Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow When the going gets tough, the tough get going

When the going gets tough, the tough get going PDF Print
Sunday, 17 February 2008 17:46

Some of you reading this article probably know my Auntie, Raja Fuziah. And those of you who know her probably do so because when you went to university she was the one who gave you your MARA scholarship. Could not my father's own sister who had given out scholarships to tens of thousands of total strangers not also give her own nephew a scholarship?

Malaya gained independence or Merdeka from Britain in 1957. But the British Colonial masters would not willingly grant Malaya independence. It took a decade of haggling before the Union Jack could be lowered and the new Malayan flag that almost looks like the flag of the United States of America could be raised in its place.

One of the issues that delayed the granting of Merdeka was the matter of what to do with the Indians and Chinese once Malaya becomes independent. India had already gained independence from Britain earlier and China had turned Communist. No doubt the British had brought the Indians and Chinese to this country from the mid-1800s to about 1920 to work the tin mines and rubber estates, but there was no way they could be sent back to their 'homeland', in particular the children of the original immigrants who had been born in Malaya.

The British refused to consider Merdeka for Malaya until and unless the Malays, Indians and Chinese sat down and worked out a solution. Merdeka would be granted only when the three races come to an agreement on what to do with the 'immigrants' who after about 100 years were not only third or fourth generation 'Malayans' but had in fact become more Malays than the Malays -- at least some of them like the Mamaks and Babas who no longer spoke their mother-tongue but spoke better Malay than some Malays.

The British knew that a hurried Merdeka without resolving the citizenship issue would just result in a blood-bath when one race, in this case the Malays, would claim sole-ownership of the country and the 'pendatang' get evicted from their land and homes. The religious diversity would also pose a problem as the aftermath of the independence of India had proven when brother fought against brother just because of religious differences. What more when it involves a diverse set of races who were also of different religions.

Finally, wisdom and common sense prevailed and the founding fathers of the nation called Malaya came to an agreement, or maybe a compromise, on what would happen on Merdeka Day. The Indians and Chinese would be granted citizenship, unless they chose to return to their homeland, but the Malays, for 'sacrificing' their 90% or so majority, would be accorded certain rights and special privileges, to be reviewed after 15 years, meaning some time in 1972.

But something happened before 1972, and that was the race riots of May 1969, and to address the discontentment of the Malays who felt they had been left out of the economic race, the New Economic Policy was agreed upon by the leaders of the three component members of the Alliance Party -- Umno, MCA and MIC. Invariably, the rights and special privileges of the Malays were not reviewed in 1972 as originally intended. Instead, the NEP became the new policy which in a way 'strengthened' the rights and special privileges of the Malays even more. But this was supposed to end in 1990 -- which meant that the 15-year review would be reviewed after 33 years instead.

But the NEP was more than just about Malay rights and special privileges. It was a two-prong attack (serampang dua mata) aimed at reducing the disparity amongst ALL the races as well as to reduce the gap between the haves and the have-nots. In other words, the NEP was about helping all the poor and unfortunate, regardless of race. And that was when the term 'Bumiputera' came into being. But Murphy's Law says that anything that can go wrong will go wrong and the Bumiputera issue was exploited to become an Umnoputra policy. And Umnoputra did not just mean Malays but anyone who serves Umno -- Indians, Chinese, Kadazans, Dayaks, etc., included. In fact, as far as the corporate world was concerned, the non-Malays benefited more than the Malays who were reduced to mere 'rent-seekers' and commission agents who earned a small fee for fronting for the non-Malays and for selling their permits and quotas, in particular to the Chinese.

The Umnoputras, of course, did not totally lose out in this 'Ali Baba' arrangement as they still had some meat on the bones that were thrown their way. But the Indians, except for a very small handful, did not even get any bones, with or without meat attached to them. But it was the fault of the Indian leaders actually. Why did they not demand their share? Why did they not demand that at least one or two FELDA settlements be allotted to them like what the Malays got? After all, the Indians were the original estate workers so they would know how to grow palm oil, rubber, cocoa, etc. Instead, while the Malays became estate workers with the help of the government, the original Indian estate workers got displaced as estates got turned into townships and golf courses and in the process the Indians not only lost their homes but their livelihood as well.

It is not that the government did not set up funds and place money in these funds to help the 'retired' Indian estate workers. It is more that those 'elite' Indians entrusted with the task or managing these funds embezzled and misused the money. In short, the Indians had cheated their own kind, as did the Malays and, to a certain extent, the Chinese as well.

No doubt, for being relegated to second- and third-class citizens, the Indians and Chinese are carrying grudges against the Malays. But is it really the Malays who are to blame? Okay, maybe Umno can and should be blamed. But Umno is Umno. Umno is not 16 million Malays. It is not even 6 million Malays. MIC and MCA too have misbehaved. Should we hang 10 million Malaysian Indians and Chinese from the tallest tree just because of what MIC and MCA have done? The Indians and Chinese would get upset if we blame them for the sins of MIC and MCA. What makes the Indians and Chinese think the Malays too would not get upset if they are blamed for the sins of Umno?

If you want to find someone to blame for your troubles, don't look in my direction. Sure, I am Malay, but I am not Umno. I never voted for Umno. I never even obtained a government scholarship to send all my kids to England. In fact, my father, who was then the son of the Governor of Penang and cousin to the late Agong, did not have money to send me to England and he refused to get a government scholarship to pay for my education. I mention this fact that he was the son of the Governor of Penang and cousin to the late Agong to demonstrate how easy it would have been for me to get a scholarship since our family was so well-connected.

Some of you reading this article probably know my Auntie, Raja Fuziah. And those of you who know her probably do so because when you went to university she was the one who gave you your MARA scholarship. Could not my father's own sister who had given out scholarships to tens of thousands of total strangers not also give her own nephew a scholarship? No, my father would not allow it. That is dishonest. That is corruption. It would have been better if my father had not been Raja Kamarudin Bin Raja Tun Uda. Then I could have got a scholarship. Instead, my father sent me to Volkswagen to do an apprenticeship on a starting salary of RM105 a month.

At first Pak Arshad would not take me because I was 'over-qualified' and the pay was too little. But my father insisted and Pak Arshad relented. Sure, that was in 1970. But even in 1970 RM105 was pittance. And I slogged it out for three years learning the trade under a Hakka mechanic whose every second word was a four-letter word. And my 'training' involved the first six months in the washing bay where I had to wash the cars before and after they were serviced. That's right, I started my working life as a tukang basuh kereta.

But I did not mind. My father promised that if I passed my apprenticeship exam he would send me to England to do Automobile Engineering. So I studied hard. I was going to get distinction in my AMIMI exam. Automobile Engineering was kacang (peanuts) for me anyway. I was already tuning my own motorcycle and in 1968, at the age of 18, had participated in my first Malaysian Grand Prix. I could soup up an engine without having to even go to school to learn how to do it. I could make my 100cc motorcycle go as fast as a 250cc. I could ride from Kuala Lumpur to Penang in under three hours even before we had the PLUS Highway. Automobile Engineering was not a career. It was a passion, in fact a 'religion' as far as I was concerned. And I took my religion seriously.

