Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Bashing Govt In Blogs Not Malaysian Culture - Rais

Bashing Govt In Blogs Not Malaysian Culture - Rais PDF Print
Wednesday, 20 February 2008 00:17

KUALA LUMPUR Feb 19 (Bernama) -- Bloggers should evaluate themselves before indulging in an unhealthy culture of bashing others, including government leaders, through their blogsites, Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim said.

He said although government bashing in the blogsites was among the challenges faced by the Barisan Nasional (BN) in facing the general election, it was not the nature of BN leaders to resort to using blogsites to attack others in their campaigns to win the elections.

"They (bloggers) condemn the prime minister, ministers and other members of the administration but not themselves. As the Malay adage goes, it's pointing the forefinger to the front and thumb to your chest.

"I am saying that you should look at your own heart to see if it is clean. If it is not, then don't bash others in your blogs," he said after launching a book and compact disc, "Aku Dia dan Lagu-Lagu Nostalgia", by Yusnor Ef at Aswara (National Arts, Culture and Heritage Academy) here today.

"Nowadays, not only the bloggers are having a mental block (disturbed) but the PAS' spiritual leader's mind too is blocked (unstable) when he equated Umno members to orang utan.

"The bloggers are getting bolder, but I see it this way -- the general election is the season for condemning or "killing" others with words but this is not BN culture. I suggest that they attend courses on good manners as good manners is Malaysian culture."

On another matter, Rais said a RM1.5 million scholarship fund would be established soon to assist those interested to seriously pursue music studies. He said the country needed more people to be highly qualified in the field, hence the introduction of the scholarship scheme.

Aswara, Istana Budaya and the Culture, Arts and Heritage Department would draw up the scholarship programme for the public to apply, he said.

Comments (68)Add Comment
written by Stormquest, February 20, 2008 00:24:44

Oh dear, would you settle for some culture, vis-a-vis William Shakespeare's take on GE 2008?

"We have seen better days" - (Timon of Athens. Act IV, Scene II)
Old timers reminiscing bygone years.

"Now is the winter of our discontent" - (King Richard III. Act I, Scene I).
HINDRAF, speaking on behalf of 2 million Malaysian Indians.

"Beware the ides of March" - (Julius Caesar. Act I, Scene II)
Feng Shui Masters warn Badawi of the impending doom of Barisan Nasional at the upcoming elections on March 8, 2008.

"The game is up" - (Cymbeline. Act III, Scene III).
Malaysian voters tell Barisan Nasional off.

"O Romeo, Romeo! wherefore art thou Romeo?" - (Romeo and Juliet. Act II, Scene II)
Jeanne on Badawi

"The lady doth protest too much, methinks" - (Hamlet. Act III, Scene II)
Najib on Altantunya Shaariibuu

"Brevity is the soul of wit" - (Hamlet. Act II, Scene II)
BN spin doctors trying to explain Badawi's screwed-up interview on CNN at Davos

"Off with his head!" - (King Richard III. Act III, Scene IV)
Sungai Siput voters decide on Samy Vellu's political career

"The first thing we do, let's kill all the lawyers" - (King Henry the Sixth, Part II. Act IV, Scene II)
Law Minister, Nazri speaks on the Bar Council march

"But, for my own part, it was Goblok to me" - (Julius Caesar, Act I scene II)
Information Minister, Zam, on bloggers

"The devil can cite Scripture for his purpose" - (The Merchant of Venice. Act I, Scene III)
Malaysian mainstream media at work

"Small things make base men proud" - (King Henry the Sixth, Part II. Act IV, Scene I)
Khairy Jamalludin shouting his head off at Ijok

"And thus I clothe my naked villany, With odd old ends stol'n out of holy writ, And seem a saint, when most I play the devil" -(Richard III ActI, Scene III)
Chua Soi Lek confessing his escapades in a hotel room.

"Swear by my sword. Never to speak of this that you have heard" - (Hamlet Act I, Scene V)
Hishammudin brandishing his keris, with Hashim Suloh asking him when he is going to use it.

