you go to cast your votes.

Comments (82)Add Comment
written by sampalee, February 22, 2008 16:22:34
I will support pas and ask all my friends and relatives to vpte pas.Bn only fear is pas and with pas on the side of the rakyat,bn,especially umno is worried sick.
agree 124
written by malaysianohope, February 22, 2008 16:26:04
NO NO NO!

If barisan still get the 2/3 majority, I will take the next Air Asia plane out of Malaysia and bye bye forever to my birth place.

Absolutely had enough of the same shits all these 50 years.
written by Selva, February 22, 2008 16:28:17
Does anoyone know there are Tamil and Chinese penghulus in Kelantan. Strange? Not strange at all-I have even met them and they seem a very happy lot. Unity the Kelantan way is what every Malaysian should dream of and make it a reality. Cast your vote for the opposition-be it PAS, DAP or PKR and you will never regret it.
agree 173
written by cwy, February 22, 2008 16:38:00
A rational article for those who still hesitate to vote for PAS when there is a choice between PAS and UMNO in any constituency. Just vote for PAS !

Cau Lang means bad guy ( hokkien)
written by ahmadbadrul40, February 22, 2008 16:44:11
I know damn well sure that PAS will never be able to take 2/3 of parliament seats, let alone 1/2 of the parliament seats. What I know is that the opposition can only deny BN 2/3 majority is only when there is this economic disaster that is happening in 5 years time, if BN don't know how to solve the problem.

I can tell you that BN can't reform itself, and will never be able to make Malaysia more competitive. But there are still many people who are afraid of changes. Plus BN huge election machinery, money and voters injection skills, BN can win by just a slim majority and they wil control the goverment.

Will Malaysia ever experience the wind of change like what happen to Thailand, Pakistan and Indonesia?
written by Michael Sun, February 22, 2008 17:03:39
PAS has won my respect. Inspite of holding a one-seat majority in Kelantan, their state assemblymen cannot be bought over. This is integrity. Definitely, not BN's type.

50 TAHUN CUKUP LAH - PAK LAH
VOTE OPPOSITION. ANY OPPOSITION.
"JUST CHANGE IT" - DAP election slogan
agree 114
written by EwenMcEwen, February 22, 2008 17:07:56
Well said, RPK! But I am taking it a step further by welcoming the introduction of hudud in Malaysia.

I shall re-produce below what I put up at the Harakah English Section guestbook on 01 January 2008:

PAS THE NATURAL PARTY TO GOVERN FOR ALL RAKYAT

PAS is indeed the most misconstrued and misunderstood organisation in Malaysia - thanks to the BN machinery.

A quick visit to the Kelantanese Chinese community is all it takes to correct whatever bias that one may hold on PAS.

I, for one, have been a die-hard PAS supporter ever since my return to the country in 1998.

The honest, hard-working Chinese community in the majority should welcome hudud as it is the only effective way to wipe out crime in our society - once and for all!

Come on, what are you to fear? It is the crooks whom we are prosecuting. How many more snatch-thieve victims are to die in vain before you wake up to the hard reality?

Syabas to PAS! Long live Tok Guru!

I shall be the first member when PAS opens its membership to the non-muslims.
written by Rock, February 22, 2008 17:15:59
Our mission to make a democratic government works. It means dont let a party holds a power of dictator in other means. Lets work tohether to make this country a true democracy.
written by Angela Ooi, February 22, 2008 17:21:22
I have had no problems voting for Pas even years back.... never wanted to give BN my vote ever. They know how to stay in power by foul means!
written by fromamovingtrain, February 22, 2008 17:21:39
A big majority of the non-muslims who visit mt has the same mentality of liquidvol. To him/her, it is scary to vote for pas, and it is scary to think that they could actually helm the country. The nasty side of me has many things to write about that but i would like, as in most times, to be rather rational.

RPK has put it across very comprehensively, something that, even though i have been talking about it amongst friends over the last several years, i could not have put in writing well. Reading most non-muslims comments in mt over the last three years or so with regard to this particular issue required a tremendous amount of patience, only because i have to tell myself that ultimately, we are almost all united against a common enemy. Beyond that, there is little in common. umno has succeeded well in putting a big divide between us, while united against a common devil. The non muslims play right into umno's hands, just as the kampung folks play right into their hands when they start using the 13 may scare tactics on them election after election.

I have asked some of these questions before in previous postings, like in which religion is gambling not forbidden, in which religion is alcohol not forbidden, in which religion is adultery ok and in which religion is corruption allowed. Using their own fears as an excuse, why must the non- muslims always hang these back onto Islam's neck? When you look at it without any agenda, the good deeds are commonly shared, so too are the bad ones. Good is universal and bad is also universal. I have not come across a religion which says its ok to shout at your mother, or it is alright to take other people's money without their permission.

This is not to say that i subscribe to the famous ex- pm's theory of 'semua agama sama saja'. That would be woe upon me. I am a muslim and i live within the codes of Islam. Yes, I subscribe to the believe that Islam is the only religion (acceptable) by God. There is nothing wrong for people of other faiths to feel the same about theirs. I just do not redicule or belittle others. I don't go round beating my chest and declaring that to non-muslims. Islam never allows its followers to treat people of other faiths badly, or with high- handedness, and i believe by the same token people of other faiths should not treat muslims that way too. The code of good ethics and governance is universal, not different.

This is where i believe pas is different from umno. Islam is not about suicide- bombing innocent people, is not about snatching bodies away from families and certainly not about demolishing temples. I too believe that christianity, buddhism, hinduism, taoism etc are not about gambling your life away, getting lost in hedonistic culture, corrupted business dealings or getting drunk and making a nuisance of yourself to the authorities and your suffering family.

Actually, if we be honest with ourselves and look beyond our vices, we have much in common. It is actually the mighty pull of the devil that divides us, that is putting a wedge between us. We are duped into believing that what we are desperately trying to hang on to are the things that we can't do without in our short lives, without realising that they continue to burden, and poison us and our children in the long run. Sort of like being afraid of our own shadows, and denying it, really.
written by cruzeiro, February 22, 2008 17:22:51
PAS approach to dealing with the public has changed as I hoped.
I respect the fact that they have taken stock of themselves, just as all of us should.
However these days, it is some of the AMNO members and their cahoots who go around "enforcing" their arbitrary laws with courts created to subvert and corrupt the judiciary.
In fact, AMNO has developed a newfound tendency to be "Islamist" (not necessarily Islamic) in their perceptions and actions, and increasingly "extremist" in their nature.
I wonder - Is AMNO the new Malaysian Taliban?
written by malaysianohope, February 22, 2008 17:40:49
G'day Pete,

I'm sensing a tsunami here.

