The jostle for succession PDF Print
Tuesday, 19 February 2008 11:22

DPM Najib seems set to become PM, but who will be No 2 is less clear

Last year alone, Mr Najib's name was linked to the much-publicised murder of Mongolian Altantuya Shaaribuu and also to three shady military contracts that supposedly had his associates and him pocketing some $420 million.

Nazry Bahrawi This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

IT MAY be a Herculean feat for Singapore's ruling party to unearth credible candidates for its future political A-team, but across the Causeway, there is apparently no such shortage of would-be leaders.

For Malaysia's leading political party United Malays National Organisation (Umno), it is quite clear who will assume the top post should Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi heed Dr Mahathir Mohamad's recent call to step down after the general elections, according to analysts. Ex-Prime Minister Dr Mahathir had publicly urged that the premiership be handed over to Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak, whom Dr Mahathir has said was his first choice as successor.

But Mr Najib's path to the premiership will not be smooth, according to a senior Malaysia political observer. Mr Najib must overcome a less-than-perfect public persona as his reputation has been tainted by high profile scandals recently. Last year alone, Mr Najib's name was linked to the much-publicised murder of Mongolian Altantuya Shaaribuu and also to three shady military contracts that supposedly had his associates and him pocketing some $420 million.

Despite this, analysts agree that Mr Najib was the likely candidate to become the next Prime Minister.

The crystal ball is murkier when it comes to predicting the nation's future No 2.

One name hovers above the rest - current Education Minister Hishammuddin Hussein, who is also chairman of Umno Youth. Not only is he Mr Najib's cousin, but the ex-Minister of Youth and Sport is also the son of Malaysia's third Prime Minister Hussein Onn, and the grandson of Umno founding member Onn Jaafar.

Said political observer Professor Johan Saravanamuttu, former dean of research at Universiti Sains Malaysia: "Most likely Mr Hishamuddin may contest the Vice-President position." Any of the three Vice-Presidents of Umno can be appointed as Malaysia's Deputy Prime Minister. One Vice-President position in Umno is currently vacant.

But Mr Steven Gan, editor of online news site Malaysiakini believes that Mr Khairy Jamaluddin, 32, current deputy Umno Youth chief, may try to block Mr Hishamuddin's bid to become the Vice-President.

"It is in Mr Khairy's interest to make sure that Mr Hishammuddin does not get elected as Vice-President," said Mr Gan who added that Mr Khairy, who is also Mr Abdullah's son-in-law, might himself compete for a Vice-President seat.

The senior political observer said a deal may even be brokered between Mr Najib and Mr Abdullah that will see the latter stop down, but with Mr Khairy installed in a position of influence. Prof Savaranamuttu thinks that a more logical move would be for Mr Khairy to take over the position of Umno Youth chief from Mr Hishamuddin.

But political scientist Dr Farish A Noor is sceptical. He told Today: "Neither have the clout to command wider support across Umno, and even less across the ruling Barisan Nasional coalition." But if not them, then who? It is hard to predict, says Dr Farish, who believes that Umno is suffering from a "serious leadership deficit".

And while it looks likely that Mr Najib would take over, Dr Farish says even this is a fragile state of affairs. "Mr Najib is perhaps the only other senior politician who has some standing and recognition outside Malaysia, but the Abdullah-Najib relationship has been troubled since Dr Mahathir's revelation that the latter was his preferred candidate."

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by asguard, February 19, 2008 11:27:31
Aiyoh i won't one any of candidates from UMNO specially najis... to take over the country and so is a few others... what they has in common suck the all country revenues and money into their pocket, continued their practice of manipulation the people for their own gaining... not real bother about country critical situation.. keen on enjoying... and collecting more income...
written by Mr Smith, February 19, 2008 11:49:43
IT MAY be a Herculean feat for Singapore's ruling party to unearth credible candidates for its future political A-team, but across the Causeway, there is apparently no such shortage of would-be leaders.
==============
You are not supposed to compare Singapore with Malaysia, the PM has warned.
Singapore scouts around and pick the best brains, with a string of Doctorates and Masters from Harvard, Oxford, Cambridge etc, to lead the government. Today an Indian is the Education cum Finance Minister there.
Here we look at the skin colour. Someone who dropped out of Economics and obtained a general degree in Islamic Studies from MU can become Finance Minister and PM. Down here one can carry his brain in his pocket and be a PM, no problem.
written by mendela, February 19, 2008 11:54:27
Read this at one of the leading blog:

