Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Two's company, three's a crowd

Two's company, three's a crowd PDF Print
Wednesday, 20 February 2008 15:32

The opposition has a very good chance of winning a good number of seats. The opposition also has a very good chance of denying Barisan Nasional its two-thirds majority in Parliament. Furthermore, the opposition has a very good chance of forming the Kelantan, Terengganu, Penang and Sabah state governments. And if the opposition fails to do all this it is not because Barisan Nasional is strong but because the opposition is shooting itself in its own foot.

Umno says it is not Malay culture to use blogs and internet websites to whack the government. Umno further says blogs and internet websites are irrelevant and insignificant because Malaysians go to the internet only to buy cheap airline tickets and for entertainment purposes. Granted, the internet is not going to swing the elections. Other factors will. But the internet can play a role in more ways than one which those who walk in the corridors of power do not seem to appreciate.

Let us not speculate. Let us instead look at the track record and real statistics in arriving at our assumptions. Only then can our assumptions be regarded as credible and believable. And using your own children as the example and then saying that this is reflective of what the other 26 million Malaysians do and think, like what our Minister of Information did, does not hold water. After all, your children are products of your sperm cells, at least we would like to believe that. So, if you are a nut, chances are your children will equally be nuts.

Ten years ago, in 1998, there were only 280,000 internet subscribers opposed to about eight million registered voters. Even then the internet did have some impact on the election results and the more than 100 Reformasi websites managed to disseminate 'alternative' information far and wide. The 1999 general election saw the ruling coalition get a beating that resulted in Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad handing over the government to his successor, Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Mahathir knew that the next election in 2004 would be even worse so he did what the opposition prayed he would not do -- he resigned and allowed Abdullah to lead Barisan Nasional in the 2004 election. Mahathir played his cards well. He handed over just a few months before the elections so that Abdullah would have the advantage of the 'honeymoon' period. If he handed over too early and there was a too large a gap between Abdullah taking over and the elections being called, then the 'honeymoon' effect would wear off.

So the 2004 general election should not be the yardstick. Those were abnormal conditions. People were overjoyed that Mahathir had left and even if a donkey took over the people would support it, as long as it was not Mahathir -- and Abdullah is certainly slightly better than a donkey. So the people gave this slightly better than a donkey a landslide win and 92% of the seats in Parliament.

The 8 March 2008 general election must therefore be compared to the 1999 general election, not the 2004 general election. What prevailed back in 1998-1999 prevails today. Both situations are the same.

Over the last ten years, the eight million voter population has increased to almost 11 million. And more than half of them are youths, which can be translated to internet users. In terms of internet subscribers, the mere 280,000 has increased to about 15 million according to international statistics. (Internet World Stats). Some say it is not that high and maybe only about half that. Nevertheless, whether it is really 15 million or just 7.5 million, it is still a large increase from just 280,000 ten years ago considering the voting population increased a mere 35% or so.

What should be of concern is not how many people go to blogs and internet websites to read what is published but how people are aware of the information that goes onto the internet. Articles, commentaries, analysis and news items are forwarded via e-mail to mass recipients, they are printed out and photocopied and distributed to those who do not have access to the internet, in particular in the rural areas, and they are translated into Malay and Chinese for those not too proficient with English.

This is almost like a direct-selling operation. As it goes down-line, the network of agents and distributors gets larger and larger. One 'unit manager' could be controlling a network of 10,000 agents and distributors five or six levels down. And that is how the unit manager makes money, not by personally selling anything because he or she would be too busy by then to do any personal sales, but by controlling the down-liners so that they do all the selling for you.

The late MGG Pillai was surprised to discover that when he went to the rural villages (kampong) they knew who he was. He then found out that they knew him because they had read everything he had written. But these people who knew him and had read what he had written do not own a computer or have internet access. They do not even speak, read or write in English. They had read the Malay translation of his pieces in 'hard copy'. Certain people were translating all his English pieces from the internet into Malay and had photocopied them and distributed them to the Malay-speaking people in the villages.

And that was almost ten year ago and MGG Pillai left us a couple of years back.

As a rule of thumb, I normally work on the 35:35:30 ratio. 35% of the voters support the government and there is nothing you can do or say to change their minds into voting for the opposition. 35% of the voters support the opposition and there is nothing you can do or say to change their minds into voting for the government. The balance 30% are atas pagar or fence-sitters, the undecided.

Based on the statistics of the last 11 general elections, about 75% of the registered voters come out to vote. This means about eight million Malaysians will be voting this coming election. Three million people will just stay home and will not bother to come out to vote.

Out of this eight million, about 5.5 million have made up their minds who to vote for, split almost equally between the ruling party and the opposition. Therefore, 2.5 million Malaysian are still undecided who they want to vote for. And if you add this 2.5 million to the three million voters who will not come out to vote, this means there are 5.5 million 'virgin' voters who have not yet committed themselves to any political party.

Look at the figures again. 5.5 million have already decided who to vote for, and it is about half-half for the government-opposition. 5.5 million have not yet decided who to vote for or whether to even bother coming out to vote.

Forget about the first lot of 5.5 million. They are already 'taken'. Concentrate on the second lot of 5.5 million. They may not even come out to vote or, if they do, they can still be swayed to vote either for the ruling party or the opposition even on Polling Day itself. And many within this second lot of 5.5 million do have computers and internet access and do go to blogs and internet websites to read the 'alternative' news. And many of those within this second lot of 5.5 million have never voted before, did not even bother to register to vote until quite recently, will be coming out to vote for the first time, and will definitely vote opposition. If not they would not bother to vote or to register as a voter.

And these people are not kids. Some are in their forties and fifties. Many are professionals and are in the upper-middle class group. This should have been their fifth or sixth election, not their first. But they never bothered to vote or even to register as a voter until quite recently because they have no wish to vote for a government they despise and they do not see any alternatives who they can vote for. So they do not vote or register to vote merely because they do not like what they see on both sides of the political divide.

But that has now changed. They still do not like the government. But they now feel that it was a gross mistake giving Barisan Nasional 92% of the seats in Parliament the last time around. Barisan Nasional has grown arrogant. Success has gone to its head. Barisan Nasional needs to be cut down to size. Granted, Barisan Nasional will still form the government, maybe even still with a two-thirds majority. But at least send as many opposition candidates as possible to Parliament. And, if in the process Barisan Nasional's two-thirds majority can be taken away, then well and good. That would be the bonus.

So, no, blogs and internet websites can't touch the first lot of 5.5 million 'committed' voters. But, yes, it can influence the second lot of 5.5 million undecided voters and those who normally will not come out to vote. And if the opposition can win over two million of them, leaving one million for Barisan Nasional while the 2.5 million still stay home and do not come out to vote, Barisan Nasional will still be ruling this country but without its two-thirds majority in Parliament and minus a few states like Kelantan, Terengganu, Penang and Sabah which will see opposition governments.

But the extra two million voters will not come cheap. It will come with a price. The three main opposition parties -- PAS, DAP and PKR -- have all announced that they are launching their individual election manifestos. This is a major disappointment. We had hoped that the opposition parties would not launch their own individual election manifestos but instead adopt the Peoples' Declaration or Deklarasi Rakyat as their manifesto. At least this would demonstrate to the voters that the opposition is united. But, alas, this is not going to be so.

Nevertheless, the Peoples' Declaration will be officially launched at 11.00am on Saturday, 23 February 2008, at the Blog House (No: 66, Lorong Setiabistari 2, Bukit Damansara, 50490, Kuala Lumpur). All the political parties that have endorsed the Peoples' Declaration -- PAS, DAP, PKR, MDP, PSM and Pasok -- will be invited for the launch, as will representatives from various civil societies and the internet-blogging community. In fact, all members of the public who feel strongly about this matter are also invited.

Equally important is; there must not be any three-corner fights. The last two elections saw quite a few three-corner fights in spite of the existence of an opposition coalition called Barisan Alternatif and the electoral pact that was agreed upon. Threesomes are great when it comes to sex but in an election it will be disastrous.

In some seats, the votes the two opposition candidates garnered were more than what the solitary Barisan Nasional candidate got. This means, if it had a been a straight fight, the opposition would have won that seat instead of Barisan Nasional. In other seats, because of the three-corner fight, the opposition candidate lost his deposit. One hapless opposition candidate in Kampong Medan actually borrowed money from an Ah Long (loan shark) thinking he would be able to refund the money after the election. The poor fellow disappeared after that and I am not sure whether he had gone underground to escape the Ah Long or the Ah Long finally caught up with him and dumped his body into a mining pool.