I think with the wave or should I say a movement created to deny barisan the 2/3 majority is now a possibility, thanks to you and all the people involved.

My question is what is your take on this movement?
written by Tan Tan, February 22, 2008 17:43:33
To all my fellow Malaysians,

Seriously, all parties in Malaysia is never 100% good or fair. However, we should vote for whichever party that can deliver what they promise to us.

Again, what do we want? Economy growth, religion freedom, freedom of expression, clean and fair laws and orders and public safety.

Who can do the job well, who can rule the country.
written by picadilly, February 22, 2008 17:45:35
If PAS can offer a i) Indian ii)Hindu iii) Girl iv) Lawyer
as a candidate, then you definitely ought to see their stand in Malaysia.

How is it that despite multiple request for over 30 years, Barisan has not given an extra minister post ( which was 2 before samy velu took over) in the cabinet.
But PAS has done something unthinkable as fiedling an Indian Candiate which is unprecedented in its 61 year History.

Even Gerakan couldnt find a Non-chinese candidate to Field in the so called multi Racial party. The best part was during Gerakans Meet the Rakyat session. For the sake of appeasing Indians there were some scrambled up tamil letters formed to make 3 words that suppose to say ( Why go FEDERAL: by tsu koon) but the combination of letters were gibberish. There were tamil letters without vowels places just to make it look as if some Indians were attending this Gerakan talk.

can you believe how insensitive and they dont bother to even check what they have written. Kayveas (KVS? Whats his real name?) for his rude remarks and retorts is trying too woo as much Indian votes back to Barisan through PPP.

I think PPP & Gerakan would have been better off as opposition parties.
PAS is doing a better job in the eyes of the Indians.

what more with dato Hadi announcing to legalise peaceful assembly & also giving a straightforward short & simple speech in the press conference without the Islamic state issue. I could see Guan Eng & Hadi speaking the same language- DENY BARISAN'S 2/3 RD MAJORITY!
written by Milo, February 22, 2008 17:46:29
It is only logical that all right thinking Malaysians should vote PAS against UMNO this election. First, UMNO has become the more radical of the two parties in religious matters concerning non-muslims. And secondly they have become totally corrupted. Let's just hope PAS will not change its stance to exhibit the type of talibanism we saw UMNO has morphed into once elected.
written by pseudoangel, February 22, 2008 17:52:46
Go stay at the state government-owned Perdana Hotel in Kota Bharu. They have only one swimming pool. And you and your wife both swim in that same one pool. There are no two swimming pools, one for men and another for women.

my friends and I went to K'tan for a conference before. 4 of us (3 girls and 1 guy) stay in Hotel Perdana. We only able to book 2 rooms. So, 2 girls stay in 1 room and the rest (1 girl and 1 guy) stay in another room.
written by Loh, February 22, 2008 17:54:41
The case has been made that PAS will not be able to turn the country to Islamic State even if it won 100%, or 60 seats. UMNO on its own did not have 2/3 majority too. But it was able to amend the constitution no end.

UMNO allows the Religious department to act against the interest of non-Muslims, in the name of Islamic state. Clearly they have not acted religiously, but they made use of the religion for political end, to justify ketuanan Melayu, when the common factor of Melayu is Muslims.

If it was the duty of PAS to introduce Islamic State in the country, then PAS should outline what it would do. Can PAS not promote Islam when it is the official religion? Would the elected representatives have the authority to run the government, or should they bow to the wishes of religious chief, like Ajatollah in Iran. If PAS intends to run the government following the teaching of Islamic religion, in terms of fairness, civility, equality, love and compassion which would prevent corruption and cronyism, then that is all the better for the nation.

Islamic State as exemplified by UMNO has given the name a bad taste. PAS would help change the political landscape of the country, as well as it political development if it would detail what it intends to do, while maintaining the secular nature of the constitution. The party PAS can be guided by Islam, but it need not run the country in a way to make non-Muslims, or even Muslims, conform to the practice of Islamic religion. Let the mosque takes care of religious affairs.
written by Raja Petra, February 22, 2008 18:02:37
Dear malaysianohope, you wanna know then come to the Blog House at 11.00am tomorrow.
written by Kuku Burung, February 22, 2008 18:23:29
Two days before the BERSIH rally, I sat with a group of PAS members who were distributing pamphlets on BERSIH march. We had a wonderful time discussing current issues. Man, they were a bunch of young, energetic, open-minded, people. I grew up in East Coast and many of my friends are PAS members. Not once in my life I heard them talking negatively about Chinese and Indians. RPK is right. All the negative publicity about PAS came from UMNO and its cohorts. The Chinese did not like PAS (in Terengganu) was because they could not get "duit sagu hati" from PAS. It was not that PAS refused to give, it was because the Federal government grabbed all the money before any one could "kelek" it. Vote for PAS, my friends.
written by singam, February 22, 2008 18:28:37
PAS made the mistake of proposing an Islamic state in a world where Islamic radicals had been frightening other communities with their aggressive stance and suicidal tactics. Perhaps the PAS leaders were only familiar with the non-Muslims living in the east coast states and had no clue about how the non-Muslims of the west coast would react.

My understanding is that hudud is not about punishing the individual but about punishing society for having failed the individual. For instance, if society cannot prevent a person from becoming an habitual thief, cutting off his hand would make him a cripple and society would have to bear the shame and the burden of looking after him. This kind of social system is alien to anyone not immersed in the culture and looks scary and barbarous.

By proposing to form an Islamic State and introduce hudud, PAS fell into a trap they had dug for themselves. UMNO quickly cashed in and, using the MSM, painted a horrifying picture of life under PAS. It is very hard for people who have been immersed in this propaganda for years and years to feel comfortable voting PAS.

To all those still uncomfortable voting PAS, let me ask, would you vote for UMNO?

They hide under the blanket called BN and show Chinese and Indian faces where necessary to woo the non-Malay voters. They deliver different messages to different audiences. They lie. They cheat. And still, people vote for them. Would you?

RPK has said it most eloquently - PAS made a mistake. They have repented. The people that they have ruled are testimony to the fact that we have nothing to fear from them. In any case, they do not have enough parliamentary seats to be a threat. What more assurance do we need?