Halfway through my final exam my father died of a heart attack. He was only 46. I got distinction, the only one out of more than 100 students who sat for the exam. The 'second best' student got only a 'B'. I brought my results home to show my mother. She looked at it and broke down and cried. I did not know why she cried but I cried as well. Seeing my mother cry makes my cry and barely two months since my father died I suspected that must have been the reason.

But that was not the reason. My mother cried because my father was not able to see my exam results before he died, and he missed it by only a couple of months. “Your father was worried about you,” my mother explained. “He did not want to send you to England because he was scared you would just 'play the fool' and not study. He wanted you to prove that you are serious about your studies before sending you to England. And now you have proved it but he is no longer around to see it.”

Then my mother cried again. “I have no money to send you to England. But you deserve to go and Daddy promised you if you passed your exam he would send you.”

I don't want to go to England,” I told my mother between sobs. “I want to stay here and look after you.”

I framed my exam results and hung it on my bedroom wall and then went to work for a company at RM250 per month. RM250 a month is not a king's ransom even back in 1973 but that was all I could get. My exam results were of no use unless I wanted to go back to Volkswagen and become a car mechanic. It was supposed to be my 'passport' to England but my father was no longer around and sometimes plans have to change to suit changing situations.

Two of my 'best friends' went to university though. My Indian friend went to Singapore University and my Chinese friend went to England. But I repaired engines at RM250 a month because my father was the son of the Governor of Penang and cousin to the late Agong and he would not allow me to 'abuse' this 'position' by getting a government scholarship.

Yes, in 1957, Malaya gained Merdeka from Britain and the Indians and Chinese were granted citizenship. Then, in 1970, the New Economic Policy was launched and the Indians and Chinese became second- and third-class citizens. But at least as second- and third-class citizens they went to university. I, the 'first-class' citizen, had to start from the bottom and work my way to the top because I hated being at the bottom and longed to get to the top.

I pity the Indians and Chinese who have to accept being second- and third-class citizens and cannot do anything about it. I certainly know what it is like because that was where I started as well. But I have never grumbled about it. I don't blame the Indians and Chinese for how I have 'suffered'. I don't even blame Umno or the Malays. And I would certainly never blame my father for having too much principles; and maybe pride as well. I just drove from Kedah down to Johor and up to Kelantan, with my baby sleeping in the back seat of the car, to sell my engines so that by the age of 40 I can send all my children to England for a university education without having to run to Umno or the government for financial assistance.

Comments (86)Add Comment
written by raven1958, February 17, 2008 18:15:43
These are the stories that make Malaysia....and these are also the stories that have unfortunately created a pagar like Samy Velu who went and ate up all the padi....In fact sacrifices like RPK's father made was to bring up a principled country with a sense of fair play......but the dreams of a Governor's son to stick to principles were easily hijacked by politicians willing to take everything for themselves and throwing crumbs to the rest...when did this start...who started this....Razak? Mahathir?......it matters not now for a Malaysian awakening is needed if we are ever going to live on those principles our forefathers died for……and it must start with this election……if the ballot box doesn’t work…..it may have to be the HINDRAF way……otherwise it would have all been for nothing……
agree 171
written by seek justice, February 17, 2008 18:19:18
Dear RPK

A very inspirational piece, thanks from the bottom of my heart. I thank God for people like you. There had been many times in the last 3 years since experiencing a slowdown in by consulting business that I had wanted to throw in the towel. Only the Grace of God had kept me going and today, this article that you wrote has helped inspired me even more. I know, I'm raving and ranting on a very personal front when what you intend is for us, Malaysians to stand united and stop using petty issues to divide us.

I just wanted to say that now, after a few painful years I feel well and truly happy that I insisted that my eldest daughter did not take the scholarship that she deserved because I told her that a lot of her Chinese and Indian friends also deserve the scholarship more but could not get their hands on it. At God would have it, at the same time when I sent her for her Psychology Degree in NZ, my business started to falter and my own staff of many, many years turn against me and started smearing me mainly by saying that I had used a lot of the company's funds to send to my daughter for her studies. They've all left me, thank God. I can now well and truly hold my head high (and smile upwards to Him) that I did what I did.

I am a daughter of a Malayan Railway carpenter, so I deserved the MARA scholarship (that your aunt probably approved) to study in the States. I worked hard, worked with a number of MNCs and then started my own company, so my eldest daughter did not need the scholarship because I'm an abled Malay who do not my children to be warped into accepting subsidies or incentives. Now, I'm broke because I refuse to pay bribes to get Government jobs and I just lost a job to do something for the TTI in Terengganu (just as well, when suddenly they made it an Islam Hadhari thing), for my other 5 children, I think I may have to accept the scholarship...if they deserve it!!
agree 185
written by Oldmantalks, February 17, 2008 18:24:08
With people like you around, the NEP is redundant. We can only hope everyone is like you and this will definitely make the NEP redundant. This sounds much better than doing away with NEP.
written by Saint, February 17, 2008 18:25:25
At times, silence says much more then words.
as I do not know what to comment on this article.

written by Heikal, February 17, 2008 18:25:55
From m opinion I think the NEP should stay. Yes, I am sayinng this because the Malays are just too lazy. The only thing I am against the NEP is how it is carried out. One of the NEP initiative is to lower the qualificationstandards for education opportunities. A chines get all 96 mark for an SPM test, he gets and A. Malay guy got 74, STILL got A and on the result slip the mark for the test is written higher than it really is. How is this going to help the Malays? This just going to pass off a dumb Malay as smart Malay. If the government wants to help the Malays they should teach them how to run a business, not by giving 8% discount for house, lower qualification standards in education and setting up Malay reserve land which only downgrade the Malays even more
written by Navigator, February 17, 2008 18:36:09
Raja,

Even without a degree, you are a great man. You have shown it in your life and deserve our respect.
written by Jimbo, February 17, 2008 18:41:38
Good for you RPK. You can at least hold your head up high and stand tall, tell you kids and your grand kids about it and not have to lie or feel ashamed deep down inside. Unlike the Umnoputras, the Corrupt MCA and MIC politicians who will have to lie thru their teeth when faced with the truth and having to tell their children and grandchildren what they have done with their lives. We can all sleep soundly each night without fear of our sins being exposed the next day, next year or next decade. May the good Lord bless you and your family members RPK.
written by sedan, February 17, 2008 18:49:16
I dispute the part about the history of Merdeka. But, your personal history shows a fortitude that can only come with pain and setbacks. Kudos.
written by Task Force 101, February 17, 2008 18:54:15
I appreciate you sharing your past with us and it provides immense inspiriation to anyone and I mean, any Malaysian, that there is no subsititute to hard work, dream and the drive to excel and be something. Never let go of a dream until you are ready to wake up and make it happen.

