Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Asri slams Jais for stopping non-Muslims entering mosques

Asri slams Jais for stopping non-Muslims entering mosques PDF Print
Friday, 06 November 2009 14:56

By Syed Jaymal Zahiid, The Malaysian Insider

Controversial former Perlis mufti Dr Mohd Asri Zainul Abidin continued his campaign against his persecutors, the Selangor Islamic Affairs Department (Jais), by calling the agency extremists for not allowing non-Muslims to enter mosques in the state.

He had previously said that Jais should do away with "authorisation" letters for preachers as it goes against the freedom of expression, even within Islam.

This time he picked on Jais director Datuk Mohamed Khusrin Munawi who told Utusan Malaysia that non-Muslims cannot enter mosques as "they are like women with menstruation" after an alleged ceramah by Selangor executive councillor Dr Xavier Jeyakumar in a Klang mosque.

Muslim women who are menstruating usually do not go to mosques to pray.

"This is a shallow and narrow view. This is the kind of statement that repels and alienates non-Muslims from Islam. It gives a wrong and false impression of the religion," Asri told The Malaysian Insider today.

He added that even during the time of Prophet Muhammad, non-Muslims were allowed to enter mosques as this would be the best way for them to experience the religion first hand.

"It will give non-Muslims the opportunity to get to know Islam better and Muslims too can engage them in the spirit of constructive dialogue. Isn't this good for Islam?" commented Asri.

written by SocratesI, November 06, 2009 15:10:12

That is telling them, Doctor ! Not only are these old fogies in JAIS (J@ck Ass Ignorant Swines) conservative, but downright elitist as well. They always have a "holier-than-thou" attitude and since they are holier-than-thou (or so they think) they must be right and everyone else is wrong, especially who they perceive to be "Infidels" or non-believers ...

In many, many countries overseas, all you need to do is proclaim in front of an Imam that you believe in Allah as the One God and no other, and that Prophet Muhammad was is Prophet s.a.w., and that would already qualify you as a Muslim. However, here in Malaysia, because the so-called Muslims (JAIS & others brain-washed by them) also want to make it difficult to be a Muslim 'cos of the supposed elite "Bumiputra" status that comes with it, eventually, so you have exams, tests, (also for JAIS to cari makan with all the fees paid), etc. etc. to make it difficult for non-Muslims to convert to Islam.

That is the crux and reason for the old fogies to behave like that, to keep the economic pie to themselves, and to feel elitist (ego-trip). None of what they do serves Allah the Almighty ! We need more open minded and mature Muslims like Dr. Asri around for the good of Islam & Malaysia !
written by SocratesI, November 06, 2009 15:11:16

His Prophet (typo)..
written by Yacob, November 06, 2009 15:18:01
Masaalahnya sepengarah JAIS tu hanya ambil arahan dari Toyol yang sedang gila talak tu.

Lebih malang lagi, bila orang yang sepatutnya menjaga agama Islam hanya ingin tunjukkan kuasanya sebagai ketua agama. Pada hal pengentahuan agamanya tidak kemana.

Sebenarnya, Selangor sekarang sedang diserang bertalu-talu oleh UMNO. PR boleh tumbang jika tersalah strategi pertahanan. Apa yang ditulis oleh Raja Petra Kamaruddin tentang kemungkinan PR tumbang di Selangor memang ada betulnya. Namun, jika PR tahu bersilat, pasti UMNO akan kecundang. Tidak mustahil baruah seperti pengarah JAIS itu boleh ditendang keluar. Kuasa rakyat mesti ditunjukkan kepada pihak yang masih tidak sedar diri.
written by uxzee, November 06, 2009 15:18:58
UMNO religious zealots are translating and manipulating Islam according to their whims and fancies to put all those who oppose UMNO at a disadvantage. They are not practising true Islamic teachings but are only taking advantage of religion for their losing political cause.
written by Ben Nordin, November 06, 2009 15:31:30
This Datuk Mohamed Khusrin Munawi - just what is his qualifications again? smilies/angry.gif
written by batsman, November 06, 2009 15:38:40
According to JAIS non-Muslims are just about on par with smelly shoes.
written by Ahjamal, November 06, 2009 15:41:36
Sad to learn Islam is for politician. Now JAIS is not for Islam in total but for UMNO ISLAM. UMNO will lead all this holy holy man of JAIS to nowhere but only shame to Muslim.
written by Eddie Tan, November 06, 2009 15:49:13
yes I was personally barred from entering mosque main prayer area twice so far. same excuses
written by Richfyf, November 06, 2009 15:51:04
He added that even during the time of Prophet Muhammad, non-Muslims were allowed to enter mosques

That's because the Prophet is non racist and welcome Islam to all races.

