Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Po Kuan to defend Batu Gajah

Po Kuan to defend Batu Gajah PDF Print
Friday, 22 February 2008 15:16

Fong Po Kuan, DAP member of parliament for Perak’s Batu Gajah seat, has reversed her decision not to defend her seat.

At a press conference in her constituency today, Fong said that she was ready to contest Batu Gajah, a seat which she has served for the past two terms.

Her dramatic reversal came after days of persuasion from party leaders for her to defend seat.

DAP leader Lim Kit Siang, who had earlier said Fong was "incommunicado", was able to speak to her yesterday to convince the popular 35-year-old politician to change her mind.- M'kini

Comments (47)Add Comment
written by DezMalaysia, February 22, 2008 15:19:04
As expected... A surprise...

So Tajol Rosli is unhappy now...
written by Chuang Tze, February 22, 2008 15:23:57
Po Kuan ... Good for you ... Good sense and national duty prevails ... the country must come first ... all else can be settled after that !
written by varvoom, February 22, 2008 15:25:15
Very Good decision Fong Po Kuan, welcome back. Now go get them! we the rakyat are right behind you.
written by nathan, February 22, 2008 15:26:50
Thank you, Fong....Lets see if they give this news first class coverage....THE time has come...Change is sweeping through all over the world....stand up to the challenge and make Tajol ROSLI sweat......and now Sharizat can eat her words and statements, given yesterday at an interview.....really CANT STAND THE OLD WOMAN.....
written by kindaeasi, February 22, 2008 15:27:06
You got GUTS LADY. Even though you made the decision to quit and announced it LOUDLY at the wrong time, today you have come back onboard. We are happy and overwhelmed with joy. BN has just got kicked very hard in butt!! More beating and pain is in store for BN...
written by sickofitall, February 22, 2008 15:27:35
Hooray!! Now let's make history!! Return Malaysia to ALL Malaysians!
written by cwy, February 22, 2008 15:27:56
We'll see the downfall of BN government!
written by panca, February 22, 2008 15:35:16
Roger that!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, February 22, 2008 15:41:23
"Congratulations"
"Long Live DAP"
"Long Live PO KUAN"
"Long Live Lim Kit Siang"
written by non conformist, February 22, 2008 15:42:52
Sister Po Kuan, I take that as a great tactical move!
It will expose all the mass media as LACKEYS to the Buruk Negara administration.
I am so relieve that good sense and national duty to the rakyat prevail... yes, all else can be settle later.
I salute you.
A Setiawan of Perak.
written by ibabonma, February 22, 2008 15:43:01
Now I can walk tall when I balik kampung - No 1, River Street, Batu Gajah.
written by Xerxes, February 22, 2008 15:46:49
Hey Najib!! Here is mud in your face.

YB Fong, welcome back!! I criticize your decision to quit at the eleventh hour on YB Kit's blog and I am now glad you chenged your mind. I am sure it did wonders for the Opposition morale and deal a stunning blow to the BN who were prematurely gloating at you quit decision.
written by netmiser88, February 22, 2008 15:47:56
smilies/grin.gifeep down in my heart I did not believe she is really quiting!
I have met her in person before in Ipoh years back. At that time I have already formed a character of her as being a mini dynamite!!....and shrewd to boot!!!!
She DID NOT LET ME DOWN!!!!......Thank you Po Kuan for not spoiling my assessment of you then, THANK YOU and GOOD SHOW!!!!
written by qitaro, February 22, 2008 15:50:00
Although I'm not anywhere near Batu Gajah, I still want to thank you for your decision. Lets deal with the election first. You are one reason why I signed up as a voter because I believe there are real politicians out there who are passionate about serving their constituency.
written by diehard, February 22, 2008 15:50:53
can somebody please...whenever i zoom in on the page....the page is always center align...how can i right/left align the page????
written by Lim Lim, February 22, 2008 15:53:35
that's the way it should be!!it is good for u to set a good example as the locomotive of change,a change we must believe in...for a better malaysian tomorrow..when the going get tough,the tough should get going!!!!
written by Birdbrain, February 22, 2008 15:54:23
Po Kuan a.k.a. Cili Padi should go after Ong Ka Chuan. Make Ong Ka Chuan never make it to becoming the next president of mca.
written by sonofman0, February 22, 2008 16:02:15
Welcome back Po Kuan. The democratic process needs people like you. Now you voters in her constituency get out there and vote. Like RPK said, "Use it or lose it". Democracy for ever in Malaysia!
written by Eskay Lim, February 22, 2008 16:02:39
WELCOME HOME Po Kuan, we never doubted that you would turn your back on all Malaysians in trying to make this country a better place to live.

