Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Former sec-gen says government aware of PKFZ land buy

Former sec-gen says government aware of PKFZ land buy PDF Print
Friday, 06 November 2009 10:38
By Asrul Hadi Abdullah Sani, The Malaysian Insider

Former Ministry of Transportation secretary-general Datuk Zaharah Shaari said the Cabinet was fully aware of the land acquisition for the Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) project.

In the verbatim of the Public Accounts Committee’s (PAC) meeting procedures released Wednesday, Zaharah said the ministry had to “go by Cabinet decision.”

PAC reported that the government would have spent RM442.13 and saved RM645.87 million if the land had been acquired for PKFZ in accordance with the Land Acquisition Act 1960.

It also reported that the cost of the land was RM47.76 per square foot, or 67 per cent higher than the RM25 fixed by the Valuation and Property Services Department (JPPH).

Zaharah explained that the ministry and former transport minister Tun Dr Ling Liong Sik had agreed with the Treasury secretary-general that the land be acquired in accordance with the Land Acquisition Act 1960.

“I think the Cabinet was informed that we should go for land acquisition and then the Cabinet agreed that we should go for land acquisition. However in the final stages, the state government did not agree with the land acquisition because the project was abandoned and the party from Dubai informed that if the land is not available… but at certain time, they will pull out,” she said.

She added that the matter was referred to the Cabinet for a proper solution and stressed that Ling was in direct contact with the former finance and prime minister, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

READ MORE HERE: http://www2.themalaysianinsider.com/

written by cheemengwong, November 06, 2009 10:45:02
Forgive my narcissim but I think at that time the cabinet only consist of the sleeping Barlawi, Najis and Kai Lan Choy who approves everything under the sun including making people dissapear and appearing suddently in Timbaktu and Mongolia.

What do you expect from the Cabinet when the Raayat never even make a feeble attempt to go out and vote during the GE.

I remember calling up my friends bright and early to entice them to go the the last GE by buying them breakfast!

Ham Kar Chan if we carry on like this leh!
written by DreamLady, November 06, 2009 11:00:49
There will be more clowns like Zaharah to wash dirty linen in public to expose the cause of the mother of corruption, PKFZ. You don't expect the big fish to be caught in the net cos' they prefer to wash their dirty laundry in the privacy of their homes. The drama shall end with an abrupt 'cut' by the director of the film... Everybody including the taxpayers goes home happily ever after.....

Then shall we await for another drama of the century just spike ourselves for the kick of it .......
written by fireduck, November 06, 2009 11:06:36
Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) chief commissioner Datuk Seri Ahmad Said Hamdan said he had no knowledge of Kuala Dimensi Sdn Bhd (KDSB).

“I do not know what is KDSB. Only today that I have heard that they are involved,” he said in the verbatim report of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) released this week.

For this ONE reason alone, this guy should be SACKED! The whole nation knows and he doesn't.
written by lakian, November 06, 2009 11:10:30
PKFZ I suggest the bn government to build a statue of corruptcy like the one in New York USA.Further suggestion that TKS will be the right model for the statue cos' of his size,height especially his weight.This can promote and attract or boast Malaysian tourism industries development so as to bring foreign investor to this piece of scandalised island could it become more famous than statue of liberty!(This is my patent right of idea no copy or legal action will be call upon otherwise)
written by sydput, November 06, 2009 11:16:56
So mahathir/cabinet decides whether to acquire or buy the land. How come the PKFZ project was considered abandoned by state govenrment? Did they have another plan for the land? Was that the reason why PKA was forced to buy? Kuala Dimensi had another plan, probably housing development or something?
written by Stupid me, November 06, 2009 11:19:17
The MACC chief alone if not all of them had been sleeping. He alone or all of them should go. Why can't he keep his big mouth shut and nobody would say he is mute.
written by joeawk, November 06, 2009 11:20:04
It is a repetition. The PKFZ is a govt project and the government is not deaf unless they chose to be so. The finance ministry is blind? Don't believe them.