It is not like these three-corner fights were because of renegade members who went into the fray against their parties wishes. They had Surat Watikah from their parties. This means their parties endorsed the three-corner fight. And when a complaint is raised with the parties concerned, they just offer excuses like it was a mistake (tersilap), but no action was taken against those concerned.

This time around we must punish those parties that perpetuate three-corner fights. If your voting constituency is subjected to a three-corner fight then we must vote for the Barisan Nasional candidate. Let both the opposition candidates lose their deposits. It must be a straight fight or nothing at all. The people must send this very strong message to the opposition parties.

DAP, PAS, PKR, MDP, PSM, PRM are all guilty of this. This is because there are many egos at play here. Everyone thinks that they are terra. Azmin Ali of PKR and Hassan Ali of PAS are quarrelling as to who is going to be the new Menteri Besar of Selangor. Aiyoh. Boleh menang ke tidak? You are not even sure you can deny Barisan Nasional its two-thirds majority in the Selangor State Assembly. Try that first if you can. Taking over the state and forming the next government and throwing tantrums because you want to the next Menteri Besar is pure bullshit. Nak cerita pun malu!

Last election, DAP and PAS engaged in a three-corner fight in Puchong. This election, Karpal Singh's son will be contesting that seat and PAS has graciously agreed to withdraw to allow DAP to have that seat -- and he has a better than average chance of winning the Puchong seat. But just as we thought the Puchong matter is already settled, PKR jumps in and says it wants that seat. Aiyah! Apa ni? PKR does not even have a candidate yet. They just want that seat and if they get it they will be frantically looking around for someone to field in Puchong. Why not DAP, PAS and PKR all contest in Puchong and we make it a four-corner fight instead? Semua kepala tak betul.

Thus far I have only touched on the inter-party quarrels. If I start talking about the intra-party quarrels like what we have seen in Batu Gajah, Penang, Sarawak, and many more places, you would probably decide to just stay home and not bother to come out to vote. We settle the problems between parties and problems within parties raise its ugly head.

Anyway, I do not want to depress you more than necessary. These are just some of the seat-tussle problems plaguing the opposition. The point I would like to make is if there are any three-corner fights we must punish BOTH opposition candidates by voting for Barisan Nasional in that particular constituency. This is the era of Peoples' Power. The people must decide, not the political parties. We accept the opposition, but on our terms, not theirs. If they turn their backs on us then we must turn our backs on them as well.

The opposition has a very good chance of winning a good number of seats. The opposition also has a very good chance of denying Barisan Nasional its two-thirds majority in Parliament. Furthermore, the opposition has a very good chance of forming the Kelantan, Terengganu, Penang and Sabah state governments. And if the opposition fails to do all this it is not because Barisan Nasional is strong but because the opposition is shooting itself in its own foot.

Comments (102)Add Comment
written by Mr Smith, February 20, 2008 15:51:37
"...if there are any three-corner fights we must punish BOTH opposition candidates by voting for Barisan Nasional in that particular constituency."

Disagree. There can be exceptions. Take for example Bukit Bintang. The incumbent is DAP but MDP wants the seat and wants the DAP to make way. Mind you MDP lost its deposit the last time around. The voters must punish Wee Choo Keong, not DAP.
Now are you going to vote for Bn here?
agree 176
written by Heikal, February 20, 2008 15:53:42
The opposition need to adopt this stratergy:
1. Ensure that they never meet in any constituency and make sure it is only
BN vs 1 Opposition battle
2. Give up seat that are BN stronghold such as Kepala Batas, Petaling Jaya Utara, Lembah Pantai and Sungai Siput in which the BN support is just too large. And instead use the money and effort to take on seat they lost only by a small margin in the ast election
disagree 20
written by CHEERFUL Joo, February 20, 2008 16:06:03
To all Opposition Heads

Please work together and put all your resources into one brain and denied BN majority for this coming GE.

Agreed with Heikal give up seat that are strong hold of BN. As who will be the MB simple, rotate the responsibilty every two years or let the people decide. It is not the time to argue.

Be united and stay united for the sake of Malaysia. Don't let all BN morons steal Malaysian wealth and also turn Malaysia into a Mafia style (which you can seen now that the UMNO youth recruited those Mat Rempit and.....)
written by malaysianohope, February 20, 2008 16:15:55
No Pete, I think you are wrong on this score!

In the event there are 3 corner fight you should instead arbitrage and tell all the voters to vote just one of the opposition party and leave the other one to lose his deposit.
By doing this we do not waste any precious seats.

Btw, I do not belong to any opposition party but is anti barisan, nonetheless.
written by Jeffrey, February 20, 2008 16:17:41
PKR, im from Sabah. This is what i will do here. 2 opposition candidates, i will sleep at home. 1 to 1, mny vote will go to opposite coz i want to rock the boat! Eventhough i dont know how to swim but i will take my chances! AS for staying away from voting if there is 2 opposition....it is not that i dont want to exercise my right to vote, it is just that im TOO TOO TOO fed up to vote for BN anymore. How to vote for them? I can't just close my eyes or shut of my brain and my heart to vote for them!!!!!
written by revelation, February 20, 2008 16:22:29
People were overjoyed that Mahathir had left and even if a donkey took over the people would support it, as long as it was not Mahathir -- and Abdullah is certainly slightly better than a donkey.
----------------------------------------------------------------
smilies/grin.gif hahahha! well, Mr Rais, we just whack the govt(infact the kepala of the govt) again here. So now what??

And where is the tupai Zam? Mangkuk Hisapuding Mudin? And not forgetting orang utan Nazri? and C4 Najib? Jessica "Syed" Alba? fatty AP Piiidah. so Mr. Rais....we juz whack your zoo negara star attraction again and again.... So what?!

written by LTan, February 20, 2008 16:22:38
VOTE BN UMNO OUT!!!!
written by zul4kulim, February 20, 2008 16:31:21
We need all the support as well.
Not only by sitting in the cushy chair and commenting in the cyberspace but going to the grounds....support us to kick BN shits out at least deny them 2/3 majority for a bettter Malaysia!

Campaign BLOG zul4kulim.********.com
written by oknyua, February 20, 2008 16:35:06
I attended a gov’t sponsored programme where pressmen were present and a minister gave Anwar a good whack. Unfortunately nobody clapped – a little embarrassing for the minister. The reason: The minister said something which had been discussed in details in the internet. Those attending could be more knowledgeable than that poor minister (now ex-minister).

And that is the power the opposition has now – free flow of information to the voters. Now the kampongs know a screwdriver cost RM50. They know Mr Lingam and Mr Yusoff, maybe better than us. They know about the Mongolian girl. The Pulau Lumut (now Indah) RM4.6 b is the byword in Kampongs. Above that the Hindraf made Old Sam a frequent evening joke. The former MB and CM who shown interest to re-enter politics, the reaction is: “Tak cukupkah itu?”

In fact all the opposition need is to stamp their feet and the BN retreat in defence. But only if, yes, only if the opposition is united.
written by ibabonma, February 20, 2008 16:40:52
Umno says it is not Malay culture to use blogs and internet websites to whack the government.
..................................................................................

Tetapi, perhatikan disini.

SATU: Kita tulis surat kepada YAB Perdana Menteri selaku Presiden UMNO, kita kata,

“UMNO Taman Saraya Ampang menipu Surau, menduduki Dewan Kerajaan secara haram dan menyewakan tanah kerajaan kepada Celcom (M) Bhd dan memungut hasil haram sebanya RM 120,000.00”

….. YAB Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi buat tak tahu!

DUA: Kita tulis surat kepada Setiausaha Agung UMNO, kita kata,

“UMNO Taman Saraya Ampang menipu Surau, menduduki Dewan Kerajaan secara haram dan menyewakan tanah kerajaan kepada Celcom dan memungut hasil haram sebanya RM 120,000.00”

….. Y Bhg Datuk Seri Radzi Sheikh Ahmad buat tak tahu!

TIGA: Kita tulis surat kepada YAB Menteri Besar Selangor, kita kata,

“UMNO Taman Saraya Ampang menipu Surau, menduduki Dewan Kerajaan secara haram dan menyewakan tanah kerajaan kepada Celcom dan memungut hasil haram sebanya RM 120,000.00”

….. YAB Datuk Seri Dr. Khair Toyo buat tak tahu!

EMPAT: Kita buat Polis Report No: Pandan /009622/07 , kita kata,

….. Polis buat tak tahu!

Jadi, kita pun tulislah dalam blog, satu budaya baru!

Dalam hal macam ini siapa salah?
written by picadilly, February 20, 2008 16:46:40
Superbly put RPK!
We are with you.