Under pressure from Kuasa Rakyat, practically all of the recalcitrant parties and candidates have already come to some kind of compromise. If we maintain the pressure, we may actually see the parties come together and present a coherent and united face to the people. If all of the components of the Barisan Rakyat stop playing to separate audiences and work with each other, we will have mobilised a force like never before.

BR is already contesting all the seats. BN will get nothing on a silver platter (provided silly mistakes are avoided during nominations). Now we only need to get the message out to the rakyat. And that is the most important task ahead of us - get the people to understand, accept and vote Barisan Rakyat. All of us have a part to play.

2 weeks to go. Much to do.

Hidup Barisan Rakyat.
written by Loh, February 22, 2008 18:44:17
///In any case, they do not have enough parliamentary seats to be a threat. What more assurance do we need? /// -- Singam

That is true for the coming election.

I would like to see PAS replacing UMNO, and forms the government. I like to see PAS guided by religious teaching in the administration of the country. But, the country will remain secular under PAS watch, and at the same time PAS can still perform its duties to the religion. It is just that religion and politics do not get mixed up.

written by defendermalaysia, February 22, 2008 18:51:07
We will support PAS now because PAS did not threathen non muslim or non malay with their kriss, or bloodshed during any of their PAS general assembly. Please check the difference between UMNO general assembly and PAS general assembly. During each UMNO assembly,non malays are always being the scrap goats, or being victimise in their delegates speech and MIC or MCA are being humilated despite being equal partners in the BN. So why should we support BN?.
written by Thomas47, February 22, 2008 18:54:43
Long before this article, our votes (myself, family members and friends) have already made a detour to the other direction. Hope it'll help to deny a 2/3rd majority win for the BN.
written by AsamLaksa, February 22, 2008 18:54:52
Even before this knew that it was a mistake to push for Islamic state, well... it did not openly admit it nor openly proclaim it will not pursue it months before this election. Are their hands tied? Perhaps, perhaps they are not ready.

Did PAS misjudged the public sentiments when they pushed for an Islamic state or is it all politicking? When they went to push for the Islamic state, were there wide consultations with the other races? Did they clarify what they really want with an Islamic state? Maybe they didn't get a chance because when non-Muslims hear the word 'Islamic' they close their ears. You blame them? When many Muslims close their ears when they try to defend indefensible actions by other Muslims?

Blame BN propaganda machinery? Why? They just manipulated many non-Muslim's suspicion of the Islamic agenda. Muslims too are suspicious of the judeo-christian agenda and you see how this gets manipulated too.

Sadly it's not easy to forget the past. We are humans blessed with memory for the good or bad of it. It's only natural that people are suspicious if you have a funny past. This is reflected in daily lives where if you know a person done a wrong, you forever condemn that person to suspicion that he/she would repeat the same mistake. It's even gone on to a person doing mistake A but he/she is seen as having a higher risk of committing mistake B. For example, a repeat flasher put under higher suspicion for a rape crime even before you study the facts. Is this just?

Like how PAS pushing for an Islamic state and people equate with Taliban. It doesn't help when you have some Muslims using Taliban as a prime example of a good application of Islamic laws. I have had an argument with another poster about Islamic law in Malaysia and I was questioning the merits of it. Then the other poster used Taliban as an example of great reduction in crime that secular states can't deliver. So, I blasted Taliban for the suppression they committed on their own citizens and what do I get? I was accused of being anti-Islam when all along I separate Islam and Taliban. Just like how I disagree on hudud law and then I'm seen as anti-PAS when I am not anti-PAS. I also disagree with some of the half-baked plans of DAP but no one called me anti-DAP. I disagree with Christian doctrines too but I am not anti-Christianity. Who do I support? Those with good principles.

So, what's the root here? RPK, you can use fancy article like this to plead the case for PAS. I agree with you. I think PAS say they will support freedom of religion and thus now they drop the Islamic state idea. But... how are you going to allay suspicion? You can't. I still have suspicion that PAS may turn around again depending on the reaction they get from this shift in policy. You have to appeal to their logic and their point of views.

To all non-Muslims, please see this change in PAS' policy as a new step towards unity. Do not get sidetracked from the common agenda for justice, equality and freedoms. Find out more about PAS. Don't go to harakah site because it spews too much politics just like if you visit DAP or PKR site. They are political sites and good only for politicking. Ask Kelantanese or people who has been there. Visit Kelantan (have nice Chinese food when I was there and things are cheaper in KB back than too). They had a beach called Pantai Cinta Berahi or Beach of Passionate Love. Is it still called so? Take an East coast holiday once awhile.

To Muslims, please foster more understanding. Do not stand in an unmoveable position. If you do that, no matter what you spew, it won't get any attention. If a larger organisation like PAS can change position, so can you. Also don't bother talking about hudud law because you do not know how it will really turn out. What? Want to use Taliban and Iran as examples? See how much good that will go. The main anti-Islam word now will be hudud. Can't you see hudud from the point of view of non-Muslims? So what if it only applies to Muslims? So what if Palestinians are getting oppressed in the occupied territories? Only applies to Palestinians. Hudud will affect everyone directly or indirectly even though the application is only on Muslims. Don't believe me? Come on out of the box and think again.

Funny how all the press, even the overseas press see UMNO as moderate when over the years it is showing itself to be anything but. Do moderates wave keris and want to bathe in blood of non-Malays? Do moderates instill fear in others by reminding us of what would happen if you challenge Malays?

Anyway, kudos to PAS. Malaysians vote with your conscience. Vote BN if you support their agenda. Do not vote BN because you fear the alternatives. Fear votes will only encourage them to use more scare tactics.
written by Long Man, February 22, 2008 18:59:41
support opposition... but opposition should not forget the article "two's company, three's crowd" too... unite please...
written by mountainking, February 22, 2008 19:24:59
the younger generations have no problem accepting PAS but PAS has to do more in convincing the older generations. i guess it will take some time to convince the older folks including my parents. and by and large, it is almost very slim acceptance by the christians community to accept PAS if PAS is being conceived to implement ISD. is an open sharing and if the christians are being truthful about it. so long if PAS is willing to abolish implementing ISD in totality, the opposition will win majority of the christian votes. UMNO has played it well to frighten the non-muslim and coax them into believing that UMNO will protect non-muslim. the fear on religious matters is very close to the heart....
written by AsamLaksa, February 22, 2008 20:52:58
Thinking further...