"tourman53 Says:
Today at 06: 49.17 (1 hour ago)
HERE ARE THE FACTS WHY WE CANNOT GIVE THEM 2/3 OF PARLIAMENT
1. Barisan lost 2/3 majority once, in 1969. Only briefly.
2. Since 1957, it has amended the constitution 690 times to propagate its
power. By comparison, USA which is more 200 years old has only amended
its
constitution 27 times; Singapore as little as only 4 times.
3. Barisan's ability to amend the constitution as it likes (and make
unjust
and unfair constitutional changes) must be stopped now.Here's the
statistics
from the 2004 election:
1. UMNO received 35.9% of the popular votes but has 110 parliamentary
seats
or 50% of all parliamentary seats.
2. In total, Barisan received 63.8% of the popular votes but has 199
parliamentary seats or 91% of all parliamentary seats.
3. The opposition received 36.2% of the popular votes but has only 20
parliamentary seats or 9% of all parliamentary seats.
4. Why? Because of gerrymandering, or unfair election rules. The election
rules are stacked against the opposition. No matter what happens, the
opposition will never, I repeat, will never be able to win the next
election.
Here's the decision-making power process within our present cabinet.
1. UMNO not only controls the parliament via Barisan, it has allocated
itself 24 cabinet positions or 71% of all cabinet positions.
2. MCA has 5 cabinet positions or 15% of the cabinet positions.
3.. MIC has 1 cabinet position or 3 % of the cabinet positions.
4. Gerakan has 1 cabinet position or 3% of the cabinet positions.
5. Other component parties hold 3 cabinet positions or 8% of the cabinet
positions.
6. The opposition with 36.2% of all the popular votes is not given a
single
cabinet position.
One should take note that although UMNO controls 50% of all parliamentary
seats, it controls 71% of all the decision making processes within the
cabinet.
4. Many marginalization issues or unfair election practices are the
result
of legislations passed by Barisan (lead by UMNO) unchecked in a dominant
Barisan parliament. Under the Barisan Party whip system, the majority
component party within Barisan will dictate the rules of the
game. Other Barisan component parties like MCA, Gerakan or MIC cannot
vote
against what UMNO decides in whatever it likes, even if they wanted to.
5. Best part is this: even if the opposition won all the seats it
contested, no single opposition party can form the next government.
Why? Gerrymandering (of the present election borders) has ensured that
even
if Barisan were to win 50% of the popular votes in the upcoming election,
it will still control 2/3 of parliament. As an example, in 2004 Barisan
took 64% of the popular votes but ended up controlling 91% of parliament.
It is easy to see why if they win only 50% of the popular votes in the
next
election they will once again be able to dictate absolute power in the
parliament.
And Zam the Ram, Minister of Information has to gall to protest to
AlJazeera TV that Malaysia is democratic because it has elections!
What cheek!!! Are these fair elections? Is this truly democracy??
Is it truly Malaysia Boleh? More like Malaysia Malu!
Do your maths … and do your part…
That's why EVERY SINGLE VOTE AGAINST BN COUNTS!!!
DENY BN THE 2/3 IN PARLIAMENT! NO VOTES FOR BN!
( from Email)
Please forward this email to all your friends.
Thank You
written by Oldmantalks, February 19, 2008 12:12:25
If we need to dream, so we must, but we have to dream big. So be it that we must dream big. Let us make our big dream come true. Let us unite and vote BN out of government. Once we have done that, the succession line of UMNO becomes insignificant.
Question need to be asked here. Can the Opposition take over? Once taken over would they do the same things that the current BN has done? (more of the same?)
written by Bigjoe99, February 19, 2008 13:10:02
If Najib is obviously going to be PM, then let me suggest its better we just give it straight to KJ.

Najib has too may skeleton in his closet. He could be held up by any foreign party that wants to threaten this country and his rule would mean less free press, more oppresive regime because he got more things to hide than anyone else.

But more important, he is AN IDIOT. The Altantuya case is an example of the idiocy that is in him and surrounds him. Even if the woman knew stuff, there was no need for murder. The fact it gotten this far shows his idiocy.
written by the1, February 19, 2008 13:41:01
Khairy? is he fit or because of the sake of SIL?
No one will let him run the country into the drain.

written by InEffective, February 19, 2008 18:17:07
Not one of the above has the calibre, capability and character of a leader for the people.

Wonder if its possible to outsource our leadership as a service ?

We pay Spore some portion manage the country, and tie them to service level agreements and performance metrics relevant and meaningful to the rakyat.
written by bexe, February 20, 2008 00:39:19
It is a typical succession problem. If you are a dumb leader, you will choose dumb lieutenants. Natural isn’t it? You can’t have smarter people than you can you? At the same time, the smarter ones don’t want to be under a dumbo.
Sadly it will take a few layers of change before the smart leaders will emerge. That is the heavy price we will pay.
Therefore vote wisely!!
But change we must and it cannot happen quicker, lest we suffer more damage!
written by joeawk, February 20, 2008 14:17:42
He made 420 million? from USD1.5 billion to USD2.5 billion that was a cool, cool USD1 billion or RM3.3 billion. That should be morethat sufficient to buy the UMNO preseidency with a cool one million a deligate.

He is simply not tenable. We cannot have a PM as tarnished as he is. Any other ******* other than him, hisham or kj may be a better option.
written by SOS, February 21, 2008 06:36:33
Mr. C4 Altantulya or KJ

Alamak!!!!Celaka!!!....what the hell is happening in Malaysia??? The land of the super boleh!!It'a all the faults of your own choosing. Voted for Barisan and now the poor citizens must choose between Plague or Cholera...either way you are going to suffer, probably die a miserable death!!!

Come this election, choose wisely...don't let the coming generations blame you for handing over an unhabitable country to them!