Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M defends protection for Proton

Dr M defends protection for Proton PDF Print
Friday, 06 November 2009 16:38

(Malaysian Mirror) - Dr Mahathir Mohamad has come out in defence of the protectionist policies accorded to national automaker Proton, saying the government was emulating other vehicle manufacturing countries.

"I am not going to deny that in my time Proton was protected ... The protection for Proton cars had been there all along," said Mahathir in his blog.

"Britain had Imperial Preference, Japan and Korea ensured no foreign cars could be imported, even America insists on Japanese, Korean and Germans producing their cars in America, employing Americans and paying high salaries," he added.

mahathir-9.jpgMahathir also said that without such policies, Malaysia would not have a car industry, admitting that Proton had gained 80 percent market share "benefitting from protectionism."

He also defended the import system of Approved Permits (APs), saying Proton would not have been able to penetrate foreign markets due to the economies of scale: "Proton lost money, the foreigners made a lot of money with the lower price of their cars sold in Malaysia. Their lower price is due to volume. We could not achieve this because of their protected car market."

Not involved in NAP

"Now Proton is fighting back despite imports of foreign cars. I was making a comparison only between Proton under the previous management and the present management. The present management is definitely more capable even though foreign cars are still coming in," he added.

Mahathir also said he was not involved in the formation of the new National Automotive Policy: "I am not in the government now. Please make your complaints to the government."

Mahathir was responding to a commentator who blamed protectionist policies for Proton's stagnating performance.

"Many thanks to NAP and Proton, Malaysian are forced to buy overpriced Tin Milo Proton," said the blogger who went under the pseudonym Syahrizan.

"This is no longer about “National Car Protection”, its all about protecting your cronies! Am I right Tun?" added the blogger.

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by SocratesI, November 06, 2009 16:48:21

This Maha-ShitHead keeps warping the truth and spouting Rubbish ! The stupid Proton "Car industry" resulted in the Malaysian Rakyat having to pay billions towards inflated import taxes, justified by Maha-ShitHead to give Proton a price advantage in Malaysia at the Expense of the Rakyat !!! This was the Rakyat's Billions used to fund Maha-ShitHead's and his band of merry UMNOputras' EGOS !!

On top of plundering the Rakyat this way, he also enabled his UMNOputra cronies to make Billions by way of A.P.s All this plundering of the Rakyat was going on to fuel his EGO ! Otherwise we would all be driving BMWs at the very least instead of Potong Harga's !!

Why doesn't he just sleep and don't wake up ... I will celebrate with caviar and foie gras !!
agree 189
written by arazak, November 06, 2009 16:57:59
"Dr M defends protection for Proton"
--------------------------------------
In other words a scheme to protect UNO crony contractors supplying overpriced, sub-standard car parts to Proton! Proton will than pass the cost of production to "Malaysian consumers", yes to us, the rakyaat. I said "Malaysian consumers" because in overseas market, Proton are sold at competitive price, lower than the home market price!

NAP- National Absurd Pricing
agree 126
written by justice seeker, November 06, 2009 16:58:03
Dr Mahathir Mohamad has come out in defence of the protectionist policies accorded to national automaker Proton, saying the government was emulating other vehicle manufacturing countries.

SO FINALLY, HIS ABSOLUTE POWERS, OBEISENSE AND WISHES HAS BEEN RESTORED
written by Krepot, November 06, 2009 16:58:10
When will we stop flogging this dead horse?
written by arazak, November 06, 2009 16:59:02
Sorry, typo, "UMNO crony contractors"
written by eeyaw, November 06, 2009 17:05:40
Malaysia population is too small to have a protected car monopoly but knowing this chedet his ego is too big for the brain, besides screwing the Rakyat big time by forcing us to buy milo tin at prices even higher than export prices. And then again APs are there to screw those who prefer imported cars. No wonder Malaysia is a nation of sodomists lead by the unelected PeeM who is known to have preference for a "belakang mali".
written by ksauyong, November 06, 2009 17:05:58
No country has policies that increased the hardship of their people. Only Malaysia, and Mahathir calls it to protecting the car industry. He forgot about protecting the people from hardship. He protected his cronies at the people's expense.
written by joeawk, November 06, 2009 17:08:03
Talk cock. Evaluate the greater and wider impact the protection for Proton have on Malaysia as a whole.

Yes, it spawn many sub-contracting work and provide many employment to the UMNOputras but what about the cost to the country, the cost to the car buyers.