People power= Makkal Shakti!
I would definitely subscribe to malaysia Today if its sold at the newstand,
people are coming to cybercafe's to read alternative news and keep themselves updated. So its definitely going to tumble turn Barisan's table this time.

way to go!
written by aryn, February 20, 2008 16:47:19
If there is a new opposition party that champion the Bangsa Malaysia cause and adopt the people's declaration, I sure will vote for that party instead of the squabbling PKR, DAP and PAS.

Com on oppositions, compromiselah. How are you going to run the country (should you win) if you don't compromise.

written by rayfire, February 20, 2008 16:56:31
Actually, I am quite worried with all this seat fighting and internal squabbles coming to surface amongst the opposition parties.
I thought sometime back last year, all three parties verbally agreed to have one to one fight. Why change now?
No matter who, within the opposition, evaluate the candidates and choose the best amongst them based on capability, not based on race or party.
Opposition has the biggest opportunity now to make a difference and deny 2/3 for BN.
Please oh please, don't waste it or rather crudely DON'T SCREW IT BIG TIME!
smilies/cry.gif
written by Sunnysoul5, February 20, 2008 17:06:57
If ever the opposition parties are going to have their own manifestos, then their leaders are probably not ready to form the so called Barisan Rakyat. It is because of the egos that make it very difficult for the opposition parties to even deny Barisan Nasional the 2/3 majority. This is simply because these leaders are not matured enough to understand the significance of the dual-party democratic system. It may be too late to get the message to them, since most of the time these people talk about "alliance" only during the general election.

In a mature democratic country, typically there shall be two major parties plus a couple of "mosquito" parties to provide the people's voices and choices.

If the oppositions do not learn how to work together, then BN still have the upper hand in presenting a coherent stategic alliance to the voters with the "proven" track record of 50 years of leadership with one head only.

When are the opposition parties ever going to learn if the BA was proven to be for the purpose of general election only. Now with the intended Barisan Rakyat, is there enough time to position it in time for the voters to recognise the alternative voices for the people who are badly affected by the BN.

If it is not now, then it may take another generation for the opposition parties to mature and form something similar to BN.
written by Task Force 101, February 20, 2008 17:08:48
Whilst I can see the rationale and argument to punish the opp parties for allowing a 3 way fight, I cannot allow myself to be punished by Barisan Nasional and UMNO Fat Pigs for another 4-5 years. I have a duty to myself and my concience.

I cannot allow myself to have Barisan rule us due to the stupidity of Opp parties. I want to vote opposition so that no matter wat happens at least I did my part to bring some check and balance. If it turns out something like a "monkey having a flower" so be it. At least I know. At least I know wat to do next time.

This is the closet we will ever get to putting some check and balance on the UMNO Fat Pigs and I must do my part.

VOTE BN OUT
written by Wisdom above, February 20, 2008 17:21:59
1)'...but because the opposition is shooting itself in its own foot.'...

2)'....BN vs 1 Opposition battle '

Stay focus.

Please do not call yourselves “Malaysian opposition parties”.

It has negative connotation.

Use the term ” Barisan Rakyat ” instead.

It should be :

Barisan Rakyat(DAP/PAS/PKR/MDP/PSM/PRM) Vs BN

” Barisan Rakyat ” speak volume by itself.

It connotes ‘ Unity ‘ in ” One common struggle, One Voice & One Spirit “.
…
…..
written by Jan, February 20, 2008 17:33:59
Opposition parties have a good chance of winning more seats thanks to the internet.
Thanks also to the PM who keeps LYING to the people. Not only that they are not putting up good candidates and may be using a paedophile, one eye jacks, keris goons, assemblymen who build palaces without approval, bocor MPs and even people who runs away with the sultan's daughter. Yes BN keeps shooting itself in the foot.
written by bumi non malay, February 20, 2008 18:02:19
I want to DECLARE Raja Petra to be Nominated to take on Mike Tyson(UMNO VP) anywhere, anyplace, any time.....this Epic battle is worthy to go down into folklore.....Any Opposition Leader dare Oppose this battle...let me know!!

Come On Down RPK!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by fedup, February 20, 2008 18:40:39
I think the opposition definitely has a good chance to deny BN two thirds. The whole world knows about Zam, CSL and A. Yam, Lingam sauce, Yusoff Chin, Bocor Bung, One-Eyed Jasin, Zak D's palace, Kelantan State Assembly Mat Rempit, Terowong MP, and so many others. I am sure the people in kampungs also know just as much and they are all so fedup.
written by ultraman, February 20, 2008 18:51:16
RPK should be appointed advisers to these oppsitions.
Yes, they really are keras kepala. In fact BN is hoping that more opposition join the fray and thereby splitting votes among themselves.

My advise to all voters, Malay, Chinese , Indians or others is: VOTE DAP! VOTE KEADILAN! VOTE PAS! DO NOT VOTE BN!!!!
written by gaman, February 20, 2008 19:35:29
If the Opposition Front really loves Malaysia.....BANGSA MALAYSIA UNTUK MALAYSIA....they should seriously put up a 101 fight with BN. NO 3 CORNER FIGHTS. This coming election is the best opportunity failing which plse go fly kites....adios
written by Wakeupmsia, February 20, 2008 19:42:31
Hi Pete,

No-lah, Still will vote for opposition. Criteria: Credibility,Integrity, Reputation.

NO! NO! to - BN (Too many injustice done under the sleeping beast!)

NO! NO! - Spoilt vote, stay at home.

Yes, Yes - Barisan Rakyat (DAP/PAS/PKR,MDP/Pasok, others)

written by Eddy, February 20, 2008 20:13:09
Again Pete, you have all my respect, i salute you!!
written by hiro, February 20, 2008 20:15:36
RPK, I love your analysis that there are 5.5 million voters out there who are indifferent or who are fence seaters. I just hope that internet is indeed sufficient to persuade them to vote for the opposition camp.

Most importantly, those of us who are already here need to reach out to as many people as we know in order to help them realise all that is going on in this country. If need be, we have to provide free photocopies of articles and commentaries so that they can read in their own good time - but this takes remarkable salesmanship because not everyone likes to be pressured to vote.

While we indeed would like to compare 2004 with 1999, I am still very much troubled by why there is a big swing to Badawi in 2004. It seems that people are so gullible that they think BN and the entire institution of governance can be overhauled overnight based on mere promises, when there are so many vested interests. If people are so gullible, and they are being contiuously assailed on the mass media by BN propaganda, would they really tune in to opposition message? I really pray they would take BN's message with a huge bag of salt.

Indeed, it is a good news that Malaysia Today have managed to get all the main parties to endorse on the manifesto. I just want to say that strategically, it may not have been possible for them to come up with a common manifesto because BN press will pin DAP against PAS. If the rakyat is prepared to vote for the opposition already, and openly declaring corroboration won't really add weight, better keep the situation status quo. I suppose I would give the opposition leaders the credit for having deliberated over this matter.

But at the same time, I agree that any 3 party contest is a bad idea, especially between DAP, PAS and PKR. Against mosquito parties, no offence to them, it may not be an issue as one commentator has pointed out above - in Bukit Bintang, though still dangerous. But by and large, 3 party fights split opposition votes more than BN votes. I know that ex DAP members are vying for Chinese seats in Sarawak. For the sake of principle, I can understand why DAP would not want to let go completely tenable seats to quitters. It may seem unfair to the ex DAP members, but consider the large picture: going into the election, which party would have the most credibility and gravitas? I would think DAP, for it was them who broke the egg in Sarawak. I believe Anwar and Guan Eng cannot just let Sarawak divisions handle the seat allocations. It makes absolutely no sense to have an electoral pack when in one state you are slogging out against each other and BN. I would implore DAP and PKR Sarawak to help "sweeten" the deal for the voters to vote for the opposition.
written by foresight, February 20, 2008 20:15:40
I have to agree with RPK. Let it be known to them that the voters are the ones calling the shot. Those stubborn opposition candidates in 3-corner fights with stratospheric ego need to be brought down to earth.
written by Angela Ooi, February 20, 2008 20:30:13
I am fed up with the Opposition too. I offered my help and Keadilan Badrual never bothered to return my call 3 times and my sms too. However I will still vote Opposition since its a 2way fight in my place.
written by manila, February 20, 2008 20:44:28
This coming election on March 2008 going to be the most tactical election for BN and the toughest for opposition. BN will implement the following strategies:

1.Buy out opposition leaders and candidates – before and after nomination.