"Friends, Malaysians, countrymen, lend me your ears; we come to bury Barisan Nasional, not to praise them" - (Julius Caesar. Act III, Scene II).
Malaysian Opposition parties unite to give the rakyat hope

written by Cash Money, February 20, 2008 00:28:28
Apa pulak sopan santun. You BN ministers lead by example while at parliment. Rais stay in Jelebu and revive semangat 46 you idiot. Did't you learn a thing or two from Datuk Samad.
written by charcoy feng, February 20, 2008 00:30:05
When people write the truth you call it goverment bashing.

"I am saying that you should look at your own heart to see if it is clean" - Why don't you try that?

"I suggest that they attend courses on good manners as good manners is Malaysian culture". - Why not ask your vulgar backbenchers(currently former), Menteri Besars etc.... to attend it?
written by Lim Lim, February 20, 2008 00:34:46
"They (bloggers) condemn the prime minister, ministers and other members of the administration but not themselves. As the Malay adage goes, it's pointing the forefinger to the front and thumb to your chest."
Rais!ur statement is correct only when referring to malaysian voters who ought to condemn oneself for given the mandate to the corrupted,racist,everything is self-gain,super hypocritical n insensible umno/BN gang of goons in the past!of course,that includes me,get it??
written by rocky, February 20, 2008 00:39:26
Now it is ok for BN to bash others thru the mainstream media? it is ok for them to pont fingers cos they only have one middle fingers thus the other fingers are not pointing back? It is ok for SIL to call people beruk which is worse than orang utan? It is ok for Nazri to yell in parliament and tell of elders in a rude way? Is that god manners? who is screaming kill off so and so or opposition and gempur etc? Is Samy's comments full of menace?

come on YB Rais. be fair. you were in the opposition and you pointed fingers as well. At least you more learned than the others in the XXXL cabinet. not true ka? Please preach to BN about culture and manners before you preach to others.

BTW blogging is new so it is just starting to be a culture. the only unfortunate thing it is not one that you can control like MSM and bash people. In the internet you get bashed as well which is not normal for you guys. So just say it is not a BN culture to not have control and getting bashed back!! ok??!!!
written by Spear Bing, February 20, 2008 00:39:57
Much as he has commented sounds sensiblly right, he forgot to admit that all these bashing occurences have been precipitated by UMNO ministers' and leaders' wayward and pathetic actions, performances, both verbal and physical.

Whereas we look forward to leadership by example, instead those in the corridors of power only choose to abuse their positions and start to wear blinkers and immune to the citizens' plead for a more enlightened administrative governance of the nation's policies.

They opted to demolish temples on the day of Deepavali, they decided to snatch away bibles at the airport customs, they forestall the building of the Godess of Mercy, after having approved the plan, they mercilessly snatched the corpses away from the beloved mourners, they spray chemical and shoot teargas to the peacefull rally, they threaten with kris bathed in blood shouting Ketuanan Melayu, the list goes on and on.

Yes the bloggers and readers do want to behave and have good manners, but are those in the corridors of power prepared to behave too?
written by cheekhiaw, February 20, 2008 00:45:10
Bashing Govt In Blogs Not Malaysian Culture - Rais

Waving Crooked Knives & Calling for Others' Blood is Malaysian Culture - Hishamuddin.

written by Lim Lim, February 20, 2008 00:51:58
Rais,BN goons of course do not use blogs!!watch it...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related
written by Lim Lim, February 20, 2008 00:54:17
Rais,this one lagi best;tok guru NIK Aziz is not wrong for his remark..watch it#2
written by uneminent, February 20, 2008 00:56:48
attend Courses on good manners?
where can I attend aa? coz im bashing u right now, Orang Utan.
written by Lim Lim, February 20, 2008 00:57:56
Rais,bloggers are jus exercising the freedom to reveal the truth,watch it#3
written by zul4kulim, February 20, 2008 01:00:39

http://zul4kulim.********.com/...rect.html

written by Lim Lim, February 20, 2008 01:03:44
Rais,so u are so proud of ur umno/BN culture...hah!watch it #4http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related
written by Lim Lim, February 20, 2008 01:06:48
hi,culture minister,u are putting ur foot into ur own mouth..watch it #5
written by Lim Lim, February 20, 2008 01:08:11
Rais,ini lagi satu untuk mu...watch it #6
written by cheekhiaw, February 20, 2008 01:11:39
Hi Lim Lim,

There is nothing wrong with those beruk-like antics in the videos. It is just part of their Malaysian culture.