Now we will give those BN cronies a run for their money.
written by Bill Gates, February 22, 2008 16:03:54
That is the greatest news and greatest sacrifice from you Po Kuan. We have missed the opportunity to deny Bn 2/3 majority in 1990 and 1999. 2008 is another golden opportunity and with your reversed decision, we have high chance of not only winning Batu Gajah but also Ipoh Timor and Ipoh Barat. So 75 - 3 = 72 more seats to go.
written by Eddie Tan, February 22, 2008 16:04:00
Najib eating his shoes now
written by Bill Gates, February 22, 2008 16:04:47
diehard

please change your display setting
written by malaysianohope, February 22, 2008 16:08:00
WHOOPIE!

That's my girl you have been forgiven.

Now give them hell and vote out the bastards!
written by PakPandir, February 22, 2008 16:09:12
Fantastic news ......
written by Counterpointer, February 22, 2008 16:14:56
Najib, what you thought you scored as an easy open goal is DISALLOWED! Stop your stupid monkey dance and go pick that ball from the back of the net and pass it back to the goalie please.

Welcome back, Cili Padi.

written by franklyspeaking, February 22, 2008 16:38:40
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif clap clap clap..... bravo! DAP
that really great, at least the BN got the taste of their own medicine.... sandiwara!
written by asguard, February 22, 2008 16:41:38
Dear Fong...

Thankyou for reconsider the contest... together we shall shoot down the idiot devils...
written by qitaro, February 22, 2008 16:47:26
Dear Chili Padi, please remember to thank Najib for his kind compliments.

Its rare to hear a BN Chief praising anyone from DAP!

Hahaha ... and he call himself a Deputy Prime Minister!!! Muahaha!
written by ultraman, February 22, 2008 16:57:09
Well done! Po Kuan!
Help cleanse BN of corruption!
We need you!!!
GOD BLESS YOU ALAWAYS!
written by Counterpointer, February 22, 2008 16:58:03
Now let's replay what Najib said as reported in NST 19/02/08:

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_...index_html

This (Fong's decision) proves that the DAP has failed miserably in implementing the principles of democracy, meritocracy and transparency.
Now, an extremely capable MP (Fong) from the party is forced to take drastic action to show her disapproval."

Wow! First time I 've read anywhere one of BN's top brass complimenting an Opposition MP as extremely capable. With this kind of tremendous respect shown by BN towards Fong and now that she's BACK!, I think who is going to win this Batu Gajah seat is already a foregone conclusion.

Fong Po Kuan goes into the Book of Malaysian Records as the first Opposition MP to be publicly praised by BN.

Well Done !

smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by hiro, February 22, 2008 16:59:22
The biggest sucker of them all: DPM Najib Tun Razak. He gave Po Kuan an endorsement that she is a very capable Parliamentarian. So is there any reason to vote for her opponent? No. Zero. Zilch. If this was Po Kuan's strategy, it worked damn well. What was the article saying the other day about opposition lacking creativity? Might want to rethink that.

