Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Samy: Only Indians can decide if I go

Samy: Only Indians can decide if I go PDF Print
Tuesday, 19 February 2008 23:56

KUALA LUMPUR (Feb 19, 2008): MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu took a swipe at those interfering in MIC politics, saying that whether he remains as president or steps down will be decided by the Indian community nationwide, not others.

If the Indian community in the whole country decide they don’t want me, I’m prepared to go even now. I’m prepared ... but that decision must be made by the Indian community and not outsiders, because I represent the Indians in the government,” he said.

The embattled party president was asked to comment on talk that he was not favoured by a certain Barisan Nasional (BN) component party to continue to lead MIC and it was speculated that he may not be fielded on Sunday (Feb 24).

The eight-term Sungai Siput MP said this may be his last attempt at seeking re-election, adding that he would leave at an appropriate time.

If I leave the party now, MIC will go into disarray. It is not that I am going to be there for 100 years … I won’t live to 100. Everyone has a time to go,” said Samy Vellu, 72, after officiating at the three-day Pan-Commonwealth conference on professional services trade in a hotel today.

The Kluang-born first contested the parliamentary seat in 1974 and has held the seat since then. He has been MIC president since March 22, 1981.

Samy Vellu was also asked whether the reports of attempts by groups to get physical with him, like preventing him from leaving after functions in several locations recently, was a signal or pressure for him to pave the way for younger people to lead the party.

In Butterworth last Saturday (Feb 16), his car was obstructed by a group of people from leaving the compound of a school where he had earlier attended a function as the group wanted to speak to him.

That’s a great incident (in a cynical tone). Does it indicate they hate me? No, they don’t hate me. They only told me to ask the prime minister to release all the 180 people who were detained for taking part in illegal demonstrations.That’s all they said, they didn’t talk anything about politics,” he said.

He said newspapers are quick to publish front page articles when a party leader leaves but the fate of the party is of no concern to them.

They will come back the next day and report the party is in disarray,” said Samy Vellu, referring to the vernacular newspapers which had been reporting on MIC and its leaders.

Samy Vellu was also asked if there was a rift between him and his deputy Datuk G. Palanivel.

That’s good news (with a pinch of sarcasm). If you want to destroy a party, you must divide the leaders. A lot of people are trying to do that but we will not allow that to happen,” he said.

I am an old man. I am 95 years old. I will hand over the party to the man next to me and go,” added Samy Vellu. - Sun

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by Stormquest, February 20, 2008 00:04:25
What drama. This is better than a Tamil movie!
written by Sutha, February 20, 2008 00:08:29
Sami,

The Indians have decided.... So Get Lost..... to Perth..... and don't you ever come back in the name of the Malaysian Indians.

And take your Sleepingman Boss along. He too has a house there (worth RM 60 Million)
written by Spear Bing, February 20, 2008 00:15:45
Told you so. The Supremo has spoken - well and clear. Only the MIC members and the Indian community can dictate whether its time for him exit. He is just the innocent mirror of the consciousness of the Indian community. He can only reflect.

But will MIC members, CWC members and the Indian community uplift their level of awareness and face him with ONE MIND in unison and tell him "YES ITS TIME FOR YOU TO GO, CALL IT A DAY". Will you dare to do that, do you all have the gusto and pluck your sheepish courage to tell him right in his face?

Your guess is as good as so many of us. Truly the Indian community deserve what they get, and they get what they deserve.
written by Sutha, February 20, 2008 00:17:41
To the Malaysians, he says the Indians decide.

To the Indians, he says the voters of Sungai Siput decides.

To those voters, he says Prime Minister decides.

To the Prime Minister, he says his party decides.

To his party, he says I, Sami Velu a/l Sunnee, decide.

