How to stop cars and win enemies PDF Print
Monday, 18 February 2008 18:18

By Farish A. Noor

When it comes to dealing with the grouses of the Malaysian public – many of which happen to be legitimate, mind you – it would seem that the benighted leaders of our blessed country have read every single page of the stupid book.

We recall the period when we, the Malaysian public were told by our – Malaysian – government that we had the right to speak up and that our voices would be heard. We were assured that we had the right to speak, to raise our concerns, to voice our opinions and to even state our differences and disagreements in this new Utopian, idyllic public space that had appeared out of nowhere. But no sooner than had we opened our mouths to utter the first sentence beginning with “But…”, the tear gas canisters were shot in our faces, the batons were raised, the water cannons were put to work. It is hard, as I wrote not too long ago, ‘to listen to the people while you gas them in the face’.

The latest (of many) instances of back-tracking came with the defensive posture taken by the senior leadership of this country in the face of the demands voiced by the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) of Malaysia. I write this as someone who is concerned about the poverty and growing income gap among all Malaysians, and not Hindus solely. And while I cannot lend my support to any grouping that is sectarian and exclusive by nature, neither can I deny the fact that many of the complaints raised by Hindraf happen to be real – or at least really felt – by the members and supporters of the movement itself.

As an analyst however my own take on what has happened with the Hindraf issue is one that is coloured by the concerns of a political scientist: Seen purely from an objective point of view, the academic in me is boggled and dumfounded by the response of the Malaysian government to date; the latest being the tear-gassing of Hindraf protesters before the very gates of the Parliament building. One wonders how and why the plethora of other alternatives were not – apparently – given serious consideration at all. Has it come to the point where calling out the riot police is the first response that the government can give to any demand emanating from civil society?

But the list of blunders does not end there: Coming back to Kuala Lumpur by bus the day before the recent Hindraf ‘roses’ protest, I – along with thousands of others – was stuck in an infernal traffic jam of Kafkaesque proportions. Many of us in the bus assumed that a major pile-up was up ahead, and expected to find a mass of mangled cars and bodies at the head of the jam.

But instead it was one – of many – road blocks set up to monitor the traffic heading towards the capital the day before the Hindraf demonstration. As we stopped for a pause and the smokers among us kissed our cancer sticks with relish, I could not help but notice that the cars and vans that were being stopped were those with Malaysians of Indian ancestry in them. Why?

That was precisely the question asked by an irate Malaysian driver whose van was stopped and who was asked to step out of the vehicle with his entire family. Before my very eyes every single one of these Malaysian-Indians – our fellow Malaysian citizens – was asked to produce his or her identity card and to explain why they were driving up to Kuala Lumpur. It struck me as odd that any Malaysian should have to explain why he or she should want to travel in her or her own country – unless of course, we are not even free to do that any longer.

A second car was stopped and three Malaysian-Indian men were asked to step out. They looked as if they were on a fishing trip as fishing rods and nets were in the boot of the car. But likewise they too were asked to walk to the desk, hand over their IDs to the policemen, give their personal details and asked what they were doing on the road that day and why.

Though none of the authority figures present at the road block made specific mention of Hindraf, I was not the only one who noticed that most of the vehicles stopped then were those with Malaysian-Indians in them. It was too glaring, too obvious to avoid and we were all embarrassed by what was happening before us, in broad daylight.

Bumming a kretek from an Indonesian worker who stepped out of his lorry and watching the scene together, my Indonesian fellow-nicotine addict quipped: “Waduh, jelas di Malaysia juga ada rasial profiling ya! Lucu sekali. Seakan Indonesia pada zaman Pak Harto…

I replied, with more a touch of shame than humour: “Ia, mas- walaupun Suharto meninggal di Indonesia, roh-nya datang ke Malaysia!”

Now here comes the obvious question that begs to be answered: Had no-one, along the entire chain of command and responsibility, thought of the consequences of such actions? By stopping and questioning the passengers of Malaysian-Indian background on the suspicion that some of them might be attending the Hindraf rally the day after, was there not the blatant risk that the authorities would be offending many more ordinary Malaysians who felt that once again, as Malaysian-Indians, they were being singled out for unfair treatment? And if so, what have these road blocks and checks achieved, save to alienate even more Malaysian-Indians and lend weight to the claims of Hindraf? In the book of “A Hundred and One Easy Blunders for Governments to Make”, this case comes under the chapter “How to Stop Cars and Win Enemies”.

In the weeks ahead as election fever sweeps across the country, we will undoubtedly hear more of such stories of road blocks, profiling of suspected dissidents and opponents, traffic redirected, speeches disrupted, permits for assembly denied, etc. And with every single one of these calculated blunders, the critical mass of resentment, alienation, marginalisation piles up and grows higher and bigger. Political analysts are meant to make sense of politics even in the most troubled and complex of contexts, but here I am left with no compass or map to make sense of the situation: Ours has become the reactionary politics of irrationality instead.