I have always advocated in my comments on your blog that I have nothing against Malays. In fact most of my friends are Malays. I come from a kampung and am a non-Malay. Regardless of time and age and stature we all still meet at the back of the kedai and talk until the wee hours of the morning.

NEP was highjacked and raped for UMNO ppls own bank accounts and power. It is the ppl within UMNO tat I detest and feel upset with. It angers me the most when they stood shoulder to shoulder with us,non-UMNO, non-Malays and pushed for change but when the gravy train came along, they ditched their fellow Malaysians and jumped on to it. There is nothing wrong with that. But you are now a leader and you should act like one. I have lost many a Malay friend as they became drunk on power, money and greed. Its like a different person. Suddenly everything and anything and anyone is fair game. They are untouchable! Yeah right. Lets see on March 8th.

With this landscape, I agree the Chinese and Indians were short-changed not by the Malays but the cohorts and UMNO/BN/MCA/MIC men who are and continue to be there not as a patriot but only to line their pockets, enjoy the trappings of power and ensure they store up enough money for the next 3 generations.
This largely stems from Mahathir's ill reading of the Malay mind and also his miscalculation that Malays will help another Malay. He forgot the basic root of all evil- Money. its a potent cocktail when u have power with it.

UMNO and its stature reminds me of George Orwell's political satire on Russia called Animal Farm. It is so appropriate.

We can change this. We can make a change. I want to ensure that our children will not look at another person in Malaysia and identify his success or his stature or his capability based on the color of his skin but becoz he is a Malaysian.

All change starts with ones self. March 8th is the spark. This is closest we will ever get to starting to secure a better future for our children under the Malaysian sun. THINK ABOUT IT.
written by Wisdom above, February 17, 2008 18:55:46
...Finally, wisdom and common sense prevailed and the founding fathers of the nation called Malaya came to an agreement, or maybe a compromise, on what would happen on Merdeka Day. The Indians and Chinese would be granted citizenship, unless they chose to return to their homeland, but the Malays, for 'sacrificing' their 90% or so majority, would be accorded certain rights and special privileges, to be "reviewed after 15 years, meaning some time in 1972"...

...But something happened before 1972, and that was the race riots of May 1969,...

...Invariably, the rights and special privileges of the Malays were not reviewed in 1972 as originally intended. Instead, the NEP became the new policy which in a way 'strengthened' the rights and special privileges of the Malays even more. But this was supposed to end in 1990 -- which meant that the 15-year review would be reviewed after 33 years instead.

...But the NEP was more than just about Malay rights and special privileges...

...And that was when the term 'Bumiputera' came into being...

...But Murphy's Law says that anything that can go wrong will go wrong and the Bumiputera issue was exploited to become an Umnoputra policy...

So now I understand the year 1972 was significance.

So was the year 1990 , NEP was supposed to be reviewed after 33 years.
"But this was supposed to end in 1990 -- which meant that the 15-year review would be reviewed after 33 years instead.

So from 1990 to 2008 , during the last 18 years , what went wrong again ?

Very confusing & challenging to our cognitive intuition.

I remembered , many were told to shut up.

One honest citizen resigned for upholding his principle to report the "Truth".

My utmost sincere thanks to you for this exposition.

" the rights and special privileges of the Malays " was not in your life at all.

Details of these were not spelled out explicitly in history books.

Political Science subjects did not even mention the "Truth".

You speak your mind. Thanks a million !

I can now ' Vote ' to bring out the "Truth".

In Faith , I believe many will " Vote" to bring out the "Truth".
written by Motherchell, February 17, 2008 19:25:30
Petra, I take heart with all that you've written .Great ! Great Article.Your family is blessed with a father like you !! My infinite good wishes to your generations to come.

When i first came to this blog as a member-- I found an innate quality in you Pete, you are greater then Oxford or Cambridge wisdoms . This you have to thank your father.I have great respect for all that he inculcated into you.

Great Leaders are made of the breed you are. Even in your rebuttals you have a certain class .This i recognize with pride i belong here.

I wonder how many can emulate you for the good of this Country.

You sculpted life so well , I learn so much from you pete!

"I saw an angel in the marble, I chipped till I set it free"--- Michaelangelo
written by Sagaladoola, February 17, 2008 20:50:08
HIGHLIGHT:
No doubt, for being relegated to second- and third-class citizens, the Indians and Chinese are carrying grudges against the Malays. But is it really the Malays who are to blame? Okay, maybe Umno can and should be blamed. But Umno is Umno. Umno is not 16 million Malays. It is not even 6 million Malays. MIC and MCA too have misbehaved. Should we hang 10 million Malaysian Indians and Chinese from the tallest tree just because of what MIC and MCA have done? The Indians and Chinese would get upset if we blame them for the sins of MIC and MCA. What makes the Indians and Chinese think the Malays too would not get upset if they are blamed for the sins of Umno?

COMMENT:
Malays, Chinese, Indians etc. -> Malaysians should wake up and stop blaming races and religions. Question the leaders. Blaming each other based on communal divide and conquer politics will bring us nowhere. March 8th is near.

written by Lim Lim, February 17, 2008 20:54:05
Pete,strongly believe that malaysia would hav been much much much better if we could hav more people like u to hav headed umno..!!!deep from my heart,it is actually umno/BN whose doctrines require that malaysian shall be racially divided...agree??the day when bangsa malaysia is borned,it would be the day umno/BN's "wayang,cakap tak serupa bikin,bikin tak serupa cakap" come to its end!!
written by hiro, February 17, 2008 21:14:13
I think we all here know what we have to do to swing this election the way of the opposition. I've spoken to a few more family members who are fence seaters and I'm encouraging them to speak to their friends who are fence seaters, which they have enthusiastically agreed to do. I don't imagine it is always this easy, as many out there are apathetic towards politics. And seriously, those in civil service have this irrational fear that they should not vote for the opposition because the ruling coalition is the one feeding them. I'll have work cut out for me between now and March 8. How about you?
written by teo siew chin, February 17, 2008 21:32:09
"...the 'first-class' citizen, had to start from the bottom and work my way to the top..."
-----------------------------------

And that is why you command the respect and awe of those who visit MT! You dont grumble and complain nor fault others for your 'predicament', you just roll up your sleeves and slog your way up.
And now you make up for lost time and grumble and complain and fault the powers-that-be for injustices, corruption and hypocrisy resulting in the sufferings of the rakyat, whatever their race creed or religion! way to go man!!! smilies/grin.gif
A lesser man would rather "retire down south to florida, play cards and watch the pelicans."
Some greater men would also rather you retire down south to florida, play cards and watch the pelicans smilies/wink.gif

I salute you your crusade against the evil forces!
written by karyeowl, February 17, 2008 22:08:54
God bless you and your family.

Long live Raja Petra.
written by The dragonheart, February 17, 2008 22:10:30
The double spear head policy (Dasar Serampang Dua Mata) could have been the best policy ever created for the nation if it was not raped by the UMNO/BN leaders after Tun Abdul Razak. The two main aim of the policy intents to:

1. To eradicate poverty
2. To re-arrange the society

Never was the policy seem to be racist nor to marginalized the ethic groups. The policy was raped by the UMNO together with the MCA and MIC leaders years after Tun Abdul Razak died... surprisingly too, buy his own sons today... in the Government and in the corporate...