2.Create more independent candidate to split vote (mostly from Senior BN leaders – intentionally drop out from list)

3.Buy out opposition leader to jump party – after election

The above is just merely 3 out of hundreds strategies and yet opposition are so Fxxx up arrogant to argue about seats.

I would say the opposition leaders is indirectly offering their soul to BN – cheap advertisement for side kick buy out payment.

Lets ask all opposition leaders from Sabah …. Last five days .. what the hell they are doing negotiating with “orang Tun D” about election budget? Are you sure you actually opposition or TROJAN HORSE?

Like RPK said, if opposition not united, might as well don’t vote at all or we vote BN.
written by batsman, February 20, 2008 21:08:15
THE PEOPLE ARE THE BOSS!!!!! If you guys are too kiasu to punish the opposition if there is a 3 way fight, then you DON'T DESERVE TO BE THE BOSS! Suffer all you small little brains with giant kiasu egos!
written by cruzeiro, February 20, 2008 21:10:15
Right on, RPK!

I hope this will be distributed via email, together with other relevant articles.
written by temenggong, February 20, 2008 21:48:44
...at least we would like to believe that.

I note your worrisome concerns! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by temenggong, February 20, 2008 22:02:45
Pet,

This time around, since its going to be mostly straight fights between BN and the opposition, I'm sure its BN that will be fielding a spoiler independent!! So how?
written by susu, February 20, 2008 22:46:20
rpk,
jeff ooi is now in the politics (that's what we read in the internet). Why are u not in?. A fight against son of mohamad will be a good one. It will be a payback time and i m sure it will be one of the most remembered by the bloggers community.
written by Wisdom above, February 20, 2008 23:05:00
…Food for Thoughts…

http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/78298

Let ‘Barisan Rakyat’ take on BN this time
R Rama Chandran | Feb 20, 08 3:38pm

The time has now come for race-based political parties to shed racial and religious labels from their objectives. Instead, they must stand for egalitarian concepts, sound economic principles,….

'Malaysian Love Malaysian'
written by cheekhiaw, February 20, 2008 23:35:09
A suggestion for the opposition parties to resolve in-fighting for seats in future elections.

1. Each competing party to identify its candidate

2. Barisan Rakyat to conduct primaries for voters of each constituency to select the candidate they want to represent them, at a price.

3. To discourage 'funny votes', each voter is verified against BPR list to be from that constituency, and required to make a contribution to Barisan Rakyat before they can vote

4. Barisan Rakyat and selected candidate get to use the contribution from his/her 'voters' for campaign and local development/improvement purposes in that constituency.

Let the people decide, after putting their money where their mouth is.

written by The dragonheart, February 20, 2008 23:38:55
Dear readers, opposition supporters, and anti-BN people,

Even if there is a 1 to 1 fight my concern with the pro-opposition and anti-BN voters is this:

How to make the all time hardcore fanatic PAS voters to vote for DAP candidates contesting in their constituencies ?,

How to make the all time hardcore anti-Islam DAP voters to vote for PAS
candidates contesting in their constituencies?,

How to make the PKR all time hardcore whatever their mind are to vote for the other parties' candidates whom they disagree contesting in their constituencies?

I yet to see/hear/read PAS top influential leaderships( like Tuan Guru Hadi and Tuan Guru Nik Aziz) tells their followers that its ok to vote for the Non Muslims in constituencies where PAS is not contesting.

I yet to see/hear/read DAP top influential leaderships( like Lim Kit Siang and his son) tells their followers that its ok to vote for the PAS/Muslims in constituencies where DAP is not contesting.

Look at the BERSIH Rally, Just some words of blessing from Haji Hadi and Nik Aziz, majority of the PAS supporters flooded the road towards Istana Negara...

There are many hardcore supporters who are registered voters donot understand what is 2/3 majority in parliament means... they are more fanatic to their old school of thoughts...

Therefore I hope Top opposition's Parties leaders do educate their respective followers/members/ethic/religious/community groups that it is ok to vote for the other opposition (whoever they are) if their party is not contesting in their constituencies. If not the UMNO, MCA,MIC,GERAKAN etc2 will poison the minds of the non-BN supporters to swing off from voting the opposition...

Only the words from the top party leaders can made sense to these hardcore fanatic followers....

Lets be holistic and defeat the BN like they never dream of in the past...

Bersatu Kita Teguh,Bercerai Kita Roboh... Hidup Rakyat!
written by Wisdom above, February 21, 2008 00:11:18
Excellent foresight .

..written by The dragonheart, February 20, 2008 | 23:38:55
...Dear readers, opposition supporters, and anti-BN people,

...Even if there is a 1 to 1 fight my concern with the pro-opposition and anti-BN voters is this:

...How to make the all time hardcore fanatic PAS voters to vote for DAP candidates contesting in their constituencies ?,

...How to make the all time hardcore anti-Islam DAP voters to vote for PAS candidates contesting in their constituencies?,

...How to make the PKR all time hardcore whatever their mind are to vote for the other parties' candidates whom they disagree contesting in their constituencies? .....

Very explicit and clear exposition.

If 100% fully executed, the ruling BN will sure lose 76% of all 222 Parliamentary Seats.

If they ever get to read your posting now, some BN guns will surely accidentally fall from their chairs right now.

Ruling BN will get restless and cannot sleep too.

written by Raja Petra, February 21, 2008 00:18:01
Dear The dragonheart, your opening statement 'How to make the all time hardcore fanatic PAS voters to vote for DAP candidates' made me stop reading. It is clear you have never left your bedroom and gone down to the ground so you do not know what you are talking about, so I thought I would be wasting my time continuing to read what you have to say. If you only knew that the PAS supporters are 'fighting' for Ronnie Liu to contest in their area and I kept getting calls from PAS supporters in Bangi asking me to bring Ronnie to their area. And the PAS supporters in Puchong can't wait to start campaigning for Gobind Singh. The Malays would call a person like you KETINGGALAN ZAMAN. Please change your ID to The Chickenheart. That suits you better.
written by suaraorang, February 21, 2008 00:24:25
What the opposition alliance needs to do is to create strong branding. Use the words "Barisan Rakyat" extensively. It is not cheap to build a brand but it creates a common and uniform identity. Perhaps someone creative can design the beautiful logo, and others can create eye-catching banners to be used all over the internet blogs. Barisan Rakyat definitely need some professional PR advisors. But don't look at me, I'm not one. :-)

So we need volunteers to get this started.
written by oceanuz, February 21, 2008 00:29:22
ya... that's indeed depressing.
if i find that oppositions are putting up 3-some fights in my area...
, granted, i'll just stay at home doing whatever better off for my time.
written by malgal, February 21, 2008 00:36:11
now about the blog house meeting. love to turn up - is it an invite to blog community too ?
written by miwaki, February 21, 2008 00:58:38
If there is 3 corners fight,instead of voting for BN,my suggestion is don't even bother to vote at all.Opposition parties must ensure one to one fight all the way.

Anwar,Eng Guan and PAS have to sit down and toss a coin or "lalali la tampung" if they cannot decide on which party to contest.
written by Sagaladoola, February 21, 2008 01:29:19
HIGHLIGHT 1:
This time around we must punish those parties that perpetuate three-corner fights. If your voting constituency is subjected to a three-corner fight then we must vote for the Barisan Nasional candidate. Let both the opposition candidates lose their deposits. It must be a straight fight or nothing at all. The people must send this very strong message to the opposition parties.

DAP, PAS, PKR, MDP, PSM, PRM are all guilty of this. This is because there are many egos at play here. Everyone thinks that they are terra.

HIGHLIGHT 2:
Anyway, I do not want to depress you more than necessary. These are just some of the seat-tussle problems plaguing the opposition. The point I would like to make is if there are any three-corner fights we must punish BOTH opposition candidates by voting for Barisan Nasional in that particular constituency. This is the era of Peoples' Power. The people must decide, not the political parties. We accept the opposition, but on our terms, not theirs. If they turn their backs on us then we must turn our backs on them as well.

COMMENT:

AGREED .
written by renoir, February 21, 2008 01:31:23
Mr Smith wrote:
> There can be exceptions. Take for example Bukit Bintang. The incumbent is DAP but MDP wants the seat and wants the DAP to make way. Mind you MDP lost its deposit the last time around. The voters must punish Wee Choo Keong, not DAP.
Now are you going to vote for Bn here? ]]

Mr.Smith's reasoning is logical, but Singam is right in asking how "this kind of message is going to get across to the masses of voters at each of the 3-cornered locations." In such situations, psychology is important. It's difficult to get Woo to retreat, given his antagonism towards DAP. Indeed, it's quite likely that he'd be willing to be the spoiler even if it, again, costs him his deposit. And it's certain that even if DAP were to entice him with a high position within the party (not a chance in hell, anyway) he would reject the offer. One solution might be for Keadilan to persuade Woo to contest in some other spot, offering to subsidize his expenses in the process (DAP can "anonymously" pay for that as well). If Keadilan can do that, DAP would owe that party a favor, and perhaps even give away another seat or two to Keadilan in East Malaysia. Ties between the two parties would be strengthened, and a good tone would be set for the GE.