Its UMNO that make islam exclusive to one race only ...
written by batsman, November 06, 2009 15:52:48
I notice there are no problems for non-Muslims entering Hadhari banks or opening Hadhari accounts.
written by Vayu, November 06, 2009 16:02:03
If non-Muslims are mensurating women, then what are Muslims who live on non-Muslim tax money and build mosques and have Islamic schools etc using tax collected from non-Muslims including activities such as selling pork, selling alchohol, selling cignarettes etc? What is the word for such people in Islam? Is every object in a mosque come Muslim sources? From where does the salary for JAIS come from? Are not Non-Muslims whose tax money is used for building mosques entitled to see how their money is being spent? If JAIS wants to stop non-Muslims from entering mosques, should they not have the integrity not to be paid from Non=Muslim money? If they have any integrity left, they should either resign or work without drawing a salary paid by Non-Muslims.
written by ckh, November 06, 2009 16:14:55
I am a Chinese Malaysian.

I grew up in Pahang Road in Penang. On my right, left and across the road were Muslim homes. Opposite my house we have a mosque (it is still there - opposite Merican Road - maybe it was named after the present Health Ministry Director General Tan Sri Datuk Dr. Ismail Merican -who used to stay hardly 50 metres down Pahang Road! - just a joke). We use to sit in the veranda of the mosque to play. There was no problem.

I have visited Mesjid Negara many times. Once with my new bride (and she was having her mensuration!) in the days of the mini-skirt too and she only needed to wear a robe to enter. There was no problem.

I have hitch-hiked many times and rode solo on my old faithful Vespa around the peninsula between the sixties and eighties. I have rested and freshen myself in village mosques and chit-chated with the people there just to get the feel of it. I felt so welcomed. There was no problem.

I used to go around the villages (in Penang & Johore) conducting what we call in those days "Traveling Dispensaries / Dispensari Kembara" where we stop at mosques, schools and dewan rakyat. There was no problem.

I have represented the health department in village activities that were held in mosques or meetings conducted in mosques many times. There was no problem.

You mean the religion has changed?

If you don't want us to enter your mosques so be it! Who cares!!

But you are still welcome to the churches, kuils, and temples ... yes, you are still welcome as a friend! I am sure there should be no problem.
written by KangrooCourt, November 06, 2009 16:27:43
Bravo Dr Asri... As long as non-muslim respect the rules of the house, why not grant them a chance to enter Mosque & understand more about Islam ? This will benefited us & will enhance the inter-religion understanding and the same also can practice by Non Muslim too. Encourage the Muslims to visit Churches & temples.
Pls learnt this from our nearby neighbour Singapore.

They have successfully practiced this and inter-race relationship are more stronger here as compared to our Boleh Land.
written by budaktapah, November 06, 2009 17:06:08
i got no problem for non-muslim entering mosque and such. As long as some simple guidelines are followed. The normal, sensible guideline lah like please do not wear bikini only, please leave your shoes at the entrance, please do not bring or drink alcohol and etc. Normal lah, if you go to temple etc, got guideline also maaa.
written by malsia1206, November 06, 2009 18:01:12
If Jais wants to be 'the untouchables', I cannot be bothered. Why should we waste precious time if the tortoise continues to hide in his shell and be ignorant of what's happening in the fast-paced world outside? But I am sure glad no Churches and Temples in Malaysia forbids their entry to Muslims. That surely say a lot of the mindset and mentality of Jais officials. May Allah bless them with more wisdom in their thoughts and deeds.
written by Century Patriot, November 06, 2009 19:11:43
It is this type of retards that smear the good name of Islam and misinterpret to the world that Islam is solely for born Muslims and non Muslims are not allowed to know anything about Islam.

As a non Muslim, due to my job requirement then, I attended a course on Islamic Civilization in UKM and to my surprise how wrong I was in many respects about Islam! My ignorant about Islam was due to RETARDS like this fella Mohd Khusrin Munawi!!!! How in the world did he qualified to be in his present position??

Let me just this to this Retard Mohd Khusrin, if you cant respect fellow human beings whom you can see, how can you claim to love ALLAH whom you can’t see!

written by Proarte, November 06, 2009 20:48:59
How could Asri be called a Wahabi when it is the Wahabis who ban non-Muslims from entering mosques. In the Land of the Prophet, Saudi Arabia, non-Muslims are not even allowed to enter Mecca, let alone visit the Kaaba.