Such protection, does it help proton to improve or does it cause Proton to take it easy.

The bottomline for consideration must not involve sentiments but I doubt sentiments has not played a part in the decisions affecting proton this far.

****, when proton cannot even get their power window right. One more thing, Proton also help to increase corruption in Malaysia. **** the Quality and Buying personnel.

They want to **** and drink for free before they see your product.
written by DreamLady, November 06, 2009 17:22:45
Mahathir, since you admit that you are not in the Government, please be reminded to refrain yourself from making racist remarks meant to hurt racial harmony in the country. if you were to give constructive comments such as meting out severe punishment against the corrupted politicians such as public whipping, freezing the assets of the culprits, and their families', and do away with former corrupted politicians for future elections, let it be a by- election or otherwise..

Then I truly would salute you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by Bigjoe99, November 06, 2009 17:30:31
Frankly, I think he says these kinds of things not so much because he think he can win the intellectual argument but because he want to give the finger to those who know he is wrong and he think there is a big number of fools out there he can still pull the wool over their eyes and enjoy doing it. In other words, its all about his personal gratification like illicit-sex.

He really could not care if his argument is wrong. He could not care if his facts are erroneous which they are. HE IS NOT GOING TO BE POPULARLY JUDDGE WRONG is all he cares about. So he tells half-truths, he make inconsistent arguments, he make even leaps of argument, slides of hand intellectually. Intellectual and logical sheenanigans is fair play to him...

Frankly, he is delusional and ignorant if he thinks the truth will never come out. Its the delusional of autocracy. Even LKY suffers from it. Mahathir surely does much much more..At best, our kindneess is just waiting to put him in the same category as Stalin and Maozedong at best..
written by CHOWKITMAN, November 06, 2009 17:37:54
Aiii, still wanna protect proton instead of protect the rakyat...so to TDM, we will just have to Tunggu Dia M.....
written by cheekhiaw, November 06, 2009 17:54:28
Mamak,

Other countries may have protection and preferences for their car industries but they don't have to also feed so many thieves like you and your cronies.

written by cheekhiaw, November 06, 2009 17:55:45
And they employ real engineers to design and make their cars while you employ dungus like yourself

written by cheemengwong, November 06, 2009 17:59:31
If Proton still requires protection to survive, it is like saying that a patient in the hospital requires life support system

It is going to be costly and the Raayat will pay for it.

I remember a friend who was lying in the hospital with terminal disease and he told his family members not to give him life support system. He died 1 week later, else it would dragged on for months and family member will definetly suffer financially, emotionally and wasted a lot of time

In this land of Malaysia Boleh, time and money is never a factor of economics and therefore it is OK with Mamak.

I always wonder why he wants to live so long if what he contribute is all crap!
written by sydput, November 06, 2009 18:01:57
Thailand profited from our proton policies.
All those manufacturers who were denied car assembly license and the right to sell cars cheaply in Malaysia, decided to start their factories in thailand. Those manufacturers include Toyota, nissan, mitsubishi, ford etc.
Today, thailand exports one million vehicles per year, mostly trucks being used by UN in places like Iraq, afghanistan and somalia, while their smaller cars are exported to other asean nations and australia/new zealand.
cheapest toyota vios/honda city/jazz starts from RM40k in thailand. Despite no import duties/excise on trucks into Malaysia, prices of truck sold in thailnd are about 20%-30% cheaper, mainly due to their larger slaes volume probably.
How many cars have proton exported? They can't be bothered as their profit margin in Malaysia is much better. And this will persist as long as protectionist policies are in place.
written by mikewang, November 06, 2009 18:30:36
"Britain had Imperial Preference, Japan and Korea ensured no foreign cars could be imported, even America insists on Japanese, Korean and Germans producing their cars in America, employing Americans and paying high salaries," he added.

- This shows how outdated TDM is.
Tun is still living in the '80s.

1. Britain almost do not have a car industry.
2. You can certainly find imports in Japan and Korean. It's consumer preference that largely kept left hand driven American imports off Japanese roads.
3. America does insist that foreign car makers should set up shop in the US. However, their cars are much cheaper than Malaysian cars of equivalent built despite the high salaries of American workers.

