Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysian bloggers warned being monitored

Malaysian bloggers warned being monitored PDF Print
Friday, 22 February 2008 14:34

KUALA LUMPUR - AFP : A Malaysian government minister has accused bloggers, who have been writing avidly on upcoming elections, of being cowards and warned they are being monitored, a report said Friday.

Youth and Sports Minister Azalina Othman said opposition parties were using blogs to get their message out because they believed the Home Affairs Ministry was busy monitoring reports in the mainstream media, the Star daily said.

"They think they can get away with it but it is not the case as they too are being monitored," she reportedly said, adding that bloggers were cowards and a nuisance to the ruling party.

Opposition parties have resorted to blogs, SMS messaging and YouTube in their campaign for the March 8 polls, to dodge a virtual blackout on mainstream media.

Major newspapers and television stations -- many partly owned by parties in the ruling coalition -- have given blanket coverage to the government and its achievements since the election was called.

The opposition parties rate barely a mention, but thanks to the Internet they have begun campaigning feverishly in cyberspace with the aim of reaching young, urban, educated voters.

Media watchdog Reporters Without Borders ranks Malaysia 124 out of 169 on its worldwide press freedom index, and says the main media are "often compelled to ignore or to play down the many events organised by the opposition".

The government has previously threatened that bloggers could be punished under draconian internal security laws which provide for detention without trial. - Channel NewsAsia

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by grant, February 22, 2008 14:38:38
wah lan... ranked 124 out of 169 for the press freedom index... that is superbly well done... Malaysia Boleh! Why not overshoot 169? the higher the number the better mah... Duh!
written by the1, February 22, 2008 14:44:16
Home Affairs Ministry was busy monitoring reports in the mainstream media
*MONITORING is NOT the correct word.

Azalina, the rakyat are more wise and mature this time round, please stop publish such main stream report which makes you look like an a--

smilies/wink.gif
written by manny_california_usa, February 22, 2008 14:45:57
Well, why don't you come here to California and arrest me.Truth hurts doesn't it you moron....You call yourself a leader but don't have the guts to speak the truth and bring justice for all Malaysian? Give me a break. Remember March 8 is your last day and after that we are coming to arrest you, get prepared.

On the other side of the coin, i would like to thank all bloggers for their good work here. Keep it up guys and don't listen to this lesbian.. smilies/wink.gif
written by tselau, February 22, 2008 14:49:19
Goodness!!!!! you losing porpularity because no one gives you good comment on their blog??? sour grapes.

Vote Azlina OUT to --------------------> door smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Hakim Abdullah, February 22, 2008 14:52:04
cowards?..nuisance?....monitored?...apa yang hang takut ni kak lina?...maybe you should go on promoting your TaeKwonDo prowess by breaking your teeth with a board and stop threatening..or are you looking for your 4th Dan Black Belt in BullShido?
written by temenggong, February 22, 2008 14:52:56
Not lesbian lah! The politically correct word is transgender.

The transgender is warning us bloggers! I like this kind of verbal masoschism. smilies/grin.gif
written by atsanee, February 22, 2008 14:54:49
She shud do the honorable thingspeak her mind about her new masters and follow her ex boss into political oblivion.
Its a shame,Zaid was a poor teacher.
written by Sutha, February 22, 2008 15:04:16

Why is this lesbie tomboy so stupid one?

Media already given total blackout of good news of all opposition parties and their leaders. Sometimes carry untrue "news" to suit the powers that be. Opposition cannot use the bloggers and blogsites, meh?

What about bloggers, ArmNo CyberTroopers and sites which bullshit in the Beruk Nasional or ArmNo's favour. That is all right, izit?

Nang NohDi Nang, Khooi BohDi Khooi!
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, February 22, 2008 15:10:09
You are such an ugly-looking lesbian and your fold-mouth should be permanently stitched, otherwise the virus will spread and kill all the HP6 monkeys.
written by rayfire, February 22, 2008 15:12:16
Ok, you want to watch us ,fine,see all you want Azalina!
But we don't want to see you! euuugggh!
smilies/tongue.gif
written by densemy, February 22, 2008 15:18:58
The government are cowards and a nuisance to the people of Malaysia

.. why else do they suppress any form of dissention
written by varvoom, February 22, 2008 15:21:06
1984 Big Brother opps! Big transgender is watching, LOL!
written by ibabonma, February 22, 2008 15:21:39
Wah!...Mohd Azlina, you banyak garang sekarang huh? Bila mahu kawin?
written by Counterpointer, February 22, 2008 15:24:36
Aw c'mon Azalina, there's so many women bloggers out there, surely there's at least one that you would be interested to get to know better ..? Nuisance now, partner later ?? I am going to throw up already.

smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by SimpleSoul, February 22, 2008 15:26:12
Dato' Azalina i would recommend you to let proper experience lawyers to monitor the blog instead of yrself... as you claimn previously that you could not understand the agreement written. Just a advice..... do go barkign up the wrong tree
written by SimpleSoul, February 22, 2008 15:28:28
by the way VK Lingam would be my choicel. Whats say you correct correct correct not
written by myke, February 22, 2008 15:49:53
She is furious bcos being branded a LESBO by bloggers. Who knows, she might be.

