Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Of racist remarks and Umno leaders

Of racist remarks and Umno leaders PDF Print
Friday, 06 November 2009 17:12

And the worrying thing is it’s not just “one or two leaders” who are making such remarks. Take a listen to speeches made at the Umno general assemblies year in year out and you get the picture.

By MOHSIN ABDULLAH, MySinchew

Last week 800 pre-schoolers made the largest 1Malaysia logo using 220,220 twenty sen coins. Here we go again I say to myself. Remember the largest national flag, the largest ketupat, the longest sandwich, the biggest this the largest that. I thought we’re through with all that. Obviously not. We’re still big in going big so to speak. The only thing is now we’re getting small kindergarten kids to do the big thing. What next? Getting babies into the big act? Anyway, on the day The Star newspaper carried that big effort by the kids, it also carried a report on remarks made by Prime Minister Najib Razak, on, well, racist remarks.

Speaking in his capacity as Umno president, Najib was quoted to have said that racist comments from “one or two Umno leaders” should be ignored because the majority of members in the party are not racists.

“Umno is not a racist party. From the beginning, we wanted a multiracial society. Don’t listen to one or two leaders talk, that’s different. Any party has leaders like them. But look at our policies from Day One”, Najib told delegates attending the Gerakan national conference in Kuala Lumpur Sunday Oct 31.

Wise words from a wise man. Something which all of us should pay attention to and take heed. By saying “Day One”, Najib was clearly referring to the day Umno was formed in 1946. However the “Umno policies from Day One’ would have been “gigantic’ and “momentous” had Dato Onn Jaafar’s proposal that the party open its doors to non-Malays was accepted. Instead it was thrown out and Dato Onn Jaafar, the father of Umno left the party a frustrated man. Sad. But that’s all history now.

Still the policies from Day One were accepted as good if not great. And there are many who still hold on to that belief. A policy to “safeguard Malay interests as well as others and without trampling the rights of non Malays.” Something to that effect. But being a Malay party the policy from Day One to the present is a “Malay first policy”. Nothing wrong with that. But then perhaps many in Umno, leaders and members are still having the difficulty in drawing the line between being “race based,” “racial” and “racist”. Even after all this while. Hence we hear of “racist remarks” coming out of Umno. Even so now as Najib himself has admitted.

And the worrying thing is it’s not just “one or two leaders” who are making such remarks. Take a listen to speeches made at the Umno general assemblies year in year out and you get the picture. Whatever their reasons might be, one thing’s for sure. It's hurting others. Non Malays and non Umno Malays. It’s hurting the BN and it’s ridiculing Najib’s 1Malaysia concept.

So now we are told to ignore” them. That’s easy. The rakyat, Malays and non Malays can do that. Push them aside. Can even ostracise them. No problem. But as we’re still big in going BIG , then the big question to ask is this: Why are these one or two leaders as Najib puts it, making racist remarks and continue to make racist remarks? That is one big question for Umno to answer.

But the bigger question is if the rakyat are told to ignore them, then what is Umno going to do about it? Ignore them also? Apprehend and reprimand? Sack them? Let them be? Business as usual? Happily ever after?

That we want to know. Satu Malaysia mahu tahu (the whole of Malaysia wants to know). No. Make it Satu Dunia. The whole world awaits.

written by Zapper, November 06, 2009 17:40:38
I don't for a moment believe this BS. Read the closing part of his speech and you will get the picture.
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 06, 2009 17:47:55
We still have not forgotten that smiling big mouthed jack-ass Kerismuddin's keris waving antics and the UMNO delegates who were cheering him on. So that's one or two UMNO members only? We still have not forgotten what you yourself did at Raja muda Stadium in 1987. Does Operasi Lalang ring a bell you bloddy lalang? We still have not forgotten your Ketuanan Melayu rhetoric. We still have not forgotten Altantuya. So Najib, stop taking us for fools. We know your true colours. Hope you will slip in your bathroom, and get a heart attack. You will have hell to pay for.
agree 187
written by cheekhiaw, November 06, 2009 17:50:28
Of racist thieves and the rest of the thieves...

written by cheemengwong, November 06, 2009 17:55:14
1Malaysia is all about:-

1. Different universities for different races. Non Bumis cannot get into UITM!

2. Quotas being used discrimately for entry into public universities. Doing well for a non bumi does not guarantee going into uni of his/her choice and aslo the courses or field of study. A aspiring medical student who is a non bumi will not be offered medical course compared with his counterpart who does less well but a bumi.