Then all of us can sit back, enjoy our popcorn, and watch how Bukit Bintang squashes BN.
written by Sagaladoola, February 21, 2008 01:31:32
If these Opposition groups keep on fighting and struggling among themselves, Dahulu, Kini dan Selamanya the things will stay the same.

We want CHANGE !

written by nonpartisan73, February 21, 2008 02:27:59
a first time voter. will vote for the oppositions or jadi undi rosak if 3 ways. My reason is just like lots of people, is to teach BN a lesson for taking Malaysians for granted. I'm not totally fond of the oppositions but BN is just wayyyy too comfortable.

written by Dreamlander, February 21, 2008 02:47:59
RPK, the blogging fraternity should appoint an OMBUDSMAN.
This OMBUDSMAN main task is to decide which Barisan Rakyat (BR) candidate is the officially sanctioned BR candidate to stand in any constituency (national or state).
where there are two (2) non-BN candidates standing against one (1) BN candidate.
Once the decision is made, the OMBUDSMAN will announce the decision in Malaysia Today.
The blogging fraternity will then concentrate to ensure this anointed candidate receives all the support and publicity the blogging fraternity can generate in the candidate's favor.
If DAP, PAS and PKR have agreed NOT to create 3-cornered fights, the OMBUDSMAN's is still required to intervene in constituencies where smaller parties or independents
put up the second non-BN candidates. These maybe Trojan horses inserted by the BN to confuse and split the anti-BN votes.
If the BR adopts this proposal and agrees to the appointment of an OMBUDSMAN, and this decision is widely disseminated, the parties trying to play this trick will think twice before nominating a slew of spoil-sport candidates.
RPK, YOU are THE FIRST CHOICE as THE OMBUDSMAN.
written by Williams C, February 21, 2008 04:21:47
Change doesn’t take miracle to make it happen. This year belongs to all people of Malaysia. Look at what is happening around the world.

The people of Pakistan literally took down the Musharraf’s political party by voting overwhelmingly to the opposition party.

The people of the United States voted ‘first’ black Presidential candidate to stand in the upcoming November General Election. People ignore his rival whom is well financed and much more popular.

It is the people power and the power that supersedes guns and bullets.

Why don’t we write our own chapter of history?

Cheers to all Malaysian!
written by artchan, February 21, 2008 07:12:03
"Abdullah is certainly slightly better than a donkey."

======================================================= ==

RPK..you are also into name calling? Rais Yatim will be pissed off with you. Calling Abdullah a donkey is disrespecting an animal that can do work. Someone who sleeps all the time,and have no idea what is going on around him cannot be called a donkey. A sloth is more likely animal that fits Abdullah.
written by Ujang, February 21, 2008 07:37:10
Opposition need to work harder in the rural areas. Take an example in Rembau, I do not see them working when I went back last week. I did not see any "risalah" or visit by the opposition workers.
On internet usage, I think the rural folks are way far behind. BN will not let this technology to be freely available there. This will kill them. So the old technology the "risalah" still relevant.
And, please "Lawan tetap Lawan" but "Satu lawan Satu"

Thank you Raja Petra.
written by batsman, February 21, 2008 08:48:15
If the opposition insist on a 3 way fight, they are being petty, quarrelsome and selfish. They are thinking of their own interests instead of yours. If you are the boss and you don’t punish this behaviour, then the opposition will continue to think of themselves instead of you for the next elections and thereafter … forever and ever. BN/Alliance started this way – from your servant they became your master. Now they use ISA, police, bribery, corrupt judges and the law to monopolise power. Now you can’t shake them. A strong opposition is your only hope to shake them. If you don’t BE THE BOSS this time round, you prove yourselves incompetent and don’t deserve to be the boss. You therefore deserve the UMNO govt for the next 100 years. In fact you deserve Khairy as PM for the next 50 years. Sleep on that.
written by batsman, February 21, 2008 08:51:17
Temenggong - spoilers can easily be identified. If the people and the opposition cannot identify spoilers, then we don't deserve democracy.
written by Counterpointer, February 21, 2008 09:51:26
Vote for BN in a 3 corner fight?

While I agree with most of what RPK is saying, in chastising this band of opposition for allowing that to happen, but telling me to vote for BN is like forcing me to swallow this can of worms. Sorrylah bro, can't do it lah. My system (conscience) would never allow it. And neither should those undecided voters be made to eat these worms.

written by kksam, February 21, 2008 10:55:52
Mr Smith wrote:
> There can be exceptions. Take for example Bukit Bintang. The incumbent is DAP but MDP wants the seat and wants the DAP to make way. Mind you MDP lost its deposit the last time around. The voters must punish Wee Choo Keong, not DAP.
Now are you going to vote for Bn here?
..................................................................................
totally agreed. If there's three way fight, just vote for the opposition party that garnered the most votes in the last election. Whatever it's just vote for opposition.
PKR needs to be more practical and realistic, DAP and PAS was very easy to agree upon because it's been their tradition to field nominees in their tradition seats. The problem is where PKR should fight in
written by kksam, February 21, 2008 10:57:32
and DO NOT VOTE FOR INDEPENDENT, it's going to a waste.
written by Birdbrain, February 21, 2008 10:58:35
Wee Choo Keong is not bigger than DAP!
MDP is a one man party born out of vengenance!
Wee Choo Keong and Billie Lim are destroyers in the Opposition!
Try Lim Kit Siang in Bukit Bintang and kill Wee Choo Keong's hopes!

Wee Choo Keong, balik Kelantan.........budak kampung (hillbilly).

Bukit Bintang is my birthplace, just FYI!
written by paritminyak, February 21, 2008 11:25:11
Denying BN 2/3 is that the best we can do? Do we just want to send a message to BN in this election? Why nobody dared to change the government? We Malaysians are still backward in our thinking. I say we must continue to strive to remove not only BN but the whole racial based political system. BN will win this election not because they are strong. It is because the whole system is designed as such BN will win even with only 40% popular. If you don't believe me just wait and see.

I believe there must a new political movement to reform by the people. Malaysians had enough of BN and the outdated political style. VOTE BN OUT.
written by fromamovingtrain, February 21, 2008 11:39:06
I don't believe this. Azmin Ali wants to be selangor's menteri besar? Hassan Ali actually stoops down to that level to quarrel with him? No wonder RPK is exasperated. Dua- dua orang ni ex- umno, old habits die hard.

Those people who cannot discuss rationally and cannot possibly give way so as to not allow 3- cornered fights are idiots. RPK is justified in asking us voters to punish these stupid losers (they already are even before they start, aren't they?) and vote bn. Only that i cannot agree to vote for bn. My stand is even if the opposition puts a banana tree as a candidate, i will still vote for them. It's just unfortunate these morons in the opposition's decision- making commitee cannot appreciate passion and loyalty.

While writing this, i received an sms from my daughter, saying khairy jamaluddin came to the uitm main campus to campaign, and even distributed (t)shirts. Nice one, while the opposition party leaders engage in petty quarrels over stupid things, umno people continue to bulldoze through regulations they themselves set and play foul. We just do not know how to organise ourselves properly and unite, do we?
written by Long Man, February 21, 2008 12:27:24
Agree with rpk...

opposition should unite... however, if there'll be 3 corner fight I’ll prefer to stay at home... if there'll be 3 corner fight what I’ll be thinking is "they're all gila kuasa"... "gila kuasa" candidates will never get my vote... and definitely, I don't even care which "gila kuasa" candidates will win... because either they win or they lose, I still have to "cari makan" for my family...

unless oppositions are unite...
written by JJFoo, February 21, 2008 12:34:04
Noted that just to deny 2/3 has become “the Holy Grill”, an euphoric celebration by the oppositions if achieve. But base on previous elections track record and the oppositions is still fighting this election in the conventional way as they did before, the outcome is predictable, failure.