Mr Rais, correct or not?

written by Lim Lim, February 20, 2008 01:13:13
Rais,this is getting very tiring;maybe she is too!!watch it #6
want more,rais???
written by Jimbo, February 20, 2008 01:14:18
I hope Rais knows how to turn on his computer to read the comments on his statement.Did you not bash the govt in power when you were out in the moondogs? You mean only positive comments can be made about the govt and ministers and mps and state assemblymen who have been making as ass of themselves in Parliament, raking in millions of $ from the govt thru rampant corruption? Come on Rais, just look around and tell me you sincerely believe that the govt is so clean etc etc. Where have you been hiding. You want me to show you around and give you the facts and figures? I issue you an open challenge either in private or in the public domain to show you that what most of the negative comments made on the blogs are true so that you can finally take off your blinkers or are you so desperate to retain your position that you will lie thru your teeth by making these statements to be in the good books of Bodohwi & co.
By the way your scholarship fund can be given to your umnoputras for an extended holiday at some crummy college lah, no need to talk so much. Look at all the world reknown Malaysian musicians, performing in the cultural centers of the world, did they get 1 bloody cent from the govt?? They went on their parent's hard earned money and foreign scholarships. Or you did not know they exist? Poor bugger, you have been hiding in your little office in the humongous Putrajaya complex, thats what BN govt is good for, build gigantic buildings with public funds (plenty of
under counter also lah)but without substance to fill them, half wit occupants only.
written by Rohani Hitam, February 20, 2008 01:16:52
Rais is educated enough to know the impact of globalisation and free information. We don't need your advise. We need government's responses to our "bashing" There has to balance in freeinformation and expression of views. The government controls the media and the raayat have free access to the bloggsites.

Like others have said, the ministers must look at themselves first before criticizing others.

Rais should refrain from trying to be the spokesperson. We have no quarell with you. Let others speak. We want them to.
written by Wisdom above, February 20, 2008 01:29:27
Please lend me your ears.

Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister YB Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim
has raised a good point.

But we are not 'opposition parties'.

We do not & never oppose .

We are ' Barisan Rakyat '.

We want a New Government that provide 'Compassion and Love' for all.

written by cheekhiaw, February 20, 2008 01:30:54
Bashing Govt In Blogs Not Malaysian Culture - Rais, Culture Minister of Malaysia

Waving Crooked Knives & Calling for Others' Blood is Malaysian Culture - Hishamuddin, Education Minister of Malaysia

You think these 2 can school the world about the meaning of human culture?

written by panca, February 20, 2008 02:30:28
now it goes to show why such personality like yours is synonymous with the definition word, retard.

My fellow bloggers are right-minded people who tell what, why, where, when and how the country was screwed-up. There are even many examples provided for your convenience, such video of obscene hand gestures from ministers, etc, so what are all these MPs that they represent? Check your tongue if it's forked!

Get yourself a life, don't border offering yourself as a candidate if you are really serious about dissociating with many unkempt characters in the cabinet.

Heed the people's advice, leave if you want to save the embarrassment!
written by Chuan, February 20, 2008 04:02:35
Demanding the truth = Government bashing?

If that's government bashing, I think every citizen should start bashing the government for truths.

Pointing fingers? Do we even need to do that? Siapa makan cili, dia yang rasa pedas!
written by johanssm, February 20, 2008 04:14:39
Though its good for rais to points some advice to bloggers however it is NOT the wishes of bloggers to "attack" the government.
Actually nobody want to waste time doing "unproductive" work such as blogging to attack government.Its the government own fault for doing nonsensical things and was NOT listening to the people.
When the people had enough of craps and the medias prints more craps , bloggers or not bloggers aint going to sit still doing nothing.
If theres fair news reporting, there will be less blogging about politics.

Rais better whispers into the sleepy pm ears as we the Rakyat really dont want to be too rude to kick the old prick and his son in law out.
We want to be "sopan and with some santun" but his son in law took us as cartoons as if we are from looney toons.