I was not smart when I was a teen and my MCE results was not good... and I was not born with a silver spoon in my mouth either... therefore I never had the chance to feel the NEP's benefit... I had to work 5 years before i can planned to start doing my Diploma at night, followed by my bachelor degree, followed by my masters..on my own time and money... I raised my children with my own blood, sweat and tears money...I never regret of not getting help from the NEP... But I was and am still not happy how the UMNO raped the NEP as what it become today...

To me NEP could still be implemented but not for merely bumiputras or umnoputras but for all Malaysian who deserve it.

The welfare state mention by PAS can incorporate the NEP's The double spear head policy for all races and citizens... I still believe that by eradication of poverty
and by re-arrange the society in to a holistic and patrotic citizen of true "Malaysian" and will make this country civilized from the so call "Islam Hadari" and develop the country by leaping 100 years ahead faster.

Vote for the opposition to make Malaysia the choice of place to live in!
written by Panca Indera, February 17, 2008 22:46:19
Salam.
Dear RPK
You are an asset to this Nation in more then one way, but many, could not see it because of their myopic visions.
I met your Auntie Raja Fauziah back then, MashaAllah!. I remember her as a soft spoken cultured Lady with pretty and smiley face. God bless her and my very best wishes.
Your Dad was a righteous man and did what was right. What he did has made you a better man, no two ways about it. You are blessed by your dad’s good work and your own. (not many have that privilege). Stay on track RPK, you are doing fine.

Dear RPK, it is a great honor and privilege to read your articles, even if we may disagree on certain issues. Keep up the good work, its refreshing and genuinely to the point.

Note: I would like to share a concern. I do believe in conspiracy theory, and this coming election being done in a hurried way is making me uneasy. What with the violence in the Kenyan and Pakistan elections, how do we know there are no hidden hands at play to create similar situations. I know it sounds ridiculous, but please remind all Malaysians to be careful not to be used or abused, but to vote by their conscience and sense of fair play.
How I wish the majority of Malaysians will turn out in numbers and vote for the opposition.

I know who they will vote for in my extended family, Do you?
There is still time to convince them.
smilies/smiley.gif
written by Umar Rentaka, February 17, 2008 22:46:33
As I said to MENJ,
it is the character that makes a devotee; not his knowledge.
written by sampalee, February 17, 2008 23:13:01
All is in the script of Allah.For God chosen one like RPK,his Journey in life is to prepare him to carry out God's assignment to clean up the small piece on earth called Malaysia.The coming months will see God's plan unfold as RPK continue to dedicate his service to the rakyat[of Allah]
written by jack little, February 17, 2008 23:45:47
Inspiring indeed.
RPK, you're a man of honour.

Anyway I had a chat with an Indian girl in the komuter today. And of course i talk politics to her. And to my suprise, after what happened to Indian community, she could not be bothered to register for voting. Didn't had the time she said. And she's not rich. And she grummbled about what's happening. Sometime - errr most of the time, these Indians just deserve it!! Serve them right!
written by GermanMachine, February 18, 2008 00:57:00
Politic has never been my passion, for I see too many ugly faces, both in the ruling and opposition parties. I'm with a GLC and had come to accept the discriminations and marginalization that comes with the job. I was hoping that someday, someone or some fortunate turn of event, Malaysia will no longer be what it is today, but a transformed nation that everyone can be proud of.

I was wrong, dead wrong, for I, as a citizan did nothing about it. I have never voted before and yet I grumble and complain on the current state of affair. I did nothing. For 25 years!

Comes MT and RPK, and of course, many of the esteem bloggers and commentators, I now know that I can actually do something about it. I will be voting for the opposition and making the job of convincing others to do so as my personal crusade.

I want to be a proud Malaysian.
written by damarwulan, February 18, 2008 00:58:50
Pak Engku, Will you be standing for the election? I am sure votes will go to you and thereafter we will be happy to see some ass being kick.
written by housedad, February 18, 2008 02:48:09
Inspirational stories, RPK. On the other hand, there's no shame to those who obtained the scholarships when they deserve it. It all boils down to ones character. Too often people get greedy and selfish. Most of any initiatives starts with the right intention and goodwill, to be misused and corrupted in the end. Probably that's what happen to religion.
written by SOS, February 18, 2008 04:56:16
When the going gets tough, the tough get going

When the going gets tough,....The tough to stay awake PM go on a holiday at the expense of the Rakyat. smilies/angry.gif zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz smilies/cry.gif
written by lokenpal, February 18, 2008 07:45:28
When the going gets tough; RPK gets going. With all the gloom and doom, this article is worth is weight in holy gold
written by almurady, February 18, 2008 10:45:19
justice wrote:
"Now, I'm broke because I refuse to pay bribes to get Government jobs and I just lost a job to do something for the TTI in Terengganu (just as well, when suddenly they made it an Islam Hadhari thing), for my other 5 children, I think I may have to accept the scholarship...if they deserve it!!"
--------------------
Dear Justice,
Too bad..Have you not realized that UMNO had abolished all biasiswa.. and in place there's pinjaman pelajaran for the rakyat... kesian sungguh tengok anak2 org melayu/miskin terpaksa sain perjanjian pinjaman pada umur baru nak kenal dunia!!!.. that's what UMNO has done to the Malays they say they fight for BULLs..t!! They're not 'pejuang Melayu'.. downright 'Pengkhianat'....I'd say!!
written by Mat Dude, February 18, 2008 11:27:33
For the next GE,I will vote for RPK!
written by mei yen, February 18, 2008 11:38:17
I've always had great admiration for people who despite the odds, have worked had, even to the extent of taking menial jobs working from the bottom up to be what they are today. That's what experience is all about. It gives a man the backbone and strength to face life's adversities with a level head, to be able to differentiate all matters in an impartial, moderate and balanced way. Great piece from the heart!
written by malaysianohope, February 18, 2008 11:54:57
Greetings Pete,

I was introduced to MT sometime middle of last year and since then I got to know you better through all your postings, but this one truly make me sit up.
I tell you why..
I had a similar tough childhood in that my father left my mother when I was 7 years old and I see with my own eyes that she had to tough time living hand to mouth to raise all three of her boys up all by herself, but by some grits with perhaps a trickle of micracles, she managed to raise us into adult-hood and I would say we are now successful in our lives. To cut things short, although I am the only one who I should say academic inclination managed to get into Uni and so I tried to obtain a State Scholarship as my mother could not finance me. So at the interview for the scholarship I was sitting next to a Bumi girl whilst waiting for the interview. Somehow she struck up a conversation with me asking me what I am studing for and what results I have. She then told me that she got HSC results: a D and 3 'O's and she got into Dentistry while I got an A & 3 'B's and an entry into Science. After the interview I heard that she got the scholarship while I was left again disappointed.
So without the scholarship I decided to quit University and attached myself with a reputable firm while at the same time took up a course. Now, I am where I am with a happy family but still bearing memories that the people in power had failed me and all those with similar stories.