3. Civil service are not for non bumis. 97% of civil service personnels are bumis and I dread going to any government office on a Friday!

4. End lots in housing projects are reserved for bumis with 10-15 % discounts

5. There are no equal budget allocations for mosques, churches, temples within any community!

6. There are no special Mara loans for non bumis. Why?

7. There are unit trusts like Amanah Saham only for bumis. Why leh?

The list goes on..,
agree 244
written by storm62, November 06, 2009 18:01:30
1 or 2 umno racist......can tolerate
1 or 2 umno theives ....can tolerate
1 or 2 umno rapist......can tolerate
1 or 2 umno robbers.....can tolerate
1 or 2 umno cow heads...can tolerate

so many umno murderers and racists....how to tolerate?
agree 208
written by CHOWKITMAN, November 06, 2009 18:15:25
Hello, Najis just told you all that UMNO is not racist oK?? I caya sama lu smilies/cheesy.gif
written by jason, November 06, 2009 18:24:41
Isn't Najib one of them who has uttered racist words way back in 1988?. Is he saying now we should ignore him. Good, we all should ignore this white brow idiot with the fat mama penguin. Right?.
written by Takiaki, November 06, 2009 18:26:02
Talking about coins...yes they are like two faces of a coin. One day najib says UMNO are for all races, tomorrow he says UMNO is the champion of the malays and no other race can challenge their supremacy.
Today he says 1malaysia, tomorrow he says the malays are given 'handicaps' just like golf players, then he flips again, saying the malays are at par with other races and should not depend on the govt...
1 malaysia my a**....nothing but PR gimics!!
agree 119
written by onnetline, November 06, 2009 18:26:08
Maybe, the rakayt needs to know that there are many UMNOS leaders and their cronies who are poor or retarded and needs NEP assistance ( multi millions RM contracts) to survive !

They are not merely racists but just very corrupted only !
written by KingSolomon, November 06, 2009 19:03:41
Is not wearing the costume of their race a display of racism? If not, does any delegate dare wear anything different? None of them dare to be seen as not of their race.
written by mob1900, November 06, 2009 19:04:39
Instead of calling us to 'ignore' these '1 or 2' racist leaders,
just show us 1, yupe, 1 Good UMNO leader.
There's none.
Not even 1 UMNO leader which is consider good with the consensus of all.

P/s: Please don't 'perasan' and count yourself as a good leader, Najis.
written by Richfyf, November 06, 2009 21:11:06
Check this out.....

Published: Friday November 6, 2009 MYT 8:56:00 PM
10yrs for man who raped daughter of woman he was going to marry, THE STAR

Former Taman Aman Umno branch secretary Hamdan Ahadluddin, 49, was jailed 10 years and ordered to be whipped six times after he was found guilty of raping the teenager at her home in Lembah Subang

written by asguard, November 06, 2009 21:38:45
Well...to be frankly speaking...the PM is no better than any of racists UMNO idiot! In fact they are all in same boat... and 1malaysia means nothing but racists policy will continued... it not about you and me...its about them... always!
written by sydput, November 06, 2009 21:47:23
only in malaysia are racists tolerated and promoted by the ruling party.
elsewhere in this world, it is abhored and condemned.
written by sataysticks, November 06, 2009 22:39:57
UMNO morons can never change because:
a. you need to be a racist to be a UMNO member
b. most UMNO members are uneducated or have bogus/fake degrees
c. to be popular in UMNO, you need to be a racist
d. UMNO members can say what you want and get away with it
e. most UMNO members get rewarded if you act and talk racists
written by allmenarebrothers, November 07, 2009 00:12:35
To set the record straight just one or two leaders are non-racists. The rest are full-blooded racists.
Therefore either he can't count or he is a big gigantic Liar. No prizes given for the correct answer!
Not only is the political party he leads consists of a den full of hard-core bare-faced & unapologetic racists it is also the only party left in the world espousing Apartheid as the offical government policy.
written by Fuminari, November 07, 2009 00:28:55
as far as i'm concerned,
najis is a hamcarchan,
mahatahi is a hamkarchan,
mudyiedling i a hamkarchan'
hisapputting is a hamkarcan,
n umno be end is a hamkarchan!!!!
written by latihanQ, November 07, 2009 04:08:38
it is institutionalised!
written by DontPlayGod, November 07, 2009 10:39:08
When for the last 50 years, UMNO has been preaching racism and ketuanan to the Malays, can we honestly believe that you can change all that with just one push of the button or ***** of the mouse, as in computer speak? When year in year out, UMNO delegates have theatened the non-Malays, and even raised their keris to emphasis this, and their leaders have asked the non-Malays to leave if they are not happy, can we expect to now buy Najib's 1Malaysia's lies?