Now tell us Tun, why should Malaysian consumers continue to subsidise your failed dream?
written by talk2stop, November 06, 2009 18:32:43
Proton? Too heavy to be a float and too light to be an boat anchor. I don't know what it is good for. One thing for sure if any of you got AUS$10 000 spare you can bid for this and drive it home.

http://www.manheimfowles.com.au/find_buy/power_search/?unit_key=96769_AU602743489- 96769;detail_tab=vinfo;fulltext=proton;include_salvage= ;salvage_only=;state_all=1;model_all=1;rm=view_detail
written by onnetline, November 06, 2009 18:35:24
With racist policies comes selected racists cronies who are morons and who know nuts about the car industry either local or globally !

Fcukking retarded morons managing PROTON ........ may it be either yesteryears or today !
written by Fat Zorro, November 06, 2009 19:37:42
As usual Mahathir spouts bull shit. He did not explain why foreign cars are still chaeper overseas despite protectionism in place.
written by KotaDamansara73, November 06, 2009 20:04:13
Dr.M says it is good to protect Proton, then only then will the incompetence Malay become rich.
written by wood, November 06, 2009 20:51:12
Mahathir also said that without such policies, Malaysia would not have a car industry, admitting that Proton had gained 80 percent market share "benefitting from protectionism.
-----
Since Proton already achieved 80 % share, why not ban the import of all other cars and go for 100%. That way Proton can earn more money, and Malaysia can claim to the world we are the only country in the world where the rakyat only buys its national car and nothing else !!!

Also at what price the rakyat is paying to protect Proton !!! I have seen ordinary workers in the factory earning less than a thousand ringgit owning Proton or Perodua cars and working just to pay the installment of their cars probably for a few more years than necessary because they had bought a car which were priced higher than what it should be if they had been allowed to buy foreign cars at competitive pricing.

Imagine our policies are causing thousands of rakyat to pay more for their car at the expense of protecting the few at Proton!!! Does it make sense????????

smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by techboy_88, November 06, 2009 21:01:33
Dear Dr M,

Even in France where the Frenchs are known for being very loyal to their locally-made products, there are still common people who buy cars made by Germans, Italians, and Japanese.

Protectionism in automotive industry is an archaic economic policy which dates back to the post World War 2 era. Nowadays, it is no longer applicable.
written by Blacknight, November 06, 2009 21:33:34
BODOH punya Mahathir!!!! Bikin banyak susah sama orang jugak. It's because of leaders like you the country has become a lonely prostitute and the people are really suffering in heartache. CAN'T YOU SEE THAT!!! STUPID OLD SENILE MAN??
written by defendermalaysia, November 06, 2009 22:39:01
Mahathir and UMNO BN continue to protect proton and so why every malaysian has to pay additonal 20,000 to 30,000 RM as excurcise duty in order to buy any small medium car in Malaysia. Do,nt forget the majority who own working cars are malays also and so they are also being milk by the govt. the govt collect all these money and subsidise back these money back to proton as bumi automotive developement funds. When proton make a losss, the govt imediately allocate funds to proton. Why we all malaysian are being treated like ******* ?
written by DezMalaysia, November 06, 2009 23:13:52
Ketuanan Mamak & Mamak Legacy... apa pun BOLEH ! Habis, apa nak "Protection" lagi ?

Nak "Protection", kira TAK BOLEH la tu...
written by miwaki, November 06, 2009 23:14:24
Because of Mamak Kutty,80% of the population has to settle for Proton's over-valued but inferior quality cars instead of a better one in the market. Dei,please shut up-lah !
written by defendermalaysia, November 06, 2009 23:45:24
I remember that 1 time Matahir visit to Korea hyundai factory and on return back to Malaysia he put a remark to the reporters'"I cannot understand how come the koreans make such a cheap car and sell this car in Korea "." Can anyone tell me why ?". There is no need to ask the reporters on this question. Ask any TomDick or Harry on the streets and they can tell you why the koreans can sell this medium size hundai car in Korea about USD 8,000/ . Anyone can check the price of Hyundai Accent sold in Korea with this price.The reason is Proton bumi vendors supply parts to proton with sky rocket price. Proton is also protecting their vendors and sales agent and that why the cost of producing Proton cars is already not on economy scale and we malaysian are paying through our nose just to subsidise those blood suckers.
written by raven1958, November 07, 2009 00:19:04
Man ...I have to admit...this guy never gives up in trying to con all of malaysia all the time....true bloody conman who thinks the whole of malaysia are absolute retards to listen to his cock and bull story...