I think PAS made the mistake of pushing for the Islamic State maybe because they fell for BN tactics. BN has always played the strategy of who is better but always fall short of taking up the best position. What I mean is this... BN do not say that they defend your religious freedom and equality but they say they would do better than pass. If I use an example of numbers, a score of 41 is better than 40 but still far from 100. So PAS fell for it in the battle to show who is more Islam. PAS will never win in this sort of fight because it's too arbirary.

Similarly BN won't make clear commitments. As long as they can show that they are a notch better than the alternatives, they are happy enough. Don't believe me? Why compare economic competence of Malaysia with Ghana? Yay, Malaysia better than Ghana and therefore the country is doing great. What about freedom of expression? Somebody said Malaysia is not like Myanmar, not like Pakistan and that's good enough. What about sending a Malaysian up in space? Which country you want to compare with? BN speaks of peace under their rule at the expense of freedom of expression. Which country they want to compare with? Kenya? This BN comparative tactics will only short sell the public.

All political parties, get out of this mentality. Aim for the best. Offer the best. Work for the best. The world is big, don't be jaguh kampung. Don't just aim to do one notch better than the incumbent. If you compromise your ideals, you will always be trapped in mediocrity.
written by Uncorruptible, February 22, 2008 21:27:46
I have voted for Pas before. At the other end was Lee Kim Sai. It is not a problem for me to vote for Pas but I can see why many Chinese cannot and why they cannot understand that there is nothing to fear since Pas cannot form the federal government on its own. If today "PAS is talking in another nada or tone of voice", well, it is not loud enough. Nor is it clear enough. Why must it wait for us to campaign for it, as per the article above? Why can't it proclaim all these necesary issues loudly and clearly? It will be an earth shaking event - getting full Chinese support openly. The whole scenario will change dramatically, ushering a new era and demolition of the bn, to save Malaysia our only country and the country we love! If you have changed for the better PAS, say it, JUST DO IT !!! Cease doing things furtively. OPEN UP TO THE EMBRACE OF THE PEOPLE! Otherwise you are just as guilty of perpetuating corrupt rule like all those who vote for the bn.
written by The dragonheart, February 22, 2008 21:31:16
One must fully understand and fully utilized what he has in old box before starts jumping out and thinking about new ideas, methods, and criticisms...

Many of us are in the blind spot..

Vote for the opposition and for sure the next five years or more... all the corrupted and racist leaders shall be dealt with and we shall have more freedom rights in many fields of life in years to come...
written by susu, February 22, 2008 21:36:10
i found this piece as the most touching from rpk ... it reaaly come from a sincere heart.
rpk, you're a good man!!!!
written by Ben, February 22, 2008 21:49:49
All is forgiven. PAS have my vote especially after noting that they dared to put up a non-muslim as their candidate. They have my respect as they demonstrate to me that they can see the bigger picture where they can do more good than harm to their religion.

I had hoped this day will come when I attended a memorial for Abdul Razak Ahmad, seorang Pejuang, Pemimpin, Sahabat dan Saudara, yang meninggal dunia pada 12 Ogos 2007.

The PAS leader along with other opposition, lawyers and other leaders took turns to remember this great but humble man and his contribution to Johor and Malaysia. The unity at this memorial was so evident that we could see a different political landscape emerging. So ARA struggle is not in vain after all.
written by Williams C, February 22, 2008 22:11:52
A vote to opposition is a vote for CHANGE.

After 50 years of the same ruling party, what to lose giving opposition party a chance? BN will continue to rule the country but denying their two-third majority is a MAJOR accomplishment to all Malaysians who have yearned for CHANGES.

In the past, we saw revolution in a country through bloodshed and likely happen so in many undeveloped countries. Today, it could happen through education and awareness of individual rights via internet since conventional mass media failed their civic duties.

Don’t just send them message alone, show them the EXIT door using our ‘birth’ rights – our VOTE.

Salute to a new Malaysia!
written by AsamLaksa, February 22, 2008 22:31:58
written by bumi non malay, February 22, 2008 | 20:46:16
Lastly this is a PAS trick knowing they will lose Kelantan and badly in Trengganu.....no harm dropping Islamic State mantra to be picked up at a later date ......under another guise!! As I have said, blame the loss on dropping Islamic State concept.

Trick? Maybe... Think again. If PAS use this as a contingency plan to pick up the Islamic State issue again if they lose Kelantan, do you think they can easily get away with it? It's flip-flopping. It would greatly hurt them and put them years and years back. They might not regain control Kelantan for the many elections to come after that. Clever tirck, eh?

Do you really know who is the real Islamist that you are so against? BN.
written by malgal, February 22, 2008 23:20:49
clear as daylight PET clear as daylight.
i mark X in the box for PAS in my constituency when the other one is BN.
it will be my choice of party if it's the only one pitted against BN. even tho i know the final ruling party is BN.
it will mean one vote less for arrogance.
and i continue to share this sentiment till i am blue in the face.
thank you. and i know you cannot stress this enough.
written by patycy, February 22, 2008 23:50:39
Being a non-muslim malaysian. PAS has my full support as long as they are muslims like RPK. And i am regretful and would wish to apologize to PAS for falling into BN's propaganda.

written by miwaki, February 23, 2008 00:01:32
Most Malaysians especially non malay have forgotten that Malaysia is parliamentary democratic country and we go to the poll every 5 years.If we can endure 50 years of nonsense under BN,why can't we enjoy 5 years of Islamic state ?

written by GermanMachine, February 23, 2008 00:02:56
PAS. what PAS? When you have BN, what is PAS. Like RPK said - what was PAS is passed. As a Chinese, I say, give them a chance to prove the formula is workable, or else, we'll kick them out the next election. We've tolerated for 50 years, what's another 5.
written by Spear Bing, February 23, 2008 00:04:35
Dear YM RPK,

The INTELLIGENCE OF THE HEART says PAS will have all the Malaysians' support, more specifically the non-Malays. Given the time for PAS to mend or correct whatever bad publicity spawned by the BN and the MSM, let's give PAS all the moral support that they deserve and let's move on....... and focus on this very important project that YM RPK has to initiate.....

REMBAU PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCY- Straight fight between Khairy and Badrul Hisham.

Badrul Hisham needs all the 'fire-power' and the physical resources to fight tooth and nail against Khairy. RPK, please mobilise your MT or whatever resources to assist Hisham.

Can someone enlighten us the demographic pattern of Rembau? ..... its' voters in terms of ethnic composition?. Which States constituencies come under Rembau. How was the previous voting history like?

