An open letter to HINDRAF supporters and all Malaysians PDF Print
Friday, 15 February 2008 14:25

I invite you to join my only 5 year old daughter on Feb 16th who would brave the might of Police with their tear gas and chemical laced water cannons to prevent her and thousands against reaching Parliament House to deliver their messages of Peace and Justice.

Many may wonder why Roses to a PM who doesn’t understand or pretend not to understand the plight of Malaysian Indians. Many emailed me seeking answers whether we have softened our demands.

No. Under no circumstances would we soften our demand and approach. We have remained silent for far too long and if we don’t insist on our demands now then we never would in the future.

Pre and post 25/11 has seen various baseless accusations against HINDRAF and its leaders. Prior to that hundreds of our letters, appeals, memorandums ect to the PM had gone to deaf ears. When we “moved” the Indian community, suddenly the Government woke up not knowing how to tackle the problem of the new “Peaceful Indian uprising” against their might. They had all the while taken the Indian community for granted. That the Indian community are a bunch that can be pleased with “sweeteners” especially during elections. They had taken for granted that there wouldn’t be credible and capable leaders who would genuinely fight for them and their cause. I can only thank the Indian community for having the confidence on HINDRAF.

The Government had to cover up their bungle for the mess they created on 25/11. Hence the accusations of racists, fundamentalists and terrorists. They wanted to create a situation where the Malays would hate HINDRAF and rally behind them. I wouldn’t be surprised if it was the Government’s strategy to use HINDRAF and 25/11 to unite the already divided Malay community between them, Keadilan and PAS so that the Malays would rally their support behind UMNO. Fear of HINDU fundamentalism was created amongst Malays. It is sad that after 50 years the Government and UMNO still relies on race politics for their survival.

So on Feb 16th we proceed with our Roses. Valentine is associated with the Western Christian culture but accepted universally as a day to express LOVE. It is a time when the whole world seeks for ROSES to reach out their loved ones and send messages of Love.

I don’t ask you to love the PM personally but I ask you to love the highest position entrusted upon him by the Yang Dipertuan Agong to lead the country. Most of us hated Mahathir for his 22 years “regime” but we hold no grudges against him today. Likewise would be no reason holding grudges against the PM.

Let us give him the RED & YELLOW ROSES to symbolize/ remind him and assert that we are a peace loving community who come to him in all sincerity with our 18 demands that were submitted in July 2007 (Red Roses) and that we demand Justice for the 5 detained leaders (Yellow Roses). There are many ways of expressing quest and thirst for our basic fundamental rights and ROSES are a special way to convey those messages from a community who have been oppressed suppressed and marginalized for 50 years.

The whole world saw what happened on 25/11. Let the world again see and appreciate the peaceful struggle of these permanently colonized community. Believe me many in the western country are waiting anxiously to observe the Governments’ reaction on 16/02.

I have known and read many regimes brought down by Power of Roses. But of course it was a failure at Tianaman Square China. I remember how the soldiers shot down innocent people with ROSES who championed and peacefully sought their rights. And so I can never promise you that all will be well on 16/02. Let us all Pray that our leaders would have the wisdom and courage to accept that after 50 years the Indian Community are prepared to “rise” for their rights because MALAYSIA HAS ALWAYS BEEN THEIR MOTHERLAND. By accepting those Roses the PM would prove to the entire country that he is a listening “father” of the nation.

I seek forgiveness of the Almighty for placing my only 5-year daughter on the forefront to face the possibility of the first round of tear gas and chemical laced water. Like any other child Vwaishhnnavi is a symbol of LOVE & AFFECTION. She is my only worldly treasure. I neither posses not property nor wealth. And I dedicate my only “treasure” for the cause of this suppressed community. I embrace the brave mother of this child for her determination, courage and commitment shown towards the struggle.

Vwaishhnnavi and many others of her age would brave the message of purity, truth, sincerity, and unselfishness for the sake of the future Indian generation.

May I invite all Malaysians irrespective of colour and creed to join us in this symbolic gesture to seek Justice for a marginalized community neglected, unattended forgotten for 50 years. Let us all declare Friday the 15th Feb a National Prayer Day for the Almighty to grand wisdom to leaders of our country to allow our future generation to express their message of Peace & Justice.

Let us all pray that the Prime Minister who claims that he has big ears to listen to grouses of all communities allow this child any many others including us to whisper the message of LOVE AND JUSTICE through the ROSES.

P.Waytha Moorthy

Chairman

HINDRAF

Currently in London

written by krising1, February 15, 2008 14:41:46
It is my prayer and hope that we should using children in this effort to improve the lot of the Indians. I think the problems have been addressed and is being addressed. I hope it is not an election gimmick.

Now we have to peacefully seek the release of the 5 persons unjustly detained. Unjust because the government has recognised that the grieviances brought up are geunine. But we have to stop using children.
written by optimuz, February 15, 2008 14:55:55
I don't support the use of children to further a political/social agenda. Hindraf has already made its views known. The repercussions are also well known.

This is not a smart move considering the proximity of the GE. You are once again stirring up emotions of other races which was settling to some degree. This will not help the opposition even if Hindraf maintains a non-partisan stance.

Besides, Sleeping Beauty is not PM at the moment. He cannot meet this need in capacity of PM.
written by Task Force 101, February 15, 2008 15:00:48
I support HINDRAF and its goals. I remain committed to ensuring that Indians unite, demand and obtain their fair share of this economy and remain not as ppl who make up the numbers. Yes, there are many issues facing the community and it requires leaders but it requires the harness only an honest govt can supply. The harness that will direct the strength, patriotism and intelligence of the Indians as they partake shoulder to shoulder with other races to build this country. Barisan Nasional is not the govt. Neither is MIC which is full of idiots.