DAP is whole again. Vote to end corruption and incompetence. Vote for the opposition.
written by SimpleSoul, February 22, 2008 17:22:25
Will NST front page be like this tomoorow? FONG drops a BOMB on BN? lets see how thier article will be potrayed. BE intresting to know who know how wil the articile will be
written by beijing, February 22, 2008 17:32:40
We will always stand by you,FPK smilies/kiss.gif
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, February 22, 2008 17:59:02
GOD bless Po Kuan
God bless DAP
God bless the opposition parties
written by fedup, February 22, 2008 18:13:26
This is great news for all supporters of opposition parties and BAD news for BN. Way to go Ms Fong Po Kuan, get those nasty BN MPs to buck up.
written by Wisdom above, February 22, 2008 18:39:24
Non-Partisan medias coverage ?

Very strange ?

> How come no news on TV1,TV2,TV3,TV7,TV8,TV9 ..
….eg. all refused to show Cili Padi returns..
…no coverage at all..

>> Cili Padi Fong Po Kuan has returned to the frontline of the 2008 “Electoral Battle of the Century”

Tomorrow Front Page news in Star, NSTP , BH , SCJP etc ?

Maybe also no news coverage ? Or Medias black-out again ?

written by Taikohtai, February 22, 2008 19:19:07
A wise person knows when to reverse a decision. Hence, FKP is wise.
STAR reported:MCA deputy president Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy will not contest this election due to health reasons. He also hinted that he is considering retirement.
Anybody wanna bet CKC reversing his???? smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by SID, February 22, 2008 19:53:31
Ya da leader Poh Kuan
written by Uncorruptible, February 22, 2008 23:27:59
I cried again, this time for joy.
I can hear the mca squirm.
You ROCK Fong Po Kuan. THANK YOU !!!
umno is a four-letter word. umno/mca/mic/grkn = Axis of Evil
written by GermanMachine, February 23, 2008 00:27:28
What can I say? Thank you YB.
written by yy88, February 23, 2008 00:33:39
A good strategy by Po Kuan. I can only sympathise with Ong Ka Chuan who thought he had the crown on his head. Too bad the dream was shot lived, and please try again in the next GE, may be you will win in 2012. A slap in the face for Ka Ting for Being betraying the Chinese community.
written by nathan, February 23, 2008 00:45:00
May this election prove that the people are the BOSS.....and it will surely be a fantastic place when one has freedom of speech and appreciation for a fellow malaysian....enough is enough....NO MORE COMMUNAL POLITICS.....WE live together..people of various races,religion and background...GOOD OR BAD..WE share......THATS IT.....thank you for coming back,FONG...
written by Lis LQ, February 23, 2008 00:57:43
Thank You Po Kuan for returning to the fold.I knew that you will NOT abandoned us. I can tell you that thats the BEST Strategies of the Century,and the NST was quick to give you the Big Headlines....muaahahaha!!!
You are one woman that i would love to meet and shake hand.
May you be Blessed with Lots of Love,Peace,Good Luck,Good Health and most of all God's Blessing.
written by mikewang, February 23, 2008 01:20:07
"Now, an extremely capable MP (Fong) from the party is forced to take drastic action to show her disapproval."

I think DAP should make posters for Fong portraying this endorsement from Najib to her as being EXTREMELY CAPABLE.
written by doggone, February 23, 2008 06:53:42
We the rakyat get lifted higher and higher as the moment draws closer and closer. Damn good feeling lah !!!

Though they say the hot stuff comes in small bundle, we would like to thank you in a big bundle Po Kuan. Damn shiok to hear you're back !!!
written by doggone, February 23, 2008 06:58:44
Najib, don't let us down by keeping quiet.
Reaffirm your statement of endorsement for Po Kuan.
Let us hear you say that you are relief and thankful to
hear that she has returned to defend her seat.
written by billyong, February 23, 2008 07:39:38
I have never felt so good than to hear our girl is back in the fold and will be coming out at the BN with guns blazing. It was such a hugh relief to read that Poh Kuan has reversed her decision. March 8 - it's going to be the "gunfight at OK Corral." smilies/cheesy.gif