To all those who happen to read here, the moral of it all is:

"DEPEND ONLY ON YOURSELF BECAUSE THIS WORLD DOES NOT OWE YOU A FAVOUR".
written by Raja Petra, February 18, 2008 12:49:01
Dear talk2stop, maybe we should change your ID to stop-talk-cock instead. In 2001, when the police arrested my wife (they did not arrest me because I was taking photos of the demonstration and they thought I was a Mat Salleh reporter), I followed her into the Dang Wangi Police Station. They refused to allow me in but I insisted and said I will never leave my wife's side.

The police then asked for my IC and I handed it to them. When the officer saw my IC his eyes opened up wide and he asked me if my name is really Raja Petra. I replied that that is what is on my IC. He asked me to wait and he took my IC into a room. He then came out again and asked me to sit down. I tried making a phone call and one policeman shouted that I can't use my phone inside the police station and when I tried going outside he shouted at me to sit down again. The OCPD, Bakri Zinin, then whacked me and sent me flying into the chair. He then told one policeman to handcuff me and place me under arrest. When I asked on what charge he replied they will think of something later.

Contrary to what you have just said, my 'name' got me beaten up and arrested. If my name had been John Thomas instead I would have been treated better and would have been called 'Sir'.
written by GermanMachine, February 18, 2008 13:22:18
written by talk2stop, February 18, 2008 | 04:34:07

RPK
It is a good spinning story with a fairy tale ending.
----------------------------------------------------------
What the hell are you doing here? Where were you all this while? Don't you even understand the greater reason behind RPK's composition? Please go back to your coccoon.
written by bumi non malay, February 18, 2008 13:28:15
His reward for more than 60 police reports against his previous Heavy handed physical abusive role...& growing

NEW Federal CID director Datuk Bakri Zinin

He is a Datuk now....wonder which Sultan or Govenor gave him the title......he is heading the Sharlinie’s case and would he produce her near election date to give Barisan Nothing a boost? and himself another promotion?.......we await this rumour saga!!.....in Barisan Corruption mind set, this type of Police are ear-marked for IGP role......UMNO-BN have enough SH*T to control him...that have always been their modus operandi!!...Boycott election
written by teo siew chin, February 18, 2008 15:35:22
sigh. every so often, RPK has to re-enact his ordeals, exhibit his battle-scars (and tug at our heart-strings smilies/cry.gif) just so to show his rajahood means nothing to the powers-that-be whose arrogance have blinded them to even basic civilities - biadab! And shame on you commentators who think ill of YM RPK - he's putting his liberty and good name on the line for you ingrates! Criticize RPK but got no balls to even use real name. geeeeez.
written by densemy, February 18, 2008 18:10:56
An inspiring story.

Its the responsiblity of government to assist any student who has the merit and the desire to succeed. That is the way a country grows

This has not been the case in Malaysia... mediocrity has been promoted, excellence has been discarded.

Malaysia has failed to grow ... in fact its gone backwards
written by BAHAZIN, February 18, 2008 18:54:55
I felt a lump in my throat. Good writings Petes !
written by est, February 18, 2008 23:10:48
Any form of identification by ethnic origin or religious inclination ( e.g. "I am Chinese - you are Malay and he is Indian", and Bumiputra versus Non-Bumiputra, or Buddhist, Hindu, Muslim, Catholic, Christians etc) are natural human tendency. But these are the beginning of all evils. Unless the populace at large can recognise that these identification is unhealthy in the long run and the government can see this as well and take every step to make ethnic origin, cultural leanings and religious inclinations a personal thing that is not to be supported or favoured by the state, these kind of identification will continue and eventually become a ticking time bomb. It is the source of every evil everywhere in the world.

Yesterday, Kosovo declares independence and awaiting recognition. Look back at Kosovo and the states that was in the past part of Yogoslavia. Why did what happened to Yogoslavia happened? It's the refusal of the people to see themselves as one nation. It is the persistent ethnic identification and religious inclination identification which make the differences glaring. And when it breaches a point, it developed into something "evil" that eventually broke up the nation.

Every wise leader and wise group of leaders (governments) will take conscientious effort to integrate the people. Integrating the people is about the government remaining neutral about ethnic, cultural, religious and whatever form of grouping identification. The government should pursue policies based on meritocracy and provide equal opportunities to all so that over time any form of grouping identification be it ethnic group, religious inclination, cultural leaning etc. This will over time allow tradition groupings to integrate and identify themselves through citizenship of the country rather than by their ethnic origins of their forefathers or religious inclinations. The citizenship bond will eventually take priority over everything else.

We cannot tell individuals not to identify themselves as Malay, Indian, Chinese, Kadazan, Iban, Senoi etc. By the same token we cannot rule that individuals do not identify themselves by their religous inclinations. That is their personal rights. But the government of the day must realise that they must refrain from doing so through their policies if they are sincere about integrating its people.

Ever since time immemorial, there have been migration. Every piece of land will have multiethnicity. But it is how the people integrate over time for them to live peacefully together and together achieve prosperity and harmony. Wise government integrate by reducing the differences over time and this ensures the survival of the nation. Bad leaders capitalise on the differences to stay in power and eventually destroys the country.

I noticed that today when individual talks its usually along ethnic axis or religious axis. Governmental policies aren't any different. Look at the days leading General Election, the media - be it newspaper or TV never fails to report every activity of the governing party and it is invaribly ethnic centric. Don't you realise that by doing so, you are destroying the nation in the long run.
written by zul4kulim, February 19, 2008 00:16:04
From zul4kulim.********.com

Ada satu nyonya penjual buah potong-potong dekat rumah persinggahan saya di Kulim. Tiap kali saya lalu dia hulur sebungkus buah pada saya..you know sebungkus dia hantar margin profit dia drop tau..

Di satu tempat di sebuah estet, satu orang aci jumpa saya masa buat lawatan. Dia pegang saya nala punya kuat..saya ingat dia nak ambik saya buat menantu. Tapi dia kata dia nak tolong saya..dia kata dia tahu saya takkan menang tapi dia mahu saya bawa suara orang kampong ke Parlimen. Dia buka dompet kecil dia..saya ingat dia nak hulur sireh. Tau tau dia bagi saya 30sen..itu sahaja yang dia mampu.

Kalian tahu, nak menangis saya dibuatnya.. here one old Indian lady sacrificing her lunch money for me. It may not be a lot for most of you..but I tell you.. if you see their living condition..it is big sacrifice on her part to give me that 30 sen. You can see into her eyes..the eyes of hope..hoping that their little voices are heard.