What a snake?
written by Lim Lim, February 20, 2008 00:20:07
"I am an old man. I am 95 years old. I will hand over the party to the man next to me and go,” added Samy Vellu.
until 95??this jerk is not only a bane now,his denial syndrome had deteriorated into a mockery of himself!!
"that decision must be made by the Indian community "...hey,tamby sani value!the indian community hav already made the decision..lah!!moron...
written by singam, February 20, 2008 00:22:04
MIC elections will be a closed affair, attendance of which will be restricted to loyalists and those seeking favours. But the ballot box at Sungei Siput is another matter altogether.

He wants to be kicked out. So it's up to the electorate of Sungei Siput to give him what he asks for.
written by Cash Money, February 20, 2008 00:39:06
The Indian community is very clear they have disassociated with you Samy.
Prediction is Umno will send a hit man and Samy you will be history before the election so be prepared.
Meanwhile this two *******'s Sothukai and Palanivol don't have the balls to check mate Samy, that's expected out of this two followers.
written by cheekhiaw, February 20, 2008 00:39:46
Dey tambhi vellu,

Stay on lah dey. White indian elephants have their uses too.

So wannacome or wannago?

written by sabade, February 20, 2008 02:02:20
In accordance with Vedic Astrology, and if the MIC Presidents date of birth is 8 March 1936 and born between the time 0001 am to 1030 pm, his birth star is Leo. If his time of birth is between 1030 pm and midnight his birth star is Virgo. In Vedic Astrology the position of Moon is taken to decide the zodiac sign of a person.

For people born in both these stars, they are going through a 7 1/2 year bad period under the influence of planet Saturn. This period is called Saturn-Sade. This is a period where one has to pay for his or her past mischief. The severity of this will depend on whether the position of planet Saturn was friendly or an enemy at the time of birth. If the MIC President, is a Leo then the bad period would have started in Jan 2005 and will end in Sept 2012. If he is a Virgo then it has started on 16 July 2007 and will only end in Dec 2014. Based on past and recent events he is most likely a Leo.

People can escape many things in life through their contacts and influences but during this period everybody sees you as an enemy and there is no escape from the influence of planet Saturn or his punishments unless forgiven by the Almighty. For the MIC President, its no time to lead the MIC or the Indians in this country. For some, if planet Saturn is in the third cycle i.e. every 30 years, one’s life could also be in danger due to health or other mishaps. It is also not a good time to seek re-election. In fact on 8 March 2008 almost all the 9 planets - Sun, Moon, Mercury, Jupiter, Saturn, Mars, Venus, ketu and Rahu are in a very inferior position. Number 8, maybe a lucky date for those born on 8, 17 0r 26 but as far as vedic astrology is concerned 8 March 2008 is a very bad day and period for the MIC President.

However not everything may be bad during this 7 1/2 period. This can only be ascertained with an accurate time of birth.

On the whole it would be better for the MIC President to step down. If he is worried there maybe no leader after him then he may as well take the whole MIC with him. The Indians can then approach the majority party elected for their requirements via the Indian based NGOs or even directly. Maybe an Indian Affairs Officer(if not Indian to be assisted by one or two) can be nominated by the newly elected government in every district, state govt and federal Government to look into Indian Affairs. In this way government assistance can be channeled directly to the needy Indians.
written by bexe, February 20, 2008 07:47:37
Hello!!!
You fear the Indians will be in a disarray if you leave now? Fear no more, they are already in a disarray all because you have mislead them.
You say you will go if all the Indians in the whole country want you to go?
Again, don't wait, they all want you to go. can't you see? Can't you hear? Are you deaf & blind?
written by Atheist, February 20, 2008 08:24:19
What a liar .... is he 72 years old or 95 years old !!! All Samy's people talk nonsense as usual. At this rate, he'll be there for another (100-95) years !!!

BTW ... nobody asks Indians in Government to help because the are helpless as you have planned and put them there. Only the Malays in Government can help Indians !!!

You are there because of the Malay politics and Chinese money and now you tell them to mind their business !!!!! In TDM days ... you said "nyawa, hati dan badan says TDM punya ..." but in AAB days you are saying this .....

