Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Husam proposes US-style open debates

Husam proposes US-style open debates PDF Print
Wednesday, 20 February 2008 08:29

KOTA BARU: PAS vice-president Datuk Husam Musa has proposed that open debates modelled after the US presidential election be held between the party and Barisan Nasional during the campaigning period. 

The debates can be telecast live on television and held on neutral ground, where issues raised by either side can be debated in a mature fashion, Husam said. 

He volunteered to participate in a debate on the rising cost of living brought on by the rise of fuel prices and claims that the country was regressing instead of progressing like other nations in the region. 

We are trying to attain a developed nation status, yet we cannot hold open debates,” Husam said. 

Many Malaysians are an educated lot. Surely, we are the thinking kind and not just driven by sentiments.  

The suitable period would be in the run-up to a general election,” he said. - Star

written by rayfire, February 20, 2008 08:35:49
smilies/smiley.gif
Yes splendid idea, this is exactly the type of campaigning we should implement here. Not having these people using media to just deliver one sided speech amongst their party people and broadcasting that all over the media.
We should have a longer campaign term especially those who intend to compete in the parliamentary seats and compile issues which are of concern to that constitiuency and ask the candidates to debate it over , live!
This is the only way to determine the rightful candidate based on their problem solving skills and how they diplomatically handle issues impromptu.
Not by just delivering speeches prepared by some of your subordinates and giving away goodies when election comes.
I totally agree with this suggestion.
written by The dragonheart, February 20, 2008 08:41:42
This will never happen as long as BN is in power and as long as they are busy pumping public funds into their families and cronies accounts...

The BN have more faults to hide than ideas to tell...

We must kick BN out to show the rakyat what public opinion, freedom of speech, or human right is all about...

We can turn Lake Gardens (Tasik Perdana) near Parliament to be like Hyde Park in London.. where any one can bring their own soap box to talk to the public... Najib, Rais or KJ can go and give their talk there when the umno has becomes an opposition after the GE...
written by Sagaladoola, February 20, 2008 08:50:53
Hahaha, smilies/cheesy.gif , who knows, Somebody would say this is not a Malaysian Culture or say this is Western-styled Democracy and not Malaysian-styled.

That Somebody dare not do all this I can assure you.

written by Ben Nordin, February 20, 2008 09:12:22
A good idea. The best speaker from Barisan Rakyat against the best speaker from Barisan Nasional. Wait a minute.....Barisan Nasional don't have any! smilies/smiley.gif
written by Mr Smith, February 20, 2008 09:55:54
Aiyo Husam, do orangutan know how to debate.
If demonstration and blogging against the government (Rais said today) is not Malaysian culture, so is debating.
Malaysian culture is lying and corruption.
written by doggone, February 20, 2008 10:08:06
A debate like this would certainly win the Opposition a two-third majority !!!

How about misinfo-Zam to take on Terasa Kok, and we get to see a broken record turn into charred plastic with fumes the smell of farts to signal a defeat?
written by idham, February 20, 2008 10:23:03
Salam Husam,

BN open debate...sorry..takkan berani..
Banyak benda nak tutup kat orang kampung (at least)..

kalau bukan pondan bukan UMNO/BN namanya.

vote to deny BN 2/3 majority!! Save Malaysia with Checks & Balances!!
written by oceanuz, February 20, 2008 10:43:51
A 6-sentences piece of news....
just guess where is this heading to...
written by Stormquest, February 20, 2008 11:42:10
It is the voting rakyats interest that debates be shown on live TV, in order that we choose wisely. Right now, the voting rakyat have no clue as to whom we are choosing. Thus, if someone goes under a party's banner, we are expected to choose him, without knowing a thing about him. For all we know, we could be choosing a monkey. Indeed, a political party may actually field a monkey from Zoo Negara, and the rakyat would be expected to vote!

We also need to know where they stand on issues. Right now, the voting rakyat has no idea what everyone has in his or her mind.

It seems ironic that we can see debates on live TV on the US elections, but we can't see our own. Why is that? Could it be that in a battle of wits, BN politicians are totally disarmed? Seems like it, when you see Badawi or Zam speak in public. The fact is that if someone is going to represent Malaysia, he or she should be able to speak and debate properly, and must also know how to handle the media properly.
written by fairnessforall, February 20, 2008 12:45:27
This is exactly what I suggested in one of my previous comments. It is a good idea and will allow the people to see and decide who will be a better leader.

If the BN has the balls, they should take on the challenge, unless they are afraid of the opposition.
written by veseti, February 20, 2008 14:06:16
if that were to happen our PM will be a disgraced cuz he half the time asleep thus dont know anything thats going on. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by veseti, February 20, 2008 14:07:55
And one more thing, BN dont know how to lie and sound convincing to the rakyat. Imagine in a debate how badly they will be humiliated and on top of that kena taruh by the opposition.