Good sopan will be bless with santun ,Rais please tells your boss NOT to be Sombong lagi Bohong , or else we will prepares the kubur and tanam together with his dubur
written by badam2007, February 20, 2008 04:21:37
"Bashing Govt In Blogs Not Malaysian Culture - Rais"

So what is Msian Culture??? What I know, UMNO culture is "Ampu and jilat b**tut"..

written by Beezee_Beezee, February 20, 2008 04:24:42
This smelly shit minister Rais never learn and still want to lick the BALLs of the BN minister. Now that he has shown his colour that means he has enough and wish to retire from his role. We will ensure that he will not win again if he is nominated. I think he is trying to Lobby for a seat that is why he is saying this openly...

Fellow Malaysian you know what to do with this Lalat.
written by bumi non malay, February 20, 2008 04:33:03
ha ha ha ha he he

Dr. Rais and Tun Dr M have the same disease....old, senile, mudah lupa !!

Dr. Rais is Genaration B......Bodoh, bebal, binggung, bastard, bahol!!

smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif....File this article into the jokes section!!
written by bexe, February 20, 2008 06:48:23
Firstly Rais, look at the mirror! What ever you throw at the accuser, you should recognise him!

Secondly if you want to believe that blogging is not a Malaysian culture, then you do so at your own peril. The world is flat, get it? Whether you like it or not all internet culture including blogging is here and will stay here and become well ingrained in our culture.

If you cannot stomach the bashing, then do a better job so no one can bash you. If you find the kitchen too hot, get out!
written by amus, February 20, 2008 07:29:17
suggest they attend courses on good manners..good manners is malaysian culture.
this old man doesnt attend parliament or what? where has he been?
ex mp jasin , kinabatangan and nazri are masters on good manners ya?
written by The dragonheart, February 20, 2008 07:55:28
Rais anak Yatim...

Kau mudah lupa (apabila di terima balik dalam UMNO)...
Kau Buta(sesama UMNO)...
Kau Bisu (Dalam Umno)...

Semasa kau bertali kepada S46 (susu jenis apa tah), apa pembangkang buat semua betul untuk survival politik kau, whai anak yatim... kau lupa

Bila dah di anak angkat balik dalam UMNO yang kau tentang, mata kau jadi buta dengan menteri bodoh macam Nazri and Zam....

Masa kau diberi jawatan menteri warisan tok karun (walau pun kau ada LLD) kau tak boleh nasihat nazri tentang undang2 kerana kau dianggap bisu dan kerana LLD kau untuk dapat gelaran Doktor je...

Sudah lah Rais, hujah mu itu ketinggalan zaman... kau dari kumpulan HADARI (civilized), kenapa berlagak seperti masih dalam tahun 1946..nak sembang di kedai kopi? dulu masing2 bebas naik pentas...sekarang PDRM-UMNO tak bagi permit kepada pembangkang...

Sebenarnya terlalu ramai pemimpin2 UMNO tua macam kau ni tak tahu guna komputer... most of them baca melalui hard copy je...dan tak tahu nak balas balik melalui internet...

Kalau kau dari gulungan orang bodoh, buta dan bisu, jangan kata orang yang jauh tamadunnya lebih canggih macam UMNO yang bodoh2 dan mudah lupa itu juga...
written by Atheist, February 20, 2008 08:14:11
Waving the kris in PWTC is also not part of Malay culture ... but it can be justified !!!!

The last time the kris was waved in 1511 by Malays ... it was met by Portugis cannonballs !!!

Now let's see where I put my cannons ... !!!!????
written by idham, February 20, 2008 08:28:44
mu bash opposition kat tv,paper 25 jam sehari ok..
kita yg ada sikit ruang kat internet ni mu nak komplin...
rais..cerdik sikit...nak aku bakar jembatanmu..??

deny BN 2/3 majority!!!
written by grant, February 20, 2008 08:35:43
F**K U! EVEN IF MY 4 F**KING FINGERS WERE POINTING BACK AT ME, THE SINS AND WRONG DOINGS OF THE 4 COMBINED WERE STILL NEGLIGIBLE TO THE SIN OF MY 1 FINGER POINTING AT U! DUMB ASS!