Can we set up a campaign committee? How can we contact Hisham ? What can we do to help him? Does he need any financial funding? Can he talk to us over his website?
What are his strategic plans? How many ceremahs is he going to organise? Where are the venues and when. How many foot soldiers does he want?

Hisham, please revert........ Time is of ESSENCE!!!!
written by GermanMachine, February 23, 2008 00:08:58
If we toppled BN, or, deny them 2/3 majority; or even nothing, nonetheless, RPK we owed this to you. We understand that you are not politically incline to any party and you have my respect. I just want to record my simple thank you here and shall let my children know who are you. Kudos bro.
written by JohnQ, February 23, 2008 00:10:09
The roundup to the ge12 is what i hope for since my first voting at 21. That WE HAVE A GREAT OPPORTUNITY OF CHANGE. VOTE FOR CHANGE, My Dear FELLOW Malay/Chinese/Indian/Iban/Kadasan..etc MALAYSIAN !

If BN reduce to abt 1/2 par. seats, Our HOPES and HOPFULLY PAS will REJECT the Pariah invitation to join them !!!!
written by Raja Petra, February 23, 2008 00:13:32
Today, Umno controls slightly over half the seats in Parliament. And mind you, half-of-half these seats were won on non-Malay votes. What happens if the non-Malays boycott Umno and Umno’s seats drop to 50? Even if PAS wins 30 seats (which is very difficult) and Umno and PAS combines, the combined ‘Malay’ seats of Umno and PAS would come to only 80, less than half of the 222 seats.

Then, what happens if the other 13 component members of BN such as MCA, MIC, Gerakan, etc., leave BN and together with DAP form a new ‘non-Malay’ front leaving Umno and PAS to form the ‘Malay’ front? The non-Malays would now be in control and the Malays would be the minority in Parliament.

Yes, today the non-Malays are nice because they do not have political power. Would they still be nice once they control the Malaysian political scene?

Luckily Malays do not have suspicions of the non-Malays the way bumi-non-malay and those of his ilk have suspicions of PAS. If I too start thinking like this where will it end?

Actually, Malays have more to lose if Malay political power is eroded. But apparently the Malays are more prepared to trust the non-Malays while the non-Malays keep raising all sorts of suspicions.
written by Kritz, February 23, 2008 00:35:55

Nicely put! Everybody, let's follow the moon!
written by mikewang, February 23, 2008 00:40:14
If it's MCA/Gerakan vs PAS.
I will vote PAS.

That's how disgusted I am with the present government.
written by Spear Bing, February 23, 2008 00:59:43
Dear YM RPK,

You might as well forget this 'bumi-non Malay' reader... he is just only a pea in your pocket. But more importantly reserve your energy and resources to focus on RAMBAU Parliamentary Constituency......... Where is Badrul Hisham? Does he want our help and resources? What about a funding campaign? Please respond.
written by Daryl, February 23, 2008 01:23:18
We can go back and forth regarding this. PAS already take a step foward to say that here we are willing to compromise. The question now is what will the non-muslims will response to that in the poll. Is not going to be easy because our BN goverment has use the fear tactics everytime there is an election. So, this is not going to change overnight and hopefully I am wrong.
As politicians they will need to learn to negotiate, compromise and come to a stand what is best for the rakyat. Our current BN politicians we know is not good at that and that is proven record. So, for a change why not try the Barisan Rakyat politicians since they are not familiar with this process. Hopefully, they learned from the BN to avoid these types of issues and is willing to punish whoever use race and religion to their advantages... GO BARISAN RAKYAT.
written by Sagaladoola, February 23, 2008 01:34:02
MAIL OR PRINT THIS FOR BARISAN RAKYAT

BARISAN RAKYAT UNITE ! BLOGGERS UNITE !

Please ***** this link, send the article to your mail and forward to all your friends
http://www.malaysia-today.net/...&itemid=84

Or/And

Please print this article in bulks and distribute it
http://www.malaysia-today.net/...&Itemid=84
written by Sagaladoola, February 23, 2008 01:39:18
Malays, Chinese, Indians hold hands stand together !

BARISAN RAKYAT ! PKR, DAP, PAS !

written by Cahayailmu, February 23, 2008 02:00:34
Salam,
Raja Petra, where can i read your old articles like 'the tried and tested route'?
please respond...
written by singam, February 23, 2008 07:30:34
RPK wrote - "Actually, Malays have more to lose if Malay political power is eroded. But apparently the Malays are more prepared to trust the non-Malays while the non-Malays keep raising all sorts of suspicions."

The Malays have not suffered under the yoke of a non-Malay regime and have no basis for any deep-seated fear.

For many non-Malays and non-Muslims, the trauma has been so terrible and these fears lie so deep that the reaction is almost knee-jerk.

There is a lot of healing to be done.

Turun Padang wrote -
"1. PAS never come out openly and ask their members to vote DAP?
2. PAS didn't voice out for all the corpses snatching issues? "

You know this, how? By reading or listening to the MSM?
So long as people remain dependent on the BN controlled propaganda machine for their information, their thinking cannot but be warped.
written by Raja Petra, February 23, 2008 07:57:38
Dear turun padang, I was in Puchong last night and in Klang a few nights ago at the DAP operation centers and guess who were there in droves working their arses off? Yes, that's right, the PAS and HINDRAF chaps. And the PAS chaps were stringing up DAP flags and treating Gobind Singh like he was an Ayatollah. Where were the 'Cina yang banyak cakap dalam Malaysia Today'? Cina semua tidak turun padang lah. Only the Melayu and India yang keluar buat kerja.

And dear turun padang, I take it you DID go to the PAS press conference on Thursday but somehow while everyone else who went heard PAS lay out their ELECTION MANIFESTO you somehow were the only one who DID NOT hear it and that is why you cakap karut. Am I correct in saying this?
written by Raja Petra, February 23, 2008 08:08:41
Dear singam, the non-Malays always talk about May 13. We hear it because the non-Malays scream about it non-stop and keep reminding the Malays about it. The Malays, however, are just too polite to insult or offend the non-Malays. That is why they keep the Kuomintang incident in their hearts and never talk about it openly, especially in front of the Chinese. Yes, the Malays too have suffered under the Chinese. But the Malays not only have forgiven and forgotten but will not even bring the matter up. Some of my family in Kuala Selangor too died in the Kuomintang rampage merely because they were RAJA. I have NEVER, I repeat, NEVER mentioned this anywhere in Malaysia Today before. But maybe now is the time the Chinese need to know that Malays are also scared of Chinese politicial dominance because once before when the Chinese DID have political dominance many Malays were killed in a blood-bath.