Just wishful thinking on my part. If the oppositions are brave, capable and wise enough to formulate a common platform to contest strictly on one to one basis and contest not more than 50% of the parliamentary seats available (meaning no chance of forming the next government, which is impossible anyway) e.g. 109seats out of 219 total seats. Just “the protest” votes against the government from all walks of life without the fear of the country govern by an opposition’s coalition government in event of “an accidental victory” is enough to ensure a minimal 2/3 denial. Maybe? With 80~90 seats in the parliament to the oppositions as “watch dog” would certainly make the parliament a much livelier and productive place.

With a piece of cake “consisting 80~90 seats”, the opposition should be more focus on the larger picture rather than petty squabbling for three or four-comers fight.

Most correctly stated by RPK “If the opposition fail it’s because they are shooting at their own foot”.
written by oknyua, February 21, 2008 12:44:01
Yesterday: I met my mechanics - "please vote for Rocket or One Black Eye." Then I met my barber, gave the same message. I met my newspaper vendor and showed him Old Sam's picture. He shook his head which made me laughed. In the evening jogged and met Green Moon distributing pamplets about Anwar's Ceramah at Section 27 Shah Alam. Had some good talks with the workers.

Time to work now. Do your bit. Forget about your perceptions of "big egos" or "divided opposition" because the Barisan Nasional is having WIDER splits and bigger problems!

Vote for "Barisan Rakyat" (This slogan should have appeared earlier).
written by oknyua, February 21, 2008 12:46:25
Mr ahmadbarul40, are you from Sabah, sir?

You are in for a big surprise.
written by grant, February 21, 2008 12:52:36
whoai bodowi, whoai barisan, whoai kalian bodohan.... ban Internet, ban SMS, ban GPRS, ban WAP, ban everything that has got to do with communications... since u already control the MSM, why not stoop lower by resorting to such actions??? ban everything la... then with ur bloody MSM say that we cant compare with SG because we are 1st Class Mangkuks!
written by chin, February 21, 2008 13:56:13

I agree with your analysis, the opposition can and should try to form governments in Penang, Kelantan, Terengganu and Sabah.

And the only way to do it is to be united.

Its probably too late for this election with the way things are going
between PAS, DAP and PKR, and within DAP.

Allocating seats at the last minute is wrong, seats should be allocated 4 years before the election to allow the candidate time to build up his reputation. All this last minute allocation and internal fighting shows the immaturity of the parties. And it diminishes the whole concept of democracy.
written by joeawk, February 21, 2008 14:38:57
Young registered voters please take note. You fate is tied to the future of Malaysia and the way Malaysia is heading now is into the LONGKANG. Longkang , you understand very well, Longkang.

The future of malaysia depends on you,young voters. A good and prosperous future is not what Malaysia is today. To have a good and prosperous future, we must change and that change can only come about if you come out to vote on Nov 8, and you have to vote for change.

Under our present electoral system if you want change, your vote itself may not be sufficient because the elctoral system have been rigged/manipulated. To vote for change, you have to convinced your family members, your father and mother, your uncle and aunts,your granddad and grandmum and all your in-laws to vote along your line. To cast votes for the same party as you do. Tell them that we do not want a malaysia like it is now and you want change and ask them to support you and to vote for the opposition party.

They may try to convince you otherwise but you must tell them otherwise.That you represent the future and that Malaysia must change to accomodate your future and to accomodate your future, Malaysia has to change and to change Malaysia must have a new leadership.

To hgave a new leadership, VOTE OPPOSITION.
written by Birdbrain, February 21, 2008 15:16:47
I just converted 5 die hard BN supporters to cast their votes for Barisan Rakyat!They feel cheated by Abdullah for the last 4 years.

Start the campaign now, just do it!

Barisan Rakyat will get stronger by the day!
written by OrdinaryMan, February 21, 2008 15:20:56
Hey Pete,

Well said!

I suggest in your meet this Saturday try convincing those Opposition parties to become component parties under one banner ('Barisan Rakyat' sounds great). Then they will have a solid one front instead of weak individuals. Have them agree on a memorandum not to fight each other in any seat. The way the BN is doing - you don't see MIC and MCA fighting for the same seat because they belong to one banner.

Hope it's not too late.
written by sickofitall, February 21, 2008 16:34:44
YM RPK
I am sure most donkeys would challenge certain claims you made in your article... the donkeys probably think you were being condesending...donkeys are not that useless u know...
written by armyofgod, February 21, 2008 16:36:27
I do agree those threesome...not the election, but the sex... smilies/tongue.gif
written by GermanMachine, February 21, 2008 18:21:40
And these people are not kids. Some are in their forties and fifties. Many are professionals and are in the upper-middle class group. This should have been their fifth or sixth election, not their first. But they never bothered to vote or even to register as a voter until quite recently because they have no wish to vote for a government they despise and they do not see any alternatives who they can vote for. So they do not vote or register to vote merely because they do not like what they see on both sides of the political divide.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

You know me? How come you are telling my story
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by mountainking, February 21, 2008 18:24:38
well written RPK.... i am one the new registered voter with my wife together. the organization that i am affiliated with, we almost have 80-90% of us registered as first time voter last year and we already decided to vote for opposition. this is just 1 organization and there is another society, many members also registered to vote for the opposition. just do the maths .....
written by glock17, February 21, 2008 19:20:12
Dear Folks....

Especially you bunch of fence sitting , educated, computer savvy and intelligent people out there whom are tired of this Umno crap ...

Pls give PKR,DAP and PAS to increased their presence in the parliamen and state goverment. Dun worry, Beruk Nasional will still win the next election due to their misused of public funds in billions to buy votes. The core issue is, we need people with guts like the opposition to whack and wallop Beruk Nasional especially Umnnos goons with more intensity and higher proposionate in numbers.

There will be lot of fun to see PKR/DAP/PAS leaders give their salvos against this monkees (ape without tail species) regimes without fear or favor. Trust me, you will love!

If we do not take this opportunity to reduce Umno majority, you and I will be paying a very steep price for many many years to come.

God Be With Us All,

Glock17
written by AsamLaksa, February 21, 2008 20:24:52
I think whatever happens after this election, it's time for political parties to drop the coalition form of government. BN is a fake coalition as component parties are practically under the control of UMNO. What you get is a deafening silence from other component parties on issues affecting the public and then wait for some UMNO person to speak something which would be followed by the other component parties. When one person from component party makes his different view openly known, he gets shot down first by somebody from UMNO. When other component party said something first and somebody from UMNO says something else, they can quickly change their tune. Wow, showing true colours. Not very original is it?

Anyway, we should aim for 2 party elections and end this divide and rule nonsense. Two huge stumbling blocks for the current opposition parties is racial politics and the vast divide in agendas.

How to sort racial politics? Malaysia is multiracial, and not only that it has a large minority. BN has always encouraged racial politics because it fits their agenda of pandering to the intolerant whims of some malays the likes of which were involved in the 1969 rioting and those who easily take up the call of any so-called challenge to Malay supremacy, while still getting the moderate votes via the component parties. When you think UMNO you think Malays. When you think Gerakan you think non-Malays. When you think MCA, you think Chinese and when you think MIC you think movie star wannabe. This is the sort of 'balance' that we have seen since 1969. Many are still worried if this balance is broken.

Now, what if the balance is broken? Will there be rioting? What have we learned since 1969? It's a gross underestimation of the will of the citizens who love peace. Anyone who uses the prospect of violence in campaigning is no more than a bully and underestimating the will of the voters even though they still admit they need the votes.

The opposition also pander to races as they have learned from BN that it works. PKR is joining the fray as a multiracial party and it's not truly tested yet. In theory, PKR should be able to garner a sizeable chunk of moderate and middle class support regardless of race but still may fall short of getting the support from voters who are highly sensitive and protective over their race and religion. DAP is traditionally a Chinese party and generally do ok as an opposition party. They lack support across the population spectrum to fully form a government. Another possible reason why they do ok is because of disunity and unpredictability of the Chinese votes. MCA, Gerakan and DAP, none can claim they consistently get the large majority of Chinese votes.

A multi-racial party also has the onus to promote secularism not because it's the best sort of governance but because you have a large group who will oppose it. This is a big problem for those who wish for an Islamic state and those opposed to it. As far as BN is concerned, Malaysia is already an Islamic state and you can see how much good that is. It's just a mess where on one hand you can see clear Islamisation and/or Arabisation of Malaysia and one the other hand they have neglected other principles of Islamic rule. So, it's a crap situation where UMNO wants to Islamicise the country but can't because of large opposition against it. This led to uncertainties and disillusionment such as in applications of law. Another side to this is that for those who voted BN instead of PAS for fear of an Islamic state, you are actually voting for an Islamic state, BN do it covertly and PAS do it openly.