You see how weak AAB is and I have only re-inforced my case on this matter ... !!!!
written by asguard, February 20, 2008 08:42:25
Aiyoh... he talks and talks too much... but deep side his heart ...full of sorrow.... but the outside he shows that he is determine to carry on no matter what..... that is what about semi-no-value....
written by joseph81, February 20, 2008 08:45:09
The writtings alreadu on the wall, what talking u?
written by Latha, February 20, 2008 09:07:44
Indians already decided la, Samy. We all want you to go for good and never come back. Enough of making money for yourself. Let someone else lead the Indians now. You leaving would be the best thing that happens to Indians.
written by duncan, February 20, 2008 09:50:42
Maybe the old man's got a few more contracts to secure for him to reap later on...cover a few more generations!
written by RVD, February 20, 2008 10:07:34
This is just a drama. Please read this:

http://rvicdav.********.com/2008/02/samy-vellu-still-drama-actor.html
written by Kang Mas, February 20, 2008 10:10:46
Semi Value was actually telling Bodowi that Bodowi had no ball and power to remove Semi Value at whatever cost.
written by DezMalaysia, February 20, 2008 10:14:30
Semi Value should remain Semi Value at BN !

That is good for this 12th General Election.
As this thick-faced still has the guts to claim he represents for Malaysian Indians in the Government, why not let him be ?

Semi Value, the Malaysians and not just the Indians had decided that we want you to go, it's you who do not want to believe the real facts till you see your grand defeat ! You just want to get the title 'TUN' when you retire...

JANGAN PANGKAH BN !
written by SimpleSoul, February 20, 2008 10:29:42
P1. How many more indians must tell to this clown to leave? He wont move if Malaysian indians want him out but indians from all over the world!

P2. "If you want to destroy a party, you must divide the leaders. A lot of people are trying to do that but we will not allow that to happen,” he said.

So what you meant is, its OK to destroy and divide the indian people in Malaysia as long the Party is not destroyed. Uncle Sam, why dont you go back to the history and read about the forefather who struggled and prostested for the people and not the party! Why u need a party for when you dont care about the people? For allocation of shares? Allocation of goverment seats?

All all those people who back this guy up, look at your self. Firstly you u dont have the respect of the people which you so call represent! How you people want to lead. Even when Sam leaves, i reckon there be a bigger chaos which would lead to power struggle as there wasnt a succesion planning at all!
I bet non of who will take over samy helm wil be daring enuf to bark at UMNO top gun.

Tau buat planning smooth highways tapi tak tau buat smooth hidup orang india.
written by Abajawi, February 20, 2008 10:38:50
Why only INDIANS decide you stay or not? The people of Sungai Siput are not made up of Indians only. There are Malays and Chinese as well. Whether S.Vellu stays or not depends on the multiracial people of Sungai Siput--Indians, Malays and Chinese. This is Malaysia, and that's how its gonna be, man! You Semi Value are not representing only Indians of Sungai Siput but people of all races. And don't you forget that, you, you....!
written by krepot, February 20, 2008 10:48:55
Samy,

The Indians have spoken CLEARLY on 25th Nov 2007.

You are just too stupid to have noticed this!
written by Raja Gasper, February 20, 2008 10:58:54
During Good times Samy Veloo the self appointed Supremo of MIC proclaim selfish
and agnorant.He treated the Indian community as beggers and not as brothers &
sisters.

Samy Veloo has forgotten that Charity work may help someone during the bad times.
He hides the wealth from the community and gave to the cronies and mise use the
trust of the people.

Today Samy Veloo get the harvest of what he sowed before.Good tree produce only
good fruit and bad tree always produced rotten fruits.All bad trees will be cut
by the land owner which never produce profit for them (people/voters).

Indian long time ago decided that Samy Veloo should step down and face the music.

The story of how Samy Veloo will fall from the throne is just an example for those
who are still ignorant and never do the will of people.The plain truth here is that
bad people and their bad intentions will not last longer.