Yet, the Malays work with DAP to try to defeat UMNO while the Chinese keep bangkit this, bangkit that and bangkit the other, again and again.
written by journeyman, February 23, 2008 08:27:45
"PAS = Islamic State Document, hudud, chop-chop, stupid remarks by Nik Aziz."

chop-chop? resigning to (be subjected to) the inevitable even before it happens? do we detect an e-dysfunction here? gone limp?

for someone who cannot so much as make a nuisance of himself in the run-up, let alone vote, you sure are spewing your bowel off. getting closer now, my friend.
written by emcube, February 23, 2008 09:08:02
Salaam RPK,

A very comprehensive and sincere presentation in your writting to put-off the fear of the non-muslims in voting for PAS. It is an undisputed fact that Kelantan has shown good examples of good governance that PAS can proof out of Islamic principles, which are good for everybody regardless whether they are muslims or non-muslims. Of course they are some glitches and teething problems in the beginning but the problems can always be rectified if they govern with sincerity. Of course BN's media will always distort the facts from reaching the mass in general. Sad to see some readers in this blog still believe the BN's media when it comes to negative reporting about PAS.

Its is very good to read some comments from the non-muslim friends here who have seen and admitted what good PAS has done in Kelantan and Terengganu, and they have trust in PAS and willing to support or becoming a member if PAS opens its door to non-muslims which i personally stand for it.

It is true indeed when PAS took over Kelantan with Tok Guru as the MB, i believed that this was going to be an eye opener to Malaysians in general that PAS is capable of governing Malaysia better than UMNO even though it took almost two decades for the people to realise. Alhamdulillah. All praise is for Allaah.

Syabas PAS and RPK and others in MT to bring up this confidence among Malaysians. The fact that PAS is only contesting in 60 seats and not looking for 2/3 majority alone is a proof of their willingness to work together with PKR and DAP to govern Malaysia better to a greater height. Good for the Malaysians in general.

Yes we may still see some rakyat who are UMNO diehard supporters. For them i have this to say: according to almarhum (the late) Ust Dato' Fadhil Noor, the last PAS president, there are only two (2) catagories of people who are in or supporting UMNO:

1. Those who are jahil (ignorant), be it about Islam or about what is going on in Malaysia (especially about the abuse of power and corruption and plundering of nation's wealth). These jahil supporters have no interests or do not benefit much from UMNO or BN. Makan kuah saja. Itu pun yang dah cair berpuluh2 kali.

2. Those who are not jahil, they have self interests for their families and cronies. If the wealth are rightfully theirs, or inherited from their father or forefathers through legal means or they tolied hard for it, it's fine. But the wealth are nation's wealth. They treat it as if it is "harta bapak dia orang" which we the people in general shall not give our blessing at all.

In short, UMNO supporters (BN supporters included) are JAHIL or WITH SELF INTERESTs.

We can always remove PAS, PKR ar DAP later if their ADUNs or MPs diverted from this struggle. If we can remove BN now we can also remove BA later if they also becoming corrupted and plundering the nation's wealth. The people are smarter.

So friends, its not good enough to reduce BN their majority this coming GE. They MUST be REMOVED from office. Get rid of them and replace them with trustworthy representatives be it from PAS, PKR or DAP. God, please save Malaysia.

REMOVE BN OUT!!!

For muslim friends let us make du'a and pray hard (in groups or in solitary) this coming few nights so that the peoples hearts are open to support BA or Barisan Rakyat whatever we call them this coming voting day/s.

amin amin amin ya rabbal'alamin.....insyaAllaah.

written by batsman, February 23, 2008 09:46:38
UMNO/BN bans books on Islam. Most of the banned books are now those which discuss Islam. UMNO is afraid of debate on Islam. UMNO is afraid of the truth. UMNO is afraid of simple words and sentences. UMNO has the power. UMNO promotes Hadhari. All the misery and bad feelings caused by Hadhari is due to UMNO. UMNO uses Hadhari to oppress Malaysians of all races and religions.
written by Rozlan, February 23, 2008 11:06:52
I would like to add further.UMNO had threaten to bathe their sharp kriss with chinese blood,PAS didnt.Yet the chinese are more scared with PAS ISD than UMNO kriss.They didnt want to understand that if ISD were implemented there will be justice and fairness all over the land..It seem the non malays and even most malays prefer the present govt injustice,unfainess,cronisym than the ISD..ISD to them is worse that communistg dictatorship.

I have strong feeling that malays and non malays alike will vote BN overwhelmingly again.They dont want fairness,justice and accountability..They had given the message again and again that they love BN so much except maybe not Paklah..

smilies/cry.gif
written by cruzeiro, February 23, 2008 11:19:16
written by turun padang, February 23, 2008 | 00:55:32
Yes i agree with the statement that PAS is not the 'devil'
as what BN has been telling us all this while
and we de rakyat suppose to support PAS but....why?
=================

Dear TP,
Don't get offended by comments whacking you - It must be the frustration that they feel in trying to explain their position repeatedly to people like you and me. Yes- I too asked the same question at one time.

Allow me.
Firstly, remember that there is no political party that is actually "whiter than white".
Keeping that in mind, let us also be clear that despite the fact that some of what each party preaches isn't exactly appealing (such as baying for chinese blood) you don't seem to ask the same question when it comes to BN.

At least PAS isn't a party that preaches hatred as the cornerstone of its ideology.
While you are aware of this fact, you should be able to ask the same question of the parties that toe the Umno line.

Knowing the dynamics of the sectarian politics, one should be aware that a vote for any BN component, is a vote for UMNO.
And you very well know who's practising the "body-snatching" and "Taliban-Lite/ Al-Qaeda-Lite" polity that you complain of.

And a vote for PAS is a vote for PKR, DAP that is against the ideology of hatred propagated by certain parties. They deserve the benefit of doubt at least, to earn our trust in practising politics at the Federal level in cooperation with other parties, thus being able to be more sophisticated in articulating their ideas.

I hope that explains my reasons in support of a vote for PAS.
Certainly hope it makes some sense (I don't think I put it down well though ...)
http://cruzinthots.********.com/
written by confuseus, February 23, 2008 11:27:03
Ha, ha, ha .... even UMNO people have resorted to the streets.
Mari kita BERSIH KAN BN terutamanya UMNO.
Confuseus dulu memang undi BN, tapi sekarang UMNO BARU banyak sangat PEKUNG!!!
Kita, rakyat kena ajar sama dia sebab dahlah BODOH, SOMBONG PULAK TU !!