Yes it is the nature of humans to point finger... If I were the only one pointing at u then I might be wrong myself.. Hereby u have 50% of the Msian population bashing the government, pls tell me what is wrong, who is wrong and where the wrong is?
written by asguard, February 20, 2008 08:38:26
Well... like or not... the bashing, the hinting and all sort of ways will continued if you fellas are still cover-up all the truths ...and one of reason why we would like to use this venue ...it because we can't speak thru the press nor tv stations... btw those tools are control very much by you fellas.... so don't be upset if ever you name or some other minister's name crop up from time to time.. is becuase you fellas never did things right... always say something stupid, silly, foolish remarks...
written by grant, February 20, 2008 08:48:07
After reading Jimbo's comment, this is 1 true F**KED UP thing that I have to say and I really hope it falls loudly on the ears of the govt... Being marginalized is already bad enough and as RPK put it, Chinese and Indians are being 2nd or 3rd classed as citizens. The govt is truly unfair. I am not saying the Malay is but the BN govt!

When Hafiz won the All England in 2003, everything but the moon was given to him but what happened when Nicol David became the Women's Squash Champion? Nothing was even given to her. PG state govt was the only one to give her a condo. To win the championship was a great feat itself but to retain the title the following year was a superb achievement esp for a young lass like Nicol. What did she get from the BN govt? If I were her, I will just migrate to Africa and represent Africa. At least the African govt can give me diamonds as my monetary reward for winning the championship!

Poh dah!
written by oknyua, February 20, 2008 08:52:52
I attended a gov't function yesterday and the ex-minister tarok Anwar Ibrahim cukup-cukup. I hav't read today's paper, so I am not sure if those ex-Minister's words were printed.

But Anwar wasn't there to defend himself. Anwar's words won't reach the press. Anwar's words, if they reach the press, would be distorted and twisted.

The only way available for Anwar and everybody else like us is thru the blog.

Rais, all the good opinion I have on you is down..down..gone.
written by InEffective, February 20, 2008 09:04:49
Agreed - bashing for the sake of bashing is not healthy or helpful.

What is helpful is voicing your opinion, stating your views on what and who ails our nation. It is only through exposure and awareness of many can we gauge the impacts (broad, narrow, deep) of self-serving policies, rules, actions and behaviors of any politician from any party.

When the rakyat has an informed datapoints to make good judgments about their governance, the rakyat shall regain control of wayward politicians who are not working for the rakyat's interests.
written by Sagaladoola, February 20, 2008 09:05:20
------------------------------------------------
RAIS YATIM, THE POT CALLING THE KETTLE BLACK
------------------------------------------------

HIGHLIGHT:
"The bloggers are getting bolder, but I see it this way -- the general election is the season for condemning or "killing" others with words but this is not BN culture. I suggest that they attend courses on good manners as good manners is Malaysian culture."

COMMENT:
So, is this good manners, Rais Yatim? The keris waving with unruly remarks thing.

Are the remarks of those Famous People in the posters true? Is this good manners, Rais Yatim? Those people are not bloggers from what I understand.
Link: http://naktak.********.com/200...sters.html
written by Sagaladoola, February 20, 2008 09:10:33
-------------------------------------------
RAIS YATIM, KETAM AJAR ANAK BERJALAN DENGAN BETUL DAN LURUS
-------------------------------------------

How about this, Rais Yatim, the words P*k* Mak and "You are Sitting in a Wheelchair, God has punished you"? Can we consider those as Good-mannered words?
Link 1: http://www.jeffooi.com/2007/10...from_g.php
Link 2: http://sagaladoola.********.co...i-mak.html

One thing I want to ask, those people mentioned... Aren't they all UMNO members, the same party as yours? Rais Yatim, why aren't you doing something about it?

HIGHLIGHT:
"Nowadays, not only the bloggers are having a mental block (disturbed) but the PAS' spiritual leader's mind too is blocked (unstable) when he equated Umno members to orang utan.

COMMENT:
Rais Yatim, the bloggers are writing because they need to remove their mental block. Judging from the links I have provided above, I kind of remember Someone not from PAS calling bloggers some name like KERA, GOBLOK. If you think PAS is wrong, why do you not call those people who call bloggers as KERA or GOBLOK that have a mind block (judging by your logic) to apologise first?
written by the1, February 20, 2008 09:45:00
Rais,

#1 ...BUT it's a nature of BN leaders bashing others OTHER THAN blogs with lies.

#2 Is it necessary to have a clean heart to own the RIGHTS to voice out.

