Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Pro-government Islamic groups demanding stronger role for Islam ahead of polls in Malaysia

Pro-government Islamic groups demanding stronger role for Islam ahead of polls in Malaysia PDF Print
Thursday, 21 February 2008 17:59

By Eileen Ng, The Associated Press

A call is going out for a stronger role for Islam in Malaysia.

A group called the Defenders of Islam wants the government to declare Malaysia an Islamic-majority country and reject any attempt to make it a secular state.

The Defenders of Islam is a loose coalition of about 100 conservative organizations representing students, professions and others.

Among other things, it is also calling for wider powers for Shariah courts and stricter enforcement of religious and moral doctrines ahead of general elections next month.

The National Front coalition, which has governed Malaysia since 1957, is led by the United Malays National Organization. It draws support from Malay Muslims and espouses a generally moderate form of Islam.

About 60 per cent of Malaysia's 27 million people are ethnic Malay Muslims. The rest are Christians, Buddhists and Hindus from the Chinese and Indian communities.

Yusri Mohamad, president of the Muslim Youth Movement of Malaysia (ABIM), which leads the coalition, says recent racial and religious tensions in Malaysia stem from efforts by certain groups to challenge Islam's role in the multiracial country.

"We want to remind all Malaysians to preserve and maintain the status quo," he said. "The formula may not be perfect but it has worked reasonably well. It is acceptable and sustainable."

The Islamic groups' demands follow a campaign by Malaysian churches urging Christians to choose candidates in the March 8 polls who champion religious freedom.

There are growing concerns among religious minorities that their rights are being eroded by a rise in Islamic fervour, which many blame on overzealous Muslim bureaucrats in Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's government.

The fears have been fuelled by a recent government ban on the word "Allah" in Malay-language Christian literature, the demolition of Hindu temples, and court judgments favouring Muslims in disputes with non-Muslims.

Yusri said the Islamic demands, which will be distributed to all candidates and political parties, were aimed at highlighting Muslim needs, not countering the Christian campaign.

The groups' statement called for asserting "the significant role of Islam in the state."

It also called for the power of Islamic Shariah courts to be strengthened and new laws to block the propagation of other religions among Muslims, especially in states with large minority populations.

The groups also seek more Islamic studies in schools, increased scholarships for Muslims and the implementation of Islamic practices, such as prayers during school assemblies.

Television stations should ban western entertainment programs such as reality shows and promote Islamic programming.

written by fairnessforall, February 21, 2008 18:09:49
Yeah this is the same hypocrite group who will not think twice about raping their own daughters and granddaughters. This is the same group that will not think twice about being corrupted, having affairs, cheating on their spouse and doing everything that is forbidden by islam.

Seems this group wants to see more body snatching. If islamic laws were used, these bastards will be the first to have their hands chopped off. Filty bastards who are using islam for their own personal gain
written by tharma4u, February 21, 2008 18:13:20
This is what will happen when people are obsessed to the name of Islam, rather then the teaching of Islam...
written by reason, February 21, 2008 18:43:26
what malaysia has failed miserably at is change management. and now we are simply witnessing the results. all the government policies of the 90s designed to propel us into the ranks of the first world has transformed a large section of our population into reactionaries. they were driven along the modernisation track at a pace they were mentally, emotionally and spiritually unprepared for. so as a result they dug in their heels and refused to budge. then when they saw that the track was actually a conveyor belt bearing them in that direction anyway, they started to move backwards of their own accord.

this is a dreadful situation because fear is so infectious and these poor pro-government islamic groups are so afraid. they're so afraid that they're willing to talibanize the country and send us back into the dark ages.

the only thing we can do as fearless malaysians is to vote for the opposition. So on 8 March, BE FEARLESS.
written by alanlee, February 21, 2008 18:48:07
Ahem!....excuse me Defenders of Islam, does the majorities 60% exclude the Dayak, Kadazan and etc ?
written by maedee, February 21, 2008 18:55:18
Defenders of Islam...????

Is Islam under attack in Malaysia?