"Sejak sehari dua ini, demonstrasi jalanan sebenarnya berlaku di banyak tempat di negara ini. Di Kuala Terengganu, Kangar dan Ipoh, ribuan anggota Umno keluar berdemonstrasi di hadapan Wisma Darul Aman, Kuala Terengganu dan kediaman rasmi Menteri Besar di Ipoh kerana membantah senarai calon yang diumumkan Menteri-Menteri Besar terbabit.

Di Kangar, demonstrasi besar-besaran diadakan di perkarangan rumah Menteri Besar bagi menyatakan sokongan tidak berbelah bahagi kepada Pengerusi Perhubungan Umno negeri, Dato' Seri Shahidan Kassim yang khabarnya digugurkan dari senarai pencalonan."

written by glock17, February 23, 2008 12:28:44
Isn't it Umno members allowed cow's to be slaugthered to celebrate Badawee's 2nd marriage in the parliament compound.

Samy Vellu...wat lah u deyyy!!!
written by Dreamlander, February 23, 2008 12:41:41
IT DOESN'T MATTER WHETHER THE CAT IS WHITE OR BLACK, IT IS A CAT AS LONG AS IT CATCHES A RAT.
In the current MALAYSIAN context, WE, THE VOTERS WILL DEMAND:
IT DOESN'T MATTER WHAT IS YOUR RACE OR RELIGION, WE WILL CAST OUR VOTES FOR YOU AS LONG AS YOU ARE HONEST AND WILLING TO DECLARE & PUBLICIZE YOUR ANNUAL INCOME TAX RETURNS.
written by turun padang, February 23, 2008 14:20:07
la... why la semua orang hemtam i?
i was just speaking from the view of a person on the street..
Yes, i do turun padang..
Yes, i completely support every single thing MT stand for here
And Yes, i am trying to talk like a simple man with a simple mind coz in the street that's how we communicate.

What i meant when i bought up the 2 points earlier is actually the stuffs people throw at me when i talk to them,
i tried searching in harakah & all PAS site but i tak nampak in any part of harakah actually mention this 2 points or Official make a stand on it.
Kalau ada.. i dah lama print out and pass it out to the Apek or ah soh in the street & show them : that is what PAS stand on those topic( for these is the issue that is close to thier heart of the average layman on the street )

as of now, i can only share with everyone i am talking to with things i learn here.

This is not the time to hemtam those that don't come out or turun padang.
This is the time to talk to as many people as possible on why they should come out & vote

P/S - sorry i didn't make it to the blog house today, for i (alone)was in Ampang New Village talking to people, helping them to understand why they should not vote BN anymore...hehehe.. some people thought i was running for the election.(it was fun to see thier reactions) BTW, those that'll be running here will be from keadilan & PAS.. that's why i have to reach out to them.
written by singam, February 23, 2008 14:44:30
Cruzeiro wrote - "I hope that explains my reasons in support of a vote for PAS.
Certainly hope it makes some sense (I don't think I put it down well though ...)"

My friend, don't worry about whether you put it well or not. Your sincerity is showing. That's what counts.

Turun padang wrote - "What i meant when i bought up the 2 points earlier is actually the stuffs people throw at me when i talk to them,
i tried searching in harakah & all PAS site but i tak nampak in any part of harakah actually mention this 2 points or Official make a stand on it."

Why lah you ask like that, like you challenge someone here to convince you? All you have to do is say "Guys, I have a problem. When people ask me I donno how to answer."

You think anyone will hentam you ah?
written by cruzeiro, February 23, 2008 15:04:31
Dear TP,
Yes you are very right in saying that PAS hasn't done enough to reach out to the Apek/AhSoh on the street.
In fact, I still believe that they need to improve on their communication skills via the media to reach out to them. They have been restricted in their scope, while trying to articulate their ideas.
However, the very fact that they can cooperate with PKR being the "middle ground" to bridge the gulf between them and DAP should be enough to convince you that they are reasonable, and not the "devil" as projected by the hate/war-mongers.

Doesn't matter that you cannot be at Blog House - neither can I.
What matters is that you and the people get the message.
I have a job to do - though, I'm neutral and professional at work, in my private time I too try to "turun padang" in my own way via other channels. And I think I can convince at least 100 to cast their votes wisely.
Good that you too "turun padang" - if everyone of us can convince 50-100 people each, we can show the detractors that bloggers will help mould the future - at a force to be reckoned, at that!!

Makkal Sakthi!
People Power!
Hidup Barisan Rakyat!
written by billyong, February 23, 2008 15:07:45
I am glad this article has been highlighted on this blog. I am a Chinese Malaysian and I still remember the first time I visited Kota Baru. I was so awed by the beauty of the state and I started to damn the BN for feeding us all this time the negative perceptions about the way PAS was running the state. Everything that is mentioned in this article is true, except that Pete forgot to mention that "bah kut teh" is also available along Jalan Besar. Since then, my siblings have been voting for PAS and I have just moved from a constituency where DAP and MCA contest every 4 to 5 years to a new place where I now have PAS and MCA contesting. And you know what, my vote including those of my family members will go to PAS. It is time non-Malays Malaysian visit the east coast states and see for themselves the lies that we have been fed with for years. Oh yes, that is the only thing the BN is good at, TELLING LIES!
written by EricPayne, February 23, 2008 16:00:40
The comments made by Bumi-non-malay and Singam (or others of the bitching kind) hurt a lot.

My uncle nearly died at the hand of the "Bintang Tiga" if not for my granddad who faced the Chinese guy (granddad knew him). When the family tried to stop him from going after the Bintang Tiga guy with a sword, he said and I quote: "That's my son", and with a quick pace he went to save his son. No, the Bintang Tiga guy did not die, he only suffered my granddad "sword's fury". I have, if I'm not mistaken, 12 or so cousins from this uncle.

I agree with you, we need to move forward, but with a difference: we FORGIVE as we are all the people of this country (unless some people think otherwise); we do or die together(maybe, perhaps). But, we must NEVER NEVER forget; it may and can happen again. Work hard we must, to ensure this will not happen again (like 13 May and the Bintang Tiga episode).