By equating non-Muslims to menstruating women who are not allowed to enter mosques, Dr Munawi of JAIS is perhaps revealing he is a closet Wahabi!
written by shamadz72, November 06, 2009 22:16:46
AO Musa,

I am a Muslim and I have been to Vatican before. I even had a picture which I took standing next to Swiss guard there in Vatican. Are you that ignorant?

written by cylee, November 06, 2009 22:33:16
Oih...Mohamed Khusrin Munawi.. apakah mak engkau takda rahim ke? kamu ni lahir kedunia ni dari lubang mana? kalau bukan rahim? ka.. kamu keluar dari lubang najis mak kau? patutlah.. mulut dan otak kau ni busuk lagi tak guna macam najis.
kalau lah kamu tak hormat mak engkau, janganlah sampai perempuan sedunia kamu hina. U tahu tak Rahim tu adalah lubang yang paling suci? Tempat ni selain bagi kamu shok tak habis, ia juga adalah pintu untuk semua umat manusia langkah masuk ke dunia ni,.. termasuk Propet Mohamed.
Oi si KJ pemuda ketua UMNO apa kata kamu ...? adakah kamu pun setuju dengan si Khusdis ni? Janganlah hanya tahu nak shyok dengan lubang rahim tu saja... bila sebulan sekali ia datang kitaran haid, kamu tuduh rahim tu kotor pulak.. cuma kerana waktu 7 hari tu you tak boleh shyok..?? Hamsap betullah pemuda umno dan Hipokrit pengarah JAIS in.. bertauliah kunon??? Buat malu umat islam sahaja. Ajaran sesat umno apa ni..? yang dia ni ikut?
Jangan lupa tuhan sentiasa tahu apa yang kamu niat dalam hat.. dan tuhan adalah paling murka mereka yang berlagak atas namaNya.
written by sataysticks, November 06, 2009 22:47:40
Lets say Md Khusrin is the middle of Jalan Tenku Kelana in Klang. Suddenly he has a terrible tummy ache. Will he enter the Hindu temple there to ease himself or shit in broad daylight in front of thousands? Or do it in his pants?
written by hellosunshine, November 06, 2009 23:40:02
Yes, these munafik Muslims do not want us nons to enter their mosques and they will also teach their children not to enter nons' houses too. So much for 1Malaysia. Phtooi!!!! smilies/tongue.gif
written by leftygoodfella, November 07, 2009 00:36:15
sataysticks, Jln Tengku Kelana got mosque. an indian mosque which was built without any help from govt or using tax money. but he won't go there since the friday sermon was conducted in Tamil. for him, Islam = Malay. so yea, he'll shit in his pants. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Xerxes, November 07, 2009 00:58:57
Attaboy Doc!! This JAIS Director deserves to be kicked in the teeth for his extreme views. It is views like these that are creating 2 Malaysia. I remember in the early days soon after independence I could stay in Sikh temples, mosques, heck even police stations for the night when I hitchhiked around the country. What changed? JAIS?

While studying abroad, I was invited to Jewish synagogues to witness their circumcision ceremonies and churches to witness weddings and christenings. In Thailand today, any person of any faith is welcomed to any of the Buddhist temples as long as you are decently dressed and observe proper decorum. So why is Islam in Malaysia different?
written by Daryl, November 07, 2009 06:39:40
Yeah you cannot even invite me to a UMNO control mosque even with money attach to it. Remember church is the house of God and I am assuming mosques were build with rakyat's money not UMNO or JAIS money. So, mosque is and can be interpret as House of Allah (God in arabic) and not house of UMNO or JAIS. So, does Muslims needs permission from UMNO, JAIS or maybe PDRM to invite anyone to the mosque. Go ahead and interpret that. UMNO Muslims are a funny lot that just keep flip flop and try to hijact Allah... smilies/smiley.gifactually they did by banning Allah for non-Muslims.
written by Rozlan, November 07, 2009 12:41:31
Dr Asri was right.I I am toying with the ideas of inviting non muslims to mosques activities for years.Other for them to get use with Islam and dont feel alienated with the religion,the activities could be use to give knowledges about Islamic principles to them.Even if they don embraced Islam,they dont feel scared with it.YOU see UMNO people acts like jews.They felt that Islam is exclusively for them.The mosque committee were controlled by them .They have to be UMNO supporters to be elected in the committee

The local Jabatan Ugama Islam will nullify any committee selection that dont go inline with their UMNO ideology
written by gorshan, November 07, 2009 13:08:09
come to the golden temple in Amritsar. its four doors faces north, south, east and the west to symbolise that God is everywhere and people of all creed and race are welcomed. those who pays obeisance there,be they sikhs,hindus,muslims,buddhist or jews knows that they are in direct communion with the one true God. the one true God that is not exclusive only to one religion or race. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Siapabohong, November 07, 2009 18:29:04
You say the non-Malays do not want to mix, that's why you set up Chinese or Tamil Schools. But here you want to isolate yourself or bar others to know you better. But then when the non-Malays want to know you better, beside barring them to come near to you, you have this phobia that they have bad agenda and want to destroy you. In the first place you distrust them but then you say they do not want to mix with you! What is what?