Oh yes, we have cross party support for the opposition this time where PAS will support non-Malay candidate and non-Malay will support PAS candidate. But for how long? Barisan Alternatif or Barisan Rakyat only crops up during election time. Nothing to formalise the cooperation for good. The Deklarasi Rakyat is a good idea to have a common agenda for the opposition but it's just a base and does not cover all the agenda that each party promotes. No real harm in endorsing it. BN endorsing it is a bigger problem as even if they endorse it, with the way they are going they will appear hypocritical and simply show their disregard of their endorsement.

So, what to do with PAS' agenda for an Islamic state and DAP's refusal to support it? Leave it for another day? Perhaps but we have to move forward. Thus I hope for a powerful single party among the oppositions, not an unstable front. By the way, has PAS dropped the issue of establishing an Islamic state? It's not an issue at the moment as there are bigger problems to sort out. This will however cause a problem later on. Why do I bring up the Islamic state issue? Because it's an issue that people feel very strongly about and many will not compromise on it. How can you compromise faith? Other problems like taxation, education, judiciary can be compromised with.

cont.
written by AsamLaksa, February 21, 2008 20:25:23
cont.

So, I think Malaysia must evolve into a more mature political environment. Aim for 2 party system. For the opposition side, this means no more DAP, PAS, PKR, etc.. No more getting stuck in old ways of doing things. How does this work?

Well, you have people with a common agenda uniting, for example like the Deklarasi Rakyat. Individuals will still have their own agendas within the party. You can have individuals within the super-party let their agendas be known openly and discuss it in public and within the party. However the catch here is that they are still bound by the party concensus which will come out with their unified agenda. The advantage of this is that it allows freedom of expression and can test the popularity of the agendas before promoting it as a party thus saving your breath for unpopular agendas. The downside is that if party members forget their common agendas and lack maturity in dealing with differences it will break the party up from within. You need a sense of high principles to have a successful super-party, one that goes beyond personal values.

So, as a next step, a secular super-party anyone?
written by batsman, February 21, 2008 21:16:59
Guys, please,please don't get emotional about the opposition. They are part of the system. Be the boss of the opposition, then be the boss of the BN. Time to show who is the boss. Please don't get weak kneed about the opposition. They are your servants. You are the boss. Please don't fall in love with the opposition. They are supposed to represent you not make love to you. BE THE BOSS! Punish the opposition by voting BN if they insist on 3-way fight! This is politics, not a love triangle! THE PEOPLE ARE THE BOSS. Drum this into the opposition as well as the BN!
written by cheekhiaw, February 21, 2008 22:39:19
People should not get emotional about fights with more than 2 corners.

Neither should people be stupid about it and just go vote BN just because of that.

Just because you have more than 1 good finger does not mean you keep the one that is gangrenous and cut off the rest.

Perhaps it is unwise to boss around with stupidity.

written by batsman, February 22, 2008 07:26:19
Cheekiaw - what's the obsession with fingers? what's it got to do with politics? Using it too much on the old excrement vent?

Hey, guys, THE PEOPLE ARE THE BOSS. The political parties are just your representatives and servants. If you have not made this quantum leap in attitude yet, you are hopeless. In reality the opposition needs your votes. They still treat you as the master. BN is over-confident. It thinks it has solid support and does not care too much about you. If they show they do, then it is only for this election period. BN now thinks it is your master and you are just ungrateful recipients of its favour. In reality, BN now controls parliament, the police, the civil service and the courts. These institutions work for the political party, not the government. BN has corrupted everything it touches and it is your fault because you never made the quantum leap in attitude.

THE PEOPLE ARE THE BOSS. If you cannot understand this, you don’t deserve democracy. You don’t even deserve to think that you are politically advanced or fashionable or avant garde, etc. If you think you are intelligent, then that intelligence is completely wasted. Make the quantum leap in attitude. Punish the opposition if they insist on a 3 way fight by voting BN. THE PEOPLE ARE THE BOSS, O you pitiful slugs, worms and cockroaches.
written by cheekhiaw, February 22, 2008 11:01:26
If there is a 3-cornered fight, vote the person or party you want to represent you.

With this approach, you give that person/party of your choice a shot at it this time around.

In addition, you will also be telling the opposition parties in no uncertain terms who your real/true choice is so that they, if they are sincere and not dumb, get the message as to who the voters really want when deciding who to stand the next time around.

It is a case of using the current election as sort of a primary for the next.

Use the current not so good state of affairs to help set things up for a better future, not for worse (like voting BN).

In this world there will always be spoilers and the foolish. When they appear we deal with them with what they don't have.

The last thing you want to do is to let their foolish exhortations interfere with you doing what you think is best for you and your country.

written by TWOG, February 22, 2008 11:05:08
/// Umno says it is not Malay culture to use blogs and internet websites to whack the government. ///

What is UMNO blabbering about??? Of course it is not Malay culture to use blogs and internet websites to whack the government. Culture takes centuries and millennia to develop and take root. The TCP/IP was only operational in 1983, and opened to commercial use in 1988. The Web was invented in 1989. And blogs are even more recent phenomenon. So what culture are they talking about. Even then, so what? Can always start a new trend. No wonder the country will never progress - never been done before, so should not do it now... What kind of asinine logic is that?

60 years ago, it was not the Malay culture to fly by aeroplanes...
written by ragingbull, February 22, 2008 12:30:06
An email received by me for your kind attention . Malaysia Boleh !!

Subject: MAS CHILD PORN PILOT PROTECTED BY PM'S OFFICE

Dear Datuk,

Hope you are well .

Just to inform you that the Malaysian Airlines pilot recently
convicted in Australia for possession of child pornography is
a declared Malay, Muslim , AHMAD SHAUQI BIN AHMAD SAID, staff
number 1086993 and is non other than the son of the Director
General of the Anti- Corruption Agency of Malaysia , DATUK
SERI PANGLIMA HAJI AHMAD SAID BIN HAMDAN who has himself come
to a CORRUPT agreement with IDRIS JALA , the Managing Director
and others in Malaysia Airlines , ' not to take disciplinarry
action as required in the company policy ' against his son for
his criminal conviction.

I will be forwarding this information worldwide to educate
them on the state of affairs in Malaysia and they can evaluate
for themselves the Government's declarations of truth ,
cleanliness, transparency, Islam Had etc. Drugs was one thing
but sometimes , this child porn strikes different cords !!!!!
Who cares about technicalities ?

I guess god is helping me to punish the criminals who have
tried to destroy me and my family for being professional. God
must also realise that I was also injured for being INDIAN in
MALAYSIA .

Thank you

Captain Reinu Balakrishnan

written by GermanMachine, February 22, 2008 12:32:34
Dear Asamlaksa,

Don't put the cart before the horse. let's win this round and rid of the BN plague before we start counting our money.
written by batsman, February 22, 2008 12:55:05
Cheekiaw – Your use of fingers as an example is unrelated and misleading. Fingers are part of the body, it is not unreasonable to be emotiuonal about being attached to them. Political parties are supposed to represent you. It is a master and servant relationship in which it is crucial to know who is the master and who is the servant. Fingers and political parties are as different as ducks and cocks. We are discussing ducks and here you are suddenly bringing your cock for comparison. Who are you trying to fool? You are either a hypocrite trying to fool people or a clueless person with an enormous ego. In either case I have no sympathy for you.

Furthermore, cutting off fingers has an air of permanence about it. Elections occur every 5 years. Where is the comparison?

Our forefathers in their wisdom copied this electoral system from the British. To play according to its rules, a weak opposition can only stand a chance against a strong incumbent if the opposition is not split. These are the rules we have to play with not some imaginary wishy-washy tactics and rules for some imaginary new electoral system. Grow up!

If there is a 3 cornered fight - punish the opposition by voting for BN. the people must exercise their rights as the BOSS. Don't let the political parties boss you around. Defend democracy by playing it smart!
written by cheekhiaw, February 22, 2008 14:02:51
If there is a 3-cornered fight between 3 ducks, choose the best duck and not the worst duck.

Don't choose the worst duck just to teach the other ducks a lesson.

This is for those that are smart enough to only talk about ducks.

written by AlwaysMalaysian, February 22, 2008 17:10:39
I agree 100% with RPK's suggestion. If we don't have an united opposition, how can we rely on them?

We want to vote for a party that serve the people. But if our demand on an united opposition also can not be fulfilled, just because all of them are selfish, concern more on their own interest than the people's need. I might as well stay at home. Since they will not better than the current ruling party anyway.