VOTE BN OUT...!!!!!
written by revelation, February 22, 2008 16:04:48
Youth and Sports Minister Azalina Othman said opposition parties were using blogs to get their message out because they believed the Home Affairs Ministry was busy monitoring reports in the mainstream media, the Star daily said.
=============> SO FINALLY YOU ADMITTED THE CURRENT GOMEN ARE ACTUALLY CONTROLLING THE MAINSTREAM MEDIA HUH? apa la lesbo ni...keep it quiet lah, nanti orang kampung tahu, pecah temberang. derrkk..

"They think they can get away with it but it is not the case as they too are being monitored," she reportedly said, adding that bloggers were cowards and a nuisance to the ruling party.
=============> By your budak hingusan cybertrooper who can't get a decent job until they learn english by reading blogs?

so umno CYBERTROOPER...m sure u r reading this, print this out and give it your lesbo general. kakakaka!!
written by aiyomanaboleh, February 22, 2008 16:12:06

You know what free speech is or not? Free speech means I can speak or talk on anything I want and the beautiful part is, you don't have to agree with it. Like now, you are saying something I think is stupid but I will not say you cannot say those things.

But please don't call names when someone don't agree with you. It shows your lack of upbringing or in BM "kurang ajar".
written by Selva, February 22, 2008 16:19:59
You can watch what you want and we the rakyat will write and say what you do not want to hear. Just shut up and prepare to look for another job...
written by Lim Lim, February 22, 2008 16:21:52
monitored??we are merely exercising our foundamental right to express!!so far MT bloggers are writing in a fanstatically,exceptionally mature manner...kudos..so ????hidup rakyat,hidup bangsa malaysia,together we would make a better tomorrow for malaysian on 8-3-2008!!vote opposition,Barisan Rakyat..give a BIG "NO" to Barisan Nasional.!!!!!!!!
written by farah, February 22, 2008 16:23:30
Why all the DESPARATE BN UMNO/MIC/MCA are getting stupid day by day as the GE 2008 is nearing? No nail polish....any dress code?...i have a tatoo at my upper arm. Can i vote?
written by Beezee_Beezee, February 22, 2008 16:47:44
Lol...kamu sik buang msa aje...dia kan maunya meneng dalem election 12 ini...jadi nya nga payah bicara pasal dia....buang masa aje....deh.
Kalau apa yg di bicara dalam blog nga betul..jadi yg dalam Mahkamah tentang Lingam..corect..corect ..corect tu nga betu....Muka macem says..suara macem saya...tapinya buken saya..apalah....Corect Corect Corect....
written by cruzeiro, February 22, 2008 17:32:03
Azalina,
Do the words - stupid is as stupid does - ring a bell?
You could also say "Ugly is as Ugly does"! smilies/grin.gif
written by asguard, February 22, 2008 17:42:44
Where is your lesbian loverlah!.....
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, February 22, 2008 18:10:26
Hey, Lesbian, you are hereby warned to keep your mouth shut. You are a disgrace to society, being neither a man nor a woman, and should be permanently put behind bars for the rest of your life, in order to protect innocent girls from being influence by your tom-boyish nature. Don't forget what TDM remarked before.
written by mountainking, February 22, 2008 18:45:08
yeah yeah, go and punish me, go ahead. i am related to Ong Ka Ting but not supportive of him ..... ask him who is his nephew's name.
written by Motherchell, February 22, 2008 19:40:00
My dear Youth and Sports Minister Azalina Othman , i wonder what school of thought you are from, in the first place there is no no substance o you will need to mitigate your calls, WHAT are you afraid of???????? if you're honest then whats the issue ,

HOPE YOU REMEMBER WHAT DEMOCRATIC NORMS ARE ?????? No USE BEING A MINISTER FOR THE Youth . You are only putting them into an enervation for the so called 2020.

This is just a challenge to you ---- BLOCK YOUTUBE , ****** , CNN< BBC AND WHAT EVER YOU DON'T FEEL COMFORTABLE WITH . please do just this !!!!!!!!
written by Malaysiaputra, February 22, 2008 19:40:41
A Malaysian government minister has accused bloggers, who have been writing avidly on upcoming elections, of being cowards and warned they are being monitored, a report said Friday.
====

Who is going to pay for the monitoring? The caretaker govt is in no position to simply spend the rakyat's money for its own political benefit.