it is sad the internet wasnt there when he cheated razaleigh off the UMNO presidentship....cant believe he is a medical doctor...he must have made money cheating his patients...
written by allmenarebrothers, November 07, 2009 00:33:19
This son of SickAnda Koya Kutty Kaka is indeed sick in his mind. He spews out rubbish as well as poison from his shitty stinking mouth every time he opens it.
He not only commit robbery day & night against Malaysians by his hare-brained national car policy he created a whole new class of incompetent sub-contrators belonging to one race only as well as a corporation full of third rate employees of the same race. Bright people from other races see the doors of Proton slammed against them. So also are the efficient car component makers who belong to other races. On the same score most of the automobile AP holders are from his mother's race not his father who was from Kerala. Indeed it is Apartheid to the hilt as far as his national car policy is concerned.
written by InEffective, November 07, 2009 00:52:41
This punitive taxation underwritten by the rakyat is causing severe distortion of household budgets and expenses.

Imagine - people spend more for cars than for household foods, more than the education for their children or self-education to improve their quality of life.

Budget and expense priorities are all reversed.

But our Banks are laughing all the way to the bank - imagine the stupidity of having to pay interest of government car taxes. Completely mindless and asinine.

If the rakyat is happy to get financially raped by politicians, all power to them. You deserve to be sodomized by our politicians.

All to support a depreciating asset and a auto-industry where most margins are leaked overseas ?
written by orangbukit, November 07, 2009 00:57:46
Apa Nama and his warp logic. It is his logic that kills us all. The irony is there are still people who listen and respect his view.
written by doggone, November 07, 2009 02:21:07

When you write the word 'TUN' and look it in the mirror it becomes 'NUT.' When you break up the word 'PROTON' it becomes 'PRO-blems TONs of it !

written by JUST, November 07, 2009 06:43:20
Protector Of Snakes And Crocodiles smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
52 Years Of Destruction And Deformation smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by techboy_88, November 07, 2009 09:14:56
One more thing "Dr. M", it seems that you are having a "Money Not Enough syndrome" and you want to suck our hard-earned money by forcing us to buy Proton cars, right?
written by devious17, November 07, 2009 09:44:15
car-TUN Dr M compares gomens car policy to the likes of German,Japan,Korea and what not but as usual this old man conveniently forgets to also compare the policies THOROUGHLY!

He simply ignored that cars from these countries are made for their people at an affordable price.A car that can be owned by it's people without having to pay through their noses.

He had also simply ignored the fact that these countries produces innovative,modern and attractive plus not forgetting safe cars for their people unlike proton who cant even handle power window failure issue till date!!

Just admit it laa car-Tun, you created proton to your own personal interest and agenda.

Wa caya sama lu! Piigiirah!
written by kustana, November 07, 2009 12:23:43
We must thanks this Mamakshit and AMENO for the RAKYATs can drive a MB SLK ( Malaysia Buat Small Little Kanchil ) with the similar price of a TOYOTA VIOUS in Japan. Tak sampai satu tahun pakai ini SLK dah ada bunyi macam tikus lari sini sana.
written by onnetline, November 07, 2009 15:03:32
.......you're damn right, mikewang

Now tell us Tun, why should Malaysian consumers continue to subsidise your failed dream?

Now, please fcuk off carTUN !
written by Navigator, November 07, 2009 18:16:29
Many businesses were started without any protection from the government. They had to make sure they did their homework well or they would lose all their money. This makes them smart and competitive in today's technological world. Many of them are successful in the world competition. Imagine what would happen to Japanese, Korean and Taiwanese companies if their governments were to give them the protection our goverment gives to our companies.

In Malaysia, big projects are given to "bumi" companies and the government guarantees their loses will be reimbursed. So how do you expect ecxcellence? You can expect overpricing, corruption and inefficiency. That is why Proton failed and Mahathir keeps saying the Malays must be protected.
written by tino_chan1988, November 09, 2009 17:19:53
Only in Malaysia where miraculous phenomenon happens, and these include:
i) those selective prosecutions of opposition leaders and individuals,
ii) feet dragging, non-effective and non-responsive actions on alleged government-linked blue collar offences,
iii) individuals guilty in money politics are renominated and re-elected,
iii) fully-monopoly bumi/government-linked businesses such as Proton, Perwaja, etc (to name a few) can still report millions, if not billions of ringgit loses even when protected by the government

Malaysia truly BOLEH!