#3 Are you internet illiterate?
written by duncan, February 20, 2008 09:49:24
if ur in public office, you're open to crtitcism and condemnation...every person who took office clearly knows this. If u screw up your responsibilty while is office...be prepared for full queries and more condemnation and criticism...the saying, "he without sin cast the first stone" does NOT apply here... what a dufus!
written by DezMalaysia, February 20, 2008 10:01:49
The fact is, BN at whole is going to lose a minimum of 30% seats in Parliament and State seats. That means many of their MPs & ADUNs are going out of jobs ! It means, penniless & broke !

Mainstream medias are one-sided & controlled by the BN government. No real facts are published, always down-playing high profile criminal cases, government's faults are not published, etc etc... You name it Mr. Rais Yatim.

Grant Freedom to the Media and fair reporting first before you talk about internet stuffs ol' bag ! You BN people are desperate and freak-out with the wrong-doing-facts published, you BN goons should answer them instead of giving a kid statements.
written by cruzeiro, February 20, 2008 10:02:50
Look who's talkin' ..... smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif

But It Isn't Our Culture ...... or is it?
http://cruzinthots.********.co...is-it.html
written by RVD, February 20, 2008 10:04:28
This may interest you on the 3 Monkeys Concept. Read:

http://rvicdav.********.com/2008/02/three-monkeys-concept.html
written by Mr Smith, February 20, 2008 10:10:53
Hey Rais,
Those in politics will know what you are - a political chameleon, an opportunist, and a fox with two tongues.
I heard many of your speeches when you were in Semangat 46. Din't you go round the country criticizing the government and bashing Mahathir like hell? Did you even speak against the use of the ISA? Didn't you write on the plight of the Judiciary?
Now that you are back in the government, you want to preach about Malaysian Culture. What change did you bring when you returned to the Cabinet besides making making money for yourself.
Would you consider what you did was Malaysian Culture?
When you were outside BN everything was bad. Now you are in it, everything is good.
written by Mr Smith, February 20, 2008 10:11:51
correction: "Didn't you speak against the use of the ISA".
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, February 20, 2008 10:22:42
Dear Rais, you are among the very few politician with good character, and you deserve to be respected.

You should spend your limited time and energy to help your own folks in the BN, especially those monkeys like the Kris-Boy, the suspected murderer, the rapist, the many thieves and robbers, and many other sick and corrupted leaders.

Thank you
written by krepot, February 20, 2008 10:26:33
Rais,

Since when was Blogs part of any culture?

It is something new, moving with time.

Either you adapt to it, or be left behind.

It is nothing to do with culture, unless you want to go back to living in caves, in line with your so called 'culture'.

written by krepot, February 20, 2008 10:28:27
Rais,

I bet, you don't use a computer and you don't read blogs.

If you did, you would have seen the 'constructive criticism' and seen a positive side to it. Sadly, this is the state of our government - IGNORANT!
written by Counterpointer, February 20, 2008 11:00:20
indulging in an unhealthy culture of bashing others, including government leaders

Government leaders who indulge in the unhealthy culture of treating the public to be like servants, instead of the other way round, including the culture of blatant corruption, lies and hanky pankies without the bother for any transparency and accountability and the culture of being above the law, should be bashed till kingdom come.
written by HJ Angus, February 20, 2008 11:06:55
stormquest
thanks for all the quotes from Shakespeare.

Think you should include Macbeth

"When shall we three meet again; in thunder,lightning or in rain"
The 3 witches of the BN - UMNO, MCA and MIC.

"All the perfumes of Arabia will not sweeten this little hand."
that plotted the murder of Altantuuya.

As for the Culture Minister, his post is really redundant. This guy has no convictions of his own.
written by bodohland_citizen, February 20, 2008 11:18:32
You know what is Malaysian Culture ? Whatever UMNO or BN do is Malaysian Culture. i.e Media manipulation, judiciary control, big mouth, contract awards to cronies, illicit sex and many more.
written by Raja Gasper, February 20, 2008 11:31:33
Malaysian Culture & Datuk Rais........What is Malaysian Culture ? Who are they ?
Infact Malaysia has no Culture at all.Everthing is borrowed from the Indians,
Chinese,the Arabs,Portugese,Indonesians and etc.