Dan itulah perjuangan saya untuk membawa suara rakyat bawahan..suara marhaen..tangisan pak tani..rintihan aci, keluhan nyonya..biar suara-suara kerdil itu menggegar jiwa rakus di Parlimen sana..biar suara keramat marhaen merentas.
written by cahayailmu, February 19, 2008 06:38:10
written by mei yen, February 19, 2008 09:28:36
est, you are absolutely right!
written by Rhan, February 19, 2008 09:32:38

I use to believe Suqiu is doing the right thing but now I doubt it, simply because most Malaysian doesn’t understand honour and moral. Therefore please take note all Malaysians, are we going to continue support such a no honour and no moral BN?
written by batsman, February 19, 2008 11:00:29
Between Malay reserve land and selling land wholesale in the IDRs, there is no in-between - UMNO is solely in-charge, UMNO clings to power, UMNO betrays.
written by raverz, February 19, 2008 13:27:24
To blame, is to find fault within thyself
written by RasuahMinister, February 19, 2008 14:12:51
My personal observation of 'All our Malaysia's problems' is Languages.

Schools taught us Languages and different thinkings, so we have problems.

National Schools, Malay Schools, Religious Schools, Chinese Language Schools, Chinese Independant Schools, Tamil Schools, English Schools, Catholic Schools, International Schools, ETC Schools...

NOW, the question is, why the government let so many schools exist? WHY?
written by RasuahMinister, February 19, 2008 14:14:21
Btw, this article is very good.
written by GordonLim, February 19, 2008 15:59:23
Work hard and you'll get what u want. That's the moral of the story. I think.
written by mountainking, February 19, 2008 17:29:24
sometimes if one is greedy, it does not care whether you are related to Governor, sultan, govt or race. RPK, you have my respect for not taking the scholarship from the govt. i also personally know someone who refused to work for the govt even if she has to pay off her loan. she rather chose to pay up the loan.

but there are so many chinese including my parents still feel very indebted to MCA just because they have built UTAR for the chinese. is as if MCA fought very hard for the chinese not to be bullied by the UMNO policy. they are very afraid if they don't cast their vote for MCA, UMNO will punish the chinese without MCA there to defend them. i personally could not agree to this kinda thinking. we don't owe UMNO, MCA nor any party. they are paid by tax payers' money, they should be doing what they ought to do. we should not think we are doomed just because BN is not ruling the country. We shall be doomed if BN continue to rule this country.
written by casper, February 19, 2008 19:25:03
Inspirational RPK, you have a knack of relating to your readers, as can be seen from the numerous heartfelt response.

Has anyone told you lately, reading MT and your personal reflections carries with it threpeutic value many a time. And you are truly your father's son in humouring your audience for FREE.

Gotta cut it short, best wishes to you as always and all out there.
written by humanist, February 19, 2008 19:47:48

Thank you for sharing your story.
I would like to tell you I lived in Butterworth area where there is a road called "Raja Uda Road", yup, named in honor of your fore grandpa . That is always buzzing with activities. Do let me know if you are in town, will bring you around there for good steamboat.

Al
written by cruzeiro, February 19, 2008 21:13:40
I just drove from Kedah down to Johor and up to Kelantan, with my baby sleeping in the back seat of the car, to sell my engines so that by the age of 40 I can send all my children to England for a university education without having to run to Umno or the government for financial assistance.
------------------------------

With such entrepreneurship, who needs degrees - it isn't like degrees guarantee knowledge, anyway.
It only tells you that you went to school, have academic exposure & can pass exams.
That's all!
written by cruzeiro, February 19, 2008 21:15:03
Cheers to You, RPK - you did well!
written by harrbm, February 19, 2008 23:38:44

my late father was against British but pro Japan Imperialism. INDUSTRIAL South East Asia was the visions. Eastern values Eastern Industrial Power. I went to English Medium School and speak only British English with all my school friends. I cant see or feel the difference between me, Sundramoorthy or Lee Poi San. We all played together. Now, Sundramoorthy is with Hidraf. Lee Poi San is lost in the underworld but we do chills together sometimes.

why divide us ?

>

written by cwy, February 20, 2008 12:16:03
I’m a living proof for our discriminatory government since May 13th ,1969.
I did my Bachelor Degree in Universiti Sains Malaysia ( initially called University of Penang ) under MARA scholarship which ALSO catered For poor Non-Malays.
But, after the launching of NEP, Non-Malays could hardly get study load, leave alone the scholarship from MARA.
A Malay friend jokes to me, “ Hang tak tau ke Majlis Amanah RAkyat (MARA) tu dah tukak Majlis Amanah bumiputRA (MARA)?”
Your article is educational and motivational , esp. to all Malaysians!
written by reign, February 20, 2008 13:37:02
written by larysub, February 20, 2008 | 11:06:49

I am malay working in the middle east. I used to run a consultancy but business was not too good, so I find job here. What I find here should be shared with the Indians and probably the chinese too. In the country I am in, probably 60% are foreigners, from the expatriate, to the labourers. The community here are more indians than arabic. Many of the indians here drive big cars, and live in luxury apartments. Some earn good income as expatriates but majority lives in a small dwelling share with many. They work 6 1/2 day weeks and earning less than RM3000. The question is: Can they vote here? No. Can they ask the government here to support their children in school? No. Can they complain? No. So, Indian and Chinese in Malaysia should be thankful that they have a beautiful country like Malaysia that still allow them to vote, can still earn good income for some, and can still share the opportunity to create wealth there. If you think you are not taken care, so do I. As a malay, I do not necessarily get government jobs. I have seen many other Indian and Chinese consultant do better than me. In short, I think Malaysia is fair on racial issues. The leaders for each race in BN suppose to do something for their people, but in the last 15 years, most are probably busy gathering wealth for themselves. Lastly, I admire RPK for his thought and writing.

_______________________________________________________ __________________________

larysub,

I suggest that you go and read how Malaysia was formed before you say anything. When you have understood then come and blast your opinion here. Let me just tell u something I dont have to be thankful to the govt. for providing education for the non-Malays, I dont have to be thankful to the govt for allowing the non-Malays to be able to vote, I dont have to be thankful for my citizenship here. MALAYSIA IS MY COUNTRY and I AM NOT A PENDATANG and bladdy hell I have my rights. I am of the 4th generation here and i know my roots. Where do u originate from? Senoi?? Negrito??? You came from somewhere else too.
and we dont live on your government's handouts, sendiri usaha kau faham tak???
why are we paying taxes and we can't get fair treatment when it comes to education? since the Malays proclaim u guys are sons of the soils, it's ok to use other's money to live happily??? tak malu kah?

written by Areyaar, February 20, 2008 14:04:24
My reply to larysub only reflects his original comments. My reply opposing his view has not appeared.
written by cwy, February 20, 2008 14:46:29
Quite a number of my Malay friends are proud to be Malay, but not the new 'race', bumiputra .
written by Atheist, February 20, 2008 15:59:24
Very heart warming ... but take note.

" When the going gets tough, the tough get going " ... the only difference is ...
in those days we head towards hardship to earn our rewards but nowdays they head away from hardship (to UMNOputras) to earn their rewards.