Dr. Farish (Badrol Hisham) Ahmad-Noor

Senior Fellow, Rajaratnam School of International Studies, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Research Director for the Research Cluster 'Transnational Religion in Contemporary Southeast Asia',

Nanyang Tech Uni, Singapore

written by Admiral Tojo, February 18, 2008 18:24:53
It is called APARTHEID good doctor. We are one of the only countries in the World that practices this openly.

Any value that goes against the law of Nature will surely perish.

Peace
written by Michael Sun, February 18, 2008 18:54:12
In South Africa, our government calls it apartheid. In Malaysia we have social engineering aka "ketuanan melayu"

Such racial profiling if done in UK or USA, the government will be sued. Imagine becos of a few hijackers of Middle-Eastern looks, everyone white, black or yellow have to suffer the security checks in Heathrow and US airports.

Unfortunately, we cannot sue here unless you know Lingam very well and have lots of spare cash
written by hakunamatata, February 18, 2008 18:59:50
A well written article.
A colleague of mine, who is a South African(white) asked me what type of democracy is Malaysia practising after watching Malaysia in the News - I just said that the government is allergic to listen to peoples' grievances.
He further added how can "Malaysia claim to be truly Asia"(in the Tourism Industry) when the Malaysians of Indian descent are been discriminated and being fired upon with tear gases and water cannon - I merely added that our government love to play with the people like the water festival else in the region.
Finally my colleague said that he was seriously thinking of visiting Malaysia but with the type of democracy he has seen, he rather waste his money elsewhere.

My colleague was a guy who grew with the apartheid system and he mentioned from the moment he could think for himself, he hated it, eventhough he was the privileged class.He is glad that South Africa has come out of it but wonders when Malaysia will, and then he will make his trip here.
written by Mr Smith, February 18, 2008 19:26:14
"...the academic in me is boggled and dumbfounded by the response of the Malaysian government to date..."

As for me, I am no academic nor saint but I am more than outraged by what I saw. The conscience in me evokes that buried fury within me.
The so called nice-guy is Evil to the core with no humanness in him.
written by Lim Lim, February 18, 2008 19:41:04
under the doctrines of umno/BN goons,we wouldn't hav democracy,false democracy it is what they are preaching n surviving on!!
written by InEffective, February 18, 2008 20:04:58
Not really mind-boggling - totally rational behavior from our racial-platform oriented governance.

Specifically for the PM, he now has no choice but to continue this line-of-actions, as to do otherwise, he would have to accept that he exercised poor judgment in applying ISA initially. He also cannot be seen to be not-in-control, as the rakyat will then perceive his dysfunctions.

Quite clearly we have the politicians self-esteem and their status and perceptions taking precedence over any legitimate grievance that a disenfranchised community is experiencing.

THe Hindraf supporters could have cooked the best dosas, roti canai's, banana leaf curry food for the PM, and it would not have done any good whatsoever.

Unfortunately, this episode has shown Malaysians the difference between true leadership and character, and mediocre politicians asserting greatness.
written by Ben, February 18, 2008 20:20:37
Good doctor. Certainly a strong dose of reality check for all stakeholders in Malaysia. We pray this oppressive mauling and throwing innocent Malaysians into the lions den stop.
written by kenny, February 18, 2008 20:59:24
Been reading your write-ups since around 10 years ago. Just thought that this is one of your rare funny articles. Bringing smiles while picking on your intellectual analyses. smilies/smiley.gif

An observation : 'but here I am left with no compass or map to make sense of the situation.' - off-hand comments on roadblocks can also be in congruence with our present clueless leadership.
written by DIASPORA, February 18, 2008 21:39:35
It is bewildering that a few hundred unarmed Indians can create such a frenzy for the Police Force and the Government of Malaysia. The World is of course watching. Nothing escapes the distribution of news and videoas all over the world and we are getting a reputation equal to or far worse than the apartheid of South Africa or the marginalisation of Black people in the Deep South of the USA.
"
How can we continue advertising that "Malaysia is Truly Asia" now. Why not sat "Malaysia is Truly PRETORIA" and be done with it. Racial profiling and checking decent Indians coming into town by the GOON SQUADS is certainly going to create greater antpathy and lead to greater silent conforntation for BN and Pak Lah. Surely the PM cannot for one second say truthfully in keeping with Islam Hidahari that he was unaware of what was happening to "ALL MALAYSIANS" as he claims that he is the PM for all Malaysians and expects the public to believe his bull shit.