Today in school we can see the religion of a person is written as ISLAM atau
BUKAN ISLAM and what that does mean ? Is it Malaysian Culture or thinking of
Arabnization of the Non Muslims.

There is no justice and fairness for the Non Muslims and people are treated
as low class citizen and plights are even suppressed. Are this we called as
Malaysian Culture ? Come and speak Datuk Rais Yatim ? Put your self as in the
position of the helpless Non Muslims Community and see for your self the fair
ness and the rightheous you preached.

Don't look at the minority rich people but look at the majority of the poors
and make your decisions.

For the Malay Muslims they even doesn't like to called themself as "Malaysian",
but you (Datuk Rais) proclaming as Malaysian Culture.

Today the Malay Culture which is heavily depends of Indianization Cuture died
and replaced by Arabnizations. See Yourself if you had eyes to see and ears to
hears and brain to make judgements.

The term Malaysian are narrowly interpreted as Non Muslims of Malaysia Citizen
and the Malays are indentified as Bumiputra or Son of the Soil who invested all
the power and rights in the Kingdom of Malayland or TANAH MELAYU states.

So where is Malaysian Culture that you are talking about?....just another LIES
written by Stormquest, February 20, 2008 11:31:54
Hi HJ Angus,

Thanks! Good ones on the Macbeth as well! Feel free to expand on the list, and spread it around! smilies/smiley.gif
written by fairnessforall, February 20, 2008 11:57:56
The bloggers are getting bolder, but I see it this way -- the general election is the season for condemning or "killing" others with words but this is not BN culture. I suggest that they attend courses on good manners as good manners is Malaysian culture."
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hahahaha....not BN culture? Then why is BN using the Media to condemn the opposition and tell lies, such as showing clips of all the past demostrations and claiming 'MEREKA BERKOMPLOT' and that the demostrators are actually the opposition parties. Do you have proof of this. You dirty filty scum.

So no one can bash the goverment in blogs, but the goverment can lie and cheat the public and use the media to bash the opposition. This is Malaysian culture right. Bashing is not Malaysian culture, demonstration is not malaysian culture, yeah we know Malaysian culture includes corruption, cheating, lying, raping ones own daughters and granddaughters right. Stupid dumb ass. Just hearing you dumb ministers talk makes my blood boil.
written by teo siew chin, February 20, 2008 12:34:43
sigh. the bloggers quote Shakespeare and the minister sing songs!

Good job Stormquest & Hj Angus !
written by grant, February 20, 2008 12:56:04
raja gasper, dont f**k rais yatim la.. dont bother to ask him to be in our shoes. The BN goons (all of them irregardless of UMNOfarks, MCArseholes or MICkey-mouse) think they are God. They think being the ruling party and being Islam Hadhari preachers they are way way above God. They dont give 2 ****s (like RPK always says) abt us. They even kill their own Muslim community. What more can we the Chinese or Indians and DLL expect? Today, in school they marginalized the Islam and Non Islam. In the long run it will be Islam and DLL. They are just painting the picture that Msia is an Islamic state, to show everyone that they care about the Muslimin and Musliman. What they really care about is plundering this whole country. Think again la... Even the FELDA farmers are going against BN.. Wat do u expect?
written by Areyaar, February 20, 2008 13:07:25
Here, too, my comments, posted early this morning, have vanished. I am puzzled.
written by Daryl, February 20, 2008 13:25:34
Datuk Seri Rais

Tell me why Malaysian start bloggin. Look at these options we have:

1) Through the democratic proceeding. Parlimen opposition can say whatever they want and nothing change. MP are required and must vote along party lines so no expectation for any MP to vote out of line. and off course ISA. NOTHING WILL IMPROVE HERE.
2) Peaceful demostration - shoot with tear gae, chemical water and high chance of getting hurt or go to jail. NO CHANCE HERE
3) Blogging - can say whatever you want, excellents suggestions, no physical confrontation and excellent exposure to the world and anyone with internet access. no tear gas, chemical water or jail. Only injure fingers or fist after we heard BN politicians giving dumb excuse or BN politician get away with murder or BN politicians take money and build bigger house. very low possibly of going to jail. NEED TO FILTER OUT FANATIC OR CRAZY IDEAS

So, Datuk Seri Rais so do you still think blogging is bad for the Malaysian or just for BN selfish and greedy politicians?
written by Bhuvan, February 20, 2008 13:35:13
Rais,

If bashing the government in blogs is not M'sian culture, then neither is spraying people with chemical laced water, tear-gassing people, beating them with batons or holding them under ISA without evidence!!!!