If Malaysia had bad politicians and bad intention and serve no fairness and justice
of course in long run it will also collapse and will be retaken by others.
written by bodohland_citizen, February 20, 2008 11:20:56
and i'm crying over your words, dear Samy De Niro
written by Ananth, February 20, 2008 11:44:26
Samy!! BN is going to loose with or without u. We have made up our mind.
We will dismiss the BN from the power. no matter how hard BN try to win the election. U bunch bigots become so arrogant until one of your minister (ALI RUSTAM)dare to quote EVEN GOD CAN'T REMOVE BN FROM IT'S POWER. u BN goons must pay the price for your DEVILS ACT....
written by JohnQ, February 20, 2008 12:08:11
Halo ! let this pariah in and contest lah. It had chances to win in the past, pls be more generous to let IT has the chance to LOSE lah. Only then IT's thick skin has the chance to rip off !!! Hou Ah !!!!
written by JohnQ, February 20, 2008 12:11:37
Does TUN title pays you pension in PERTH by Ausie ???? PARIAH !
written by Bhuvan, February 20, 2008 13:38:30
Po-dah maire!
written by farah, February 20, 2008 15:38:17
YUK! GET LOST YOU!
THE ETHNIC INDIANS ARE LOOKING FORWARD FOR A WELL EDUCATED, LEANERED AND BROAD HEARTED PERSON TO LEAD THEM BY GETTING WHAT THEY ARE DESERVED IN THEIR COUNTRY MALAYSIA!
written by MyView, February 20, 2008 18:01:48
So finally the snake decides Samy to go or not.
written by sonofman0, February 20, 2008 23:24:02
Dear DSSSV,
Paragraph by paragraph:
Para 1: Whether you remain as or step down as president will not depend on the will of the Indian community nationwide or worldwide. It will depend on the position of four thumbs. For the time being, the four thumbs are pointing upwards. Those who surround you are watching intensely the position of the four thumbs. The very second the four thumbs point downwards, those who surround you will tear your political career to shreds. They will then turn on each other and the victor will be presented to the owners of the four thumbs as their next rubber stamp. I will leave it to the bloggers to decide who the thumbs belong to.
Para 2 ....... to be continued. Good night fellow bloggers and sleep tight.
written by sonofman0, February 21, 2008 22:47:30
Dear DSSSV, continued.
Para 2: You have made a great indiscretion by considering those who have voted for you faithfully all those years, as OUTSIDERS. Look closely at the faces of the owners of the four thumbs? Do you see doubt and dismay on their faces. Perhaps they have second thoughts about your candidacy in Sg. Siput. They certainly don't want to lose a BN seat because of your ungratefulness. This kind of behaviour coming from a man who constantly reminds the electorate that they must be grateful to the government. Do you have it in you to humble yourself and apologize to the OUTSIDERS? Your fate lies in their hands. The Indian community asks for jobs, more educational opportunities, better housing, etc, and you present them with a holiday which you proudly claim took you ten years of begging! Talk of crumbs falling off the table! The latest news states that you have promised the people new faces. They ask for changes in policy to benefit the Indian community and you shower them with face lifts with the same old cholesterol laden blood. You say you represent the Indians in the government. Have you gone round the government departments lately to count the number of Indians still employed there? Breaking news reports that you have been nominated for the Sg. Siput constituency. All the more reason you must make peace with the OUTSIDERS of Sg. Siput. Para 3: No comment. Para:4 "may be ", "last attempt", "appropriate time". We don't use gramophone records anymore. But you are still stuck in the same groove! Para 5: Why should the party go into disarray? Are you telling us that the MIC is you and you alone are the MIC? After 27 years the MIC is a "one man show"? Para 6: No comment. Para 7 - 9: All of a sudden we have these "incidents"! Good publicity, isn't it? Para 10: That depends on who the leader is and which party it is. Para 11: Aren't these your own words? Para 12 - 14: Isn't that the status quo? Divide and rule!