I don't think so.
written by Angela Ooi, February 21, 2008 20:19:59
These unholy retards of Islam goes the way of all shallow-minded Muslims who are more into form and not the value and beauty of Islam. Non-Muslims are a minority here and we are the ones under threat. Get it Numbskulls?
written by cruzeiro, February 21, 2008 21:05:33
There will be no end to this childish behaviour of sectarianism.
This has been fueled and encouraged by the competition among certain quarters who wish to compete in the same arena of "supremacy", bigotry, prejudice and arrogance.
And it plays into the hands of those who practice the "divide & rule Policy".
It will only end if all parties choose to first see his neighbour as his brother and practice the "golden rule of reciprocity", whichever group he belongs to.
The other option would be social strife.
Unless he can practice Reciprocity, he has no legitimacy in demanding anything in the name of GOD.
He who makes these demands is a hypocrite and a thief who uses God's name, if he denies this one Truth.

Read -
A Curse in the Malaysians' Embrace. http://cruzinthots.********.co...curse.html if you wish to understand what I mean.
written by Flex Tan, February 21, 2008 22:48:53
LEAVE THE HUMAN MADE SYSTEM TO HUMAN AND GODLY PRINCIPLES TO GOD.......

ABIM IS TAKING THE FUN OF GOD'S NAME IN POLITICS !!!! SO, STOP IT !!!
written by kodoktua, February 22, 2008 00:08:48
Yusri Mohamad, president of the Muslim Youth Movement of Malaysia (ABIM), which leads the coalition, says recent racial and religious tensions in Malaysia stem from efforts by certain groups to challenge Islam's role in the multiracial country.

"We want to remind all Malaysians to preserve and maintain the status quo," he said. "The formula may not be perfect but it has worked reasonably well. It is acceptable and sustainable."

If you want the status quo remains, then start first respecting the rights of the non-Muslims as enshrined in the Federal Constitution!!! Can we agree on that???!!!
written by AsamLaksa, February 22, 2008 01:33:32
It also called for the power of Islamic Shariah courts to be strengthened and new laws to block the propagation of other religions among Muslims, especially in states with large minority populations.
What do they want here? Make Shariah courts the supreme court? Add in criminal offences under jurisdiction of the Shariah courts? Bring in hudud laws? State it clearly! What of the propogation of other faiths o Muslims... what are you going to do? Ban everything? Block websites? Ban all non-Muslim religious texts? Be practical!

The groups also seek more Islamic studies in schools, increased scholarships for Muslims and the implementation of Islamic practices, such as prayers during school assemblies.
Most schools already incorporate some form of prayer in school assemblies which can be participated by all faiths usually with a minute of silent contemplation. What more do you want? Someone going on in Arabic to th amusement of those who can't understand Arabic? Or to preach on the podium? It's a school, not a mosque. You want Muslims to hear you preach, ask them to attend prayers at the mosques and then preach to them. All religions do it at their place of worship. Islamic studies? How relevant to non-Muslims? If you want Islamic studies, do it at your own time with your imam or ulama. More scholarship for Muslims? What about Indians and Chinese? What they don't need it?

Television stations should ban western entertainment programs such as reality shows and promote Islamic programming.
What is Islamic programming? They have reality TV shows in the middle-east too. Do you mean you want more Arab TV stuff? Sure banning Western entertainment would make the country better... yeah, right. Why ban anything? Banning only makes people ignorant. Is this another form of social control, make ignorant people who can never make informed choices? Or are they simply underestimating the ability of the people to be able to tell right from wrong.

Bodohlah Defenders of Islam. Cannot state things clearly, not practial and curtailing information. The only time people say need to maintain status quo is when the status quo is not working any more. If things are great, no one would mention about any status quo. Syok sendiri saja. Feels good to sound like you are defending your faith but snap out of your delusions!
written by FFT, February 22, 2008 01:56:46
Is the tattooing of non-Muslims part of their list of demands?