Having said that, the use of children is something I am not able to come terms with. It would have been SO much more symbolic and effective if only the daughter/children of the ISA HINDRAF 5 were to come forward and give the roses. The rally is for the ISA HINDRAF 5 not for the larger objective.

written by DezMalaysia, February 15, 2008 15:06:23
I think the singer of NegaraKuku should come back now for Chinese New Year ! This will spice up the General Election if he's arrested. MengChee once said he was not afraid to be apprehended when he comes back and had once said that all he did was to sent those messages via his songs.

Anyone had sent any invitations for him ? Haha...
written by lord, February 15, 2008 15:24:40
Hindraf is going for a new low, last time a hint of terrorism threat now using children for sympathy (or cowardice?). I detect contradiction there, you said she is your worldly treasure but you have no problem endangering her. Pathetic!
written by indianputra, February 15, 2008 15:50:52
People you are NOT seeing the point. The use of children in this March is to SEE WHAT BN IS GOING TO DO!!

Are they going to attack the children with acid rain and tear gas?

Are they going to arrest the parents of the children in front of the children?

Is Pak Lah going to come out and meet these innocent children?

Are the police going to arrest any of the children?

Read history.. Through out the suppressed world, children had been used as an act of desperation in times of need. So, what is happening in Malaysia on the 16th. is not something new. THIS IS A DESPERATE ACT BY SUPPRESSED INDIANS TO GET THEIR LEGAL RIGHTS IN MALAYSIA. This is a strategy which is only understood by big minds and not small bird minds like some of you.

You people who question the use of children, ARE YOU BOLD ENOUGH to attend the rally and surround the children if BN is going to physically hurt them!! Come-on I challenge you to be there, instead of writing 'senile' statements in here...
written by rayfire, February 15, 2008 15:59:58
Although it is a noble move to present roses as a peaceful protest , I don't think the timing and circumstances will be in favor of Hindraf. Furthermore it would suffice to have just the childrens and perhaps two adults to supervise them than having the entire makkal sakthi at parliament. Please be wary that this is election time, and slighest wrong move on the part of the organiser may spell disaster.
So I would like to personally appeal to Mr.Waythyamoorthy and All Malaysians alike.
Please reconsider the approach, the outcome may be wrong labelling of this peaceful attempt to convince AAB as an act of rioting and police will retaliate.
Worse still, spin doctors will spin it so hard that Malays believe, it is a retaliation against all Malays.
So please be extra careful, no violence should mean NO VIOLENCE!
Police would be ready to provoke anger, and I don't think those present able to control if their actions if the numbers are too large.
So let is be peaceful , select responsible representatives to be there.
No need to show power of large crowd. It won't help in this case.
My sincere hope too to see Hindraf see beyond just Indians and defends All Malaysians who have been marginalised.
God Bless Your Noble Intentions
written by temenggong, February 15, 2008 16:04:40
He has invited you to accompany his daughter in presenting roses to the PM as an appeal to release the Hindraf 5, as well as a gesture of resistance against the draconian laws of Malaysia and the marginalisation of a community.

Either you stand by him and accept his invitation, or stand aside!

I will be there with my daughters of course.
written by aryn, February 15, 2008 16:56:22
Never ever use children and put them in the line of fire. No matter how noble the intention.
This tactic reminds me of a middle east-based terrorist group who like to operate near known children and women shelters, making them easy target.

You grown ups should continue to fight the cause but leave the children alone. My Indian brethren, your best weapon now is to vote against the BN/MIC and not to 'kow tow' them with roses. You already knew that Badawi failed you.

A lot of us here who are non Indians are unhappy too.You are not alone. We have friends and relatives who are/were ISA detainees. Many of us are also very poor, jobless, homeless and our prayer houses demolished but none of us would endanger our children by thrusting them to the front line, in order to fight our cause.
written by aryn, February 15, 2008 17:04:06
My Indian friends. You have found a voice. Use them to vote out the BN/MIC in this coming GE. They have failed us repeatedly. Together we can make a difference. Hopefully with a new government, a better tomorrow awaits us and our children. People's power!.
written by temenggong, February 15, 2008 17:32:32
Thats better aryn! Hindraf knows what it is doing. They want your support, not money, not fault findings, not criticisms.

They simply asked if you would stand with them and be willing to accompany the 200 children with roses! Your presence would add to confidence.

They are fighting your battles, after all!
written by temenggong, February 15, 2008 17:45:45
Everybody, it was nice reading your views and bravado posts all this while.

Now please come to Parliament tomorrow and show your humanity and your balls.

Have courage!! It will change you forever!
written by Jivathma, February 15, 2008 19:05:11
All these things that are happening and whatever the outcome will be on 16th, the government was, is and will be responsible for it. Instead of integrating the people the government sowed the seed of racial 'divide and rule' strategy and now it is all starting to reap. I hope people have learnt their lessons and make good use of this election.
written by temenggong, February 15, 2008 23:29:15
Naruto,

Stay out of our face!
written by mara koman, February 16, 2008 09:57:58

hi uzumaki,,,

Sorry to say,, it in not unbelivably stupid,

Came to think of it,, receiving rose for valentine is the most pressures, honour and grateful. Wht so wierd about it. what ever the motives are,, but respecting the gesture as a leader and holds atmost wisdom ,, in a civilized world, not only is a test of deligent but is a challenge.... Let watch,, He has again let the police handle with brutality.

It not that Hindraf want to carry out, so badly,, many people are watchig to see how badawi would handle this most pressures lovely event..

Make no mistakes,, badawi is unbelievably stupid and incapable as a leader in a global, complex system,, and uzumaki where you will be from 10 -12 pm on saturday..
if you are at the parliment ,, hats off for you

But if you chicken out, hang you balls,, go licking police ass...