This is why Khairy is very popular now .... so when did we have this paradigm shift or change ????? When the British left us ?????
written by skc, February 20, 2008 17:14:34
Dear YM RPK,
Just some food of thought, if your father is not having too much principles, as you have say, would you be you today ?
A big part of you I can see is because of your father having too much principles. and it rub off, thank god for that.
The world will be a sad place without you, keep it up, and may the colours bless you.
written by ultraman, February 20, 2008 18:33:32
Very few people irrespective of race are like your late father, a man of integrity and honesty . Most of them would without doubt jump to his sister to get the scholarship for their children. Yes, a man of such high standing, your father's place is DEFINITELY in HEAVEN now, rest assured.
You must thank your dad for what you are today. Had your dad sacrificed his principle, you would most probably be like some UMNPputras parasiting on the country's resources.
written by Joe, February 21, 2008 00:15:39
I am happy that the greatness in your family did not end with your father.

I'd like to say that what larysub said, and I quote:
"I am malay working in the middle east. I used to run a consultancy but business was not too good, so I find job here.... So, Indian and Chinese in Malaysia should be thankful that they have a beautiful country like Malaysia that still allow them to vote, can still earn good income for some, and can still share the opportunity to create wealth there. If you think you are not taken care, so do I. As a malay, I do not necessarily get government jobs. I have seen many other Indian and Chinese consultant do better than me. In short, I think Malaysia is fair on racial issues. The leaders for each race in BN suppose to do something for their people, but in the last 15 years, most are probably busy gathering wealth for themselves. Lastly, I admire RPK for his thought and writing. "

Is a perfect example of the opinions raised by the everyday bumiputra/umnoputra on the street. Naturally RPK doesn't necessarily share this view. I think that makes him special. However not normal.

However I think what larysub meant to point out was that things could be worse. Edi Amin turned back the east Indians from their African lands, East Indians who have lived there longer than the East Indians who lived in Malaysia, due to the fact that they were richer and more industrious than the locals. So what larysub is asking all Malaysian Indians to do is to shut the f**k up and count your blessings... bones (meat/meatless) and all!
written by miwaki, February 21, 2008 01:45:12
larysub,
Malaysia will be very primitive without Indians and chinese and you are urging us to migrate ! The reason we did not migrate to Canada and Australia is because we are not qualified yet.When we have the means we will take the next flight regardless of whom would form the next government.Just look at singapore,chinese are migrating to Australian and canada eventhough PAP are taking good care of them,Why ? All because Australia is a better place to live and to raise their children.Can you understand ? Take all your priviledges and rights,I don't need them anyway !
written by nubie, February 21, 2008 08:37:15
larysub,
you are a classic example of being the direct opposite of RPK, while most of us aspire to be like RPK and i mean all races, you aspire to be a tuan with the kind of condescending, patronising talk down to other races kind of comment. The irony of it all is without the chinese and indians there wouldn't be any NEP to talk about and yet you are asking the non malays to migrate? You can't have both, we either work together and build the country or you have a situation like now where the non malays will migrate slowly but surely. It would be good if you could look further ahead and just imagine in your head how Malaysia will turn out in 30 years time with the current government and their policies.
written by Long Man, February 21, 2008 12:55:14
sob... sob... it touched my heart... hope many of us will follow this spirit/principle... never take advantage when you're in so-called first class people category...

this bas**** kj should read this article...
written by teo siew chin, February 21, 2008 14:23:47
Dear larysub

From your comments, I gather that the bumis fear they have no place to go if they lose the bumi-privilege.

I suppose a fear of being stateless is reasonable, whatever the race.

Yet you as a bumi now put that exact fear of statelessness in a non-bumi!

So, in your opinion those non-bumis who are BORN here, which country do you think they should be thrown to?

And do you think it is necessary to take away non-bumis' basic rights so that the bumis can maintain their special rights? It's about "taking away" and not "being greedy and wanting more" where non-bumis are concerned, don't you think so?

Do you agree that YOU yourself is doing well WITHOUT relying on privileges?
written by chin, February 21, 2008 14:38:30
It is always an honour to meet a self-made man, even in cyberspace. And I must apologise for thinking otherwise in the past. With your genes I would have thought that you were born with a silver spoon.

Unfortunately, the only way for a better life for the non-malays is the way of the tough, if they don't come from rich families. Even the middle class like myself are finding it hard to finance their children's education. (BTW my father was a construction worker and I did it the hard way as well)

And we do need to vote in a new government if life is to get better. I know that making it the hard way builds character but as a father I do want my children to have an equal opportunity to live a good life. If they fail, it should be because they have made bad choices and not because they were deprived of the opportunity.

And a government should provide education for all who has the intelligence to absorb it. A government should create an environment that all can earn a living. One should not die of hunger or illness if he is poor.

The BN government has so far failed to provides these basis rights to all Malaysian.

written by chin, February 21, 2008 15:37:40
Dear Larysub,

As a 3rd generation Malaysian and I am grateful for the life in this beautiful country and I would do my best to make it better. I pay my taxes and probably more than most. As for the vote, BERSIH has more to say about that.

Are you suggesting that the privileges accorded to the Malaysian citizen should be based on how many generations his family has stayed in Malaysia? In that case, some non-malays should be accorded greater privileges than the bumiputras, and the orang asli should have the greatest privileges. And only an orang asli can be PM then.

How about the purity of the genes, like 1ooth generation married to a 1st generation = 50th generation. The definition of a bumiputra and the levels of bumiputra should be reviewed.

On preserving your bumiputra privileges, does the following situation deprives you of your privileges :-
1) The government builds enough university so that all who qualify can have a degree. And the government can more than afford this cost. Imagine how many universities can be build with even RM10bil.
2) Scholarship given to poor non-malays
3) Land leased to non-malays who wants to farm for a living, especially if the malays in the area just leave these lands idle growing lalang.
4) More non-malay holding a government job
5) Awarding a government contract to a non-malay company when there are no malay companies with the know-how or resources
6) Allocating land in a majority non-malay housing estate for a temple or a church
7) Building a church that looks like a church
smilies/cool.gif Building a temple that is bigger than the mosgue in the area.
9) Government welfare for the hard-core non-malay poor
10) Your boss is a non-malay
11) A non-malay PM

written by kamal2, February 22, 2008 03:08:51
Hi guys..I got a forwarded sms from a friend and in the sms,a group that calls themselves as Om Sakhti (please note that Makkal Sakhti is alligned to HINDRAF). This Om Sakhti is sending out SMS-es that is against the opposition parties.. I also heard from a friend that there is some video they have posted in internet against opposition parties. I and my friend couldn't locate the video. My friend's source also didn't provide him the link. Did any of u guys came across this video? Pls send me the link if u guys have watched it. Just want to know what these guys agenda is..Thanks.
written by MERCYNOTJUSTICE07, February 22, 2008 03:25:56
RPK you indeed can command and surely deserved all the respects due to you and your parent and family. Seriously you epitomises that human spirit should be made of such and not expect govt. to spoon fed you. You are such a powerful testimony and i believe you are God sent to save the poor second and third class citizen of this country not the doing of the malays but the politicians who are so corrupted by power and trying to perpetuate their family empire in this nation. As a result of their selfish ambitions they have lost all sense of morality, shame and dignity.
written by Raja Petra, February 22, 2008 08:30:08
Dear asatec, if money is the only criteria (as in your argument) then even dogs sometimes get treated better than humans (an animal specialist center cost more than a human hospital and a vet cost more than a GP and premium dog food costs more than human food) but a dog is still a dog and can never be human.
written by teo siew chin, February 22, 2008 09:00:25
Dear asatec - may I ask during your years in MU, did you notice how many non malays were there?
do you notice how many nons get admitted to MU nowadays?
do you notice something is not right with the system of gomen in this country cos it looks like it's producing a lot of nons who are stupid and thus do not qualify for admission to MU?
it also look like it's producing a lot of poor malays DESPITE the NEP, despite the special treatment/ special rights for so many years!