The GOONS { call them Chemical Alis after the famous goon of Iraq } enjoy letting loose their chemical laced water cannons on all and sundry without consideration and even chase out the public sitting in restaurants and having a meal or drink. Our image world wide is now 'shit'. It is going to be difficult to explain things to our overseas friends as to how this country has come to this sordid state and wants to act as a leader of other more decent states.
written by Lembing Tajam, February 18, 2008 22:58:21
Sad to see this situation in my contry Malaysia.As long BN in power we will see much much more.
written by SOS, February 19, 2008 01:56:10
How to stop cars and win enemies

Next follow up article will be titleHow to stop cars, win enemies and lose election!
written by Loh, February 19, 2008 03:07:36
Hindraf demonstration aims at discrediting the BN government. That is political. The police roadblock serves to teach Indians a lesson on what they can expect if Hindraf continues with the activities. They think that in harassing the Indians in private cars, anger might be directed at Hindraf organisers, and demonstration could stop. Whether the strategy would work or not is not of concern. What is obvious to all and sundries is that the police is serving BN interest to discourage Hindraf. So, the neutral force of the Police Department has been misused by UMNO-led government to victimise Indians. The caretaker government is making use of Police Force to serve party interest. Worse still, UMNO is demonstrating that Indians are undesirable elements in the society. They have to be subject to public humiliation where they have been deprived of the right to free movement without being questioned by the police force. Their legitimacy in the country has been made to be much below illegal immigrant workers, or visitors to this land.

Had the Police Force been performing their duties, there would not have been the need to direct water cannons against a group of unarmed peaceful demonstrators. It is because the stupid top government leaders hoped to stop all demonstration to give impression to the world that all is well in the country , that the unthinking Police Chief had carried out the order obediently and that ended the ugly scenes for all to see. CNN and BBC have shown them and people in developed world are surely having a good watch at all the barbaric acts being carried out in the 21 first century in a country which had reached the civilisation to the extent of being able to create a new religion sect called Islam Hadhari. So the new brand of religion is demonstrated in the graphic scenes of how Malaysian Police chase after Hindraf followers who wanted to send roses to PM AAB. Talking about PM for all races when he can’t even bring himself to accept views different from his, with the compensation of roses to boot.
written by Daryl, February 19, 2008 04:23:02
It is the good old racial profiling.

Bumming a kretek from an Indonesian worker who stepped out of his lorry and watching the scene together, my Indonesian fellow-nicotine addict quipped: “Waduh, jelas di Malaysia juga ada rasial profiling ya! Lucu sekali. Seakan Indonesia pada zaman Pak Harto…”

Even Inodensians is laughing at us. What a joke Mr. Policemen !!! Don't you have anything else to do other than treating Malaysian like they are foreigners.

written by Spear Bing, February 19, 2008 05:13:51
If one is focused enough to look at those policemen who were involved in combating the the Hindraf rally, they were young, perhaps newly recruited and in the early 20s and 30s. Go one more step further and scan their brain and mind set, they just acted like robots, acting on orders from the chain of command from Inspector, Chief Inspector, ASP, DSP, SUPT, ACP, SAC I and II, CP, and right up to the IGP himself and Internal Security Minister himself. Don't expect them to understand what's HINDRAF's motive. Their minds are being pumped with the strict instruction to maintain peace and order - never understand what is a yellow rose or red rose signifies. They are audio-visual impaired. They were there on instruction to do a job.

Call it racial profiling, ethnic cleansing, etc, - they just don't care a damn, they also want to make sure they are able to put food on their own table, by carrying out the orders from the higher ups.

Civil liberties? Human Rights? Freedom of Movement and Assembly? Freedom of expression? JUSTICE and FAIRNESS?, Individual Rights? Maybe it will take another decade for Malaysia to catch up with these Western concepts.

PDRM must wake up and overhaul its system of public order control. The whole world is watching how Malaysian police are man-handling the citizens. HINDRAF rallies in London, Los Angeles, New York, Amserdam, Germany, New Zealnd, and Australia etc. ****** the international Hindraf rally and see for yourself. Malaysia is now under the eyes and ears of the global citizens
written by Daryl, February 19, 2008 06:08:17
Police officers that do all the dirty job will not lose their job if we change goverment but the high level officer will probably be kicked out. Until the BA significant representation in the Police Department it will always go in favor of BN. Unless the lower rank police officers refuse to carry out injustice but that will not likely to happen.
written by Avis, February 19, 2008 08:39:57
what a bunch of idiots the govermen have become. after reading this article im very pissed off with how they handle my fellow indians. is it wrong to travel as a family & do we need to give detail where we're going to police. do we look like criminal?

continue to vote BN you future is defitinetly doom........
written by asguard, February 19, 2008 08:51:23
As you fellas know that devils will try anything and everything... to suits their agenda... before hand... so it up the voters to punished them... by deny or dent the two third majority to the devils..