If I'm not mistaken, one of the two tattoo Nazis are associated with these groups.
written by lord, February 22, 2008 02:50:32
these non-muslim are not fighting for their 'eroded' rights, they are asking for rights they never have to begin with. For example they are demanding that if any of them marry a Muslim he/she don't have to change religion or convert. This unrealistic expectation is dangerous and will definitely lead to religious tensions.
written by Areyaar, February 22, 2008 04:49:07
Wellllllllll, there you have it. Certain forces will not be satisfied unless they can run Malaysia the way the Taliban ran(down) Afghanistan. Women especially should know what they can expect from such extremists.

No doubt there are many things that are wrong with the way things are right now, but there are many, many things that will and can go horribly wrong under an oppressive, extremist regime. You don't make Jack a "good boy" by restricting his movements, shutting him up and trying to close down his mind. You could do that if you were dealing with robots who do not have the capacity to think, feel or analyze. But we are not robots so it would be foolhardy to try and turn is into robots.

It is not possible to solve social problems by forcing people to follow a very rigid, supposedly "religious" lifestyle. ONe only has to look at the social problems existing in some of the religiously rigid countries elsewhere, to know that it just does not work that way.

So they suggest shutting down western entertainment on television. What would be next? The shutting down of radio stations? The banning of movies, books, magazines, the internet, DVD's, cd's etc etc etc?
written by Daryl, February 22, 2008 06:02:38
This seems more like a threat to me. I don't believe this is what Islam taught to their believers unless I am totally wrong. In US Muslims are minority but I do not see any Christians telling their goverment to press Muslims harder or stop them from preaching to Christians in the public. Those who said it will probably be public rebuke by all. Please tell me not every muslims feel this way but only these narrow minded that try to scare voters from voting Barisan Rakyat.

Send these fanatics to maybe Afghanistan, Pakistan or Saudi Arabia and they don't have to worry about other religions. But ,since most of them are thief and corrupt they need to worry about losing their hands and getting stone to death.
written by renoir, February 22, 2008 13:50:47
Whatever state we might want cannot progress with the kind of corruption we're seeing. I'm sure Islam is against that. Can these groups devise ways to prevent corruption? If they could, why are we still under BN? Worse, are they trying to divert the focus against corruption with trivia such as young people holding hands, wearing tudong at commencements, etc? It's clear that the pretenders who pranced about making a show of how they're going to "defend" Islam - without tackling corruption - are nothing but hypocrites with a capital H.
written by NRR, February 22, 2008 15:34:42
Hello, get real. No body is challenging Islam in Malaysia. In fact many of our friends are Muslims and we have mutual respect. Its only people like this 'Defenders of Islam' who are feeling threatened. Sure, have more islamic studies, more scholarships for Muslims, shut down all the TV stations including the Arab channel on Astro. But do all these with your own money or from the Zakat you collect. Do not use the money paid as income tax by the rest of the citizens. Boy! we cannot have a minute of peace without some ultras screaming their head off in perceived persecution.
written by DezMalaysia, February 22, 2008 16:36:38
Here comes the 'Taliban Style' again...

Non-muslims will never challenge the Islamic rules unless the syaria laws are being force on us.

Non-muslims like to befriend with true moderate Muslims instead of those radical ones. I have a muslim employee who's honest, and upheld the true Islamic values. I respect him highly. And definately not those 'Islamofacist' type.
written by Areyaar, February 22, 2008 16:56:45
They call themselves "Defenders of Islam"????????? DEFENDERS?? I missed that very grand and delusional title the first time.

Good grief!! Not only are these people highly delusional, they seem to be very quarrelsome too.

To insinuate that Islam is under some kind of threat here in Malaysia is to suggest things that should not even be hinted at. Shame on them!

If they want to defend something that is under threat then they should defend THE TRUTH!

That is if they truly, sincerely care about both projecting and protecting the real beauty of Islam, which promotes compassion, tolerance, understanding and something these highly defensive group seem to have missed entirely, MUTUAL RESPECT!
written by iguanaa, February 24, 2008 23:46:31
stupid! Stupid! Stupid!..these are what I labeled as narrow minded extremist! Might as well banned TVs, Cellphones and all those so called evil western devices and sent us all back to the dark ages!...stupid bunch of monkeys!