By the way, my granddad was in the Opposition way way back in the 50's, with the Malayan Party (Malaya Tong I think my granddad told me the Chinese called it) after he left UMNO (he told me he can't stand the nonsense). The Chinese called him Ah Seng (granddad looked Chinese; to think of it many of us in the family looked Chinese, Indian,Pakistani, etc. That uncle of mine, his mother-in-law was Japanese). He apparently has forgiven and forget, and move forward.
written by singam, February 23, 2008 16:38:56
I shall assume that EricPayne categorising me as one the "bitching kind" was simply an unfortunate choice of words or perhaps it came from a place of deep hurt. Fingers can be pointed and blame assigned for real and perceived wrongs but, at the end of the day, we have to move forward.

I remember growing up in a land where the colour of one's skin was a matter for curiosity and little more. I am sad that my children could not get to enjoy the best that this land has to offer. I look forward to a time when my grandchildren will succeed or fail only on the basis of their ability and industry. I look forward to a time when we can again proudly declare that we are Malaysians.

We are at the watershed of great events. There will always be spoilers. Let them not deflect us from our goal - restore democracy and give back to the people the rights that they have lost.

Hidup Barisan Rakyat
Hidup Bangsa Malaysia
written by EricPayne, February 23, 2008 18:08:44
Singam, my sincere apology for the choice of word, no malice intended, only to bring the point to the fore. Lets move forward; too many things to do, so little time to do it.

I'm working abroad now. Be rest assured that I'll come home on March the 8th; straight to the polling station for me.
written by mara koman, February 23, 2008 23:45:28

All that is said,, Wht matters right now is that There is a '' Parti Rakyat ''

I am not comtemplating or questioning any parties calibre, anyway at this point
PAS, PKF and DAP come together to deny the BN 2/3 victory. That all matters,,
So who ever out there wanting to study and analyse the situation toughly before coming to decision,, just stop mourning and fretting unneecssary,,

Just walk into the ballot box,,pen a big cross for PAS or DAP or PKR and walk tall. If you have done that you are with the rakyat and you have voted for justice to be prevail. This is where stand ,,just do that.....
written by panca, February 25, 2008 13:06:00
Almost similar rationale I said to friends(non-malay, non muslims) why Pas need our votes in our area if there is one Pas is contesting, then we support them because they too had be represented at different states and parliaments seats, their presence is an opposition to BN. They are part of the Barisan Rakyat and believe have cleared from 3 corner fights, we should support them impartially. Besides they need more of 150 parliamentary seats to have a 2/3 majority which is not happening.

We need to support the CHANGE from Barisan Rakyat that consist of these opposition parties.

VOTE FOR CHANGE, "VOTE IS FOR CHANGE"
written by erin, February 25, 2008 15:09:53
this article means so much for me
written by Ken Wong, February 27, 2008 10:45:00
General Election

We all know that once in a few years we are given the opportunity to vote. Why vote? It has no effect on the outcome.

One vote alone may not count but many votes together becomes a voice to be reckoned with. Let your voice be heard.

This election, more so than others is a vital election because we are at a cross roads. If we get it right we will prosper; if we get it wrong, we will suffer as we have seen in our neighboring countries.

To help you decide please ponder these issues:
1. Do you think our politicians in power are corrupt?
2. Do you think our civil service is corrupt?
3. Do you think they are incompetent?
4. Do you think the people in power sets themselves above the law?
5. Do you think our leadership has lost its way?
6. Do you think we are getting more & more divided by race & religion?
7. Do you think we have a questionable justice system?
8. Do you think that they are wasting our wealth?
9. Do you think our children will suffer more?
10. Do you want to see change?

If you say yes to 3 or more of these issues, don't you think we need change? YOU CAN MAKE CHANGE HAPPEN!!!

Just send this to 10 other relatives or friends and ask them to do the same to 10 of their friends and so on. By so doing we are enlisting the power of multilevel marketing. Yes the math works and it is awesome. By the 7th level this message would reach 1,000,000 people. Yes we can make our vote count! Better believe it!! We owe it to ourselves and to our children and to their children.

Malaysia Boleh! make it happen for ours and our children's future.
May the force be with you
written by Fart Fart Wah, February 29, 2008 10:43:33
UMNO PRODUCED THE BALI BOMBERS..MALAYSIA IS FAMOUS FOR PRODUCING TERRORISTS...

i HEARD A RUMOR THE OSAMA WAS DISGUISED AS A GARDENER IN SOME MINISTERS HOUSE FOR SOMETIME BEFORE HE WAS ASKED TO LEAVE FOR PAKISTAN..

UMNO???PAS?????THIS COUNTRY IS ON THE BRINK OF ISLAMISATION...STARTED BY THE MAMAK..22 YEARS OF RELIGIOUS SCHOOLS AND ASRAMAS WITH HIM AND PARTLY DUE TO ANWAR THIS COUNTRY NOW HAS A HAAREM OF TUDONGS AND EXTREMISTS IN EVERY LEVEL OF GOVERNMENT SERVICE.

IN THE SIXTIES I ONLY USED TO SEE CATHOLIC NUNS WITH TUDONGS...ALL VIRGINS AND EDUCATING THE CURRENT OLD HAG MINISTERS..TODAY THE TUDONGS ARE A SYMBOL FOR ISLAM BUT VIRGINS????

mUSLIM MEN HAVE TO LEARN TO SEE THAT TUDONG OR WITHOUT TUDONG THEY MUST LEARN TO SEE WOMEN AS THIER EQUAL...SOME MUSLIM MEN WITH THE TUDONG ALSO CAN SEE WOMEN NAKED RUNNING AROUND...LIKE NIK AZIZ..
ALL THE PRAYING AND SHOUTING FROM MOSQUES WILL NOT HELP IF THE EYES ARE NOT USED PROPERLY AND THE IMAGINATION KEPT UNDER CONTROL...TO NIK AZIZ A TREE WITH A SKIRT ROUND IT ALSO IS AN OPPORTUNITY FOR RAPE...

written by Bandit, March 03, 2008 21:19:44
There is a huge army camp beside my "Taman" in Seremban.Today army personnel casted their postal votes. I was having tea today at a nearby mamak stall and overheard a few soldiers saying they had no choice but to vote Barisan as the voting slip had serial numbers. I am a Punjabi and had voted for the opposition be it PAS or Keadilan. I hope non muslims reading this will for heaven sake throw barisan out this time. By the way I just attended the DAP ceramah at Taman AST at 730pm 3/3/08. IT was PACKED roads were jammed to the brink. Believe me the chinese too are going to swing their votes this time. Lets be part of history to kick barisan out.