When the system is corrupt, this is what happens.

Just don't talk about Indonesia, Thailand, Phils, etc being more corrupt than Malaysia. They ain't have the money that we have and even if the others are corrupt, they ain't hv as much money to throw away. The Malaysian government is the most corrupt country in Asia.

The AG talks of prerogatives. He meant to say that he prosecutes selectively. When the AG and the MACC and Judiciuary sucks, that is what we have. All, no thanks to Malaysian DOGs who voted for the UMNO/BN.
written by loosecannon, November 06, 2009 11:26:56
Of course they were aware. In fact, they are all in it for the freebies. As I said before, something this colossal cannot be just Phang and Chan involvement only. It's a scam where every Tom, Dick and Harry from the BN have a piece of the cake. Why do you think it ballooned to such obscene amount? Just see how quiet they all are? Nobody from the BN side dared to make a pip because the finger will point right back at themselves. That's why the MCA chief is fighting for his life because he's the only one determined to dig out the shit but they want to kill him off. It's up to us the rakyat to pile on the pressure. It's our money and we want accountability. Let's make the crooks pay.
written by krising1, November 06, 2009 11:36:47
Mamathir is the biggest crooked politician this country has seen. But he was a smooth operator and used his fronts effectively. Everyone knows that he knew about this case and even had a hand in it. Everyone treated him with kid's gloves and kept his name out. No one at present or in future will dare touch him. He is above the law. Maybe even more powerful (forgive me all) than God in this country! Finally there is a brave lady who dares to name him. But nothing will happen to Mamathir. But to the lady...may God keep an eye on her!
written by rocky, November 06, 2009 11:54:10
they knew but they looked the other way instead of taking action. well rakyat didahulukan and pencapaian diutamakan....guess they think rakyat is stupid. we know who didahulukan and what kind of pencapaian diutamakan. It is all about them and their wealth accumulation.
written by Oscar Winner, November 06, 2009 12:01:46
I can see a pattern here. When the Chinese are involved, they start to spill the beans, finger-point and ready to go down together. Ling Long Sick, Chan Cock Joy, Tiong King Singh, Phang, etc starting to defend for themselves. Hey, where are all the UMNO guys, civil servants who are also involved? Well, muslim brothers and sisters have to protect each other, and all can be forgiven. And it's also about ketuanan crap, can steal because it's their right to do so. Someone pls say something about Toyo, Sleepy Head, Najis, TDM, Badrul, pls!!! Speaking about this Badrul guy, I guess he must have pocketed lots of money from the Port Klang UMNO guys who also had a share in the PKFZ. Explains why he was lazy NEP-like guy who couldn't be bothered to serve his constituencies, and slowly he metamorphosed into a super-rich frog and jumped. I hope all those involved in PKFZ fiasco will burn in hell
written by Oscar Winner, November 06, 2009 12:03:37
I mean....his constituents
written by malgal, November 06, 2009 12:12:31
finger pointing bunch! where does the final finger point to?
written by Oscar Winner, November 06, 2009 12:40:29
If MACC chief Ahmad Said did say what fireduck has quoted above, it's obvious there will be a cover-up. WTF
written by onnetline, November 06, 2009 13:26:38
Curse the families of the corrupted bastards who are stealing from the tax payers in this PKFZ fiasco !
written by cheekhiaw, November 06, 2009 13:42:53
One thief saying the other thieves were involved just prove that they are all part of a bunch of thieves.

written by Navigator, November 06, 2009 14:25:38
Anyone talking about PKFZ from today will be jailed. Just like the Mongolian issue. Is that clear?
written by InEffective, November 06, 2009 16:14:34
land conversion re-valuation combined with state land acquisition law is fastest easiest way to untold wealth creation in this nation.

(the only cost and effort, is the very cost-effective input called a 'signature' by a ketuanan)

And the process creates absolutely no real utility into the markets.

This is why the KBP residents and the PKFZ original residents had no chance.