And has Najib sacked Utusan's racist writers, and banned the BTN from their race hatred and race superiority propaganda? Hard questions Najib, but the non-Malays are waiting for your answers and actions.
written by Siapabohong, November 07, 2009 18:10:17
Seorang dua 'racist' yang cakap berapi-api itu yang dapat banyak ganjaran. Dapat naik pangkat jadi menteri, jadi pemimpin besar, dapat sokongan besar, jadi contoh teladan kepada yang lain yang nak jugak naik pangkat jadi menteri, dapat projek dan macam-macam kenikmatan dunia!
Yang ramai itu yang tidak 'racist', apa dia orang dapat, habuk pun tarak!
written by Taiping60, November 08, 2009 00:21:03
When UMNO leaders are racist, Najib asked to ignore them.

What if other leaders from other racial parties are racists? Can UMNO ignore them?

Common lets not play double standard. Just disband racial parties like UMNO, MCA and MIC. Form a true Multi-racial party that will make Jaafar Onn proud.
written by kinggerrard, November 08, 2009 14:58:50
When I heard our country's slogan 1Malaysia, I always wanted to vomit! Why the PMs in our country always proud to create their our slogan where they can't walk the talk? It's always hypocrite!!! F**k you all the PMs who created their cheap slogan!!
written by Eskay Lim, November 09, 2009 19:59:00
1 Malaysia means that:-
whatever that is best must be given or owned by the Umnoputras.
whatever that is profitable must first go to Unmoputras.
whatever activity that is "haram" can be halalkan for the Umnoputras.
You just only have to believe in this slogan.
written by joeawk, November 10, 2009 16:22:11
Even if they are only a few racist among the uno,leaders, if they are not rerimoanded, it means that UMNIO endorsed their remark. When they are subsequently appointed to positions by the president, what does that say of the president of UMNO and UMNO itself?

Najib, don't bull around. Malaysians are not blind. Within 5o years, even the pariah country like Burma will catch up on Malaysia.
written by justice seeker, November 11, 2009 16:27:21
Of racist remarks and Umno leaders
Friday, 06 November 2009 17:12
And the worrying thing is it’s not just “one or two leaders” who are making such remarks. Take a listen to speeches made at the Umno general assemblies year in year out and you get the picture.

PUT IT THIS WAY: NAJIS IS ASKING ALL THE RAKYAT TO SMELL, TOUCH AND EAT HIS SHIT AND SAY THAT IT IS TASTY, FRAGRANT AND PLEASANT. SO, PLS ENJOY IT.
written by edwardh, November 12, 2009 09:12:13
written by cheemengwong, November 06, 2009 17:55:14
1Malaysia is all about:-

1. Different universities for different races. Non Bumis cannot get into UITM!
2. Quotas being used discrimately for entry into public universities. Doing well for a non bumi does not guarantee going into uni of his/her choice and aslo the courses or field of study. A aspiring medical student who is a non bumi will not be offered medical course compared with his counterpart who does less well but a bumi.
3. Civil service are not for non bumis. 97% of civil service personnels are bumis and I dread going to any government office on a Friday!
4. End lots in housing projects are reserved for bumis with 10-15 % discounts
5. There are no equal budget allocations for mosques, churches, temples within any community!
6. There are no special Mara loans for non bumis. Why?
7. There are unit trusts like Amanah Saham only for bumis. Why leh?

The list goes on..,

To Najib, this is BUMI RIGHTS

To me, this is denial of HUMAN RIGHTS
written by edwardh, November 12, 2009 09:24:30
Deny me my RIGHTS

Keep me STUPID

So you appear BRIGHT

Then you become MINISTER

Ministers' deals get COMMISSION

We, Rakyat get to pay TAX

We will keep you RICH

We will keep you POWERFUL

You can KILL

You can ROB

You can wave the KERIS

You can tell us balik CINA / INDIA

We shall say YA TUAN

Because you are UMNO

You see us as SUCKERS

But i tell you NOW

You go to HELL

Once we control GOVERNMENT

We will charge you for MURDER

We will charge you for CORRUPTION

We will charge you for SEDITION

You wait... ISA AWAITS YOU

Next >