Traditional DAP stronghold Bukit Bintang has become a "danger" seat PDF Print
Sunday, 17 February 2008 18:44

DAP’s traditional stronghold of Bukit Bintang for over three decades has become a “danger” seat because of dirty electoral tricks through the influx of over 6,000 postal votes since the 2004 general election

I have chosen Bukit Bintang as the first DAP parliamentary constituency to visit after the dissolution of Parliament on Wednesday because this traditional DAP stronghold for over three decades has become a “danger” seat through dirty electoral tricks with the influx of over 6,000 postal votes since the 2004 general election.

DAP can lose the Bukit Bintang parliamentary seat in the March 8 general election, not because the people of Bukit Bintang have ceased to support the DAP and decided to abandon their historic role as the national political vanguard for justice, equality and freedom in Malaysia but because of electoral hanky-panky and the most lopsided playing field for Bukit Bintang parliamentary constituency in 50 years.

If the two-term DAP incumbent Fong Kui Lun loses Bukit Bintang parliamentary constituency on March 8, it is not just a personal or a DAP party loss, but a major setback of historic proportion for the long, hard and grueling political struggle to create a fair, just and equal Malaysia where all Malaysians, regardless of race or religion, can have an equal place under the Malaysian sun.

If Fong Kui Lun is defeated in the traditional DAP stronghold of Bukit Bintang, it will be the triumph of all that is wrong with our country not only in the past quarter-century, but also in the past four years of Abdullah premiership.

In Kelantan on Friday, Umno deputy chairman Datuk Seri Najib Razak launched Barisan Nasional battle cry in its bid to capture the state from PAS – “Heal Kelantan”!

In fact, the battle cry for all Malaysians in the 12th general election should be “Heal Malaysia” as never before had the country been plagued by so many divisive nation-building issues– with religious polarization the most serious and greatest new threat to national unity.

The battle cry of “Heal Malaysia” should start from the battle of Bukit Bintang focused on 5Cs:

• Crime – with Kuala Lumpur as the capital of crime in Malaysia where no one can feel safe any more in the streets, public places or even the privacy of their homes, in Kuala Lumpur and the major urban centres.

• Corruption – even worse than when Abdullah became Prime Minister four years ago when he promised to be the modern-dan Justice Bao to eradicate corruption.

• Cost of Living – the economic crisis especially from inflation and economic downturn as made life a daily struggle for ordinary Malaysians.

• International Competitiveness – the relentless decline of Malaysia’s international competitiveness illustrated by the plunge in international rankings of Malaysian universities, a unchecked brain drain and loss of national and international confidence in the rule of law and an independent judiciary have seen the country losing out to more and more countries when facing the challenges of globalization.

• Defend and uphold the Merdeka Constitution and 1957 Social Contract – that Malaysia is a democratic, secular and multi-religious nation with Islam as the official religion but not an Islamic state; and to smack down the rise of Little Napoleons and Little Mullah Napoleons in the schools, universities and public service who are increasingly insensitive of the rights of citizens and Malaysia’s character as a nation of diverse races, languages, cultures and religions.

Let the battle cry of “Heal Malaysia” emanate from the battle for Bukit Bintang in the 12th general election.

Lim Kit Siang

written by shamsulnizam, February 17, 2008 19:08:24
Patutla depa kata tak kesah... walaupon ramai tak sokong depa... dah sure menang dari undi pos....Pemimpin pembangkang.... please do something
written by Wisdom above, February 17, 2008 19:58:31
...“Individuals who are keen to vote must come back to Malaysia as there is no other alternative for them to exercise their rights,” he said in response to an e-mail sent to The Star by a Malaysian living in Hong Kong who wants to vote in next month’s election....

a)'Most probably' your ICs were already used a few times in last 38 years to ' VOTE' for the
ruling establishment.

b)You do not have 'local standi ' to dispute at all.

c)Immigration records showed you were overseas, so very safe to use your ICs to 'VOTE'..

d)Say , I forgot to mention those dedicated forgotten heroes 1,729,000 or more who migrated permanently, but '...records showed that a person has not died, the EC could not expunge the name from the roll. (Star)...'

e)...'real unsung heroes,s ICs' can also be used to 'VOTE'.

d)A 'PARADOX' too late to be rectified... Bersih demos 'for Clean Electoral Roll' unheeded..

e)Many countries with no tranparencies can remained in 'POWER, for many generations.
Their '...records showed that a person has not died, the EC could not expunge the name
from the roll.'...

.....Hey, immigration records can be erased from Immigration Data Base in the on-going
'murder case'.... Reasonable doubts ..?

f)Likewise unerased useful data & their 'life-long' existence is very useful too, right..?

g)Manpower surveys, surveys by statistics department ,EPU planning surveys, other related agencies surveys whereby data collected & computed, were all used in strategic studies to be applied in elections ... not just used for economic planning ...

h)--Data are used to plot & plan as follows;-

1) delineation excercises

2) demographic studies as to concentration & spread of Voters by age, occupation ,salary, race , religion, . It is like a GPRS system ....