By the way do you mean we are going the way of the communist state ?.

As it is the govt is misuing its power to use the press to its own benefit and denying the competition equal opportunity to convey their messages.
written by Motherchell, February 22, 2008 20:03:43
kEEP UP YOUR WONDERFUL WORK GUYS AND GALS , ALL OF YOU ARE A TREAT!!

I was just thinking , imagine Azalina, we bloggers out here were by some Midas touch elected into Parliament this time, and by the same Midas touch BN is there too with the full cabinet.

WOULD ALL OF YOU HAVE THE GUTS TO FACE US OR PISS IN YOUR PANTS?????

written by Uncorruptible, February 22, 2008 23:32:20
We are NOT afraid, o no lipstick lady.
Why don't you just spend your time playing football with the boys?
umno is a four letter word. umno/mic/mca/grkn = Axis of Evil
written by Spear Bing, February 23, 2008 00:19:48
Very very typical of BN Minister giving threats to all and sundry. She is carrying the Jurrasic mindset of days gone by where only BN is right and the opposition wrong. This are the kinds that the Rakyat should send them packing to Timbuktu.

When are you going to wake up and face this 21st century reality of life?
written by GermanMachine, February 23, 2008 01:01:36
Dear Boy George,

Karma, karma, karma, karma chemeleon.........

you come and go, you come and go.....

THIS TIME, YOU GO!!!!!
written by archie, February 23, 2008 01:08:20
I don't know what he is talking about. I only use the internet to book budget airline tickets.
written by sedan, February 23, 2008 01:20:26
Lesbian,

You were monitored way back as a student in London, and you were duly recommended to Tun Mamak. You made his dictatorship so much easier.

written by mikewang, February 23, 2008 01:26:45
'Youth and Sports Minister Azalina Othman said opposition parties were using blogs to get their message out because they believed the Home Affairs Ministry was busy monitoring reports in the mainstream media, the Star daily said.

"They think they can get away with it but it is not the case as they too are being monitored," she reportedly said, adding that bloggers were cowards and a nuisance to the ruling party. '

Why is the caretaker government using taxpayers resources to threaten voters ?
If BN ever loses the election, we would like to see this government minister prosecuted for corruption.
written by Sagaladoola, February 23, 2008 01:56:12
---------------------------------
SAY NO TO INTIMIDATION
---------------------------------

HIGHLIGHT:

COMMENT:
I thought Zainuddin said people do not read blogs and use internet for airline booking? Aikk, to monitor you need to read blogs right?

I suggest to bloggers to write more about Azalina. She deserves to have more people to "campaign" for her this election.

Write more more more about her. Expose more more more. I mean, she is saying bloggers are cowards. There must be some reason to it. We did not give her enough attention. Not enough "campaigning" for her.

written by Sutha, February 23, 2008 02:44:07
Ibabonma,

Dia sudah kahwin, woh!

Dia punya suami Datin, ma!
written by SOS, February 23, 2008 03:57:24

Well, that's very enlightening piece of information coming from a minister. Of course, we are not the least bit surprise, but it's good that the rest of world hear it first hand, direct from the minister of the ruling government.

That, Malaysia under Umno is no different from the likes of Communist Russia, with KGB monitoring it's citizens, Gestapo monitoring East Germans, The Shah's SAVAK(secret police) monitoring the Iranians, Apartheid Regim of S. Africa, Pinochet of Chile, Fidel Castro, Military Junta of Burma, Mugabe of Zimbabwe.........

See for yourself, how many of them are goners and how they endure massive humiliations in the twilight of their existence.

Be warned, Umno and it's Barisan components are heading toward that direction. When that day come, don't say that nobody told you so.
written by doggone, February 23, 2008 04:00:05
Dear lina.

Sure you can monitor. Some of us might even like being monitored. However, can you assure us that you would keep all our memories private and for self gratification only, and under no circumstances should you ever publish them on the net like what Edison Chen did? Thank you man !!!

written by bn haramjadah, February 24, 2008 06:17:05
AZLINA, AZLINAAAAAAAAAA, WE ARE ALSO WATCHING YOU $50.00 SCREWDRIVERS, WHAT RUBBISH YOU TALK LAH, memantat shj
written by Daryl, February 25, 2008 02:08:41
Tssskkkkk

You only monitor people that you think are potential terrorist not your own rakyat that is trying to express freedom of speech. Currently, there is no avenue for us to express freely because the main media is monopoly by BN. Which is okay if they allow fairness of reporting but aiyaaah it will never happen because the BN doesn't have any BALLS to allow competitions. So, bloggers consider yourself part of terrorist group and being monitored with your own hard earn money through tax for no good reasons...