The people need a party that truly believe their job is to serve the people. Don't just endorse the Peoples' Declaration, they have to believe it is their mission to fulfill it.
written by batsman, February 22, 2008 17:33:12
Dear AlwaysMalaysian - Just a suggestion - If there is a 3 cornered fight in your constituency, use your vote for BN, don't waste it. This way you send a message to the opposition never to try to think of themselves again in future. Be active in defending democracy, but as always, it is your vote and it is entirely your decision. Best wishes.
written by cheekhiaw, February 22, 2008 18:49:50
When 1 quack duck and 2 good ducks offer themselves for whatever reason(s) to do a job, only a quack boss duck would pick the quack duck just to teach the 2 good ducks a lesson for not stepping aside for each other.

That's why they say democracy ensures that a people get a government no better than what they deserve.

written by lynn, February 22, 2008 21:18:34
'Cept for some ignorant morons out there who continue support such a corrupt gov't, I feel the general sentiment is very anti-BN so there is a 50/50 chance that BN may lose in this forthcoming election if the cheating is prevented! So Opposition parties PAS< DAP< KEADILAN, please, work together, you may have to form the next government of Malaysia! smilies/smiley.gif
written by AsamLaksa, February 22, 2008 22:44:27
written by GermanMachine, February 22, 2008 | 12:32:34
Dear Asamlaksa,

Don't put the cart before the horse. let's win this round and rid of the BN plague before we start counting our money.

Dear GermanMachine, do not be so short sighted. You have to think of an ideal and aim for it. Don't just stop halfway. Before you arrange the horse and cart correctly, decide what you want the horse and cart to do. If you notice it's not about who wins, but rather whatever happens after this election so it was meant to apply regardless of who wins the election.

When I posted the long post, I know it will be unpopular and expect arguments not it. I was surprised I got little backlash. Are many people concerned about what happens after this elections and what they want to aim for? Fighting for rights is a long process and should not be brought up only every 4-5 years.

written by batsman, February 22, 2008 | 17:33:12
Dear AlwaysMalaysian - Just a suggestion - If there is a 3 cornered fight in your constituency, use your vote for BN, don't waste it. This way you send a message to the opposition never to try to think of themselves again in future. Be active in defending democracy, but as always, it is your vote and it is entirely your decision. Best wishes.

Bodohlah, batsman. Who do you think you are punishing by voting BN when there is a 3 cornered fight? Youself. If 3 cornered fight, and you want to vote for the opposition, then get all your opposition loving buddies to tell these 2 jokers to hold a meeting and you guys thrash them and select one to vote for. What this will do is show them how unhappy you are about the stupidity they are doing and you select one stressing on him/her the condition for your support and that you will be keeping a closer eye on him/her. Nothing gets the message across better than getting the unruly kids in the same room. Why go for extreme pointless exercise by voting BN as a protest vote?
written by kzso, February 23, 2008 03:12:10
hahahahaaaa... keep on dreaming guys... like TDM says "bn will win". no doubt about that.

rpk,
sad to say that your analysis is half baked.in our bolehland, the seats ie 200 parliamentary seats and 500 state seats are not propotionate with the nos of voters. the bn are playing nos game (nos of seats not nos of voters); when you analyse the 1999 ge, the popular votes are smaller and lower (or marginally lower) compare to the previous nos of votes obtained - due to anwar factor and umno internal problem)but still, bn wins 2/3 seats!

what the opposition must do is to harp for more oppositions in the dewan rakyat. don't harp on 2/3..2/3 but harp on getting the votes for the opposition. this is physiological better cos when the rakyat votes on the 8/3, they're voting to get the oppositions in the dewan rakyat and surprisingly the nos of oppositions winning is beyond expectation!

like lim guan eng says, logically and practically and realistically, bn will win but we want more opposition in the dewan rakyat. but for next ge, the opposition can sit down early and strategise earlier not during the last minutes. that's why anwar is not a factor but the young ppl are important. that's why in bn, the changes or new faces are the young echelon; they're (sil and his gang too) are looking for young candidates in this ge. most of the young voters didn't even give a damn to anwar actually (that's why the bn are moving and concentrating on the youth ie plkn graduates, graduates, varsities and the youngsters);

yep the internet plays a great deal but the candidates are what the voters are looking up to (like khir toyo says -based on surveys done in selangor and media - radio, newspaper and internet!); that's why dap is fighting hard to get po kuan in back again; voters are looking at the candidates primarily and secondary the party. with the local authority (pbt) being graded, who needs party anymore; the pbt will and need to deliver; if not they'll another sweep (penyapu).. nah; they'll be red or yellow carded (like in the football game);

come on guys, how you hate TDM but his advise is great... vote for the candidate not party... the bn are heeding his advise but what about the opposition? stop the in-fighting among yourself... focus to win seats!! other grey areaa/seats go for lower votes. bn are looking for any split between pkr, dap and pas.

to dap and pas, forget anwar.. go for the young voters! most ppl know who and the character in anwar (a two or maybe three tongue guy - in front of the chinese says different thing, in front of the malay says differently, the indians another thing; if you browse the internet - in the youtube, anwar says different thing to the indonesians ,indian, american.. tsk..tsk )

come on dap, pas, pkr and other opposition parties, go for 1 to 1 challenge. if there are 3 party in the fray, the voters will not even go out and vote knowing the split in the votes for the opposition!!!

get sil out, nazri out and other bn hp6 representative out!!!

smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/kiss.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by Raja Petra, February 23, 2008 08:15:17
Dear kzso, actually I have met many people who talk just like you. Sayang, they are all not even registered voters.
written by batsman, February 23, 2008 09:58:24
Dear Asam Laksa - your approach is one in which you run to the teacher and cry "Teacher, teacher, Johnny is a bad boy!" or you run to your mummy and cry "Mummy, mummy, Johnny wants to steal my toy" Unfortunately in this grown-up world, there is no such person as "teacher" or "mummy" who can get all the bad boys together in a room. UMNO has succeeded too well in inculcating this dependency syndrome into all Malaysians. I suggest you think again about what you just said.
written by batsman, February 23, 2008 10:03:17
Cheekiaw - what happened to your cock? Did you withdraw it because it did measure up to comparison with the ducks? By the way, is your surname Wee? You seem to have an uncanny similarity in thinking with someone quite well known.
written by Birdbrain, February 23, 2008 10:12:10
If Wee Choo Keong is contesting in Wangsa Maju, I SALUTE YOU!

That's the spirit.........you stand a better chance and I take back all my words that I've said earlier.

Wee Choo Keong ..............will win in Wangsa Maju!
written by cheekhiaw, February 23, 2008 13:49:04
Batsman,

I don't talk cock, not even with quack ducks.
Go quack with someone else..

written by Lipanbara, February 24, 2008 10:29:12
Well, if PAS put tunggul against Pak Lah, I would rather vote for the tunggul!
Anything, BUt not BN!!
written by Guastone, February 24, 2008 20:34:33
THE POWER IS WITH US.

For Better Or Worst
Make No Mistakes;
Have No Regrets;

VOTE FOR BARISAN RAKYAT

STOP ALL THOSE VICE AND BN's EVIL AGENDA.

CHEERS!!!!!!!

written by carlitos, February 25, 2008 11:08:37
N17 TANJONG ARU (19,993)
B/I:52.41%B/B/I:10.61%
C: 36.52% L: 0.46%
1. Edward Yong Oui Fah (BN)
2. Awang Ahmad Shah (PKR)
3. Yang Chan Tsze@Teddy Yap (DAP)

P172 KOTA KINABALU (43,714)
B/I: 11.64% B/B/I: 9.21%
C: 78.40% L: 0.75%
1. Chin Teck Meng (BN)
2. Christina Liew Chin Jin (PKR)
3. Hiew King Chiew (DAP)
Penyandang: Dr. Yee Moh Chai (BN)

like the one above, who to vote? DAP vs PKR. Stupid!!

I feel so dissapointed and will probably not bother going down to vote this time. Damn waste of time only because both DAP and PKR totally dumb idiots who cannot even work together.
written by Bigjoe99, February 27, 2008 11:35:30
I don't disagree that the internet impact in Malaysia is bigger than what is expected by BN. Everyday I eat in mamak stalls and coffee shops and I hear people talking about news on the internet. While it does not move the makcik and pak who runs the stalls, they also hear it and those makciks and pakcik eating in mamak stalls and coffee shops also hear the people talking and think.

I think the problem with the internet is that even if the young Malays are in it, they don't necessary do the detailed analysis that will cause them to vote oppostion given the that UMNO tentacles are so wide and deep.

Internet is no cure for what ills the Malays.