You politicians only know how to preach. Please learn to listen & practice what you preach.

The 1000 year old Malay culture of lemah-lembut, berbudi-bahasa, budi-pekerti & religiosity has been turned on its head by Maha-taik-hir and UMNO in less than 25 years. Do the Malay people realize the loss of their unique culture?
written by Lim Lim, February 20, 2008 14:03:42
Rais,these are not bashings,we are enlightening with evidence n fact!n of course they are from the bloggers!!
written by ibabonma, February 20, 2008 14:08:26
Rais dengar sini.

SATU: Kita tulis surat kepada YAB Perdana Menteri selaku Presiden UMNO, kita kata,

“UMNO Taman Saraya Ampang menipu Surau, menduduki Dewan Kerajaan secara haram dan menyewakan tanah kerajaan kepada Celcom (M) Bhd dan memungut hasil haram sebanya RM 120,000.00”
….. YAB Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi buat tak tahu!

DUA: Kita tulis surat kepada Setiausaha Agung UMNO, kita kata,

“UMNO Taman Saraya Ampang menipu Surau, menduduki Dewan Kerajaan secara haram dan menyewakan tanah kerajaan kepada Celcom dan memungut hasil haram sebanya RM 120,000.00”
….. Y Bhg Datuk Seri Radzi Sheikh Ahmad buat tak tahu!

TIGA: Kita tulis surat kepada YAB Menteri Besar Selangor, kita kata,

“UMNO Taman Saraya Ampang menipu Surau, menduduki Dewan Kerajaan secara haram dan menyewakan tanah kerajaan kepada Celcom dan memungut hasil haram sebanya RM 120,000.00”
….. YAB Datuk Seri Dr. Khair Toyo buat tak tahu!

EMPAT: Kita buat Polis Report No: Pandan , kita kata,

….. Polis buat tak tahu!

Rais salahkah kita (berikutnya), didalam blog, kita kata,

Hei! Puk*Mak, Pu*I Mak, dengar sini,

Rais, dalam hal macam ini siapa salah? Siapa menjemput siapa menjadi kurang ajar!
written by ibabonma, February 20, 2008 14:19:18
*** Polis Report Pandan Indah /009622/07***
written by talkingback79, February 20, 2008 15:21:32
.....then can Rais please name one avenue in this country where the opposition can have a voice???? Huh??.... I can't hear youuuu.....Non???.Then shut up!!
written by talkingback79, February 20, 2008 15:27:02
Wow,,,,ibabonma....comen you effective lah....

Mereka tak acknowledge langsung, ka??.....

Jadi, translate this issue into vote lahhh.........
written by alan cheong, February 20, 2008 16:39:24
hallo rais,

have YOU evaluated yourself? WHERE d'you stand in the sight of GOD?

stop your lalang ways ... and make a stand.
written by Sagaladoola, February 20, 2008 16:51:02
My writing on this article ....

Title: Rais Yatim and His So-Called Malaysian Culture
Link: http://sagaladoola.********.co...ysian.html
written by MERCYNOTJUSTICE07, February 22, 2008 12:42:50
Dr. Rais remember the time when you were in Semangat 46 you bashed the UMNO led govt. left right and proper and you even say you have burnt bridges. But now you sing a different. Probably out of utter frustration you did that and even in those days you were given scant coverage by the mainline media. I perfectly understand your reactions back then and now. Here, we the common citizens now felt the same way, the UMNO led govt. practises deceit all this while in fact perfecting the art of deceit and lie the rakyat all the time each and every leaders of BN are of the same stock lah. Now, where are we to vent our utter frustration. Really thank God for blogsites especially Malaysia Today. Long live Malaysia Today. Let me tell Rais this simple truth, we are sick to the bone of how BN runs this country. It is all lobsided policies that makes us hate the leaders and making it appears we actually hated the malays which is not true. Perhaps, it is their ploy to pit the malays against the other races so they can perpetuate their corrupted way to milk this country.