do you not agree that we need a system that generates top-rate citizens, whatever the race, religion or numbers in $$$. it is not shameful to be poor but it is shameful to be stupid.
And it is double-shame for those who are rich but stupid!

BTW what was your discipline?
written by reign, February 22, 2008 10:20:53
The truth is that Indian and Chinese who lives in Malaysia for the last 50 over years are very new pendatang to this country. We have accepted them and we have nothing against them working, earn good income and become wealthy. But they are a few, especially who are responding negatively to my posting who are asking 'too' much more. Become greedy, and like our saying 'beri betis mahukan peha'. If they responded through using 'f***' word, that already indicate how 'biadap' they are. They should be grateful that they are accepted as citizen of this country. If our forefather has decided to send them back, then history would be different. No riots on the street asking for equality. As a malay, we will not forgo the bumiputera privileges. We are kind enough to provide non bumiputera to live happily together, gathering wealth and some share in the country wealth, but .... I think not too much more. Enough of this greed. If you are treated like the Indian/foreigner in the middle east, still many of the Indian like it. After all, the opportunity is given to live in the country. Bersyukurlah! If you do not understand it, then don't stay in the country. Try migrate to Australia or Canada.

_______________________________________________________ ______________________

larysub, you are a moron. again I repeat go and study history again. way before independence the CHinese and Indians were already here. how did you think Malaya prospered??? by catching fish by the river and to be happy with 'kais pagi makan pagi, kais petang makan petang??????

long ago Malays were known for their 'budi bahasa' , and that was longtime ago lah my friend. today it's different story , just listen to what words used by the idotic politicians who are Malays. itu tak biadap kah? Melayu mudah lupa! smilies/cheesy.gif

what is so hard in migrating to Australia or Canada? I can speak of only the experince of my family members. all that left are living without being bullied because of their skintone. most are proffesionals and those who went without a degreee somehow had got education given to them and have make a good living there.there is no need for them to ask for any extra cause all they have need has been attended to.

here you guys bully with your bumi status, BUMI is not even a Malay word if you must know but never mind we share lah,what's there to bitch about a language. ok what abt bersanding, no need to bitchlah just copy, never mind you are a BUMI take from others, take all take everything but dont share cause if you share you will fall! hhahahahha

written by reign, February 22, 2008 17:20:28
written by larysub, February 22, 2008 | 12:22:45

For reign info we get to this level of prosperity only after we strike oil. Before that, not much prosperity. Prosperity in those days were only for chinese -- well the malays would not have the chance to be in real business with the kind of control place by chinese market. Chinese won't share anything in business, and if not for BN policy, the malays would have been left far behind in economy. So, if you have not been in this country, we would have prosper our way... probably better living for many more malay, less tokong, less temple under the tree, and no more chinese sign board. What a great country we could have. And when we strike oil the wealth could have been shared only among the bumiputera, and no more worry about JE or anything to do with pork. Less prostitution, less Along and less gangster-related problems. But with all the problems now, we have to live with it, and another bigger problem is when these so called pendatang is asking more for them! Shit! I will not let this happen. So, if it is Pak Lah or Khairy or UMNO, I will still vote for them. If Barisan Rakyat will protect the bumiputera interest, I will vote for them, because justice is what we want. But to give away bumiputera right, and to accord more privileges to PENDATANG, No Way!!!

_______________________________________________________ __________________________

be arrogant, it's your lost anyways smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

whether you like it or not, we are here to stay,nothing much you can do about it.

if you want pork free, non-gambling, no pros. ,less this and less that which is all haram for you, the right party to vote for will be PAS not UMNO. UMNO is for sucking blood out of rakyat so they get their Gucci and Prada lah! UMNO encourages all these naughty vices( oh yes so banyak jahat punya business) you know why? cause poket kena tebal lah smilies/grin.gif . ALL THAT IS HARAM IS GOOD FOR BN,HIDUP KENA MEWAH LAH abang oiiiii.

Many non-Muslim whom I have spoken to are ready to vote BN out and willing to vote for PAS which is really refreshing. How worst can we get under PAS?? PAS is probably one that really follows the ISlamic teaching that won't cause drama by snatching bodies, by separating mother from a young child, will not accept a convert simply treating his non-muslim ex to his/her whims and fancy.

Whoever I talk to I say to them vote for PKR, vote for PAS hidup rakyat, pi jahaman BN eh eh pi tidur lah sayang ,hahahahaha

Cheers
Reign
written by Rhan, February 22, 2008 23:51:10
Ia Reign, act cool and dun get emotional of instigation from monkey, next two weeks is the most crucial time for the rakyat to kick out all this corrupted bastard. We let Pas to handle them.
written by asatec, February 23, 2008 07:27:03
Hi RPK,
You have misunderstood my point.
My intention of writing my comment is that, those poor malays,
doing petty business also had been marginalised by the enforcers,
due to their inability to butter or other reasons.And those Chinese and Indian,who are willing to butter,got all sorts of help from the enforcers,to thrive in their business.
Please have my apology,if my comments,for speaking up for the people who live in poverty,had offended anyone.

written by ultra, February 23, 2008 08:54:59
YM Raja Petra,

That was one of the best read I've had for a very, very long time. I could feel tears running down my cheeks...

May Allah bless you with Barakah for you and your family..
written by Eskay Lim, February 24, 2008 23:29:12
Larysub,
You must be talking through your behind when saying that the current proportion of non-Malays holding Govt-jobs is just right. Just walk into any govt-department who do you see except the Malays? How many DGs & deputy DGs in all inistries are non-Malays? What about the professors & VCs in the local public Universities?
Now. I am begining to believe that "You" are hpelessly poor in counting & numbers.
written by cheekhiaw, February 25, 2008 19:19:33
Compassion without knowledge is ineffective
Knowledge without compassion is inhumane
- Victor Weisskopf

If there is such a thing as blessing from above, it is to give a man a great heart and a good mind, and for such a man to contribute to the wider good for nothing in return.

Their reward is the inner confidence to face off with devils, gods and all.