3) Manpower studies is a double edged sword.... it contain a lot of details.
Always carried out just before an election . Remember or forgotten ?...

4) Tun Dr M's regime used these positive data to stay in 'POWER' for many years.
Current ruling BN is using these instruments to their advantage without fail.

5) I "beg to differ" with common general label that 'YAB PM sleeping..'.

He is too smart for that.

YAB PM is using his GPRS brain waves .

Even, Tun Dr. M failed to see YAB PM had 'fine tuned his GPRS' to avoid detection'.

Remember he served as a 'Diplomat' in the capacity of a Foreign Minister in diplomacy
without borders.

6) In 2004 GE , many Malaysians 'prayed' unbiased blessings for YAB PM .

7) For the coming 2008 General Election, has the most Honorable YAB PM 'Repented' & 'Forgive his adversaries' ?

smilies/cool.gif Australia Liberal party forgot to 'Repent' and ' Forgive his adversaries'?
Not just lost two-third majority, but lost all instead.

written by bat8, February 17, 2008 20:56:13
PAS is going to loose kelantan in similar way. PAS will loose not because kelantanese vote against them in favour of UMNO(baru) but due to manipulation and inpantatation of phantom voters in every constituency in kelantan. Like in 2004 GE, the turnout of voter will be bafflingly high and all those extra votes go to UMNO candidates.

I may sound pesimistic but that is how PAS is gonna loose kelantan on 8th March 2008. It is gonna be a sad day.....
written by BennyG, February 17, 2008 20:58:17
BN has started to create fear so that a lot of voters (especially those who will submit their protest vote) will stay at home. DO NOT BE AFRAID TO CAST YOUR VOTE!!!
written by Sagaladoola, February 17, 2008 21:05:53
PKR, DAP and PAS - please give them your votes.

Malays, Chinese and Indians should wake up from their dreams of blaming each other. It is high time for all races to stand together.

written by Tlau, February 17, 2008 21:07:39
Just go on to vote BN OUT!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif Please just go out and cast your vote to the opposition. Take care of the rest after winning smilies/tongue.gif
written by hiro, February 17, 2008 21:26:40
I would like to implore all Malaysians who are outside Malaysia to please come back and vote.

It's expensive but it may well be once in a life time contribution by you to Malaysian politics. If we allow Badawi to consolidate power, he will go down as another Mahathir, only worse because he is far less visionary nor effective compared to Mahathir. This country will surely sink with him around.

You may have migrated or decided to work abroad because you cannot tolerate discrimination in Malaysia anymore, but you probably have relatives in Malaysia. Do this for them. Please give them hope, and hope to those who does not have a choice to migrate, that there could be a better tomorrow in Malaysia. If things could turn around, perhaps one day you may even consider moving back.
written by Wisdom above, February 17, 2008 21:46:15
...I would like to implore all Malaysians who are outside Malaysia to please come back and vote...

Come back for a holiday to meet your relatives & friends.

Cast your 'VOTE' for the United Front.( DAP, PAS, PKR )

Vote for change.

written by kksam, February 18, 2008 10:08:00
Niamah postal vote or not if we all supports opposition for sure BN will lose some seats. so the answer here is VOTE FOR OPPOSITION!!!
written by asguard, February 18, 2008 11:38:22
Must blame the remote control for the dirty process...of election.. if clean election probably they will lose more than two-thirds of votes everywhere...lah...
written by Uncorruptible, February 18, 2008 23:44:41
DAP may lose Bkt Bintang with the help of political turncoat wee choo keong.
written by asiana888, February 18, 2008 23:46:33
Uncle Lim. I support Opposition this time but you better change tactics la. Give us a clue of what you (Opposition) can do when you come into power? Stop making noise about BN being un-fair .... the world is not fair (wake up, please).

As for Bkt Bintang, I don;t see your car salesman, YB Fong, doing anything much for 2 terms. Ask him not to "makan gaji buta" and do work for Bkt Bintang folk. It would be better to put in a new woman candidate ... another cili padi for this seat. Send YB Fong to stand in Proton City (Tanjong Malim)

written by JohnQ, February 19, 2008 09:49:47
If i m ng kah ting, always claims to rep. the chinese community voices and grouses, I will ask SPR to draf a special Parliament constituency with 99% chinese legal voters for me to contest as candidate. As to testify the claim, moreover it's my last term, nothing to lose right ? if this wish is too late, then i shell volunteer to contest in BB or Tanjung Bunga. Or else I shell remain as cowtau pariah politician that will curse and laugh by future generations of voters. Thsi is not the legacy that my grand mother wanted me to retain ....... sigh!!!